Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This forum, it's tone, muppets and moderation

• 06-06-2009 7:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭

Right a few people have commented on the forum lately, we've had some unusual posts and threads and some comments and posts that were / are out of the ordinary. As a mod team we've been warning, banning and editing as we see fit and as posts are reported.

There have however been a few PMs and posts that imply that we're being over draconian or having sense of humour failures. In light of teh thread about the IMRA forum I wanted to open the question up and get feedback from you guys. Especially the regulars.

I am not looking for a group hug or american style "yay, you guys are awesome!" mass back slapping thing. What I am looking for are your honest opinions on the direction you think we should take. With the exception of the Off Topic thread should we be deleting "adult" humour? How strict should we be on posters who seem intent on winding us all, who are trying to prompt a reaction or are borderline trolling? Remember that whatever rules we conjure will have to apply to us all.

An accusation was made that this discussion couldn't be had in the open. I hope it can be but please be civil :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I feel that yes you still need to edit some of the so called adult humour, some of which I have not found funny, I would hate to see this forum go down the line of after hours. From what I can see it's new posters to the forum that are trying to bring it down to their silly childish level and offering very little in return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭ss43

Right a few people have commented on the forum lately, we've had some unusual posts and threads and some comments and posts that were / are out of the ordinary. As a mod team we've been warning, banning and editing as we see fit and as posts are reported.

There have however been a few PMs and posts that imply that we're being over draconian or having sense of humour failures. In light of teh thread about the IMRA forum I wanted to open the question up and get feedback from you guys. Especially the regulars.

I am not looking for a group hug or american style "yay, you guys are awesome!" mass back slapping thing. What I am looking for are your honest opinions on the direction you think we should take. With the exception of the Off Topic thread should we be deleting "adult" humour? How strict should we be on posters who seem intent on winding us all, who are trying to prompt a reaction or are borderline trolling? Remember that whatever rules we conjure will have to apply to us all.

An accusation was made that this discussion couldn't be had in the open. I hope it can be but please be civil :)

I think the moderation was a bit over the top recently. Don't delete anything unless it's going to get you in legal trouble. See how it goes. If necessary, you can always open this topic back up and see if people want to go back to a more heavily moderated site.

Allow medical advice on the premise that none of us really know what we're talking about as well. Everyone should know that you're taking a risk in getting a diagnosis or treatemtent advice over the internet from a stranger. If everyone works on that basis there could be reasoned discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I think a level of humor is ok but there is a line that has been crossed in the last few days, It may have been slightly funny at first but i don't think i'll be replying to any of them again.

The medical advise issue is one that I think is correct, I didn't like some things i've read in the last day and was glad to see the edit.. even if it was my post that was edited too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I think you've kind of encouraged it a bit, changing that thread to a name like "attention seeker, seeking attention", highlights it on the Boards homepage, and invites bored browsers. Yer a mod, its a obviously childish thread, just delete it and lets move on. This is one of the better behaved forums, and if it takes being a little po-faced to keep that up, then so be it. A bit a humour (say, oh, 27.6% or so) is fine, but lets keep to running chat. Or put it in the A/R/T off topic thread.

Just because someone complains about the IMRA forum, you shouldn't think to apply those criticisms to here.

shels4ever wrote: »
    I think a level of humor is ok but there is a line that has been crossed in the last few days, It may have been slightly funny at first but i don't think i'll be replying to any of them again.

The medical advise issue is one that I think is correct, I didn't like some things i've read in the last day and was glad to see the edit.. even if it was my post that was edited too :)

Certain medical advice is allowed though: For example -
    Go to a physio
    Go to a GP
    Get gait analysis and get fitted with shoes that correspond with your motion.

These are regularly trotted out here. Most other advice is deleted or we're warned not to give it out.

I personally think (based on my experience) physios in this country are generally incompetent when it comes to running injuries. As far as I am aware, you can get a degree in physiotherapy without much sport related study also. I alos think that the shoes people get fitted with after these wonderful gait analyses cause a lot of problems. So, from my point of view, lots of shoddy medical advice is allowed. I think it should all be allowed on a 'take it or leave it' basis where it's followed at one's own risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭runningman1980

to keep it fair, and out in the open amadeus, may i post the private message i just sent you, to get other peoples view points please? I wanted to reply in the open but I am afraid of being banned

The problem I have is that you have removed my post, saying that i have gone broken some rules about medical advice and I clearly have not. I have people here that agree with me. I am feel that I am treated unfairy by yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

ss43 wrote: »
    Certain medical advice is allowed though: For example -
    Go to a physio
    Go to a GP
    Get gait analysis and get fitted with shoes that correspond with your motion.

