Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Business Studies

• 08-06-2009 5:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 36

Hi i was thinking of doing accounting for the leaving cert ,however i didnt do business for the junior cert. Would this be possible, i have a business studies book (Integrated business studies: a modern approach)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

I'm f****d for this one.
    I can't do book keeping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 adidas speed

i dont relli no wat that is but i do no that its on 2moro and y not study 'bookkepping'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Well seeing that you don't know bookeeping is another way to say accounting, I can pretty much tell you that accounting is probably the most boring and horrible subject ever.
    I hate business for accounting, business theory is ok, accounting is horror.

Don't do it, do business or economics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Dicksboro_man

Yeah. Accounting is bloody awful. Havent yet met a decent accounting teacher.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

I don't know why so many people want to do accounting for the Leaving, it's horrible! Love business theory but accounting is just no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Well, do you like calculating and maths? Then accounting might just be for you. The Leaving Cert business course is totally different to the Junior Certificate course, so you should be able to take it up without too much difficulty. The only thing is you clearly don't have a good idea of what you'll be doing. Like accounting, personally, I hate it but there's good career opportunities (again, if you like calculation and maths, then you might like it).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 adidas speed

well it was my maths teacher who suggested it because im good at maths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

paper I was piss easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

It was, everything I studied came up, I think there was one short Q that I wasn't sure (but I think I got it right anyways :D) and I hardly had enough room for the longs, loved it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

i can tell yous that this was my hardest test yet and my second time staying for the complete time next to english.

Well paper 1 wasn't too bad, was it? Couple of short questions got me, but the longeys were easy and I avoided all accounting related stuff.

Paper 2 was abit more difficult, you really needed to know your stuff or be very good at the accounts. I, again, dodged all the accounts so I was very pleased. I give my pity to anyone who tried the assessing a business question without any knowledge of the formulae.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Ambrosia

I thought Paper 1 was the harder one to be honest, some iffy sort qs and a small amount of guesswork in the long ones. Paper 2 was magnificent, I did both accounts qs, assessing the business and the Documents one.

Happy overall, now onto the horror of french/history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 iheartboosh

I thought both papers were great.
    Couldn't figure out 2 of the short q's but I gave an answer anyway :P My club a/c in Paper 1 worked out perfectly which has never happened to me before :o
    Paper 2 was a lot easier than paper 1 in my opinion. The marketing question was great..although I did have to use my biros to make the advertisement "attractive" because it had never occured to me to bring in colouring pencils into a freakin business exam :P
    I'm pretty happy anyways, thought both papers were easier than expected!! xD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 mantom

I thought Paper 2 went better than Paper 1, to be honest. I was all set for the Section A, then I saw that Input devices thingy question. Guessed them all.

Man, I'm so glad all my accounts worked out in Paper 2 though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 j'aime

jumpguy wrote: »
    I give my pity to anyone who tried the assessing a business question without any knowledge of the formulae.

me??:(
    how many marks will i lose ??
    and whats the proper way to write a report?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

What the hell is acid drip???

j'aime wrote: »
    me??:(
    how many marks will i lose ??
    and whats the proper way to write a report?:confused:
    I'm sure you'll get some marks for attempting. You needed to know the formulae for the questions on acid test, return on capital employed. In a report you must include: title, date, to, from, Re:, and there's one more I think but it's not coming to my mind, annoyingly enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 lijh

Zipp101 wrote: »
    What the hell is acid drip???

Acid Test Ratio - Current Assets less Closing Stock : Current Liabilities.

Found Paper I tough, for insurance messed up the layout of the letter, and what was excess policy. I thought that a proposal form was an application form.... Found 5 or 6 of the short answer questions hard too

Paper II was amazing, all of my book keeping balanced, the assessing business/report question was really handy cause i had just looked over that chapter. Form of ownership was grand too.... Flawless paper

I'm hoping Paper II will bring me up to an A....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 johnf1004

for paper II if you could do the ledger question and the final a/c's question then the rest was a breeze, just fillin in stuff on the extra sheet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭ash.c

i was well suprisd with how well paper 1 went for me..struggled on paper 2 on a few question kinda waffled say i done ok over the 2 though:)

I hold a great deal of respect for anybody who can normally get their trial balance the balance when doing the books of first entry. I skip all those questions, club accounts and final accounts when I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 johnf1004

