Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ferris out of Lions Tour!!!

• 09-06-2009 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭

Heard on Drivetime from Michael Corcoran that Ferris' scan result show that he is out for 5-6 weeks!! :eek::eek: That's the end of his tour.

FOR **** SAKE, TO PUT IT MILDLY!!!

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Heard on Drivetime from Michael Corcoran that Ferris' scan result show that he is out for 5-6 weeks!! :eek::eek: That's the end of his tour.

FOR **** SAKE, TO PUT IT MILDLY!!!

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

gutted for him..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭stackerman

B****x, poor fecker. He was as good a cert for a start on the test team as anyone else. Feel so very sorry for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

BBC confirm
    Wales's Ryan Jones has been called up by the British and Irish Lions after Stephen Ferris was ruled out of their tour of South Africa by a knee injury.

The Ireland flanker has a grade two tear in his medial collateral ligament in his right knee, an injury he suffered in training on Tuesday.

Full story to follow

Absolutely gutted for Ferris thought he was going to put down a marker during the series to announce himself as one of the most promising 6's in the world. Ryan Jones gets the call up which is bollox i may add doesn't deserve it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Aw man, I feel so sorry for him, looked like he was in with a real shout for the test team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

That is an absolute killer. Really Really things for the back row as I felt he was odds on for a Test place.
    Presume Croft will feature for sure now...what a few months for him, not even selected ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I said in the other thread but:

Can we make Rocky Irish for 3 weeks and call him up instead??

Seriously though, there's no point calling up someone, we have enough back rowers: Worsley, Wallace, Heaslip, Croft, Powell, Williams.

I said in the other thread but:

Can we make Rocky Irish for 3 weeks and call him up instead??

Seriously though, there's no point calling up someone, we have enough back rowers: Worsley, Wallace, Heaslip, Croft, Powell, Williams.

Worsley is pretty much gone from a test spot bar a miracle, that only leaves Croft as the other option at 6 all the rest are 7's and 8's.

Can't think of many stand out 6's though available, Ally Hogg, Simon Taylor, Chris Robshaw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Williams, Wallace and Heaslip backrow now I'd say.

That's sh*t for Ferris, absolutely gutted for him. Feckin hell, the Irish have taken a hammering on this tour, touch wood that'll be the end of the withdrawels.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    That's sh*t for Ferris, absolutely gutted for him. Feckin hell, the Irish have taken a hammering on this tour, touch wood that'll be the end of the withdrawels.

Well said. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Stev_o wrote: »

Can't think of many stand out 6's though available, Ally Hogg, Simon Taylor, Chris Robshaw?

Denis Leamy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Ferfecksakes, things keep going this way, we'll be lucky to have a test XV left...poor divil, really could have been his tour....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

SomeFool wrote: »
    Denis Leamy.

Hasn't been great lately.

Could see Ryan Jones going out and playing like a demon and scraping into the team for the second or third test.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

disaster for ferris, only silver lining was that at least he got as far as putting on the jersey and scoring.

Could see Ryan Jones going out and playing like a demon and scraping into the team for the second or third test.

Well he wasn't too great against Canada apparently and only lasted a few minutes against the USA before getting a nasty head injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Stev_o wrote: »
    Well he wasn't too great against Canada apparently and only lasted a few minutes against the USA before getting a nasty head injury.

I reckon a Loins tour would bring more out of him than a game against Canada tbh. I think his form this season has been better than Ryan Jones, who has been pretty poor given how well he can play.

SomeFool wrote: »
    I reckon a Loins tour would bring more out of him than a game against Canada tbh. I think his form this season has been better than Ryan Jones, who has been pretty poor given how well he can play.

I was talking about Jones not Leamy who's performances for Munster and Ireland have been dire to say the least, he needs a rest not the highest intensity matches available to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Williams, Wallace and Heaslip backrow now I'd say.

Croft will start at 6 with Wally being the bencher as Williams and Heaslip start.

And yep, gutting for Ferris. He was a dead cert starter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Really, really gutted for Ferris, he's played great rugby down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

That's awful for the big man. The only positive thing to say is that he'll get a good rest over the Summer and be ready for next season, providing the injury isn't too serious. Little consolation for him but if his performances over the past 2 weeks have shown us anything is that he's the best Irish #6 at the moment and has a great future ahead of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭bigbadben

Croft will start at 6 with Wally being the bencher as Williams and Heaslip start.

And yep, gutting for Ferris. He was a dead cert starter.

I'm gutted for me, backed him at 33/1 to start the first test.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭robgloster

Lions will be really stuck without his big hit. I felt he had nailed a starting spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Balls. I'm a big Ferris fan and was sure he would get a test spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

bigbadben wrote: »
    I'm gutted for me, backed him at 33/1 to start the first test.

