Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lions v Sharks

• 08-06-2009 11:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭redmca

Paul O'Connell will lead the British & Irish Lions once again when they play their fourth fixture against the Sharks at the ABSA Stadium in Durban on Wednesday night.
    The Munster and Ireland lock is one of four players retained from Saturday’s starting line-up from the 26-24 win over the Cheetahs. Full back Lee Byrne and wings Shane Williams and Luke Fitzgerald are the others.

London Wasps and England centre Riki Flutey is included among the replacements after recovering from the knee strain he picked up in his 13-minute appearance as a replacement in the opening game against the Royal XV. He is now the only member of the 38-strong squad to yet make a start on tour.

“I’m delighted that, as we head into the fourth match, we only have one player (Martyn Williams - left shoulder) who is unavailable for selection. The players and the medical staff have managed the injuries that have been sustained in a very professional manner,” said head coach Ian McGeechan.

“This is crucial as we enter matches against two of South Africa’s strongest provinces in the Sharks and Western Province in the space of four days. This is reflected by the fact that four starting players from the Cheetahs match will back up against the Sharks, while five players are starting their third match of the tour – Paul O’Connell, Lee Byrne, Shane Williams, Jamie Roberts and David Wallace.

“Paul will start with his third different second row partner, Alun-Wyn Jones, while we also have new starting partnerships in the back three, the half-backs and in the front row.

“The next two matches are obviously critical in the development of the Test side. While we have these new starting partnerships for the Sharks match we also have a centre pairing in Jamie Roberts and Brian O’Driscoll, and a backrow of Jamie Heaslip, David Wallace and Tom Croft that have played together on tour in the Golden Lions match.”

The ABSA Stadium is the venue for the first Test and so it will be a useful experience for the Lions to get used to the venue ahead of that crucial fixture.

“We are now halfway through the provincial matches prior to the first Test and the important factor is that the Lions are unbeaten. The next challenge is the Sharks in Durban,” said tour manager Gerald Davies.

“The selected team will want to ensure that the 100-per-cent playing record is maintained with a victory at ABSA Stadium.”

British & Irish Lions (vs Sharks)

15. Lee Byrne (Ospreys/Wales)
    14. Shane Williams (Ospreys/Wales)
    13. Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster/Ireland)
    12. Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
    11. Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster/Ireland)
    10. Ronan O’Gara (Munster/Ireland)
    9. Mike Phillips (Ospreys/Wales)

8. Jamie Heaslip (Leinster/Ireland)
    7. David Wallace (Munster/Ireland)
    6. Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers/England)
    5. Paul O’Connell (Munster/Ireland) captain
    4. Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
    3. Adam Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
    2. Lee Mears (Bath/England)
    1. Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues/Wales)

Replacements

16. Matthew Rees (Scarlets/Wales)
    17. Phil Vickery (London Wasps/England)
    18. Simon Shaw (London Wasps/England)
    19. Joe Worsley (London Wasps/England)
    20. Mike Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland)
    21. Riki Flutey (London Wasps/England)
    22. Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues/Wales)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭krahsrekop

that back row could easily be the test starting line also the two locks and bod and roberts
    very strong team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

They're really trying to get something out of shane williams aren't they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Delighted fitz gets his chance on teh wing hope he can shine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Shane Williams again!?

What the fúck. I'm still hoping for a 5 try performance, but it's looking increasingly unlikely.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Is it really necessary to give Williams a fourth chance to show he is not in form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

I think thats quite an exciting back three, I can only imagine williams is in there to give so that they can keep some back for the next match. Delighted for Fitzgerald although I think D'arcy should really be starting with O Driscoll as they have seen Roberts and play with BOD and should be trying to look after him, it also gives him a chance to shine in his favoured position. Flutey will most likley get that should in stead though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I think thats quite an exciting back three, I can only imagine williams is in there to give so that they can keep some back for the next match. Delighted for Fitzgerald although I think D'arcy should really be starting with O Driscoll as they have seen Roberts and play with BOD and should be trying to look after him, it also gives him a chance to shine in his favoured position. Flutey will most likley get that should in stead though.