I hold a great deal of respect for anybody who can normally get their trial balance the balance when doing the books of first entry. I skip all those questions, club accounts and final accounts when I can.

i practised them like a hoore since the mocks....i knew if ye could do them its marks for jam ..and sure enough..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭claudtreacy

paper 1 was a bit of a bitch. the balance sheet for club didnt balance for me, but it was only a bit off so i dont think id have lost that many marks..:o i did all 6 questions, i feel kinda stupid, wish id just concentrated on 4..but oh well...
    paper 2 was a DREAAM shwear to god i loved it...did 2,3,4,5 and 4 balanced, 2 was perfect..for the bicycle ad i was like :
    Lance Armstrong says, "FUB4U saved my life! I use it for the Tour De France, it really helps me!" BIKE Magazine, "*****"
    haha
    was really funny
    only messed up thing i did was assesing a business, when for stock turnover i multiplied it by 100 over 1 so i got 500 times! haha which was stoopid but i doubt id lose that many marks...overall im totally happy with business, went smother than i thought it'd be..:)
    now FRENCH
    ...........:eek::eek:

paper 1 was a bit of a bitch. the balance sheet for club didnt balance for me, but it was only a bit off so i dont think id have lost that many marks..:o i did all 6 questions, i feel kinda stupid, wish id just concentrated on 4..but oh well...
    paper 2 was a DREAAM shwear to god i loved it...did 2,3,4,5 and 4 balanced, 2 was perfect..for the bicycle ad i was like :
    Lance Armstrong says, "FUB4U saved my life! I use it for the Tour De France, it really helps me!" BIKE Magazine, "*****"
    haha
    was really funny
    only messed up thing i did was assesing a business, when for stock turnover i multiplied it by 100 over 1 so i got 500 times! haha which was stoopid but i doubt id lose that many marks...overall im totally happy with business, went smother than i thought it'd be..:)
    now FRENCH
    ...........:eek::eek:
    How could Lance know when it was being released in July? :P

Lance can do everything
    even time travel ;)

Lance can do everything
    even time travel ;)
    I'd believe it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

I didn't do the first question on paper 2.. Thats a risky one for me..
    But my T,P & L a/c worked out thank god!..:p
    It was alright.. didn't think I aced it or anything but I'm...happy...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

You are not alone.. totally skipped the club a/c question today as well..! Hate accounting and anything relevant to it!!!..

I'm sure you'll get some marks for attempting. You needed to know the formulae for the questions on acid test, return on capital employed. In a report you must include: title, date, to, from, Re:, and there's one more I think but it's not coming to my mind, annoyingly enough.

ah i kinda did that?? :confused:

but i put it as a letter????:eek::confused:

this is what I did...

.................................................. my address
    their address

re: accounting vocabulary

then bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla

yours sincerely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 lijh

j'aime wrote: »
    ah i kinda did that?? :confused:

but i put it as a letter????:eek::confused:

this is what I did...

.................................................. my address
    their address

re: accounting vocabulary

then bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla bla

yours sincerely

I think you had to include 'Terms of Reference', 'Main Findings' and 'Conclusion' too....

lijh wrote: »
    I think you had to include 'Terms of Reference', 'Main Findings' and 'Conclusion' too....
    'R:' Is terms of reference. I blame only my business teacher for not telling us anything about 'Main Findings' and 'Conclusion'. I'd say only 3 or 4 in our class will manage to reach a B. There's only like 6 doing honours anyway.

Everybody dreads business. I dont think anyone has "good" teachers.
    Our class would be lucky if we all managed to scrap a pass. That's terrible!
    Im doing it for LC, but im thinking of changing it to GEO...any advice?

Everybody dreads business. I dont think anyone has "good" teachers.
    Our class would be lucky if we all managed to scrap a pass. That's terrible!
    Im doing it for LC, but im thinking of changing it to GEO...any advice?
    Got I must be taking like 50% of the posts in this thread by now. The business LC course is completely different from the JC one. You'd be able to take up LC business even without it in the JC. That's the word anyway.

lijh wrote: »
    ughh !!
    Ya i totally agree we never learned how to write reports?:confused:

is it ok that I kinda wrote it in a letter??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭squishness

haha I felt so stupid drawing a bicycle in a business exam :p
    Had to colour it in with highlighters.

