Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pimp My Club / Society ('09/'10)

• 09-06-2009 12:46pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This is the thread to pimp your club / society or ask questions about societies in WIT.

All further threads on the matter will be referred to this thread and locked (in certain circumstances, a new thread will be allowed).

Each year the old thread will be locked and put aside with a new thread created for the new college term.

(Based on the UCD Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

Hi Folks,

Just wondering can you lot help me out, Is there a photography club or society in wit or does one need to be set up?

Dan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Hi guys,

I'm starting up a Cumann Gaelach this year in the college, as it's been lacking over the past few years. Anybody who wishes to get involved, drop me a line. It doesn't matter if you're fluent in Irish or only have a few words.

And no Sully, it's non-political ;)

Le meas,
    Seán

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Topic Live.. Requests/Info Threads for the new year merged.. Old thread for reference here.

dan: Not that I am aware off anyway.

dlofnep: No fear anyway dude, this thread will cover all! :)

Sully, if your in there today with anyone related to clubs/socs will ya ask?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

stick-dan wrote: »
    Sully, if your in there today with anyone related to clubs/socs will ya ask?

*sigh* maybe. :p

Sully, have you got a date for C&S day by any chance?

dlofnep wrote: »
    Sully, have you got a date for C&S day by any chance?

Nope, but when I go over for Dan ill ask. Just tired them a few mins ago and they were closed but was told "they were around" so ill try again later.

Sound boss.

dlofnep wrote: »
    Sound boss.

Monday Sept. 21st in College St. and Tuesday Sept. 22nd Cork Road Campus. Dates to be confirmed, but likely it will be the above dates.

Dan: No photography club last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 wits2

Hey,

This year we are Re-launching the Business Society, BizSoc. It’s aimed at all students taking a business module not just BBS student as many people thought. Basically we want to make this a lot more accessible to all business students & get them involved a lot more than before. So if you’ve any ideas or you’d like to get involved with the committee please pm me & I can send you on more info!
    Thanks!

wits2 wrote: »
    Hey,

This year we are Re-launching the Business Society, BizSoc. It’s aimed at all students taking a business module not just BBS student as many people thought. Basically we want to make this a lot more accessible to all business students & get them involved a lot more than before. So if you’ve any ideas or you’d like to get involved with the committee please pm me & I can send you on more info!
    Thanks!

Once that Steve fella isn't on the committee, all will be fine with the world.

Sully wrote: »
    Once that Steve fella isn't on the committee, all will be fine with the world.

lol... Oh don't I know .. lol :)

Monday Sept. 21st in College St. and Tuesday Sept. 22nd Cork Road Campus. Dates to be confirmed, but likely it will be the above dates.

Dan: No photography club last year.

You're a gent, thanks.

Thanks Kev.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭waterford mma

how does one go about setting up a club or society? i was considering starting a brazillian jiujitsu club this year

Just pop over to the clubs and societies office to get the form. I'll give you a hand on open day setting up a stall Shane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭shanemul

WIT Motorsport Club will be back as normal keep an eye on http://www.witmotorsport.com or drop us a mail on witmotorsportclub@gmail.com if ya want any info. Will hopefully see ye all at the open day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Deisekickboxing

THE WIT KUNG FU CLUB- IS BACK THIS YEAR

we had a quiet one last term theres lots of big plansevents for this year:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

any 1 in the boxing club? me needs info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭Bluezar

I'm waiting for the Clubs and Socs office to E-mail me out the handbook for setting up a society...Anyone else waiting on it? Thought they would have it done by now?

Bluezar wrote: »
    I'm waiting for the Clubs and Socs office to E-mail me out the handbook for setting up a society...Anyone else waiting on it? Thought they would have it done by now?

Its simple enough. You fill out a small application (part of it is an area if you require a grant), hand it in and you pass/fail. There is very little to setting it up. You can use the Clubs & Socs Noticeboard for notices, have a stand on the open days etc.

i would def join that jiujitsu club!would love it!

also anyone aware of any acting or drama clubs?

Forms are over in clubs & socs now if you haven't got one yet.

WIT Blues Supporters Club being launched...

This will act as a social club for Waterford United but all are most welcome...

Should be a few good social nights out and events during the year...Locate us next Tuesday in the main campus on clubs and socs Registration day:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 drumpusher

Can you call over to the Clubs and Socs building for info or would it be better just to wait for open day?

Am interested in the Boxing and Jujitsu would be worth a look as well. :D

drumpusher wrote: »
    Can you call over to the Clubs and Socs building for info or would it be better just to wait for open day?

Am interested in the Boxing and Jujitsu would be worth a look as well. :D

Wait for the open day. Odds are they will have a stall with all the information you need. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 drumpusher

Coolio :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 holla!

Anybody know if the tennis club is up and running this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

this year's club and soc day was shockingly bad compared to last year, lol, no boxing, cricket, table tennis, tennis, MMA, jujitsu, etc none of em had stalls set up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭edward543350

is it not on again 2moro?missed it today cause of field trip

Good uptake on the Waterford united Supporters Club which was launched today, we were very happy with numbers.
    Anyone interested in joining feel free to drop me a PM, Will just be a bit of craic, bit of football, few sessions and stuff

this year's club and soc day was shockingly bad compared to last year, lol, no boxing, cricket, table tennis, tennis, MMA, jujitsu, etc none of em had stalls set up

I do believe I saw one for boxing and tennis. Bandminton and MMA/jujitsu spin off thingys. If there is no stall - it often means nobody has restarted the club/soc im afraid. Or they will be holding one another day. Just ask the folks in the Clubs & Socs office.
    is it not on again 2moro?missed it today cause of field trip

All finished. Some may have the odd stall throughout the year. You can get a list from Clubs & Socs and register through them.