We all know what D'Arcy and O'Driscoll can do together (that sounds kinda sordid) but he needs more game time with Roberts. They're probably going to be the starters after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Kearney not involved again, why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Lee Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Disappointed D'arcy's not on the bench. That aside, that's the makings of what they'll pick as the Test team. I hope POC has a strong run out this time, he needs it. Good team around him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭TheCaveman

Going to be a close game i think

Sharks 25 - Lions 17

Off all the provincial teams the Lions are playing, the Sharks are the best, so here goes my prediction.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

TheCaveman wrote: »

Sharks 25 - Lions 17

Off all the provincial teams the Lions are playing, the Sharks are the best, so here goes my prediction.

Remember they wont have their best players playing either. Lions should win given the strength of the team.

There I have Jinxed it now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

jank wrote: »
    There I have Jinxed it now!

Quickly, run outside, turn around three times and spit!

I am looking for a big performance from everyone on that team. Disappointed S. Williams is playing again. Would have liked to see Monye get another go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭bigbadben

TheCaveman wrote: »

Sharks 25 - Lions 17

My arse the Bulls are far better and as pointed out the Sharks are missing a good chunk of their team.

I can see why they're giving Shane Williams another chance, on form he's second only to BOD in talent but I dont see how he's going to turn it around in four days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Stealdo

Very interesting selection here, was expecting to see something like this on Saturday, but not Wednesday, some test players will have a lot asked of them over the 11 days between Wednesday and the 1st test. At this stage they'll be picking with a mind for having reasonable balance between game time and freshness for the pencilled in starters so you can read a lot into whether guys are in or out of this team based on who else is.

I think we've seen the spine of the test team here, with a few guys being given the chance to show what they can do as part of quality combinations. This is last chance saloon time so far as test selection is concerned (barring injuries). My guess would be that Adam Jones, Tom Croft, ROG, Fitz and Williams are the only guys shooting for test places here, Fitz and Williams quite possibly head to head for the 11 shirt. I think this means that you can pretty certainly rule out guys like Kearney. I think it means that Murray is in pole position for the 3 shirt (no possible test starters on the bench other than Vickery himself). The fact that Martyn Williams wasn't available means we can't read anything into Wallace's selection at 7.

Hoping that POC and AWJ can do the business, I don't believe that there's as strong reasons as some that they can't play together.

Also hoping that Shane Williams personal ambitions don't negatively impact Fitzgerald's chances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

bigbadben wrote: »
    My arse the Bulls are far better and as pointed out the Sharks are missing a good chunk of their team.

I can see why they're giving Shane Williams another chance, on form he's second only to BOD in talent but I dont see how he's going to turn it around in four days.

When are the Lions playing the Bulls again?

bigbadben wrote: »

Yes, I agree, the Bulls are better, but are they playing the Lions?

danthefan wrote: »

they are not....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭bigbadben

danthefan wrote: »

Um never , I do like licking the egg off my face. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Is it just me or does Earls warrant another shot on the bench??

Williams doesn't deserve to be there, he has shown time after time that he is not up to the challenge of playing against teams in the SH, plus his form has dropped significantly since playing any of them last. He is not a team player. He is playing dreadful all tournament.

McGeehen could also try Kearney at no. 11 on Saturday. Fully agree Fitz needs a chance to prove himself there against the Sharks but Kearney can offer a kicking game. As I mentioned before the Boks back 3 are week at dealing with high balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Is it just me or does Earls warrant another shot on the bench??

Williams doesn't deserve to be there, he has shown time after time that he is not up to the challenge of playing against teams in the SH, plus his form has dropped significantly since playing any of them last. He is not a team player. He is playing dreadful all tournament.

McGeehen could also try Kearney at no. 11 on Saturday. Fully agree Fitz needs a chance to prove himself there against the Sharks but Kearney can offer a kicking game. As I mentioned before the Boks back 3 are week at dealing with high balls.

Ye bit unfair on Keanrey, Darcy and Flutey with most of the backline barring Fitz and BOD getting their third shot whilst they have only got one thus far. Hardly giving them a chance for a test place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

Looks like a good strong squad. Will be interesting to see how the half-back pairing of ROG and Phillips gets on, if they link up well it could easy give ROG the upper hand for getting a test spot.

