Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ROK: Who is in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

1. Raam
    2. CheGuedara
    3. DirkVoodoo
    4. Vektarman
    5. Henboy
    6. Lafors
    7. Nietzsomethingorother
    8. ROK On (in ROK)
    9. Astramonti
    10. Penexpers
    11. 72hundred (?depending on work)
    12 SetOverSet
    13. showry
    14. FrankGrimes
    15.trek climber
    16. Lescol
    17. El Tonto
    18. The Claw
    19. daymobrew
    20. rflynnr
    21. jdt101
    22. unionman
    23. godihatethehills
    24. niceonetom
    25. alfalad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,857 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Im signed up aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

1. Raam
    2. CheGuedara
    3. DirkVoodoo
    4. Vektarman
    5. Henboy
    6. Lafors
    7. Nietzsomethingorother
    8. ROK On (in ROK)
    9. Astramonti
    10. Penexpers
    12 SetOverSet
    13. showry
    14. FrankGrimes
    15.trek climber
    16. Lescol
    17. El Tonto
    18. The Claw
    19. daymobrew
    20. rflynnr
    21. jdt101
    22. unionman
    23. godihatethehills
    24. niceonetom
    25. alfalad
    26. Billyhead
    27. Funkyzeit
    28. SuCess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

SPREADSHEET!

If you're not on it you'll get no cake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Given that there are 30-ish people heading down, 20 or so of whom are coming from Dublin, is it time to revisits Gavin's rent a van suggestion? Or are we all very confident of getting a space on the train?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

1. Raam
    2. CheGuedara
    3. DirkVoodoo
    4. Vektarman
    5. Henboy
    6. Lafors
    7. Nietzsomethingorother
    8. ROK On (in ROK)
    9. Astramonti
    10. Penexpers
    12 SetOverSet
    13. showry
    14. FrankGrimes
    15.trek climber
    16. Lescol
    17. El Tonto
    18. The Claw
    19. daymobrew
    20. rflynnr
    21. jdt101
    22. unionman
    23. godihatethehills
    24. niceonetom
    25. alfalad
    26. Billyhead
    27. Funkyzeit
    28. SuCess
    29. Caroline_ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭warrfla

1. Raam
    2. CheGuedara
    3. DirkVoodoo
    4. Vektarman
    5. Henboy
    6. Lafors
    7. Nietzsomethingorother
    8. ROK On (in ROK)
    9. Astramonti
    10. Penexpers
    12 SetOverSet
    13. showry
    14. FrankGrimes
    15.trek climber
    16. Lescol
    17. El Tonto
    18. The Claw
    19. daymobrew
    20. rflynnr
    21. jdt101
    22. unionman
    23. godihatethehills
    24. niceonetom
    25. alfalad
    26. Billyhead
    27. Funkyzeit
    28. SuCess
    29. Caroline_ie
    30. Warrfla

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

rflynnr wrote: »
    Given that there are 30-ish people heading down, 20 or so of whom are coming from Dublin, is it time to revisits Gavin's rent a van suggestion? Or are we all very confident of getting a space on the train?

It wont impact me, as I will be down. But if ye all plan on (1) travelling from Dublin (2) on the 6pm train, then save ye'reselves the stress and hire a van to send a few people down with the bikes.

If ye like stress, hassle and arguing with Irish Rail staff, then by all means enjoy the train journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

ROK ON wrote: »
    It wont impact me, as I will be down. But if ye all plan on (1) travelling from Dublin (2) on the 6pm train, then save ye'reselves the stress and hire a van to send a few people down with the bikes.

If ye like stress, hassle and arguing with Irish Rail staff, then by all means enjoy the train journey.[/QUOTE

I was thinking of the 3pm one but I'm open to the idea of the van nonetheless (and am willing to do either the drive down or back with the provisio that I'd need to be back in Dublin on Saturday night which may well not suit everyone else).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

Van idea is good, and I would be interested (and offering to drive it too) but I'm staying in Killarney until Monday 6th and making my way to the ICTU conference in Tralee (7th to 10th), so I think it makes more sense for me to take the train.

Shame, I like the van idea.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

"Some of the lads had never been away from home before
    'Twas the first time Whacker put his foot outside of Inchicore
    Before we left for Killarney we knew we'd need a plan
    So we all agreed that Joxer was the man to drive the van".

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

niceonetom wrote: »
    SPREADSHEET!

If you're not on it you'll get no cake!
    Raam wrote: »

Update it yourselves, yis lazy gits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

1. Raam
    2. CheGuedara
    3. DirkVoodoo
    4. Vektarman
    5. Henboy
    6. Lafors
    7. Nietzsomethingorother
    8. ROK On (in ROK)
    9. Astramonti
    10. Penexpers
    12 SetOverSet
    13. showry
    14. FrankGrimes
    15.trek climber
    16. Lescol
    17. El Tonto
    18. The Claw
    19. daymobrew
    20. rflynnr
    21. jdt101
    22. unionman
    23. godihatethehills
    24. niceonetom
    25. alfalad
    26. Billyhead
    27. Funkyzeit
    28. SuCess
    29. Caroline_ie
    30. Warrfla
    31. Thebouldwhacker

Was just thinking, we should probably have a few scoops at the top of Moll's Gap. It will make the descent a bit more interesting.

