Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls who swear

• 04-06-2009 11:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

Does anybody else have a bit of a problem with this?

I don't mind the odd profane exclamation, like in a genuine emergency, but does anyone else find girls who swear a bit vulgar? Growing up I didn't know any girls who swore, but they seem to be everywhere now.

I walked by a really pretty girl in Trinity this evening, she was on the phone and seemed to be talking casually about a night out after exams, except she was swearing like a sailor - espressions that my mates and I wouldn't even use.

It's not that I think guys should swear a lot, I think anybody swearing loudly in public is rude... but somehow it's just far worse when it's a girl.

What do girls think of this?
    Do any other guys find it really, really unattractive?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I think it's one of the sexiest qualities in a woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Girls shouldn't poo or fart. I find it very unattractive .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Those despicable tarts :/

When will they learn?

I hope you spoke to her about it. She deserves to be told, since her parents didn't raise her correctly, it falls on you, as an upstanding citizen, to step in and put a stop to this plague of people swearing.

Woops, sorry, not people, women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Maybe that's why I really dislike when my sister is constantly at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's nice when the swear is followed by 'me'

not so charming when theres ornaments and crockery being flung at you while it's happening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

Can I be the first person to fly the sexism flag ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

+1, i love girls that have a mouth like a docker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

+1, i love girls that have a mouth like a docker
    As long as they dont have a fanny that smells like one eh? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

The only time I like to hear a girl swear is when i'm knee-deep inside her. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭tangerinepuppet

I personally never swear.

I am a real lady.

I won't even hang out my washing if I'm not wearing my twinset and pearls - and a good splash of Chanel No. 5.

I have never, ever farted or used a toilet.

Something tells me I might be your kind of girl. ;):o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I don't mind girls that swear, actually I quite like girl who f*ck on first dates

Fizman wrote: »
    The only time I like to hear a girl swear is when i'm knee-deep inside her. :pac:
    This takes fisting to a whole new level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Girls who curse make my peepee go all weird. But it has to be tasteful cursing.

Cnut is the best word any woman can say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Kiera wrote: »

Telling on him is not cool Kiers :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I tend to swear a lot at work when I'm stressed.

If I let out a swear by mistake, and someone gets upset by it, and it's generally mostly men, (since we are making generalism's here :)), I tend to loose a little respect for them.

I don't know why, maybe it's because I see it as one of those lesser important things that people get hung up about.

I always find it funny that people that get upset about women swearing can be really inappropriate about their own language without using swear words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

i'd swear occasionally, i.e if i was after hearing shocking news or to really exaggerate something that I felt strongly about. Other than that, I think it's f****n disgusting to use in every day language...seriously...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

jester77 wrote: »
    I don't mind girls that swear, actually I quite like girl who f*ck on first dates

You aren't needed for anything more. Kthxbye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

like seriously do you think i really give a ****!↲Lol some people curse some people don't ! I don't hold it against them !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Fizman wrote: »

I think that you should have bought "The Joy of Sex", and not the "DIY Septic Tank Cleaning Manual."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭stiff kitten

its definately unattractive.......
    it adds to the drama when someones telling a good story but it is off putting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

Well, i swear like a fishwife givin birth. And i would fu?k on the first date. What a despicable girl i am... Off to the deathyard.....

as long as her yoo hoo doesnt smell like a dockyard cat then no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

****. ****. ****. ****. ****. ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

Silverfish wrote: »
    Those despicable tarts :/

When will they learn?

I hope you spoke to her about it. She deserves to be told, since her parents didn't raise her correctly, it falls on you, as an upstanding citizen, to step in and put a stop to this plague of people swearing.

Woops, sorry, not people, women.
    Ha, ok fair enough. I know it sounds sexist... it's just that I do think girls are becoming more masculine and this is just one example of it.

It's not that most girls behave like this, but it's definitely getting more common. There is an increase in the 'ladette' culture among Irish girls, I do think most guys would find it pretty unattractive.