Really hope Fitz has a good game as I would much prefer him to Monye on the wing.

It's shocking that Williams is getting another game, Kearney or even Earls would have been a much better option, he's doing more harm than good on the pitch so far this tour. Though I imagine they don't want to push their luck on Earls shoulder if it was as serious as they claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Man they are desperate for Williams to gain some form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭ollieo

Delighted to see Fitzgerald get to start on the wing, hopefully he'll have a good performance and put pressure on Monye and Williams for the no. 11 shirt in the test team.

McGeechan seems determined to get Shane Williams on form but I don't see it happening, I hope he resigns himself to this fact and doesn't start Williams in the first Test anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

redmca wrote: »

British & Irish Lions (vs Sharks)

15. Lee Byrne (Ospreys/Wales)
    14. Shane Williams (Ospreys/Wales)
    13. Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster/Ireland)
    12. Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues/Wales)
    11. Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster/Ireland)
    10. Ronan O’Gara (Munster/Ireland)
    9. Mike Phillips (Ospreys/Wales)

8. Jamie Heaslip (Leinster/Ireland)
    7. David Wallace (Munster/Ireland)
    6. Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers/England)
    5. Paul O’Connell (Munster/Ireland) captain
    4. Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
    3. Adam Jones (Ospreys/Wales)
    2. Lee Mears (Bath/England)
    1. Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues/Wales)

Replacements

16. Matthew Rees (Scarlets/Wales)
    17. Phil Vickery (London Wasps/England)
    18. Simon Shaw (London Wasps/England)
    19. Joe Worsley (London Wasps/England)
    20. Mike Blair (Edinburgh/Scotland)
    21. Riki Flutey (London Wasps/England)
    22. Leigh Halfpenny (Cardiff Blues/Wales)

That's getting closer and closer to test team material, so you'd have to expect a good result.

Looks like trying one more combination in front row and back-row, O'Gara get's his audition for the 10 jersey, as does Luke for the 11 jersey in order to make final decisions on the backline, and beyond that you've got the test team (presumably Bowe been given a rest and also to facilitate Williams to find some form as they're desperate for a lethal winger, which he has the most talent to do from any other winger playing on previous form, but he's having a shocker, they'll have to give up on him sooner or later).

I wouldn't pay too much attnetion to the bench, mostly mid-weekers there to make up the numbers...4 Wasps players....

[Jackass] wrote: »
    That's getting closer and closer to test team material, so you'd have to expect a good result.

Looks like trying one more combination in front row and back-row, O'Gara get's his audition for the 10 jersey, as does Luke for the 11 jersey in order to make final decisions on the backline, and beyond that you've got the test team (presumably Bowe been given a rest and also to facilitate Williams to find some form as they're desperate for a lethal winger, which he has the most talent to do from any other winger playing on previous form, but he's having a shocker, they'll have to give up on him sooner or later).

I wouldn't pay too much attnetion to the bench, mostly mid-weekers there to make up the numbers...4 Wasps players....

I would like to see Halfpenny coming off the bench for Williams at half time, he deserves a chance to show what he is capable of, and could be a great impact sub for test matches.

[Jackass] wrote: »

As above - add Adam Jones to your list of those getting a chance, add the second row as a combination being tried and I think you've got it spot on.

Only interesting thing about the bench for me is Vickery being selected there and the company he's in, might be something or nothing, but suggests for me that he's behind Murray.

The Sharks Team

Gooooooo Sharks....

15. Stefan Terblanche - Great Player
    14. Chris Jordaan
    13. Andries Strauss
    12. Riaan Swanepoel
    11. Luzuko Vulindlu - Future springbok....
    10. Monty Dumond
    9. Rory Kockott - Watch out for him....
    8. Keegan Daniel
    7. Jean Deysel - Great BIG player
    6. Jacques Botes
    5. Johann Muller (captain)
    4. Steven Sykes
    3. Jannie du Plessis
    2. Skipper Badenhorst
    1. Deon Carstens