That must have seemed like money in the bank with the way he was playing. You'll get your wager back at least surely, so you know, every cloud........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

its always the way isnt it. i bet tom croft comes away from this tour with a huge reputation and question marks over why he wasnt originally selected.maybe there is less pressure on you as a replacement to an originally selected member

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Jones has def been called up.... gutted for Ferris

http://www.lions-tour.com/news/viewarticle.asp?id=20705

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 nord

Ryan Jones is totally overrated. Leamy would be a good bet despite a relative slump in form. We need someone really physical to replace Ferris. Such a shame for Stevie. Let's hope he's back to 100% for the start of next season and the back-to-back slams ;)

nord wrote: »
    Ryan Jones is totally overrated. Leamy would be a good bet despite a relative slump in form. We need someone really physical to replace Ferris. Such a shame for Stevie. Let's hope he's back to 100% for the start of next season and the back-to-back slams ;)

I have to disagree.

Ryan Jones was pretty decent back in 05, and has captained Wales to a Grand Slam. That's a lot more than Leamy's ever done, and Leamy's one hell of a player.

They're both off form, so I think Jones' reputation carries him through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 nord

I have to disagree.

Ryan Jones was pretty decent back in 05, and has captained Wales to a Grand Slam. That's a lot more than Leamy's ever done, and Leamy's one hell of a player.

They're both off form, so I think Jones' reputation carries him through.

Yeh. But at least Leamy has the capacity to play 6. R Jones is an out-and-out 8.

I agree he has a reputation but just don't think he ever deserved the captaincy. Martyn Williams is such a legend like...

Not many other options in the "Home Nations" at 6 for the Lions anyway. Not with international experience at any rate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

This is the worst injury thus far.

Ferris was going to come home a world renowned 6 imo and now this. We're lucky to have Croft, but this is a body blow to the Lions make no mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

With the amount of injuries , especially to Irish players - Flannery, Ferris, O Leary (freakish), Kearney (mumps), Earls, Fitz - both injured on this tour surely this is somehow related to the fact that these guys have had such a long tough season. Luckily all these guys should be well healed and rested for September but it makes you kind of nervous for O Driscoll, O Connell, Wallace, Bowe in the test games.
    I'm glad the Bull didn't make it. This tour will put years on our frontline guys.
    Fair enough I really enjoy watching the Lions games but surely they were more relevant in the amateur era. Now we have World Cups and European cups and Churchill cups and basically rugby 10 months a year. These guys need a break. There must be some intensity in the training as well!
    Wouldn't expect the Lions guys to feature for their provinces till October!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

TBH, any doubts I had about the tour are now confirmed. think it'll be 3-0 to the boks now. They'll absolutely destroy us at the breakdown, and Ferris is as big a loss as BOD or POC would be. Bad, bad news.

davyjose wrote: »
    TBH, any doubts I had about the tour are now confirmed. think it'll be 3-0 to the boks now. They'll absolutely destroy us at the breakdown, and Ferris is as big a loss as BOD or POC would be. Bad, bad news.

Have to agree, Ferris , Flannery, Williams are all good in this area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Gutted for Ferris, he was sure to start the first test. His reputation was growing hugely on this tour. He must be absolutely gutted!!

Is anyone else a little nervous that Jones might come on the tour as a replacement for Ferris and then possible steal a place from Heaslip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

conf101 wrote: »
    Is anyone else a little nervous that Jones might come on the tour as a replacement for Ferris and then possible steal a place from Heaslip?

Can't really see how that's possible at this stage. I really think Jones is just along for the Midweek games, same with D'Arcy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

R Jones has had a pretty mediocre season. Its great that this opportunity has arisen for him but he needs a huge game on Saturday / Wednesday to make the Test team at this stage.

Heaslip will start; guaranteed.

I'm pretty sure Croft has the #6 jersey nailed down now.

We lose BOD and I'm not going to bother watching anymore (empty threat)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Amabokke

Well, aint this a bitch....Ferris was the best out of an average bunch to fight for the ball at the breakdown. Against very mediocre SA teams we've seen the biggest problem with the Lions squad is that they don;t win quick and clean ball at the breakdown. This does not bode well as so far Wallace has been average. Tom Croft will probably get the call but unless he turns into a real menace overnight the Lions should start practicing their defence....Burger, Smith, Spies and Bakkies will not waste anytime in causing havoc at the breakdown.

Pity about Ferris, not nice for him and I would've liked to see the Lions best against the boks best.

I certainly hope for the Lions sake that Jones when arriving in SA don't split the camp into two with his loyal Welsh comrades following rather than O'Connell who Heaslip also believes are not guaranteed of a starting spot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Before 6 nations I was telling my brother all about how Ferris was going to have a smashing year and he was having it..until this :(

Ferris was first name in my Fantasy rugby lions/Bok team.
    Lucky I learned you had to change the team according to each match or he would have still been there along with Pierre Johan Spies.