That's not medical advice.

"Take x medicine for such-and-such" is. That's what's not allowed, and it's a site-wide policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Just as an aside I believe 2 of the imra guys that were going hammer and tongs at each other on that thread in recent days, had each other in a head luck (humourously only!) at the relay today.

If theres reasoned discussion and people respect boundaries of decency let them away with it. The A/R/T forum is a good place to be.

The problem I have is that you have removed my post, saying that i have gone broken some rules about medical advice and I clearly have not. I have people here that agree with me. I am feel that I am treated unfairy by yourself

Telling someone to take medicine for pre-race craps is medical advice aand rank bad advice too. Pre-race craps are just a normal reaction to nerves, but immodium is for diarrhoea, which is is not a normal condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I haven't fully caught up with everything here, however, I would go for the don't delete unless the post causes personal offense. I think the mods do a fine job here, this thread is an example of the excellent moding. As they said in other forums don't feed the trolls, if its crap advise highlight and leave it they. People new to the site will soon cop on as to who can point them in the right direction. I have never seen a thread locked here that I thought didn't need it.

I'm a tad conscious about medical advise it needs to be there clearly but at what point does something become medical, I'm think of some of the stuff that can pop up in discussing adventure races. I posted on a thread about the way I treat blisters awhile ago. That could have been described as medical advise, I'm sure alot of use have metion how we deal with certain issues that made arising in our sport.

My main point is that common sense has always won the day on this forum. The mods have the posters have been responsible for this, from my viewpoint I would say lets do what we have to do in order to protect this. If a person is dangerously trolling lock the thread. If we don't feed the trolls they will go away, if we make a wrong call on someone I'm sure they will point it out.

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Telling someone to take medicine for pre-race craps is medical advice aand rank bad advice too. Pre-race craps are just a normal reaction to nerves, but immodium is for diarrhoea, which is is not a normal condition.
    Maybe so, but I never told him to do it, i only said a mate of does it before a race and you should see a gp if you have any medical questions reagarding that. That was exaclty what was said and I stand by it. I categorally said you should not take and medical advice from a forum.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I think this is one of the fairer forums on this site as far as moderation goes. Only over moderation that annoys me is the medical advice thing(purely because I come from a sports injury background) but I'm sure there's legal/whole site reasons for that.

Not sure I've ever noticed any adult humour that I thought was out of line/offensive...the best forums on the interweb are ones where you can have your serious chat, enjoy yourself, be yourself and have a laugh at the same time without fear of being banned or reported(which you can't do in some forums on here).
    With the exception of the Off Topic thread should we be deleting "adult" humour?

IMO No. Unless it goes over the top in a particular thread or people start doing it CONSTANTLY.
    How strict should we be on posters who seem intent on winding us all, who are trying to prompt a reaction or are borderline trolling

That thread was an obvious wind up from the start. Gave people a good laugh it just went on too long. As I say, no problem keeping the place a bit light hearted but maybe action could have been taken towards the WUM's somewhere around page 7?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I think you've kind of encouraged it a bit, changing that thread to a name like "attention seeker, seeking attention", highlights it on the Boards homepage, and invites bored browsers. Yer a mod, its a obviously childish thread, just delete it and lets move on. This is one of the better behaved forums, and if it takes being a little po-faced to keep that up, then so be it. A bit a humour (say, oh, 27.6% or so) is fine, but lets keep to running chat. Or put it in the A/R/T off topic thread.

Just because someone complains about the IMRA forum, you shouldn't think to apply those criticisms to here.

Guilty as charged. I PM'd the other 2 mods a couple of days ago and admitted as much and asked them too keep an eye on the thread as I didn't want look like I was going after a personal vendetta. But you're right, it shouldn't have been changed and apologies if it dragged things down further. Likewise with LOLcats.
    to keep it fair, and out in the open amadeus, may i post the private message i just sent you, to get other peoples view points please? I wanted to reply in the open but I am afraid of being banned

By all means, but if you post them I would appreciate a posting in full rather than an edited version.