Replacements:
    16. Craig Burden
    17. Patric Cilliers
    18. Albert van den Berg
    19. Michael Rhodes
    20. Charl McLeod
    21. Guy Cronje
    22. Lwazi Mvovo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 chemgirl

I think that both kearney and moyne both deserve another chance as they both played well against the golden lions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭ch2008

15. Lee Byrne (Ospreys/Wales) In
    14. Shane Williams (Ospreys/Wales) Last Chance
    13. Brian O’Driscoll (Leinster/Ireland) In
    12. Jamie Roberts (Cardiff Blues/Wales) In
    11. Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster/Ireland) His to Lose
    10. Ronan O’Gara (Munster/Ireland) Jones' unless...
    9. Mike Phillips (Ospreys/Wales) In

8. Jamie Heaslip (Leinster/Ireland) In
    7. David Wallace (Munster/Ireland) In
    6. Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers/England) In
    5. Paul O’Connell (Munster/Ireland) captain In
    4. Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys/Wales) In
    3. Adam Jones (Ospreys/Wales) Murray's unless...
    2. Lee Mears (Bath/England) In
    1. Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues/Wales) In

Replacements? Wouldnt read too much into it...

chemgirl wrote: »
    I think that both kearney and moyne both deserve another chance as they both played well against the golden lions.

Monye is in pole position for the 11 shirt at the moment, Kearney will get his chance on Saturday, but pretty much needs an injury to Byrne at this stage to have a hope of starting, not his fault, just Byrne has been one of the best players on tour thus far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭ollieo

I'm just curious to see what peoples opinions are on who should/will fill the no. 6 jersey, Ferris or Croft.

Personally I'd like to see Ferris get it, I think he's had a good Tour and has scored 2 trys also. I just think that his sin binning may count against him getting into the Test team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 chemgirl

Id go for ferris cause he has played well so far and he played well for most of the season as well especially in the 6 nations

ollieo wrote: »
    I'm just curious to see what peoples opinions are on who should/will fill the no. 6 jersey, Ferris or Croft.

Personally I'd like to see Ferris get it, I think he's had a good Tour and has scored 2 trys also. I just think that his sin binning may count against him getting into the Test team.

Ferris has looked great in the two matches where everyone else around him was looking very average. He would be ahead of Croft in my books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Either would do a job. It depends on the overall approach adopted by the team. At the minute I'd lean towards Croft as he's a slightly more versatile player than Ferris, but tbh, there's bugger all in it and Ferris is precisley the kind of player the Boks respect and fear. Indeed, arguably, he's one of the few Lions who'd make a starting SA XV.

I see Ferris getting it. He has performed in the games he has played in, showed pace and power in the loose and I can see AWJ and POC starting so another lineout option may be unnecessary.

Still, it will be very close [thankfully]

Will be decided between Wednesday and Saturday when Ferris will get his shot. I would say that reading between the lions (:eek:) Ferris is in pole position based on Croft getting to play with what looks like a 'probables' team, along with a handful of other guys in 2nd place for their positions at the minute.

Choice for me is between Crofts marginally better athleticism, and Ferris's considerably better physicality and bulk. Ferris for me, but we're all biased here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Stealdo wrote: »

Choice for me is between Crofts marginally better athleticism, and Ferris's considerably better physicality and bulk. Ferris for me,

Thats it in a nutshell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Amabokke

Finally the Lions are taking on the Sharks, a team well worthy of beating the Lions team on Wednesday. Lions picked a strong squad but the Sharks have a good balance between backs and forwards to dominate at the breakdown with quickball to the backline.

Rory is unlucky not to have been chosen for the boks as he will be a handfull for the Lions forwards.

Funny how Shane Williams replicted Bryan Habana's form after he was awared WP of the Year and my guess is his form will not return on this tour. Better to give the opportunity to Bowe/Fitzgerald or Money, who had a good start.

My money is on the Sharks, they will simply use their chances better at their home ground with the Lions struggling to play against a far stronger team than the Golden Lions they hammered away. Tries will not be handed to them on a plate.

Amabokke wrote: »
    Tries will not be handed to them on a plate.

