Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Junior Cert-Is it as hard as it's made out to be?

• 06-06-2009 7:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭

Hi everyone. I have just finished second year and I was just wondering whether the Junior Cert is as hard as teachers make it out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Hi everyone. I have just finished second year and I was just wondering whether the Junior Cert is as hard as teachers make it out to be.

"Hard" is a very relative term. I found it to be a piece of piss but I treated it as such as I knew I would be continuing my education afterwards.
    I didnt do a huge amount of study or work during the year and did okay in it. Obviously not everyone could get away with that.
    That said it was 13 years ago since I did it.
    Kippy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 iheartboosh

Well considering you put enoguh work in you'll do fine.
    All it comes down to is like 12 exams crammed into the space of two or three weeks!
    You needn't worry too much as the JC does not matter at all when you're finished it.
    So far the papers I've done have been extremely easy and others found it to be the same also, even considering they're HL papers!
    Maths is the one to look out for though!
    Good luck next year..it'll fly by!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Meller

Nah, they're all pretty easy exams once you pay attention in class and revise. Pretty much all the subjects are about knowing your stuff so as long you've studied, you'll do well. Maths can be a bit tricky and some people just aren't good at English, but other than that, it really is incredibly simple.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

As an exam it's designed for the maximum number of people to pass. You essentially have to leave out questions or completely misread the questions to fail, unless you're deliberately trying to fail.

That said, it's generally the first 'important' thing in life that a young person does on their own and so has value. It's a big confidence boost for the majority of students, but crushing for others.

It is not an exam that 'doesn't matter' as the skills and knowledge needed for the JC are the foundation for a Leaving Cert, Honours or Pass. There are still people who leave school after the Junior Cert., just as there are people who do not even get as far as doing the Junior Cert., so its value for them will be different. It's easy to forget not everyone has the luxury of good literacy, numeracy and parental support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

nah! Well so far I've found the JC to be fun.. because you get to meet up with all your friends and have 2 hour lunchtimes:D.. and the tests are easy when you do abit of work.. But you don't have to overload your brain or start studying weeks before (I was studying hard and when I saw the test I was like "oh god, i could have done this without all those hours of study!") although maths is a toughy, I have to admit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭elaine93

Everything is hard if you don't do the work. Its not really a test of how smart you are, its a test of who has the best memory. Start studying at the beginning of the year in small doses and you'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

I haven't found them as hard as I thought they'd be, except Maths which I'm horrendously bad at and apparantly was particularly bad this year because, as usual, the exam board got carried away with themselves. Anyway, in 3rd year a lot of teachers make you do absolute worse case scenario exam questions but when it comes down to, they're really not bad and I'm glad I didn't waste my time studying 12 hours a day because there's no need. Correctors are throwing marks at you so just do your best and don't make stupid mistakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 thepostman

Sorry but who says its hard? If you listen in class and do your homework you will absolutly piss it. Its gona be the last easy exam you are ever going to do in your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

i agree with everyone just listen in class and do some homework and you will be fine. im doing mine now and its not at all as bad as everyone says.....it's.......it's almost fun.....oh god i cant believe i just said that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 thepostman

its actually is i wouldnt mine doing it again. between the lunch breaks and finishing and getting results its actually class. finishing is a real anti climax tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Yeah, as everyone has said, do your homework and listen in class. Then, by Junior cert, you'll be just looking over what you already know. If you don't, then you'll be trying to learn as you revise, and it'll be just a whole lot more difficult.
    So if you've been putting in the work in the last 2 years, you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

yep just listen in class some cramming the day before exams and you will be fine trust me ive done it dont do it foryour leaving actually study for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 irishunitard

well heres my story...its not as hard as they've made it out to be!
    i havent put any work in all year and im doing okaii...well i couldnt really cos i was in hospital...but ye go to sshool and you should do okaii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Ask us in September (when we get our results) if its hard and then you will get an honest answer!..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Hollaylay

exactly :) september :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 adidas speed

English;hard to judge whther or not youve done good.Learn drama quotes and at least 4 poems and you can be confident.

Maths;quite easy ,nothing to stress about,u can do it or u cant in alot of parts.

Irish;prepare a story about a scary thing that happened to you and a timpiste and you can apply one to most years if u alter the title to suitt yourself.

Geography;very easy.practise short questions and do 4 long questions if u have time.

Science;learn experiments and buy a revision book and youll ace it.