On medical advice that is a site wide policy lead by the doctors who moderate Bio&Med. The advice we were told to give (by the owners of the site) was to seek professional assistance. Not sure advising gait analysis is med advice, though.

Just had a thought, I probably should have spoken to the other mods before posting this - two apologies in one post, not good :o

I concur, however such preparations are essential kit for some types of runs [yes I know:)] So we do discuss such issues at times.

Maybe so, but I never told him to do it, i only said a mate of does it before a race and you should see a gp if you have any medical questions reagarding that. That was exaclty what was said and I stand by it. I categorally said you should not take and medical advice from a forum.
    If i said a mate took another over the counter medicine like panadol for a headache, would that be medical advice also?
    Lets be clear on something here, I am not in any breaking any rules here and I stand by that

That's not medical advice.

"Take x medicine for such-and-such" is. That's what's not allowed, and it's a site-wide policy.

medical - relating to the study of medicine
    Medicine - diagnosing, treating, preventing disease or other damage to the body or mind

Telling someone to get a gait analysis to get shoes to prevent injury is medical advice in my book. GIven the selection of shoes in one of the shops often mentioned here, it's very shoddy medical advice.

If it's a site wide policy there's not much we can do about it here though.

Perfect example of poor humour, the whole lesbian and minimarathon runners comment in my eyes has no place here, there is plenty of othe forums (after hours) you can got to for this, this is the ART forum and may it stay like that.
    Regarding the IMRA thread, I didn't see a problem and enjoyed following it. Two adults with different opinions slogging it out.

here is the PM I sent to amadeus, with his permission

Snip my posts cause I mentioned the word GP or immodium?? Saying that you should see a GP for any health related issues is not allowed?? Is it that you are against Doctors or something?It must be the word immodium as that is the only word the other posters have not used, but their posts remain untouched!
    Good one, you got me with that one, so can you give me a list of over the counter medicines that are banned from this forum, so I wont make the same mistake again. I notice calpol was mentioned before in another post, but that was by a moderator, so he must be allowed right? I know the story, great job amadeus you are a top man, nice cat pictures also, you buried me with that one, is there no end to your undoubted talent? I would just like to mention, and make you aware, the one person that craves attention here has called me an attention seeker, it is comical, I have obviously got to you. It is very enjoyable reading your attempts to ridicule me, but you dont handle it so well. You should learn to chill and keep the spite out of your posts directed at me. It is seen by not just me, but others here also have a similar viewpoint of you.What you do is a form of bullying. As a moderator you should practice the rules of the forum. I would have liked to put this post out in the public domain, but that is not allowed right? you would have to remove it? Simply because I am not allowed to argue my position in case I have a valid point. I know that is what you are afraid of, not very noble is it? Comical. If on the other hand you are willing to engage in a fair argument, let me know and i will post this in the forum, your call, but I think I know the outcome

I also didnt like being accused of double posting and being two identities, namely Shane Gickball. I just want to put the record straight for anyone who is interested, I am not the same guy

You can't really come on and try and wind people up then moan about the way you get treated. :rolleyes:

Runningman, my reading of things is that you are going out of your way to irritate the mods. You only started posting in this forum a couple of days ago but are making alot of noise. Can you tell me what exactly your contributing to the forum?

I think this is one of the fairer forums on this site as far as moderation goes. Only over moderation that annoys me is the medical advice thing(purely because I come from a sports injury background) but I'm sure there's legal/whole site reasons for that.

Not sure I've ever noticed any adult humour that I thought was out of line/offensive...the best forums on the interweb are ones where you can have your serious chat, enjoy yourself, be yourself and have a laugh at the same time without fear of being banned or reported(which you can't do in some forums on here).

IMO No. Unless it goes over the top in a particular thread or people start doing it CONSTANTLY.

That thread was an obvious wind up from the start. Gave people a good laugh it just went on too long. As I say, no problem keeping the place a bit light hearted but maybe action could have been taken towards the WUM's somewhere around page 7?

i aggree it went on too long, I have stopped posting to that thread as may be seen, what are WUM's please?