I wish him well in his recovery and contract talks with Leinster ;)

R Jones won't feature in the test team selection choices till maybe the 2nd test, by that stage the Lions will have gelled under O Connell -as best they can.
    Jones would do well to make the bench for any of the tests at this stage.
    Re Ferris - surely he is going to be snapped up by one of the major clubs or provinces? No offence to Ulster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 jfitz92

davyjose wrote: »

Yeah, my feelings too. Ferris was the Lions' best answer to the breakdown, a huge loss. Boks could well run riot now.

On average 7 players drop out before/during a Lions Tour.

Quinlan, Flannery, O'Leary, Ferris, Shanklin and Halfpenny are all out. Hopefully there won't be another.

buck65 wrote: »
    With the amount of injuries , especially to Irish players - Flannery, Ferris, O Leary (freakish), Kearney (mumps), Earls, Fitz - both injured on this tour surely this is somehow related to the fact that these guys have had such a long tough season. Luckily all these guys should be well healed and rested for September but it makes you kind of nervous for O Driscoll, O Connell, Wallace, Bowe in the test games.
    I'm glad the Bull didn't make it. This tour will put years on our frontline guys.
    Fair enough I really enjoy watching the Lions games but surely they were more relevant in the amateur era. Now we have World Cups and European cups and Churchill cups and basically rugby 10 months a year. These guys need a break. There must be some intensity in the training as well!
    Wouldn't expect the Lions guys to feature for their provinces till October!
    Next time people laugh at the French for being shít at the ML or in WC's - look at this post.

The physical demands on the players are unreal at this stage. It cannot be good for them.
    Amabokke wrote: »
    Well, aint this a bitch....Ferris was the best out of an average bunch to fight for the ball at the breakdown. Against very mediocre SA teams we've seen the biggest problem with the Lions squad is that they don;t win quick and clean ball at the breakdown. This does not bode well as so far Wallace has been average. Tom Croft will probably get the call but unless he turns into a real menace overnight the Lions should start practicing their defence....Burger, Smith, Spies and Bakkies will not waste anytime in causing havoc at the breakdown.

Pity about Ferris, not nice for him and I would've liked to see the Lions best against the boks best.

I certainly hope for the Lions sake that Jones when arriving in SA don't split the camp into two with his loyal Welsh comrades following rather than O'Connell who Heaslip also believes are not guaranteed of a starting spot....

Heinrich Broussow was playing better at the breakdown than Schalk Burger ever has. The Boks have two bolters in Spies and Burger, but will those two really be doing the dirty work at the breakdown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I think the Ferris is really highlighting the lack of strength in debt in Northern Hemisphere to be honest.

I mean there should be 2-3 players all fighting for each position but theres not.

I can see a 3-0 whitwash more likely then ever now

EVENFLOW

I think the Ferris is really highlighting the lack of strength in debt in Northern Hemisphere to be honest.

I mean there should be 2-3 players all fighting for each position but theres not.

I can see a 3-0 whitwash more likely then ever now

Ferris and Croft? Ryan Jones? Alan Quinlan? (*shudders in disgust* :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ferris and Croft? Ryan Jones? Alan Quinlan? (*shudders in disgust* :P)

average, average and average

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

average, average and average

Rubbish? Croft and Ferris are world class. And when Quinlan is on form he is the world's most annoying player to face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

dan719 wrote: »
    Rubbish? Croft and Ferris are world class. And when Quinlan is on form he is the world's most annoying player to face.

World class is such an awful term imo. What does it mean exactly? How is it judged? Has Ferris even played against the SH teams before? As for Croft, what has he done to show he's 'world class'? As for Quinlan, he's really shown his age this season and was absolutely blown away against NZ in the Autumn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

danthefan wrote: »
    World class is such an awful term imo. What does it mean exactly? How is it judged? Has Ferris even played against the SH teams before? As for Croft, what has he done to show he's 'world class'? As for Quinlan, he's really shown his age this season and was absolutely blown away against NZ in the Autumn.

What would you like me to say? As much as you don't like the term, it conveys my intended meaning. i.e. a player good enough to compete against anyone else in the world at the highest levels of the game. In this regard it is my opinion that both Ferris and Croft are 'world class'.

Regarding NZ, the entire Irish team was also blown away by them in the Autumn. Does that mean BOD is really showing his age and is actually a rubbish player?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

BOD wasn't blown away though. Quinlan was an absolute liability.

Croft has never shown he's good enough to compete against anyone in the world, yet at any rate. Compare him to Elsom for example, how does he stand up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

In fairness, compare anyone to Elsom how do they fare?