Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

W200 2009 Pics.

• 07-06-2009 6:08pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭

P1000586.jpgP1000616.jpgP1000609.jpgP1000619.jpgP1000576.jpgP1000618.jpgP1000582.jpgP1000603.jpgP1000569.jpgP1000601.jpgP1000614.jpgP1000563.jpgP1000594.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

That last one is uber-bad-ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Ugh, total helmet hair!

Cheers for the photos Planet-X, top man!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

P1000598.jpgP1000599.jpgP1000608.jpg

P1000577.jpgP1000578.jpgP1000592.jpgVictor Carerra. P1000593.jpg Get up da Road.P1000605.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

That guy in Yellow to the left of Kelly is Barry from WWC, I think that's Paul Butler to his right in the An Post gear, he was a very good amateur cyclist back in the early 90's.

A few Sorrento lads..........P1000589.jpgP1000591.jpgP1000595.jpgP1000596.jpgP1000597.jpg

P1000602.jpg
    P1000581.jpgP1000606.jpgIMGP1000613.jpgIMGP1000613.jpg

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Some pictures from the start

The Claw:
    3604856224_155f676462.jpg

Lumen:
    3604852986_169fe43e26.jpg

Blorg:
    3604038401_6685b5d193.jpg

Unionman, AstraMonti and TinyExplosions:
    3604041885_ab17536faa.jpg

Claw and LDB:
    3604042545_0e89f660a8.jpg

3604855088_a268e06d91.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

lol.. i have a disgusted face.. :D It was probably because i was cold :D

Who has the group photo?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

AstraMonti wrote: »
    lol.. i have a disgusted face..

You were probably disgusted by how late Tom and Caroline were.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

el tonto wrote: »
    You were probably disgusted by how late Tom and Caroline were.;)

Meow! Saucer of milk please ;)

The nose piece on "The Claws" sunglasses is back to front?

Nietzsomething has some of the very rushed group pic at the start. I've a fair few but i'll upload them tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

attachment.php?attachmentid=82045&d=1244409379

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

sorry its sooooo big, just not quite arsed re-sizing it at the moment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

th_IMG_0938.jpg th_IMG_0939.jpg th_IMG_0940.jpg th_IMG_0941.jpg th_IMG_0942.jpg th_IMG_0943.jpg th_IMG_0946.jpg th_IMG_0947.jpg th_IMG_0948.jpg th_IMG_0950.jpg th_IMG_0951.jpg th_IMG_0952.jpg th_IMG_0953.jpg th_IMG_0954.jpg th_IMG_0955.jpg

th_IMG_0956.jpg th_IMG_0957.jpg th_IMG_0958.jpg th_IMG_0959.jpg th_IMG_0960.jpg th_IMG_0962.jpg th_IMG_0964.jpg th_IMG_0965.jpg th_IMG_0966.jpg th_IMG_0967.jpg th_IMG_0968.jpg th_IMG_0969.jpg th_IMG_0970.jpg th_IMG_0971.jpg th_IMG_0972.jpg

th_IMG_0973.jpg th_IMG_0974.jpg th_IMG_0975.jpg th_IMG_0976.jpg th_IMG_0977.jpg th_IMG_0978.jpg th_IMG_0982.jpg th_IMG_0983.jpg th_IMG_0985.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I was heading out to a friend in Sandyford, on the Enniskerry road at about 6pm and I saw many cyclists returning from wicklow on the other side of the road. Well done folks. Didn't get in enough training this year to make it, but next year I promise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Húrin wrote: »
    Well done folks. Didn't get in enough training this year to make it, but next year I promise!

I'll second that after seeing them pics i definately wanna do it next yr, might even get myself one of the boards jerseys for the occasion !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Well done all. Didn't get to do it this year but am aiming for next year. Did get out of bed mind you, cycled the couple of miles up to hollywood to cheer the field on.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

What a handsome team.
    I'm almost tempted to take up cycling!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Hey, is that Blue Steel from Barrabus ? Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

blorg wrote: »
    th_IMG_0955.jpg

Aargh! My arch nemesis, Homo Moultonus.

Managed to beat him to the finish, just, but it took some effort. What a loon!

3603927931_512c7fbffd.jpg?v=03604740622_c611d9bca9.jpg?v=03604734006_dbabcf1c08.jpg?v=0

Just a few of us rolling out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭decrrrrrr

Does anybody know the website for the photographer(s) who were at the top of Slieve Mann...? They were handing out business cards I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

ambientlight.ie
    #226 :)

Lumen wrote: »
    Aargh! My arch nemesis, Homo Moultonus.

Managed to beat him to the finish, just, but it took some effort. What a loon!