Wind up merchants.

RM - Aren't you going to post the full set - my reply and your subsequent reply?

Folks if this gets into a "look at me" thread (by anyone), if there is more noise than signal I'll lock it. Please keep it civil, thanks!

Woddle wrote: »
    Runningman, my reading of things is that you are going out of your way to irritate the mods. You only started posting in this forum a couple of days ago but are making alot of noise. Can you tell me what exactly your contributing to the forum?

In my view, I have contributed in some threads, I invite you look at them all. I concur some have not been very constructive and I have tried to be humorous, but some have been in my own way but it hard to please all, I know that. My athlectics knowledege is lacking in comparison to most of the posters here, but it is a learning curve. I did not want to cause any personal insult to any and if I have, I will personally apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

ss43 wrote: »
    Telling someone to get a gait analysis to get shoes to prevent injury is medical advice in my book.

Are you for real?!!!! So, essentially what you're saying is, any total running newbie coming on here for advice should not be told to get their gait analysed?! Oh my, I've seen it all now!

Back on topic - I think all trollers/wums should be banned - period. Medical 'advice' should be allowed, we're all adults and can decide whether to research the advice further or not. Remember, it's only 'advice', people aren't being told to act on what we tell them! Of all the forums I'm on, this is the only one where medical advice is banned which I think is pathetic!

Apart from the ridiculous medical angle, I think the A/R/T forum is moderated quite well. :D

RM - Aren't you going to post the full set - my reply and your subsequent reply?

Folks if this gets into a "look at me" thread (by anyone), if there is more noise than signal I'll lock it. Please keep it civil, thanks!

ok 1 sec

from amadeus to me:

Medical advice is banned by the charter, you could have been infracted or banned for those, instead I let them go. If you have an issue go to Help Desk. I won't be replying to other PMs from you.

my last reply to amadeus :

One more thing, I should have mentioned in my original message, if you ever accuse me of being two people (shane gickball is not me and can be proven) or name call or bully me in any way, I will take things further. I wont accept any form of it in the future. You have been warned.

You can't really come on and try and wind people up then moan about the way you get treated. :rolleyes:
    Em fair point but not the issue, it is about medical advice etc. which I didnt submit, that was my argument:confused:

Am I guilty of winding up people with a totally unrealistic marathon time, that was clearly off the wall? Well then I am guilty

my last reply to amadeus :

One more thing, I should have mentioned in my original message, if you ever accuse me of being two people (shane gickball is not me and can be proven) or name call or bully me in any way, I will take things further. I wont accept any form of it in the future. You have been warned.

Grando so, a valid reason to no longer want to have any interaction with you, I bid you good day sirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

I assume as Mods you moderate each other??

I have to say that I enjoy this forum and take and give advice where appropriate. I can't remember an occasion when I disagreed with a decision made by the mods re deleting, locking threads etc.

My only message to you is to use your common sense and gut feeling.

And I have to say I did enjoy that humour/windup etc, it should have remained lighthearted, and most of the replies to my posts for eg. shels4ever were very funny and robinph for that matter to name a few, there have been more

geld wrote: »
    I assume as Mods you moderate each other??

I have to say that I enjoy this forum and take and give advice where appropriate. I can't remember an occasion when I disagreed with a decision made by the mods re deleting, locking threads etc.

My only message to you is to use your common sense and gut feeling.
    I totally agree sir

colblimp wrote: »
    Are you for real?!!!! So, essentially what you're saying is, any total running newbie coming on here for advice should not be told to get their gait analysed?! Oh my, I've seen it all now!

Back on topic - I think all trollers/wums should be banned - period. Medical 'advice' should be allowed, we're all adults and can decide whether to research the advice further or not. Remember, it's only 'advice', people aren't being told to act on what we tell them! Of all the forums I'm on, this is the only one where medical advice is banned which I think is pathetic!

Apart from the ridiculous medical angle, I think the A/R/T forum is moderated quite well. :D

Yes. Gait analysis (generally) occurs in shops which sell shoes that are unsited to running in my opinion. If someone goes in and they're found to 'over-pronate' they'll be told to get a pair of shoes which will control that over-pronation by preventing the foot from moving fully when it hists the ground. This treats the symptom rather than the cause. It inhibits the movement of the foot which leads to weaknesses in the foot and lower legs. Gait is influenced by issues further up the legs (around the hips generally) so that is what needs to be addressed rather than just the foot. This is just my opinion.

