Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do you keep your bike?

• 09-06-2009 7:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭

Where does everyone store their bike?
    One of the lads called out to collect something from me this evening and was horrified that I keep my bike in the shed and not in the house.
    I put it to herself and she told me where to go.....the bike's still in the shed. Am I mad? Should it be in the house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

showry wrote: »
    Should it be in the house?

Yes.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

You're not alone, I'd be shot if I brought it into the house.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

+1 on in the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

niceonetom wrote: »
    Yes.

Was at a party recently and this was discussed amongst cyclists and their partners. If you have only one bike, it should be in the house. If you have several, at least the best one(s) should be.

These are the rules, as I understand them.

If this doesn't work, suggest storing some of herself's prize possessions in the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Cormac2791

in the garage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

All my bikes are in the building and my good Bike sleeps in my bedroom ...
    Your GF is just jealous of the attention you give your bike ... it's sad, she should learn to share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Keep road bike in house on the rollers, commuter and mountain bike are in the garage.

Got a bit of grief from the parents at the start, but I generally keep it pretty clean so it's not too bad. I also know that if I left it in the garage, my dad would drop a wrench or something on it. There is currently a dismantled steering column leaning against my epoxy surfboard, so I know my bike would be treated with similar nonchalance.

I would prefer for a board to snap in the water rather than a bike snap coming down a descent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

hmmm,
    no garage, no spare room and a house full of kids,
    to be honest I'm thinking it might be safer where it is, I'd need a webcam on it all day to make sure one of the little feckers didn't wreck it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

One bike in the hallway, 2 in the sitting room, and 2 in the spare bedroom at the moment -though I could move one from the sitting room to the spare bedroom if I really wanted... inside is the best place -if the OH complains, it's time to get another OH :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭keenan110

My bike is kept locked in my front garden, parents would kill me if it was in the house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Keep road bike in house on the rollers, commuter and mountain bike are in the garage.

OT but emm on rollers how dodgey is the whole clipping in and out part? it sounds like complete fail/impact with floor?

and back on topic, keep it in my room, can't be having my little precious get too far(finally thing i have my gears all adjusted properly, hopefully no more random noises...)

In the living room area of the apartment at the moment but it used to be out in the hall locked to the stairs. But myself and the OH will be moving to a house in a month, where there's a shed at the back, and I foresee there not being enough room in the shed somehow..

I dislike leaving it out at work (near the sea too so salty air), would prefer to bring it into the office with me but that's just not possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

All my bikes are in the shed. There's two locked gates between the shed and the outside world, a lock on the shed door and I lock my two best bikes together so I don't think there's any chance of it being stolen. One of the bikes is the Big Dummy, which weighs a ton and I don't think would be much use to the average bike thief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

My road bike hangs on the wall in my bedroom and MTB is tucked away neatly in the corner of the bedroom too, and you'd be surprised how small my room is. The only reason is cause nobody else in my house has any interest in bikes and they would get destroyed in the shed otherwise! Haha :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Four bikes in the house. The one I am going to use next is in the hall.

OT but emm on rollers how dodgey is the whole clipping in and out part? it sounds like complete fail/impact with floor?

and back on topic, keep it in my room, can't be having my little precious get too far(finally thing i have my gears all adjusted properly, hopefully no more random noises...)

It's fine. There is obviously a bit more of a drop if you need to clip out quickly, but it's important not to focus too much on the bike's position or your balance, otherwise you start to wobble, move out towards the edge, wobble more, move more...murphy's law is proven and you end up in trouble. If you just get on and pedal as normal, they are fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

In da house! There is no way I would keep them anywhere else. Fortunately Mrs Rottenhat feels much the same way about hers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

The new beauty and the gf's is inside the house, my beloved beone is out on the balcony (though i have an excellent cover for it!)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Most of them are on my balcony. There's one in a storeroom in the basement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

I have to keep mine in the garage... not enough room in the house:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

Now that I have left the city where the bike stayed indoors at all time, I now have the bike sitting outside the back of my house. This is how we do things in the schticks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Both bikes sleep in my bedroom. Used to keep a bike on the balcony with a raincover over it but it never really worked out as the raincover kept getting pulled off if it was windy.

I'm still waiting for Blorg to chime in on this. I think the guy must have some kind of tardis to store all of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I'm still waiting for Blorg to chime in on this. I think the guy must have some kind of tardis to store all of his.

He's a big house :)

Anyway, moving on...

P.S. (Not directing this at Stark btw)Bikes are inanimate and don't actually "sleep"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭jlang

One bike in the hallway, 2 in the sitting room, and 2 in the spare bedroom
    Sounds like you need another house for your bikes.

Just realised I now own two bikes, although the hybrid is feeling neglected since the road bike arrived. Both in the shed, but it's a very substantial shed with insulated walls, proper roof, windows and door.

jlang wrote: »
    Sounds like you need another house for your bikes.