Had a good run of registrations for the Young Fine Gael Branch, holding our first public talk on the Lisbon Treaty with Sean Kelly in the Auditorium tonight. Lots of new members from College St which was great. If anyone is interested in becoming a member, just gimme a shout. Its a great craic most of the time and you get to meet some really interesting people and make new friends. Its not "plain awl politics" - it has a great social aspect to it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭jakedixon2004

Anyone who is interested in joining the WIT Gamers society can go here to get all the latest info and news on recent and upcoming events.

http://witgs.zxq.net

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,249 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

What type of games do ye play down there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭jakedixon2004

everything from cod4 to fifa on consoles. Goto the site for more info man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Sparkles:)

lol don't think ff Ógra did too well, tho not bad given the year thats in it =D

and if theres anyone interested in joining our wonderful law soc, the lovely Patrick, Mo and I should have a table in college st over the next week =D
    committee elections next week guys 2

All political partys will have their "core" support so Ógra and SF (who had no student reps this year) should get a basic amount. I believe generally YFG around the country has done very well, with Ógra and SF not doing great. I'm happy that our membership has increased nicely since last year (on doing the list, it seems we got more then I thought originally!) though and hope to incrase it further before our AGM.

Law Society only for Law Students I assume?

Topics Merged.

Gaming Soc should know the rules on this one by now, come on lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭Sparkles:)

or anyone doing law modules, or if you're interested in legal debates

-abortion, right or wrong
    - legalise canabis
    - ignorance is an excuse for wreckless spending (Re. Sean Fitz/Anglo Irish)

were 3 of the debates i attended myself last year, not possitive what else was there... =D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭tbaymusicman

I was going to set up a squash club and a guitar club but i dont know if it will take up too much of my time cause i got a lot of study stupid maths ha

The Waterford Institute of Technology branch of YFG will be holding their AGM this coming Monday, October 19th, in the main auditorium on the Cork Road Campus at 5.30pm.

Guest speakers for the occasion will be:
    • Tom Hayes - TD for South Tipperary and chairman of the party,
    • Paudie Coffey - Senator and Spokesperson for Enviroment, Heritage and Local Government,
    • John Cummins - Councilor for Waterford City South (Ward 3). Youngest member of council at 21.

The main speakers discussion theme will be on education - specifically college fees (since the new program for government was agreed - higher registration fees are now more likely) and how its looking for graduates looking to get work after finishing college.

As always, all our welcome to come along to the AGM including those who are not currently members.

Other items on the agenda include the election of the committee positions and the setting dates for events before Christmas (including Paintball and possible YFG Christmas Party).

The Business Society are running their own Halloween Party this year, open to every WIT Student with tickets for sale from only €3!.

Halloween Spooktacular - Tues Oct 20th @ Escape Nightclub
    A night of fright frolicking and fun!!
    ...welcome to the land of the haunted...
    Doors open @ 10.30pm
    Tickets on sale at €3 for groups of 10+ or €4 for less.

Why not organise your class party for Halloween and join everyone in what should be the best halloween party of the year in the new Escape Nightclub (beside Revolution)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Dissolvedaunion

Heard dat da AGM for Young Fine Gael was poorly attended again. Nothing new there i supopose. Great to hear dat a new Chair has been elected. Last 1 did nothing only cosy up to the Director. Heard he got da guided tour of the office. YFG + Director = :eek:

lol... don't know the guy.. but its highly unlikly that he was cosying up to the director..

Actually, the meeting had a good attendance - it could have been better, but thats partly my fault for not sending out a reminder text. The WIT branch is small enough compared to our other ones around the country, but is the largest political society in WIT this year and has grown since last. This is its second year running in WIT. Hopefully we can improve it and let it grow every year but a good attendance by all accounts and much better then last years.

With regards to the former chairman - the visit to the Directors Office was in relation to our University for the South East Campaign in which we called on WIT to be upgraded. It was only once and was a short meeting. The only communication we had since was in relation to our Lisbon discussion.

Welcome to the Board anyway - shall talk to you during the week / after mid-term I am sure. :)

The deadline for the next issue of 'The Campus Times' is the Friday the 19th of February.

There will be a meeting of 'The Campus Times' on Monday, 5.15pm in F30. All are welcome to attend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

The deadline for the next issue of 'The Campus Times' is the Friday the 19th of February.

There will be a meeting of 'The Campus Times' on Monday, 5.15pm in F30. All are welcome to attend

Any chance of getting the minutes sent to me in a PM or email?
    wasnt able to attend due to work.

Lads, I forgot to update the post - the time was changed on Monday to Tuesday :/

Mitch: Send in an email asking for them, that way the lads can tell exactly where to send them.

Basically - as much content as you can submit about anything at all. The more the merrier - lets try work on a very good and bigger edition.

Friday 19th is the deadline!

Clubs & Socs who have news, please PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Lacoona

Hey guys, I'm just wondering if any one could give me any info about a poker society in the wit?
    Thanks.

Lacoona wrote: »
    Hey guys, I'm just wondering if any one could give me any info about a poker society in the wit?
    Thanks.

Dont think its running.. Not 100% sure tho.