Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Team selected for European Cup

• 09-06-2009 9:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭

Irish Team selected for European Cup:

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=7577

It's not a bad old team in fairness.

Highlights:

Colin Quirke to double up iin Shot/Discus.

Foroughi gets men's HJ berth.

Joanne Cuddihy included in relay squad.

Chris Russell, Niamh Whelan and Kelly Proper represent Ferrybank.

Strong Relay squads should ensure good points haul there.

Ghruda '09 team get 800m and 1500m spots, with Connolly & Hanrahan getting the 3k and 5k places.

Kelly McNeice and Deirdre Byrne take the 800m/1500m spots on the women's side, with Harty (9.12 PB lately) and Hutchinson taking the 3k/5k.

Zoe Brown gets her first apparance in the PV at the Euro cup after injury last year, while Eileen O' Keefe will take on the World leader Martina Hrasnova of Slovakia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭cickimc

Ya pretty good team good mixture of Olympians and young athletes:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Rineanna, would you say that this is the dream team, and the reality might be that the actual team on the weekend might be considerably different? Us ex-Brits are just too used to seeing our top athletes pull out if they break a fingernail or something. Hopefully there is more of a desire within the Irish squad to pull on the singlet come hell or high water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Rineanna, would you say that this is the dream team, and the reality might be that the actual team on the weekend might be considerably different? Us ex-Brits are just too used to seeing our top athletes pull out if they break a fingernail or something. Hopefully there is more of a desire within the Irish squad to pull on the singlet come hell or high water.

Yeah, there always seems to be a raft of changes in the days before the competition itself, but I'd hope the AAI had the most up-to-date information regarding athlete's injuries before they selected. Dave Campbell's performance in Sweden tonight might see him displace Reale, for example. We live in hope that the team will stay as strong as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭helpisontheway

Claire Fitzearld is a glaring omission from the womens team.Also the Hesh doing the 100m and not the 200m?Still working on the speed side of things im guessing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭runjb

Yea a very strong team. If they line out as they are there,promotion should def be on the cards.

I thought Niamh Whelan should have maybe stayed at the 100m and Kelly Proper brought in to do the 200m as well as her LJ.

Pity Alistar Cragg wasn't around to blitz the middle/long distance races for us but nevertheless we are string enough in that section.

Looking forward to see how they all get on.

Irish Team also selected for World University Games, mincluding a 4x400m women's team with Joanne Cuddih and Brona Furlong, and reigning WUG Silver medallist Eileen O' Keefe:

Claire Bergin (Dublin City University – 400m & 4×400m)
    Deirdre Byrne (University College Dublin – 1500m & 5000m)
    Linda Byrne (Dublin City University – 5000m)
    Fionnuala Britton (Dublin City University – 3000m Steeplechase)
    Joanne Cuddihy (University College Dublin – 4×400m)
    Niamh Devlin (Queen Margaret University, UK – Half Marathon)
    Brona Furlong (Dublin City University – 400m Hurdles & 4×400m)
    David McCarthy (University of Limerick – 800m)
    Ian McDonald (Dublin City University – 110m Hurdles)
    Hazel Murphy (Dublin City University – 1500m)
    Fiona O’Friel (Trinity College Dublin – 4×400m)
    Eileen O’Keeffe (Royal College of Surgeons – Hammer Throw)
    Joanna Patterson (University of Bath, UK – 400m & 4×400m)

http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/?p=7598
    Claire Fitzearld is a glaring omission from the womens team.Also the Hesh doing the 100m and not the 200m?Still working on the speed side of things im guessing.

Yeah, thought she'd be picked over Hickey. Injured, perhaps?

But how old is she - 17? She was thrown to the wolves last year in the absence of anyone else. Possibly better if she progresses at her own pace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Rineanna wrote: »
    . Dave Campbell

I heard he is on a sulk and refused to be put forward for selection. If so and it looks likely as he raced last night and isn't injured and would be the natural selection for 1500 as he is No1 then that is sad and I will lose a lot of respect for the guy. Also, disappointing how Cragg never puts himself forward either. I think its a full squad other than that. If that teams toes the line I think we will get promoted.

I agree with RoyMcC on Claire Fitz. We are unlikely to score high no matter who goes and best maybe let her develop internationally in her own age group. Ciara Mageean is not selected either and thats wise considering the number of age group international she will have this season.

No Brona Furlong in the 4 x 400 after her heroics in Turin, tough on her. Our male field eventers will be our achilles heel but they'll have to battle for every point turning 8th into 7th and 7th into 6th etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Tingle wrote: »
    I heard he is on a sulk and refused to be put forward for selection. If so and it looks likely as he raced last night and isn't injured and would be the natural selection for 1500 as he is No1 then that is sad and I will lose a lot of respect for the guy.

