Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Bike Check ups

• 11-06-2009 7:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭

For national bike week, a few retailers have volunteered to provide free bike check ups. The list is pretty good, including Joe Daly's, CSS and Halfords (just to keep Kona happy).

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

Wonder is it going to be like the free checkups that places like advance offer for cars? You leave the car in and arrive back to a bill and being told that they aren't allow release the car with the faults they found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Ryaner wrote: »
    Wonder is it going to be like the free checkups that places like advance offer for cars? You leave the car in and arrive back to a bill and being told that they aren't allow release the car with the faults they found.
    My guess... No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

For national bike week, a few retailers have volunteered to provide free bike check ups. The list is pretty good, including Joe Daly's, CSS and Halfords (just to keep Kona happy).

Linky

Sure any shop will do that for free, anytime. Its just basically a diagnosis on whats wrong, theya re not going to put it in the stand and adjust stuff unless you pay.
    Clever way to get people into the shop with their bike with getting work done at the top of the agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭boniver

kona wrote: »
    Sure any shop will do that for free, anytime. Its just basically a diagnosis on whats wrong, theya re not going to put it in the stand and adjust stuff unless you pay.
    Clever way to get people into the shop with their bike with getting work done at the top of the agenda.

No matter how often I visit this site the level of cynacism never fails to amaze me. You guys must have some piss awful bike shops around where you live.

Our shop is participating in the free check ups. It's being done in a city centre location - not in our shop. We are providing the service to our civic authority free of charge and quite a lot of effort has gone into making sure it runs smoothly. The local authority are paying for free brake blocks to be fitted to any bike that needs them and we are supplying the brake blocks at cost with no labour charges to pay. At the end of the check up the customer ends up with a check list of things that might need extra work in a workshop and a discount voucher to get that work done IF THEY WISH. We're also helping out with running a number of family cycles accross the week.

What more do you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

boniver wrote: »
    What more do you want?

It's nearly Friday -he wants a fight!

I think it's a good idea, and chapeau to any shop that participates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

Fair play.
    No matter how often I visit this site the level of cynacism never fails to amaze me. You guys must have some piss awful bike shops around where you live.

Our shop is participating in the free check ups. It's being done in a city centre location - not in our shop. We are providing the service to our civic authority free of charge and quite a lot of effort has gone into making sure it runs smoothly. The local authority are paying for free brake blocks to be fitted to any bike that needs them and we are supplying the brake blocks at cost with no labour charges to pay. At the end of the check up the customer ends up with a check list of things that might need extra work in a workshop and a discount voucher to get that work done IF THEY WISH. We're also helping out with running a number of family cycles accross the week.

What more do you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

What more do you want?

Blood........:) or failing that free rims if your brakes are ok!

Fair play to the shops for doing it.

No matter how often I visit this site the level of cynacism never fails to amaze me.
    I completely agree boniver, anything positive that is ever announced many posters here just start ripping it to shreds. The reaction to the National Cycle Policy Framework, the Bike to Work scheme, the cries (from cyclists no less) that aiming for 10% commuting to work is "impossible." I despair sometimes.

Good on you for providing this service and I hope you get some business out of it to boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

What more do you want?

That's fantastic! I don't think people's comments were unnecessarily cynical though. I am thoroughly surprised that the local authority is paying for this kind of thing and that bike shops are volunteering time like that, particularly in these economic times. That said, it's a really welcome development and I'm sure it will come back in the favour of bike shops as people get on their bikes a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Cycleogical are not on the list.

I am typing this with my nose, as my fingers have frozen in surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I can only imagine what state some of the bikes you will get to see will be in though, 10 years in the back garden under irish weather will probably take more than some brake blocks...

Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭VERYinterested

If anyone knew Joe Daly you would agree that it is unfathomable that he would be involved in any sort of scam. The man is a gent and any time I have bought anything in his shop (since the mid seventies) he always gives a little piece of advice on how to fit it and always has time for a chat.

Having recently returned to cycling with the Govt cycling to work initiative, one thing that concerns me is the security for cycle owners. I park my bike under the cctv in Balally Luas station and in the last month, someone has tried to burn my lock, has let the air out of the front and rear tyres, bent the handlebars and saddle and I always have a dread when the Luas pulls up that my bike will be gone! From doing a bit of research this station appears to be one of the safer ones. I'm not sure what can be done, but I feel a lot of these initiatives are ringing hollow if bicycle security and vandalism of bikes continues and is not addressed.

Lumen wrote: »
    Cycleogical are not on the list.

I am typing this with my nose, as my fingers have frozen in surprise.

Why would you be surprised?????:D

they don't service or repair bikes they haven't sold!

Hopefully the shops who participate will get lots of custom from this.