Just realised I now own two bikes, although the hybrid is feeling neglected since the road bike arrived. Both in the shed, but it's a very substantial shed with insulated walls, proper roof, windows and door.

It's amazing how little space they actually take up indoors, especially road bikes.

Plus, if you don't drive you could just build an extension out onto your driveway to keep all the bikes in, do maintenance, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭daymobrew

All bikes are in the shed - Specialized Sirrus Elite and my LaPierre Francais de Jeux carbon replica.

The LaPierre was in the house for a year before being sent outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

Do you urbanites keep the bikes inside to protect from UV/damp etc or security? Both I assume...

I have a few good sheds - concrete, wooden doors, well ventilated. Security isn't too big an issue at night. I have more expensive stuff outside - machines with moving parts. If I bring in the bike(s) the chainsaw and sheep-shears will get a strop on:rolleyes:y. Maybe I'll get a cover for the winter and I definitely try to keep it away from sunlight but bringing it inside? Maybe necessary in the city but a bit OTT I reckon - you guys are obsessive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭3DataModem

Folded up in the kitchen at home.

Folded up in my office at work.

Unfolded underneath me on the road.

Folded up within arms reach EVERYWHERE else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I keep all mine in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

opps :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

all in the attached garage behind a double locked solid door, having said that i heard of someone we know who had massive heavy metal doors of their garage taken off and bikes taken. so I'm taking it that their safe enough there. also I hide a migit in my seat tube to assault thieves similar to the trunk monkey.

also I hide a migit in my seat tube to assault thieves similar to the trunk monkey.

Explain? Is it an electronic tracker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭henboy

showry wrote: »
    Where does everyone store their bike?
    One of the lads called out to collect something from me this evening and was horrified that I keep my bike in the shed and not in the house.
    I put it to herself and she told me where to go.....the bike's still in the shed. Am I mad? Should it be in the house?

In the house, have a nice little place for it in the kitchen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

campingij2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

My trike won't fit through the door.

DFD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

Both bikes hang on the wall of a converted garage. Old tourer lost in the shed somewhere.

When I was racing and the season was over, I'd dismantle my bike completely. I had a bed with two large drawers underneath it, frame and forks went in one and all the components went in the other. It hibernated for the winter.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I keep my road bike in pieces in my shed. I keep my commuting hybrid locked to a railing at the side of my house. I live in a reasonably safe area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

Both my bikes stay inside. They'd be gone if I left them outside.

Need to move to get more space before I can get the next bike :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I keep the hybrid in the shed and always have - it's used to it so I don't see any need to spoil it, plus it has the rest of the kids' and herself's bikes for company.

The road bike stays in the house. When I got it I brought it in to show everyone and it just kind of never left. It sits quietly in the kitchen. It was in the dining room, but then we had her parents for dinner one Sunday and it was moved.

I also keep it in my office (it's behind me now!) for two reasons. First, as it was bought under the Cycle to Work Scheme it belongs to the employer until I pay for it so really I should bring it in to show I'm using it in full compliance with the scheme :). I also wouldn't like to leave it anywhere I can't see it.

Secondly, carrying the bike through the office adds a Californian air to the place - makes it seem like I'm working in Google or Ebay instead of the Irish Public Service:)

I'm also lucky enough to have an office on my own so it's not really an issue for my colleagues, who are actually quite supportive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I keep my MTB and road bike locked in the shed. My fixie is normally in the utility room as that's the one I cycle most and it's easy to grab when leaving the house. My other bike is in another shed (Ex dog run). I'm in a safe enough area, so I'm not too worried about it. Plus if it gets stolen I've an excuse to buy another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Outside my front door locked to hefty railing with a hefty lock, covered with a bike cover. It's just too long, heavy and dirty to store inside - all my main rooms are upstairs, I'd wreck the place every time I got home. I can put it in the hall, but the hall carpet has in the past been wrecked by it, and it would still get in the way of a number of presses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Cannondale is hanging on hooks in the utility room, wheels off. It seems very happy there. My winter hack/commuter is in the shed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Good bike in spare bedroom, much to the annoyance of my missus. COmmute bike locked in the shed with daughters bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

In the Gym upstairs beside my office in the house ... Does that sound awfully snobby ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Junior wrote: »
    In the Gym upstairs beside my office in the house ... Does that sound awfully snobby ?
    Yes, but that is ok as long as you are actually a snob. Would send terribly pretentious if you were not a snob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Junior wrote: »

Depends on what you use the gym for - I had a cross-trainer for a while and it was great for hanging clothes on!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Road bike sleeps in my bedroom
    MTB sleeps in my bathroom
    Any time I get grief from the o/h i point out they're worth more than her car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

ROK ON wrote: »
    Yes, but that is ok as long as you are actually a snob. Would send terribly pretentious if you were not a snob.

No last time I checked I wasn't !