Of course all swearing in public, on the street, is rude, but with girls it's just nasty. I'm sure girls have a problem with this as well to some extent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

No, I'd never swear...I'm a ****ing stepford wife

Erm, I don't think the OP will get any satisfaction unless he starts his thread all over again, somewhere other than After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

"You big bastard". Oh, dreadful language! "You big hairy arse", "You big fecker". Fierce stuff! And of course, the f-word, father, the bad f-word, worse than "feck" - you know the one I mean

Erm, I don't think the OP will get any satisfaction unless he starts his thread all over again, somewhere other than After Hours.
    Oh yes, OP head on over to the Ladies Lounge and start this thread ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

This takes fisting to a whole new level.

Think I'm going to need a bigger bag of peanuts. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Ha, ok fair enough. I know it sounds sexist... it's just that I do think girls are becoming more masculine and this is just one example of it.

... I'm sure girls have a problem with this as well to some extent.

Eh..no, not really.

How are girls becoming more masculine exactly? Are they growing weiners or something? :confused:

I don;t know if you can get castrated over the internet, but I'm not trying it. :)

Ruu wrote: »
    "You big bastard". Oh, dreadful language! "You big hairy arse", "You big fecker". Fierce stuff! And of course, the f-word, father, the bad f-word, worse than "feck" - you know the one I mean

f you, f your effin wife. ill stick this pitchfork up your hole.

ride me sideways was another one

A capital idea! Yes, OP, you'd love it over there ... it's full of of kindred spirits, I promise. :D

Muahahahaha.

Acacia wrote: »
    Eh..no, not really.

How are girls becoming more masculine exactly? Are they growing weiners or something? :confused:
    Compare girls now to girls in Ireland 15 - 20 years ago (from pics:pac:)

Lots of girls dress more brashly, they speak like men, a lot of girls are bigger than men, female bullying is on the increase... that is the ladette/ masculine-girl culture.

Again, to clarify, this doesn;t extend to all girls, obviously. It just seems to be a growing trend in the past few years and I was wondering about peoples opinions on it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I definitely don't like it, though I tend not to curse much myself either. Men throw curses around all the time but I suppose it sounds more serious if a girl curses (particularly at you).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

FFs what kind of a mother fcuking thread is this?
    Not even a mention of the bollox.
    /is he still around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Kablamo!

I'm ashamed to say at least every fifth word out of my mouth is a swear. ya big aul bollix ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

It's just words. I don't like the sound of the word "heinous" but I'm not going to think less of anyone who says it.

Judging people on cursing is a bit ridiculous, tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

For fcuf sake if I' had a pound/euro for every fukcer I have hear in my 35 years on this planet who told me I should not swear I would be a fcuking millionaire.
    To be honest I'm fed up to my t*ts with it. I'm a fcuking adult who likes the sound and feeling of swear words rolling off my tongue and to be honest I am starting to get a pain in my a** with people who object to it or who look at me funny!!!!!!!!!!!!

It is ultimately God's beautiful language and I am only utilising every aspect of it!!!!!!!!!:)

liah wrote: »
    It's just words. I don't like the sound of the word "heinous" but I'm not going to think less of anyone who says it.

But really, if you could hear the expressions she was using! I'm not even sure I know what she meant:confused:

Do you really think if you heard a girl using really crass swearwords in a public place, you wouldn't have a lower opinion of her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

It's not that I think guys should swear a lot, I think anybody swearing loudly in public is rude... but somehow it's just far worse when it's a girl.

What do girls think of this?
    Do any other guys find it really, really unattractive?

I think you should go back to the 1950's with this backward arse opinion of yours tbh. Honestly I think its idiotic and unintelligent to have issues with 'bold words' in general, but even MORE so to think that only one gender should be allowed to use these words.

You still seem to think its just something for men:rolleyes: These words you have an issue with are part of the language, a language in which both genders have full use of.
    Of course all swearing in public, on the street, is rude,
    I think your rude and illogical for being offended by such words, its 2009 ffs.

Its your decision to be offended by the use of the F word in a random sentence. Someone told you were meant to be offended by the word and thus you decided to take offense.

They are just words.