What more do you want?

call it what you want cynicism or whatever, but its what will happen.
    Er isnt that what I said? Bike gets diagnosed, customer told what needs done. Then the customer gets the work done in the bike shop? Isnt that standard procedure? or am I the only one who does this?
    The way the thread is presented youd swear that servicing was free.

RE: Brake blocks thats fine they are being subsidised by the council, However my shop isnt included in this fancy scheme, but I have no problems telling sombody if they do or dont need work done on their bike, at no charge, Ill also give out free advice. I dont need a fancy cycling week to do it.

at no charge, Ill also give out free advice. I dont need a fancy cycling week to do it.

I thought you didn't deal with "timewasters" and could spot them a mile away?

+1 on JDs. I remember popping in to ask about Trek prices, had my bike with me and mentioned that a chainring bolt had popped off. The young lad in there with a scraggily hair ran down to get some spares and fitted it free of charge.

It's a great idea of course, bike shops can be quite intimidating to the uninformed who simply want to learn a bit about fulfilling their biking needs. Someone with an attitude doesn't help at all. Probably best that cycleogical aren't on the scheme then.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I thought you didn't deal with "timewasters" and could spot them a mile away?

+1 on JDs. I remember popping in to ask about Trek prices, had my bike with me and mentioned that a chainring bolt had popped off. The young lad in there with a scraggily hair ran down to get some spares and fitted it free of charge.

It's a great idea of course, bike shops can be quite intimidating to the uninformed who simply want to learn a bit about fulfilling their biking needs. Someone with an attitude doesn't help at all. Probably best that cycleogical aren't on the scheme then.

A timewaster isnt somboady coming in with a bike which needs work, or a service. A timewaster is not sombody asking for advice on a bike build or asking what lube to use on their bike. They are customers.

Timewasters are the pricks who come in, asking for pumps, tools and expect them for free.

It is a great idea as it puts bike servicing in peoples heads, but I know where I am, we are run off our feet with bike repairs. Could do with another mechanic IMO.

Sorry to be pedantic, but you give out advice then, at a modest price.

Free advice would be advice handed out without expecting to be compensated for your trouble.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Sorry to be pedantic, but you give out advice then, at a modest price.

Free advice would be advice handed out without expecting to be compensated for your trouble.

I dont care if they buy anything or not right then, chances are if you give good advice, they will come back and buy stuff. They will tell their friends and they will spend money. Sure I dont charge for advice;) or plug my place of work here

I think every shop that gives advice is after a sale in one way or another. However Id be suprised if they gave advice and got annoyed that the customer didnt buy anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Timewasters are the pricks who come in, asking for pumps, tools and expect them for free.

I went into a shop while back and asked for a pump as got a flat and wasn't getting a lot of pressure with the hand pump. The guy said sure so when i finished i thanked him and bought two tubes! Had he told me "no" he wouldn't have made the small sale! Sometimes it pays to be nice!

I know it was a small sale but i would now go back there again if i'm in the area and in need of something, if he said no i prob wouldn't!

alfalad wrote: »
    I went into a shop while back and asked for a pump as got a flat and wasn't getting a lot of pressure with the hand pump. The guy said sure so when i finished i thanked him and bought two tubes! Had he told me "no" he wouldn't have made the small sale! Sometimes it pays to be nice!

See my previous post;)

If you came in and started friendly chatting , id have no problem lending you a pump.
    Its the arseholes who come in, chip on the shoulder, demanding it. The type of person who whistles or clicks his fingers at you to get your attention,..... Im not a ****ing dog and you have a mouth:pac:

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

blorg wrote: »
    I completely agree boniver, anything positive that is ever announced many posters here just start ripping it to shreds. The reaction to the National Cycle Policy Framework, the Bike to Work scheme, the cries (from cyclists no less) that aiming for 10% commuting to work is "impossible." I despair sometimes.

Good on you for providing this service and I hope you get some business out of it to boot.

I'm a bit heartened by the National Bike Week stuff, especially as a follow on to the other cyclilst frienly policies that have been announced recently. This year's events aren't as tokenistic as last year and even little details like that series of repair videos on the website indicate it's being taken more seriously this year. Step in the right direction as regards promoting cycling.

I dont care if they buy anything or not right then, chances are if you give good advice, they will come back and buy stuff. They will tell their friends and they will spend money. Sure I dont charge for advice. or plug my place of work here;)

I think every shop that gives advice is after a sale in one way or another. However Id be suprised if they gave advice and got annoyed that the customer didnt buy anything.

I bought my track pump from a shop that loaned me one when I had a puncture. The youngfella who worked there also helped me change the tube. After he did that I bought the pump and left it there so I could pick it up the next day in the car.