Why did they tell us about that other companies fold up bike? :confused: I didn't use that at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Jonakin

Were we suppose to do that letter really formally cos it said they were friends so i just ended it with love and x's. and wtf is debt servicing

Oh yeah another thing. That was a pretty big error at the start in the short questions, wasn't it? I spotted a few more that weren't pointed out, the last one especially:

Quantity was spelt wrong in the order form.

Also, I'm not sure of this one, but isn't a storm an act of God? Act of God isn't covered by insurance, so technically Kate would recieve no compensation. Can anyone confirm am I right with that. It says that in the book. Still, I wasn't ballsy enough to write down "None, a storm is an act of God" and I did it out.

squishness wrote: »
    haha I felt so stupid drawing a bicycle in a business exam :p
    Had to colour it in with highlighters.

Why did they tell us about that other companies fold up bike? :confused: I didn't use that at all...

id say its for anyone that wanted to say it in their ad, yano "cheaper than x "

Oh yeah another thing. That was a pretty big error at the start in the short questions, wasn't it? I spotted a few more that weren't pointed out, the last one especially:

Quantity was spelt wrong in the order form.

Also, I'm not sure of this one, but isn't a storm an act of God? Act of God isn't covered by insurance, so technically Kate would recieve no compensation. Can anyone confirm am I right with that. It says that in the book. Still, I wasn't ballsy enough to write down "None, a storm is an act of God" and I did it out.

haha imagine if ya wrote that. id just laugh!

i was starting 6.A as a 5th question, but scribbled it out and wrote..."im not bothered ...go have a cup of tea instead of correcting my q.6 that i woulda done if i had any energy, nice correcter"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

Didn't balance either accounts but will get most marks. It was fairly easy overall

My club account balanced.

But I messed up the Trading, Profit and Loss a/c. Made the same mistake twice and all so it balanced.
    Found out after I'd rubbed out the (supposed) right answer and put in my one :( Damn comissions receivable due!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

wel i reckon i passed so im happy:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭nowimtalking

Is it just me or did every single last aspect of the course come up in some way or another?

I found the short questions easy enough, i bluffed a few of them!
    The budget was ok i think but does anyone remember what answer they got?
    I got something like 8184 as a closing cash, sound familiar?

The national budget was ok, but limited resources threw me off!

The letter was annoying! Was it formal or informal?

What is a policy excess?

They wages was piss easy!

My final accounts didnt balance but i had 5 questions done!

I lost on the report i didnt know all of the terms!

I think my report on the ratios was not long enough, as detailed as i would have liked)

The memorandum of association was a little off but it was ok in the end!

Overall i hope for a C, a big drop from my A in the mocks! But sur what can you do?

Is it just me or did every single last aspect of the course come up in some way or another?

What is a policy excess?

I think my report on the ratios was not long enough, as detailed as i would have liked)

Overall i hope for a C, a big drop from my A in the mocks! But sur what can you do?
    Yeah I'm not sure but a bell rang when I read that.
    As for everything else, I wouldn't worry. You'll definetly get atleast a B if that was all your mistakes. I don't think we had to even write a report on the ratios. I wrote the letter as formal, it's not English, I don't think they'll mark us down.

Yeah I'm not sure but a bell rang when I read that.
    As for everything else, I wouldn't worry. You'll definetly get atleast a B if that was all your mistakes. I don't think we had to even write a report on the ratios. I wrote the letter as formal, it's not English, I don't think they'll mark us down.

Thanks, that makes me feel a whole lot better!
    I was so ****tin it when i came out when i thought i had everything wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 josephdaly111

What is a policy excess?

I think the policy excess was supposed to be taken away from the compensation or so I was told afterwards. I just completely ignored the part about the policy excess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I think the policy excess was supposed to be taken away from the compensation or so I was told afterwards. I just completely ignored the part about the policy excess
    You lost 2 marks there I think. Everything they tell you is relevant. Getting an order no. wrong also loses marks.

BTW for the bike newspaper ad you were meant to be writing it as competitive advertising i.e. compare your product with the competitors.

Oh right. :pac:

i thought of adding it on and taking it away so i just left my answer and then went to the side and took it away and added it on..... Just in case:L

**** i did a persuasive advertisement but i did refer to all of the things mentioned about the other company!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭Jonakin

What did u guys get for these questions?
    In q 1, I got 127125 and some other guy got that as well but 127125 was on the debit and i got 127215 on the credit?
    For the household budget i got 10349 i have a feeling thats wrong..