I agree with you on the medical advice.

I will take things further. I wont accept any form of it in the future. You have been warned.

[I know I shouldn't be doing this but...]

For you Sir, I am in a position to offer you a duelling glove and pistols. If you should ever wish to go down this road please pm me. I'm can even hire myself out as an empire on an hourly rate, The psychotherapy business is slow at the moment so I'm open to double jobbing.

Odysseus wrote: »
    [I know I shouldn't be doing this but...]

For you Sir, I am in a position to offer you a duelling glove and pistols. If you should ever wish to go down this road please pm me. I'm can even hire myself out as an empire on an hourly rate, The psychotherapy business is slow at the moment so I'm open to double jobbing.

Yes mods can and do moderate each other - if I screw up then HM or Tingle will pull me up on it.

The merits of gait analysis is interesting and should probably go in a different thread, it's OT here.

Silliness and banter are out of place here, I'm looking for serious feedback here, if it continues to spiral into personal bickering or played for lulz I'll lock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Bobby04

I personally requested recently that the mods view of discussing injuries and remedies be relaxed slightly from the blanket ban at the time. They were very receptive and open to opinion, willing to change policy, and I appreciated that. I generally find them all fair and reasonable. They have a tough and usually thankless job. I wouldn't have their patience for trolls and wind up merchants. Fair play to amadeus for bringing this out in the open.
    As for the adult humour, I've a filthy mind so won't comment! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

The moderation on this forum is very good indeed. All the mods are fair and also contribute well to the discussions.

Im not sure if runningman1980 is actually a runner. I think the mods have been extremely patient with him and any further negative/non contributions from him (on other threads on this site) IMO should be regarded as trolling.

I would understand boards stance on the medical stuff from an insurance point of view.

I notice calpol was mentioned...

It was mentioned by the poster in relation to himself. He wasn't advising others.

On the first thread you started, you pretty much set yourself up by claiming to have run a marathon in 2:21 and claiming to be a highly talented athlete.
    ss43 wrote:
    medical - relating to the study of medicine
    Medicine - diagnosing, treating, preventing disease or other damage to the body or mind

What's your point? Medicine also means a catch-all word to mean stuff you take for an illness.

In relation to the above posts

Sigh..ok its very simple,my argument was, the "medical" posts by myself were snipped.I dont blame yourself to not know their content as you probably were unable to read them. I cannot reproduce them to prove the point that they dont infringe on any rules of the forum. The ironic thing is that, I actually clearly stated not to take anything written as medical advice in a forum and to go and see your GP for that guidance...christ...I did not post any medical advice..its unreal having to explain that, but again, that is not an issue I have with yourself, it was with amadeus.

Secondly, yes I did set myself up in the thread as you mentioned, no argument there, it was humorous for some, not for others as they take some things too personal, but thats their problem. I actually put out an extended apology to anyone that may have deserved it, but then on reflection, I have nothing to apologise about. I will mention woddle here as he has taken personal exception to me above and in no means does he deserve any apology. Actually im a bit confused with his hostility, but then thats something he will have to reflect upon. I just dont understand the angry vibes being floated around, people should lighten up. One should remember its a public forum and whatever peoples ability, experience in running should be not be taken into objection. I am a new member here, but bar the minority, I have been met with hostility. It has been questioned above whether I am actually a runner !?? Well what constitutes a runner exactly? Yes i am a runner, not a great one, but do I need to post my official race times etc to prove my worthiness to post? I have learned one lesson here, humour is ok amongst the regulars here but not allowed for a "new member trying to be part of the gang" such as myself. I have admitted to being guilty of a "windup merchant", but I dont think there was any confusion about that. That post lasted a couple of days but in no way did I get personal or abuse anyone there. On another point ladies and gentleman, its your call whether to let yourself get wound up or not, so in my opinion its lies with you all, not with me. I do respect peoples posts and I have been serious with some replies(not all), but as I have said it would not take huge amount of intellect to deduce what is humour and what is serious. My suggestion is, maybe set up a private members forum for yourselves (invites only), that way you would not be "subjected to any God forbid banter or windups". Peace out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

Guys, web I saw the thread on Friday, I nearly wet myself laughing it was so funny, among the funniest contributions were those from shels, tingle, robinph, running bing etc. It was just a good laugh, a one off, I can't really understand this discussion apart from the more serious medical advice issue. Look this forum has been an essential source of info for me as a runner without a club / full time coach, I think that is one of it's strengths, you know who the regular posters / common sense talkers are within a very short space of time. Also without a running partner, I have really enjoyed being involved in this virtual community of people with a common interest.