I can see why shops wouldn't want to be lending kit out (they are a business after all), but describing potential customers as "pricks" just because they want to borrow something is hardly enlightened customer service.

What's wrong with just a civil explanation that as a business you need to charge?

See my previous post;)

If you came in and started friendly chatting , id have no problem lending you a pump.
    Its the arseholes who come in, chip on the shoulder, demanding it. The type of person who whistles or clicks his fingers at you to get your attention,..... Im not a ****ing dog and you have a mouth:pac:

I seriously doubt there are people walking into shops clicking fingers and whistling to get attention!!! If there was sure wouldn't it be happening in plenty of other shops and retail settings??

Jawgap wrote: »
    I seriously doubt there are people walking into shops clicking fingers and whistling to get attention!!! If there was sure wouldn't it be happening in plenty of other shops and retail settings??

Sounds like Gene Kelly is shopping for bikes now.

Youd be suprised, there are alot of these ***** around. Go onto the retail section of boards and ask do people whistle and click their fingers at staff.

Spend a month working with the Irish public and you will see where i do be coming from:o

Back on topic. As cynical as i may come across here, Id have to say It is great to see cycling getting a decent "push" into mainstream.

Youd be suprised, there are alot of these ***** around. Go onto the retail section of boards and ask do people whistle and click their fingers at staff.

Spend a month working with the Irish public and you will see where i do be coming from:o

I do and we get a lot of frustrated and agry people through our doors -they shout and swear but I've never seen or heard them click their fingers or whistle to get the attention of our staff.......

......but maybe such behaviour is only confined to cyclists:)

I do and we get a lot of frustrated and agry people through our doors -they shout and swear but I've never seen or heard them click their fingers or whistle to get the attention of our staff.......

......but maybe such behaviour is only confined to cyclists:)

Oh shouting and swearing I can take at least they are treating you human, treating me like a subhuman servant I cant take and will not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

In life, one is always going to meet assholes. However, in any shop/restaurant or bar that I have been in, I cannot for the life of me recall anyone clicking their fingers or whistling at the staff. I'm sure it happens (sometimes) - but you are making it sound like it happens frequently.

ROK ON wrote: »
    in any shop/restaurant or bar that I have been in, I cannot for the life of me recall anyone clicking their fingers or whistling at the staff. I'm sure it happens (sometimes) - but you are making it sound like it happens frequently.

The last polite resort in a restaurant is the "Winner Wave", named after it's creator Michael Winner. You twirl your napkin in a circle around your head until the waiter notices you. In my experience even this subtly nuanced display goes down badly with Irish dining companions.

The bike shop equivalent is probably spinning your freewheel, or tap-dancing in your cleats.

In life, one is always going to meet assholes. However, in any shop/restaurant or bar that I have been in, I cannot for the life of me recall anyone clicking their fingers or whistling at the staff. I'm sure it happens (sometimes) - but you are making it sound like it happens frequently.
    In fairness you will probably notice more of it if you are the one behind the counter being clicked or whistled at, rather than a customer who is only in occasionally... I know it certainly does happen, in restaurants in particular... not a good move, not at all :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Ant

blorg wrote: »
    In fairness you will probably notice more of it if you are the one behind the counter being clicked or whistled at, rather than a customer who is only in occasionally... I know it certainly does happen, in restaurants in particular... not a good move, not at all :eek:

Having spent a number of years working in a shop, I can say that you meet a fair few people who have the attitude that you don't deserve any respect as a human being if you're working behind a counter and/or on minimum wage. In retail, you get to meet all types of people - nice, friendly, decent, rude, drug-addicted, crazy and every so often those who think that behaving obnoxiously will get them a better / faster service. I've even had some customers demand that I suspend serving the customer I'm in the middle of dealing with so that they don't have to wait. :eek: Needless to say, such an attitude doesn't actually encourage one to provide them with faster or better service.

Back on topic, I've always thought that aside from the very first car-free day back in the early 2000s where Dublin city council actually closed off a number of city centre streets to private cars, the government and local authorities have only ever organised half-hearted tokenistic measures to encourage cycling. The various activities in this year's bike week seems to be practical and useful ventures to get people interested and to encourage them to cycle more. Just as well the Green Party gave up their principles with regard to the use of Shannon by US military / extraordinary renditions, the campaign in Rossport to have the refinery built off-shore, and the building of the M4 near Tara. :)

What's wrong with just a civil explanation that as a business you need to charge?

Ive tried, and failed. Personally Ive lost all expectations of a person when im in work:(

Ive loaned customers pumps and tools, but these customers I know and/or have been talking to for a while and decided they are decent.

The Clicky clicky whistle whistle sorry bud giz a shot of yizer pump customer can **** off.IMO:mad:

Ah thats a restraunt, the waiter can spit on your food.:D

Mr. arrogant know it all is encountered at least once every day.