I passed that guy on the Sally Gap. He was going at a fair clip considering he was on a fold-up. Wondering if he did it for a bet or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭decrrrrrr

kenmc wrote: »
    ambientlight.ie
    #226 :)

Thanks - some great shots up there. Costly though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I passed that guy on the Sally Gap. He was going at a fair clip considering he was on a fold-up. Wondering if he did it for a bet or something.

No. Iwas with him for a good bit of the way from Rathdrum to Roundwood.
    He has done a few WW200 on it. He claims it is very comfy as he has had it for years.

He has a road bike but doesnt find it comfy at all. Nice guy, from the North. Gearing is internal.

ROK ON wrote: »
    He has done a few WW200 on it. He claims it is very comfy as he has had it for years.

He has a road bike but doesnt find it comfy at all. Nice guy, from the North. Gearing is internal.

Wow. He was belting along anyway. Wouldn't fancy descending on that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

madhatter # 274
    hairdoo #479 #489 #490 #492
    ?? #486
    Gavin #487 488 #489 #491

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Wow. He was belting along anyway. Wouldn't fancy descending on that though.

He says he has to be carfu climbing, but that it is ok. But descending is tricky. Just has to take his time, as he doesnt have sufficient gear range to stop spinning out very early IIRC.

kenmc wrote: »
    madhatter # 274
    hairdoo #479 #489 #490 #492
    ?? #486
    Gavin #487 488 #489 #491

Some fecker in green blockin all my shots. There was a photographer on the descent as well from Slieve Maan, hopefully he sticks up some shots.

I forgot my highlight of destroying Dirk in a sprint finish up Shay Elliot. He may or may not have been aware that he was in contention, but nonetheless, I'll take my victory.

How are ye inputting those numbers. I can't figure out how to call up those pics?

OK, figured it out.

Some pics from yesterday (if people don't want their images put up PM me and I'll take them down)

IMG_0019_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0020_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0021_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0022_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0028_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0033_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0039_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0042_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0043_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0058_Medium_thumb.jpg

And some more.

IMG_0059_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0068_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0071_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0079_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0090_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0091_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0095_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0097_Medium_thumb.jpg IMG_0108_Medium_thumb.jpg

ROK ON wrote: »

Moultons are not folders in the traditional sense at all, in the ones that are seperable it is more a side-effect than a goal of the design. Increased comfort was one of the key design goals. Position is actually the same as on a comparable road bike.

tx.aspx?auth=1244448000.272143010.11.5.3.f3293c9bd94a173fd984d64895be0e52ca689d1f.1244414349tx.aspx?auth=1244448000.272199410.11.5.3.62d8a23ba4730f78d09396242325059a9a91146e.1244414483

Dónal wrote: »
    IMG_0033_Medium_thumb.jpg

Love this pic and not because it has me in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

blorg wrote: »
    tx.aspx?auth=1244448000.272143010.11.5.3.f3293c9bd94a173fd984d64895be0e52ca689d1f.1244414349

Awh, the Man, The Myth, The Hairdo.... nice pic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

Gavin wrote: »
    Hey, is that Blue Steel from Barrabus ? Nice.

Lol the echo and the bunny men looking in the wrong direction snap I guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

I see there's a few of you on the front page of the wicklow 200 website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Aquinas73 wrote: »
    I see there's a few of you on the front page of the wicklow 200 website
    i don't like it ... it doesn't have me in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

You're right it's a terrible photo....I'm not in it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I never smile in photos, I either close my eyes or make that stupid face...still gonna get the sean kelly one though.

Very disappointed LDB and godihatethehills never went up and got their photo, there was much promising of grabbing the big man's rear end!

EDIT: @Gavin: I seem to remember redrawing the ACTUAL finish line further down the road, so technically I won that one :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭The_Claw

Planet X wrote: »
    The nose piece on "The Claws" sunglasses is back to front?

That stupid nose-piece falls off every time I so much as look at the damn glasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Slightly more alert today ... actually no, I am sleepy as hell. Managed to get a last minute day off and stayed in bed all day.

A few things I know now after my 1st WW200:

- Be on time, so your team mates aren't waiting ( sorry people )
    - Not to lose my shades again ...
    - Do not say hello to the man himself while he's having a wee
    - Maximuscle Viper is vile ... don't drink it for the love of god
    - Avoid bathroom pause in Stepaside and risk losing your group for the 1st 45km
    - No need to queue for sambos, enter from the back door, noone will notice if you're 5 foot tall
    - Don't eat the sambos at the stops
    - Hop on the wheel on a fast vets group when you're tired and wanna go home: it does work
    - I paced myself quite well all throughout the day, speed, effort and food, ate bars, gels, half a premade sambo every couple of hours

It's great to have met a few more boardsies I hadn't met before, Funkyzeit, Nietzschean, mloc, a few more i forget the name.

Thanks to those who saved me from throwing myself under a herd of thiathletes at the time I was doubting my love for cycling ...

Blorg and Greyspoke = legend