History;learn,learn,learn.just study exam questions if u want a top mark.

overall easy enugh exams ,,dont stress is the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Stranjak

I thought it was going to be absolutely terrifying, but the mocks turned otu to be scarier.
    In general, I don't think its too hard. If ya prepare a lil, and take decent notes, ya should be fine :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Mialuvzfun!

Stranjak wrote: »
    I thought it was going to be absolutely terrifying, but the mocks turned otu to be scarier.
    In general, I don't think its too hard. If ya prepare a lil, and take decent notes, ya should be fine :)
    I agree but lyk why wud ur name be stranjack?? lyk u loser i bet ur in all honors classes and always get a's nd b's nd i bet ur dad wasnt happy wen u got a b in ur mox!!! i bet u lyk t tink ur rly cool :cool: bu ur not :rolleyes: so ha :P

d jc is fun if u take rescue remedy b4 ur exams!! lots nd lots nd lots v it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Could you please stop using text speak? It's annoying for most posters to read, you have a full keyboard so you've no excuse not to use it. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I agree but lyk why wud ur name be stranjack?? lyk u loser i bet ur in all honors classes and always get a's nd b's nd i bet ur dad wasnt happy wen u got a b in ur mox!!! i bet u lyk t tink ur rly cool :cool: bu ur not :rolleyes: so ha :P
    Yeah, keep dishing out those personal insults and I'm pretty sure you will be facing a pretty long ban.
    Quit the txtspk and stop the "I'm such a rebel, anyone who does well at school is a loser" attitude because I can guarantee you nobody gives a f*ck. This isn't bebo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 lijh

Yeah, he's a loser because he wants to succeed in school, excel and do his best and because he doesn't 'txtspk' about how he '<3s' various things.

Stop the textspeak, it's nothing to be proud of and it makes you look ridiculous.

here lads relax! stranjaks one v me bst m8s nd we'r both doing ALL HIGHER so dnt go actin as if im tick!! he can fite his own battles lyk but its jus messin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Stranjak

Don't worry people, I am good friends with MiaLuvzFun, and am not offended by any comments she made
    Though Mia, do stop the text talk :P
    I don't mind but others seem to lol
    Dont get banned :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Bonkers_xOx

No it's grand like. Teachers make a big deal out of it for the whole year and then on your last day of class they'll say something like " It's only the JC."

It's just to get the feeling of pressure for the Leaving.

Stranjak wrote: »
    Don't worry people, I am good friends with MiaLuvzFun, and am not offended by any comments she made
    Though Mia, do stop the text talk :P
    I don't mind but others seem to lol
    Dont get banned :(
    that comment didnt ave text speak!! im actuly tryin but i genuilny cant spell lol

No it's grand like. Teachers make a big deal out of it for the whole year and then on your last day of class they'll say something like " It's only the JC."

It's just to get the feeling of pressure for the Leaving.
    I agree its really fun sometimes especially cspe :D funnest exam ever hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ryandunny

I was thinking the same last year but the actual exams havn't been that hard so far..
    It is nothing compared to the leaving and correctors will be on your side and will give you marks where they can because this is a exam 2 boost your confidence
    the only exam you should worry about next year is maths especially higher thats tricky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

As with any exam the smarted you are and the more you study, the easier it is. As everyone says it doesn't matter jack d**t but it is good preparation for the leaving cert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

The junior cert's a joke. Study the night before and your grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭ride-the-spiral

The junior cert is different for everyone, i found it to be very easy and i did very well in it but it all comes down to different things. The better you are at remembering things is obviously helpful, i've a good memory and hardly had to study cuz i could remember stuff from class.

Gauge how hard you think each exam would be based on your exam experience, like if you've never found maths exams hard then you most likely won't find J.C. maths hard, but then again if you've a crap teacher in a subject its hard to compare their exams with the actual one.

Its alot easier to do well in it than in the leaving. If you study what you need to study rather than studying for the sake of it you should be grand, just take your teachers advice throughout the year and keep your exam papers as a reference.

The junior cert is good for certain things. Exam experience, being able to do what higher level in the leaving, and unfortunately for alot of people it can be to not get in trouble with their parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Echo72

I'm halfway through the exams now, and they're sure not the huge shock that I was expecting. That said, we don't get our results for a while, so I can;t really say :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭animalcrazy

I didn't study and I'm not finding them that easy, so study :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

yah de junior cert is impossible (joke) and if u fail anything ur gunna be hung

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Sheepy99 wrote: »
    yah de junior cert is impossible (joke) and if u fail anything ur gunna be hung like a horse
    Can't argue with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

true that!