Look on boards, there is a reason, why retail workers, me, taxi trivers, bus drivers and any other people who deal with the public come across as big arseholes:D

Ant wrote: »
    Just as well the Green Party gave up their principles with regard to the use of Shannon by US military / extraordinary renditions, the campaign in Rossport to have the refinery built off-shore, and the building of the M4 near Tara. :)
    Yes, as they would have successfully blocked all of that by staying out of government. And FF/the gombeen Inds/the one PD would have definitely brought in all the nice cycling stuff, the changes in motor taxation, etc. left to their own devices :)

As to the restaurant, I can confirm the clicking thing definitely happens- and Kona correctly diagnoses why it is NOT a good idea from the customer's point of view.

I worked in a shop myself many many years ago and always strived to provide good service, but as anyone else who has worked in retail can attest, you get the occasional wanker. Generally I dealt with them completely passive agressive, sort of ultra ultra polite while subtly refusing to help them, it drove them MAD :pac:

Ah thats a restraunt, the waiter can spit on your food.:D

Mr. arrogant know it all is encountered at least once every day.

Look on boards, there is a reason, why retail workers, me, taxi trivers, bus drivers and any other people who deal with the public come across as big arseholes:D

Well maybe it might help if you didn't view every new customer who walked in the door as a potential "prick" - when someone walks in for the first time you don't know whether they're looking for a pump to borrow or to buy a tube, or even a bike, so therefore they're potential pricks until they prove themselves otherwise???

I hope I never get to find out which shop you're in - I'd hate to think I've spent some of my hard-earned money there.

Well maybe it might help if you didn't view every new customer who walked in the door as a potential "prick" - when someone walks in for the first time you don't know whether they're looking for a pump to borrow or to buy a tube, or even a bike, so therefore they're potential pricks until they prove themselves otherwise???

I hope I never get to find out which shop you're in - I'd hate to think I've spent some of my hard-earned money there.

Most people who work in retail have the same view of customers. The public have nobody to blame but themselves. Every customer is a potential prick, on the other hand every customer is a potential nice guy. Unfortunatley all it takes is one prick to wreck your day and put you in a bad mood.

The way I work it out is say hello when they are browsing, if they have a piss off reaction then, gluck to ya. If they say hello back, Ill leave them for a bit to get their bearings then ask if i can help. Pretty easy and in most cases seperates the asses from the faces.

For example the gob****e who called the shop during the week asking if his bike was ready? he proceeded to tell me how **** the shop was, how terrible the service is.....I ask does he have the reciept/docket that you get when you leave in a bike....he replies oh no I dont:rolleyes:...I ask when he was told it would be ready?.....He says tomorrow. I go out and check and tell him we are really busy and Its next to be done and will be ready in 30mins, he laughs down the phone at me. At which point I hung up. ****ing arsehole, all I did was do the same thing I do to all customers (who dont complain) and he laughs at me for having his bike ready a day before despite it being busy? get the boat, Id rather spend my time on sombody thats decent and has a deal of respect.

Incidentally this incident happened wednesday and Im still in a bad mood because of it:mad:

Take your money to any store, your going to have sombody with the same view only Im honest enough to say it(probably more foolish)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Somebody was an asshole to me last week, does anyone want to hear about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Somebody was an asshole to me last week, does anyone want to hear about it?

Yes

I've another amusing Cycleogical anecdote, but I was saving it for the Friday-afternoon flame war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I've another amusing Cycleogical anecdote, but I was saving it for the Friday-afternoon flame war.

Let's have it

no Im going to miss it, can we have it tonight? Its always fun:pac:

Raam wrote: »
    Yes
    Tough, you'll have to beat it out of me.

Raam wrote: »
    Let's have it

I walked in there on Weds to get my wheel trued after being cycled into, and there was an older gentleman with a practical bike and hi-vis, who was shouting at the owner...

"I don't mind if you call me a c***t, I don't mind if you call me a w****r, but don't call me a paedophile".

The guards were called.

You're having us on.

Nope.

I cannot vouch for what happened in the build up to that, as I have only hearsay.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I walked in there on Weds to get my wheel trued after being cycled into, and there was an older gentleman with a practical bike and hi-vis, who was shouting at the owner...

"I don't mind if you call me a c***t, I don't mind if you call me a w****r, but don't call me a paedophile".

The guards were called.

Serious?

The guards were called.

Ha! why wasnt he told to **** off? Probably not only wanted a pump, but a spanner too!

That's jumped right to the top of the list as maddest bike shop anecdote. Rolling around here.

That owner is hillarious, Imagine calling a customer a paedo?:pac:

Maybe he was?