I don't know the full situation but from my perspective i can understand why he may be sulking. He must still feel aggrieved about the nationals/olympics last year and if so he is probably just suiting himself. Not saying I fully agree with this fully but is understandable to a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭DJS

I would still be angry at the AAI if that was me, the guy is a huge talent and i cant wait too see what he does this year. When he won the double at nationals the guy was a hero, an injury sets him back and he is thrown to the dogs. I love the rivalary between him and chamney and looking forward to seeing them battle it out again.

Great to see sean connolly get selected after his good year he deserves that much.
    Grego in the 400m, he is opening his season this weekend so that will be interesting, if he is in the type of shape that the rumours say, shud be a strong 4x4
    As for the 4x1, Steven Colvert, what a breath of fresh air. He has been on fire ever since the varsitys. He is a huge talent him and rambo really droping some fast times.

Obviously havin cragg would be great, but he is better off going around getting into top races and going after the africans. We will need him more at the Worlds.

Strong team tho.. hopefully promotion is on the cards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭daviddwyer

So who do you think will get the womens 100m

daviddwyer wrote: »
    So who do you think will get the womens 100m

Claire Brady or Louise Kiernan. Kiernan competes in NCAA finals this week in 4 x 100 so we'll see how she comes out of that. Hope she gets it.

Is Kiernan not ranked no1 anyway this season?Therefore deserving the spot!

Whelan is 11.68
    Brady is 11.75
    Kiernan is 11.76

Whelan is fastest but is doing the 200 so I reckon its down to Brady or Kiernan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 macshay

Maybe Derval, for experience and her run last night was impressive., By the way congrats toi Tingle on his rankings.

macshay wrote: »
    Maybe Derval, for experience and her run last night was impressive., By the way congrats toi Tingle on his rankings.

Yes, I remember Susanna Kallur doubled up for Sweden in Vaasa two years ago over 100m and 100mh. The only thing is that they're on the same day, and the 4x100m relay is on the first day too so it would be a hectic few hours and she's vital on the relay too.

4x100m relay

The 4 x 100 record is under serious threat. Its 44.68 from '06 with Maher, Boyle, McSweeney and Sheehy. That year Boyle's SB was 11.49 with Maher at .72 and the other 2 in the .80's.

Based on DOR last night she is in 11.50 shape. Kiernan is in 11.6 shape based on the fact in her PB run she had a brutal start and has a windy 11.53. Whelan has done 11.68 and Brady .75 and Proper could do a .7 also. Getting the baton around will be key as will selecting the quartet but the record is asking to be broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

Very good team :) Irish dream team but how would they do against the Brits?

RealistSpy wrote: »
    Very good team :) Irish dream team but how would they do against the Brits?

Not sure of the need to compare, but the British teams would be a good bit stronger as a whole. Their men's team would be significantly stronger in all of the field events (even if they're not outstanding themselves), and their sprinters and middle distance athletes aren't shabby either (Edgar, Devonish, Farah, Dasaolu, etc). They've been in the top tier for a while now and deserve to be there.

Their women, on the other hand, are a small bit weaker as a team than the males, but still strong. They've good sprinters (Ania, Freeman, Ohoroughu, Sanders) and unreal depth in the 800m/1500m with Okoro, Twell, Meadows, Scott, Dobriskey and company. Their field events let them down in the Super League against the likes of Germany and France, but they've better throwers (bar Hammer when O'Keefe is fully fit) and bar Deirdre Ryan when she hits 1.90m+, their jumpers are strong too.

In fairness though, it's 60m people versus 4.2m, and they've the best funded national association in the world. We punch above our weight a lot of the time.

Whelan is 11.68
    Brady is 11.75
    Kiernan is 11.76

Whelan is fastest but is doing the 200 so I reckon its down to Brady or Kiernan.
    Sorry was thinking of kiernans wind assisted 11.56.
    The easiest solution is for proper to do the 200m as she is the fastest and Whelan the 100m as she is the fastest!
    Could the mens 4x4 record be under threat as Gillick is flying and the word on the street is Gregan isnt far behind.Who will be the other two? Murphy and Hogan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

DJS wrote: »

Great to see sean connolly get selected after his good year he deserves that much.
    Nice to see someone who passes me in training make the team :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

yeah great to see sean get a call up getting back to his old self. hopefully he can go after his 13.50 pb from couple of years back

Sorry was thinking of kiernans wind assisted 11.56.
    The easiest solution is for proper to do the 200m as she is the fastest and Whelan the 100m as she is the fastest!
    Could the mens 4x4 record be under threat as Gillick is flying and the word on the street is Gregan isnt far behind.Who will be the other two? Murphy and Hogan?