Grow up. You remind me of the guy with the glasses in this video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

a lot of girls are bigger than men

Quick, the women are manipulating their own genetics in an attempt to emasculate the menfolk. Someone, stop them!

(And not an expletive in sight - true restraint!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

But really, if you could hear the expressions she was using! I'm not even sure I know what she meant:confused:

Do you really think if you heard a girl using really crass swearwords in a public place, you wouldn't have a lower opinion of her?

No, because I am a girl who swears. Swears are fun. Cúnt and fúck are fun words to say. Why on earth would you get offended by a simple grouping of letters?

Personally I'd rather get offended when the words are actually meant to be offensive. Would you be more offended if someone called you a vile, horrible, disgusting human being who should rot in hell for all of eternity? Or if someone jokingly called you an arse after you told a story about a silly drunken escapade you had last weekend?

You're only offended by it because you choose to be. Words don't have meaning til you give them meaning, and they're only as powerful as the context they're used in.

It just seems childish to be offended by such ridiculously trivial things, imo.

Are you sure you just don't have a problem with women in general?
    Do us "new" brand of woman scare you?
    Are we not meek or timid enough or something like that???????????

Have to agree with you Liah, personally I don't like the sound of the word "cooking" but I don't don't rant on about every person whom I hear use it....:D

Cunny-Funt wrote: »
    I think you should go back to the 1950's with this backward arse opinion of yours tbh. Honestly I think its idiotic and unintelligent to have issues with 'bold words' in general, but even MORE so to think that only one gender should be allowed to use these words.
    I'm not sure that I have issues with them, rather just find it a bit rude is all.

You still seem to think its just something for men:rolleyes: These words you have an issue with are part of the language, a language in which both genders have full use of.
    It's not part of any language that should be shouted about in public. There's a reason we don't teach kids to swear, most reasonable people do think it's inappropriate in polite, public, company like the street.
    It doesn't offend me personally. I'm used to hearing swear words, it's just kind of inapropriate tbh.
    Are you sure you just don't have a problem with women in general?
    Do us "new" brand of woman scare you?
    Are we not meek or timid enough or something like that???????????
    No, women are fine in general, like I already said it's not all women I'm talking about. Just women who are loud and crass and swear in public, I think it's a bit unappealing but hey if I think that I'm sure she'd think the same of me! It's just an observation, really.

Its your decision to be offended by the use of the F word in a random sentence. Someone told you were meant to be offended by the word and thus you decided to take offense.

They are just words.

Grow up. You remind me of the guy with the glasses in this video

Howya, can I take this opportunity to absolutely say I love your Username, the OP must be cringiing:D
    FANTASTIC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Why on earth would you get offended by a simple grouping of letters?

Personally I'd rather get offended when the words are actually meant to be offensive. Would you be more offended if someone called you a vile, horrible, disgusting human being who should rot in hell for all of eternity? Or if someone jokingly called you an arse after you told a story about a silly drunken escapade you had last weekend?

You're only offended by it because you choose to be. Words don't have meaning til you give them meaning, and they're only as powerful as the context they're used in.

It just seems childish to be offended by such ridiculously trivial things, imo.

100% agree, childish and also a very primitive and illogical way of thinking. To the point that its pretty much ironic for people such as the OP to look down on others for making use these words as doing so makes them something to look down on for such a primitive way of thinking, rather then the others who are just making use of the language they speak.

OP, enlighten yourself. For **** sake.
    It's not part of any language that should be shouted about in public. .

Why?

Why?
    Smple manners. They are there for a reason - I'm not talking about uttering simple swear words in regular conversation if that's what you think... I'm talking about loud exclamations or bursts of swearwords.

It just isn't pleasant to hear, and it makes girls who do speak in that way come across very badly. It's just bad manners and a bit disrespectful towards other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

If you want to take the disrespectful tack, then anything is disrespectful of other people if shouted. Why make a distinction between one gender or grouping of words?

But if you're just trying to fcuking annoy women, or have issues with people being more or less ladylike than you approve of, then you can fcuk off if you think many of us will moderate our behaviour to suit your narrow standards.