That's OK, BOD never needed a plate. :pac:

Otacon wrote: »
    That's OK, BOD never needed a plate. :pac:

Well, he got his first plate against the Golden Lions, check out the tries on rugbydump and just how easy it was for him to score. Sharks won't give him that space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Can't wait for this one now after seeing the lineup. By all rights they should really destroy the Sharks.

Williams is really being done one hell of a favor by the coaches. They are literally going to break their backs if they bend any further trying to get him into form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 gerkoff

There weren't too many people questioning Ferris' Athleticism after those two turnover tries he ran in.....

Amabokke wrote: »
    Well, he got his first plate against the Golden Lions, check out the tries on rugbydump and just how easy it was for him to score. Sharks won't give him that space.

If I'm honest, my comment wasn't meant as an actual analysis of BOD's game but a light rivalry dig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Actually Ambokke, i'd be interested to know what players on the Lions you'd rate that you wouldn't have seen too much of before the tour?

Crash wrote: »
    Actually Ambokke, i'd be interested to know what players on the Lions you'd rate that you wouldn't have seen too much of before the tour?

Well, for starters I watched the 6N, Heineken, Magners and Permiership matches and was impressed with "newcomers" Bowe, Fitzgerald, Heaslip, Ferris, Earls.

Fitzgerald played his heart out in every game, good in defence and not shy in scoring tries. Bowe overall game has improved significantly since last season. Heaslip the same and not only is he a good ball carrier but he can side-step and is not one-dimensional like Powell (who I rated before this tour) Ferris is a tough menace, hard worker, good pace but unless he has a good 7/8 to back and support him will struggle on his own (as we've seen against Brussouw). Earls had a bad start, put it down to nerves, etc. but few more games for this 21y old and he'd be very strong on attack. Kearney, very good in the air and attack but still bit behind Byrne.

Old regurlars - Byrne, BOD, Sheridan, - so far they've shown why they are the best in their positions as they dominated but the game against the Golden Lions was not a good measurement so be good to see what happens tomorrow night against stronger opposition.

Average - Wallace, ROG, Hook, S Jones, Monye, POC, Vickery, M Williams, S Williams, Phillips, Wyn Jones - these players had ok games so far and would not get over excited by selecting them in my test team. If you ask POC to build you a house he would, but if you ask him to take care of the budget I'm not so sure he could do that. Bit 1-dimensional and does not like the offload and the players just don't seem to be motivated around him.

Shane Williams like the rest of the Wales players all seem to be playing a very individual 1-dimensional game. The Irish lads have made good use of what was put in front of them bar 1/2 players, the Scots have come along for the ride, nothing special and the English are trying hard to stamp their authority especially 1-2 players as again their presence on this tour is not overpowering.

I believe tomorrow night's game will be the pinnacle of this tour, you are either on board with Ian's selection policies and game plan or you won't play in the first test regardless of who you are.

It's going to be up to the majority of the Irish squad and few outstanding players from Eng, Wal to come together as a team and gel and if they can do it the first test will be phenomenal. BUT, if not it could be a long afternoon....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭telemachus

gerkoff wrote: »
    There weren't too many people questioning Ferris' Athleticism after those two turnover tries he ran in.....

Saying he's slightly less athletic than Croft is hardly questioning him, by forwards standards he's no slouch but Croft is exceptionally fast/agile for a forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

Based on form & the fact that Croft was a late callup it has to be Ferris at 6.

I think Monye is a great athlete but would question his rugby match sense; Fitzy for 11.

ROG needs a big game on Wednesday as I think Jones is the perferred option.

great to see a strong team going out, a bit unexpected really. Isn't just great to have so much rugby on the box :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

POC has a good team to captain this week. No excuses now and this is from a Munsterman. :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Dumbledore

telemachus wrote: »
    Saying he's slightly less athletic than Croft is hardly questioning him, by forwards standards he's no slouch but Croft is exceptionally fast/agile for a forward.

What it comes down to is if the Lions are going to try and match or counter the Springboks when it comes to physicality. If they want to match them, Ferris is the guy because he is more abrasive. The fight fire with fire option.

Croft will be picked if McGeechan decides he can not outmuscle the Boks, and Croft is far more athletic and versatile. He will be the "if you cant go through it go around it" option.