Yeah, would probably have made sense to put Proper in 200 but maybe they want her to focus on LJ. I'd say they'll go with Brady but isn't it great to have such depth. Eilish Fitz would be the 6th member if they needed one.

Mens 4 x 400 won't get near record I'm afraid as even if Gillick runs a low 44 rolling leg there are no low 46 men in the squad. Gregan is flying but there was talk of him running a 68 sec 600m in training (thats a world record I think!) which is crazy talk and probably should be tempered a bit. He opens for real this weekend so I'd love to see him pop out a 46 as that would say come late July/August he could run 45. Depending on how they stack up after the weekend right now it should be Gillick, Gregan, Laffey and Murphy as Laffey has ran 3 races faster than Hogans best this season.

Gregan is flying but there was talk of him running a 68 sec 600m in training (thats a world record I think!)

Well thats wrong, dont belive everythin you hear,
    He is running this weekend and should go very well, he is in good shape but its all about getting a time down and working from there. He should be on that relay along with Laffy and Murphy with gillick aswel. If he comes away from this weekend with no injury problems then thats more important at this stage, still very early. He will try peak for u23s

Yeah, would probably have made sense to put Proper in 200 but maybe they want her to focus on LJ. I'd say they'll go with Brady but isn't it great to have such depth. Eilish Fitz would be the 6th member if they needed one.

Mens 4 x 400 won't get near record I'm afraid as even if Gillick runs a low 44 rolling leg there are no low 46 men in the squad. Gregan is flying but there was talk of him running a 68 sec 600m in training (thats a world record I think!) which is crazy talk and probably should be tempered a bit. He opens for real this weekend so I'd love to see him pop out a 46 as that would say come late July/August he could run 45. Depending on how they stack up after the weekend right now it should be Gillick, Gregan, Laffey and Murphy as Laffey has ran 3 races faster than Hogans best this season.

i dont think you read that properly DJS he not saying that is true in fact think he trying to quash that rumour in second part of that sentence

I did read it right, i said it was wrong and dont belive everything you hear

Final entries available for Ireland's group:

Men's

Women's

And it turns out Niamh Whelan is doubling up in the 100m/200m.

In general, we feature strongly in the women's side of things, particularly the middle distances, apart from three or four of the field events which I doubt will suprise anyone.

Final entries available for Ireland's group:

Men's

Women's

And it turns out Niamh Whelan is doubling up in the 100m/200m.

In general, we feature strongly in the women's side of things, particularly the middle distances, apart from three or four of the field events which I doubt will suprise anyone.

Its a pity a few late changes cant be made-
    Either Laura Crowe or Ciara Meegan in the 800m-2.05
    Claire Fitzgearld in the shot-SB 14.25
    Sarah Barry Triple Jump 12.75m
    Why isnt Roisin McG doing the steeple?

We would nearly be better off with Jason Smyth or Chris Russell in the 100 and the Hesh in the 200m.If anything he should be doing both like Niamh Whelan.
    Fourighi for Pender.
    Why has Padraig Whyte been picked for the hammer when to the best of my knowledge he hasnt competed yet? It seems unfair to Mark Hanley!

Either Laura Crowe or Ciara Meegan in the 800m-2.05
    Claire Fitzgearld in the shot-SB 14.25

There was debate earlier on Clare Fitzgerald (and it applies to Mageean too). It was said they were pretty young to be thrown into senior ranks so quickly and best left develop at own pace. To be honest I don't think it'll matter either way; Kelly McNeice will more than likely win the same amount of points as Ciara would (6 hopefully). Her SB isn't that low as she hasn't raced that much over 800m this season as far as I recall, but has good speed and has the added advantage of experience at the european cup and good performances too.
    Sarah Barry Triple Jump 12.75m

As far as I know, she's competing for Wales now. Not sure if she's dual nationality, but she's definitely competed for Wales at some international comps this year.
    If anything he should be doing both like Niamh Whelan.

I agree in theory, but I guess he has an eye on Berlin and himself and Stuart Hogg decided this was the best strategy (I'm assuming it was more the case that he opted just for onoe race and relay versus two races and relay). Pity though. He's doubling in Ostrava tomorrow night.

In all fairness an extra 100m isnt going to make much of a difference.

Well that's your opinion, but that's really for the athlete himself and his coach to decide.

Anyone see the format of the distance races. Devil takes the hindmost, find it perplexing that they would incorporate this into a championship race. Will make for interesting viewing however

http://www.european-athletics.org/files/publications/eaa_inside_1-2009.pdf

ecoli wrote: »
    Anyone see the format of the distance races. Devil takes the hindmost, find it perplexing that they would incorporate this into a championship race. Will make for interesting viewing however

Brave of them to be so innovative in a high-profile meet and interesting to see if the form book prevails with the new format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

http://www.european-athletics.org/files/publications/eaa_inside_1-2009.pdf

Some interesting new rules there alright:

Sprints - Any athlete committing a false start will be disqualified.