I believe the forum should be serious and allow for humour within running discussion threads, but not pure and utter horse crap / posts to get a reaction / lies

That being said, that thread was really funny and harmless but got boring in the end. But u saw the amount of interest in it (views / posts), there must be some requirement for this kind of interaction, rm1989 was hailed at the end for being so inventive / funny and provocative in a non serious way, we knew from an earl stage what the thread was about, we continued to contribute, there are 39 other threads discussing aspects of running, none generated this much interest and non contained this much bs. We are very strange....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

@runningman1980:

You came into this forum with your first posts on boards.ie and it was blatantly a trolling thread. For some reason we went along with it for a laugh, but for a bit too long probably because the heat had gotten to us all most likely. This forum is very welcoming to new posters, regardless of if they are new to boards.ie as a whole or just to this little corner of it. People generally start off with something like "I want to have a go at running the X km race, what training do I need to do?" type questions and then engage sensibly with the responses they receive. However, by your first posts here you have set yourself up to be viewed with suspicion over all your subsequent posts however well intentioned they may now be.

I don't see any problem with the humor in this forum, but you cannot expect to come along and join straight in at the appropriate level. Each forum on boards.ie has very different perspective as to what is acceptable behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

While appreciating that is a site policy, I really find the no medical advice thing quite sad. An indictment of the world we live in, the lack of people taking responsibility, blaim culture, medicolegal claims, compensation culture etc. And also that certain professions like medicine and religion are still on a pedestal in this country.

I'm not aware of a 'no mechanics advice' on this site. Consider the following scenarios:

OP: I've a stress fracture on my foot, should I keep on running?
    Reply: Yes

OP: The brakes on my car are broken, should I keep driving?
    Reply: Yes

Am I right in saying the advice in the first instance is not allowed, but that in the second is?

I don't see why there can't be a disclaimer that has to be ticked on first signing up to boards, or perhaps even on every log in saying that readers are responsible themselves for any action they might take based on advice given on boards or something to that effect.

If medical advice were allowed, people would by and large get more informed which can only be a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭BombSquad

T runner wrote: »
    The moderation on this forum is very good indeed. All the mods are fair and also contribute well to the discussions.

Im not sure if runningman1980 is actually a runner. I think the mods have been extremely patient with him and any further negative/non contributions from him (on other threads on this site) IMO should be regarded as trolling.

I would understand boards stance on the medical stuff from an insurance point of view.

Agreed. As a relative newcomer to boards the discussions have been very informative and helpful...until the rubbish/trolling of the past few days. Well done Amadeus, HM and tingle for your work... Keep it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

While appreciating that is a site policy, I really find the no medical advice thing quite sad. An indictment of the world we live in, the lack of people taking responsibility, blaim culture, medicolegal claims, compensation culture etc

If medical advice were allowed, people would by and large get more informed which can only be a good thing.

Just my 2 cents...I think the way the medical advice is controlled is pretty good. People can say there's plenty of medical info already on the web/other forums...true, so why not just check them up instead? And it is sad about the compensation culture etc- but that's just the way it is. Not sure any websites have been successfully sued for giving medical advice, but the risk is definitely there.

And fair enough plenty of docs/physios wouldn't know/care about running injuries, but there are enough that do. Medical advice being allowed means more information but says nothing about the quality of the information you get either. A lot of the advice I've read on other sites is complete twaddle, nothing whatsoever to back it up, it worked for me so it must work for everybody type thing. And there's the risk the site would get swamped fairly quickly with "my leg hurts..." posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

This is the wrong way of going about finding out peoples views on this board. A problem has obviously arisen between certain posters and moderators and because of that this thread has already turned into a he said / she said pile of drivel.