1. Raam
    2. CheGuedara
    3. DirkVoodoo
    4. Vektarman
    5. Henboy
    6. Lafors
    7. Nietzsomethingorother
    8. ROK On (in ROK)
    9. Astramonti
    10. Penexpers
    12 SetOverSet
    13. showry
    14. FrankGrimes
    15.trek climber
    16. Lescol
    17. El Tonto
    18. The Claw
    19. daymobrew
    20. rflynnr
    21. jdt101
    22. unionman
    23. godihatethehills
    24. niceonetom
    25. alfalad
    26. Billyhead
    27. Funkyzeit
    28. SuCess
    29. Caroline_ie
    30. Warrfla
    31. Thebouldwhacker
    32. poolboy

Was just thinking, we should probably have a few scoops at the top of Moll's Gap. It will make the descent a bit more interesting.

Champagne in the bidons. That's the way it's done.

el tonto wrote: »
    Champagne in the bidons. That's the way it's done.

Let's make it happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

1. Raam
    2. CheGuedara
    3. DirkVoodoo
    4. Vektarman
    5. Henboy
    6. Lafors
    7. Nietzsomethingorother
    8. ROK On (in ROK)
    9. Astramonti
    10. Penexpers
    12 SetOverSet
    13. showry
    14. FrankGrimes
    15.trek climber
    16. Lescol
    17. El Tonto
    18. The Claw
    19. daymobrew
    20. rflynnr
    21. jdt101
    22. unionman
    23. godihatethehills
    24. niceonetom
    25. alfalad
    26. Billyhead
    27. Funkyzeit
    28. SuCess
    29. Caroline_ie
    30. Warrfla
    31. Thebouldwhacker
    32. poolboy
    33. Greyspoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

Do you need a google account to access that page? If so its not idea.

1. Raam
    2. CheGuedara
    3. DirkVoodoo
    4. Vektarman
    5. Henboy
    6. Lafors
    7. Nietzsomethingorother
    8. ROK On (in ROK)
    9. Astramonti
    10. Penexpers
    12 SetOverSet
    13. showry
    14. FrankGrimes
    15.trek climber
    16. Lescol
    17. El Tonto
    18. The Claw
    19. daymobrew
    20. rflynnr
    21. jdt101
    22. unionman
    23. godihatethehills
    24. niceonetom
    25. alfalad
    26. Billyhead
    27. Funkyzeit
    28. SuCess
    29. Caroline_ie
    30. Warrfla
    31. Thebouldwhacker
    32. poolboy
    33. Greyspoke

EDIT: Actually you don't - just chk'ed thru IE and worked fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

72hundred wrote: »
    Do you need a google account to access that page? If so its not idea.

edit probably, doubt for viewing though...

Here's a link to view for those folk who haven't joined the google gravy train yet: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=rHAR5gpBmKgvQIF6Q0IOA7A&output=html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Any one can edit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Any one can edit

...so they can, learn something new every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭lafors

:(
    I'm just back from an attempt to do 100km.....on my own.
    I did 90.88km took me 3hrs 47mins, avg. 24.0km/h.
    Here's my stats....Sportstracker

I was fine for the first 55km, apart from the Granny in a Micra trying to kill me on the roundabout at swords pavillion, thanks to the truck driver for stopping to see if I was OK :). I wasn't hurt, luckily. Anyway I was at around 55km and the joints at the top of my legs started to hurt, my muscles were fine, it was just the 2 joints. I did a short lap aroung garristown area then turned back, I was intending to do the 100km and turn back for malahilde/portmarnock but by the time I got back to the malahide road I was fighting the pain, so I decided to turn back towards my house. I crawled the last 10km home.

Am I crazy trying to attempt the ROK?
    Unfortunately I stopped training as much when I realised I was missing the WW200.
    Why are these joints hurting so much? My muscles aren't even a little bit sore? Am I in the wrong cycling position or is it something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

@lafors, it could be your position, could be the cleats in your shoes mis-aligned (if you use them), could be a repetitive strain type thing, but I hear your pain.

I had a very similar experience a couple of weeks before the W200. Did 100km round trip to Laragh by myself and was fine for the first 50km, and after a 30 minute break in Laragh the 50km home were torture as my legs seem to sieze up.

A week later I went out on the Swords CC tour which was mostly flat and at a good pace. 180km that day and everything felt fine. W200 was a week later, and barring the Rathdrum-Roundwood stretch (which killed everyone), I was grand.

There has been strong winds the last couple of days which would also present a challenge to anyone doing any kind of distance.

If you can do 90.88km, and you have already been training, then I would say you'll probably be OK for the ROK. By all accounts (haven't done it yet myself), it is easier than the W200, and the added energy of an event / getting pulled by a group should help see you through it.

Don't lose heart just yet, we've all had days like that (and worse). Rest tomorrow and head out for a shorter one next time if you are by yourself. Then see about joining a group spin (Saturday beginners group is worth considering - or petethedrummer is planning a northside spin over the weekend), and you won't focus so much on what you can or cannot do.

Take it handy, see you at the ROK

lafors wrote: »
    :(
    I'm just back from an attempt to do 100km.....on my own.

On the cycle home from work there the wind was very strong so if it was anything like that where you were, fair play for doing the 90km! It'll be easier in a group at the ROK.

Plus I'm assured from looking at the google shared document that there will be cake which tend to help all spins.