In the High Jump and Pole Vault each competitor shall be entitled to a maximum of four aggregate fouls throughout the whole competition.

Any one know why they are changing the 800m start from in-lane to curved line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

I don't like the look of those rules for the distance races and I can't see them being used much in the future - a bit like some of the rules that come in for the league in GAA (but I suppose it's a good idea to try these every now and again). I can see how it could add to the excitement of the race - is this going to be on TV anywhere?!

cfitz wrote: »
    I don't like the look of those rules for the distance races and I can't see them being used much in the future - a bit like some of the rules that come in for the league in GAA (but I suppose it's a good idea to try these every now and again). I can see how it could add to the excitement of the race - is this going to be on TV anywhere?!

Something has to be done as middle and distance track running is becoming very boring especially at the grand prix where its a single file time trial with 15 Africans wearing identical gear hammering along. Track and field is my number one sport and I find anything above 1500 boring these days at grand prix when I would have loved it in years gone by. Meets are too long (even in Ireland) and something has to be done to catch the imagination. If I find it boring what must the average non T&F guy feel about it.

The purists will go mad but we can stay pure and have the sport continue to die or try to be imaginative and meet the needs of a changing society while not straying too much from what the sport is about. I'd be open for change and at least giving it a go in team comps and grand prix but leaving the champs like Olympics and Worlds as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭limerickleader

The new rules for the distance races could prove hilarious...there could be athletes sprinting down the straight to avoid elimination. They survive elimination and then shudder as they still have another three laps to go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ss43

It could very easily. Do starts not take a lot out of athletes? If he picked up an injury you'd have everyone saying what's he taking risks running three races at the European Cup for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ss43

The European Cup distance races always seemed pathetically slow to me considering the athlets involved. You'd sometimes get 4 minute 1500m from the men. Something like this might keep it honest but if they are introducing it, they should hav eit earlier in the race so they won't jog the first half.

Can't see them being introduced on a large scale in any meets of consequence.

ss43 wrote: »
    It could very easily. Do starts not take a lot out of athletes? If he picked up an injury you'd have everyone saying what's he taking risks running three races at the European Cup for?

3 races over 2 days though, not too much but if it means a young athlete like Chris Russell is getting a run out thats good in some ways. I think the fact he doubles in Ostrava tonight (100 and 200 in one evening) may be a factor and the fact that he is at least making himself available is good enough for me unlike Campbell or Cragg. Spending 5 days in a sh*t hole in Slovakia may be a stretch too far for some people when it comes to representing their country.

The rumours of high profile drop-outs are doing the rounds, disappointing if they are true as it yet again means we won't have our strongest crew out there.

Eurosport are covering it. Handy link for all athletics is www.livesportontv.com/athletics Ostrava also being covered tonight

The new rules for the distance races could prove hilarious...there could be athletes sprinting down the straight to avoid elimination. They survive elimination and then shudder as they still have another three laps to go...

i saw Mo Farah compete in one of these last year was kinda exciting for the slower runners however the top lads just went out to front and hardly made a difference to them

The rumours of high profile drop-outs are doing the rounds, disappointing if they are true as it yet again means we won't have our strongest crew out there.

Do carded athletes not have to compete if they are picked no matter how high profile they are?

Its probably in there but not enforced, which happens a lot in our organisation I'm afraid.

Gillick is out I'm afraid but the positive thing is that Gregan will now do the individual which I am delighted for him. As is Russell so Hesh may have to double.

Its probably in there but not enforced, which happens a lot in our organisation I'm afraid.

Gillick is out I'm afraid but the positive thing is that Gregan will now do the individual which I am delighted for him. As is Russell so Hesh may have to double.

Tingle,

Do you know if Gillick's out through injury or what's the story?

Tingle,

Don't know the reason but hopefully it isn't injury. It's potentially a loss of 3 to 4 points but Gregan may rise to the occasion.

Will Hession now double? it seems a bit odd he didnt in the first place anyway perhaps there a reason behind it and he does not want to double. If that the case might open the door for Colvert in the 100 maybe?

I don't know how they'll play it. Hession could easily win the 200 in say 20.60. Jason Smyth should do the 100 if Hesh wasn't as he is 10.53 vs Colvert's 10.80. Now that Gillick is out they may persuade Hesh to double to offset the potential point loss from Gillick's absence. If Hesh is only doing one race I'd get Smyth to do the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭hurdler2009

According to the AAI site he is out due to exam commitments - at least its not injury!!

Also DO'R and the Hesh have been named at the team captains for the weekend.

Well that seems like a logical choice i mean they are the two most household names on the team which has alot of youth in it who will need someone to turn to that they can look up to over there