Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How were you affected by the Exam paper problem in 1969

• 04-06-2009 9:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭

Following on from the cock-up yesterday re the english paper, just wonder how many of you were part of the 1969 problem and what impact it had.
    The initial security problem was addressed in subsequent years by the papers for each day being collected from the local cop shop each morning so they were not in the schools overnight.

The impact on my class was as follows:

Every year the LC Honours Chemistry teacher held an intensive revision class after the exams started.

The session consisted of 15 'best quess' :D questions.

The whole school knew that all u did was wait for the intensive session.

The teacher was a supervisor in the next town:)

The honours results were exceptional.

The person could not teach.

Once the papers were held in the cop shop over night, the game was up and the results collapsed.

I was in the first class after the '69 breach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I doubt anyone in AH was even born then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I didn't exist. But its my favourite year. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Fizman wrote: »
    I didn't exist. But its my favourite year. :pac:

Bryan Adam's too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

11 years before my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Bryan Adam's too...

But only the Summer. He was rather indifferent towards Spring and Autumn wasnt all it cracked up to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Missed it by a few years. What actually happened? Someone steal a paper from a gardai station?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

Every year the LC Honours Chemistry teacher held an intensive revision class after the exams started.

The session consisted of 15 'best quess' questions.

The whole school knew that all u did was wait for the intensive session.

The teacher was a supervisor in the next town

The honours results were exceptional.

The person could not teach.

Once the papers were held in the cop shop over night, the game was up and the results collapsed.

I was in the first class after the '69 breach

That sounds hilarious. It would have been funny to see how different the results would have been without the cheating.

I wonder if any really successful person around today got a little helping hand early on from one of these 'intensive sessions.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Magnus wrote: »

I was approaching my first birthday.

I aced those exams !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

oooh 1969 that takes me back. gather round children and il tell ye a tale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭cailinoBAC

Well last night, when we were talking about the postponement, my Mam was saying - at least they didn't have to sit the paper twice. She sat the English and Maths papers, then it was discovered they'd been seen and they had to do them all again! Didn't really talk much about it though. I know she repeated her Leaving, but I'm not sure if it this was the second time or the first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

My mam was 9 then. So no, no it didn't effect me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Depressingly, I was (before that). :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Missed it by a few years. What actually happened? Someone steal a paper from a gardai station?

My dad did his leaving that year. The morning of the English exam, the exam paper was printed in full on the front of the Irish Independent. They had to do the exam, and then do it again (a different paper) at the end of the Leaving (I don't know if they had to do all the exams again or just English, I must ask him).

The exam paper had been stolen and someone tried to sell it to the indo, so they published it.

Some poor muppet In St Olivers School in Drogheda is now in hiding lol.
    As well as costing the state to open the schools on an extra day with pay to be extra given out to examiners, bus timetables had to be re-organized for an extra day.

Turned out to be one costly mistake!

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/exam-leak-fiasco-hits-50000-students-1761081.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

That's the year my mother was born, so no, can't say it effected me...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Biggins wrote: »
    Ditto. remember the moonlandings an all. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,214 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I started following Stoke in '69. My father ran for election in '69 (and I went canvassing with him - he was eliminated on the last count - oh what might have been). I remember Frank Murphy coming oh so close to European gold in '69. I didn't do any exams, though.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    My mam was 9 then. So no, no it didn't effect me.

Cringe. I'm the same age as your mam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Biggins wrote: »

Me too, but I'm not depressed about it.(any more)
    We've already made most (hopefully all!) of the big fuckups that we're going to make in life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

I think OP might be the oldest person on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

The guy wrote: »
    I think OP might be the oldest person on boards.
    Only one thing more depressing than talking about age here.....
    and that's talking to a thread full of young kids..:D:p

So..

what happened in 1969?

Oh yeah. You old farts! Oh man. My mum was 14 in 1969.

Weeeiirrddd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

So..

what happened in 1969?

Oh yeah. You old farts! Oh man. My mum was 14 in 1969.

Weeeiirrddd.

Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Its good to see the 40th anniversary was recognised, nice gesture from that guy in louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

What happened in 1969?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭BlueSpiral

What happened in 1969?
    Some buttercup built you up.

Leaving cert got leaked by someone in the department, there was an all out rage fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Did ye all have onions on ye're belts?

As was the the style of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭uriah

My dad did his leaving that year. The morning of the English exam, the exam paper was printed in full on the front of the Irish Independent. They had to do the exam, and then do it again (a different paper) at the end of the Leaving (I don't know if they had to do all the exams again or just English, I must ask him).

The exam paper had been stolen and someone tried to sell it to the indo, so they published it.

Students had to sit english paper twice. History paper was also stolen but new one produced and students sat it on a saturday.

Did no long-term damage to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I think leaked Leaving Cert papers run in my family. My Dad mentioned the Maths paper being leaked during his exams.

Now the second English paper has been leaked during my exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,371 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I was just a twinkle in my father's eye at the time...so no.

All I can say bout this one is...thank sweet bejaysus that my parents talked me out of doing TY!!!!

Also sorry to alll the students doing it now :(
    Anyone else listening to Duffy earlier?
    LOL at one girl
    "It has BROKEN me!!.....I'm on sedatives!!.....My mother rang the Taoiseach"

And of course the suggestion of quarntining all the Jewish students :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

no need to feel sorry for us. it isn't a big deal. I was a bit pissed off about it yesterday now I find it all very funny. we just have to do it on a different day, so what I say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

and that really would be horrible having to do it and then do it again, I would be really mad about that now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Also sorry to alll the students doing it now :(
    Anyone else listening to Duffy earlier?
    LOL at one girl
    "It has BROKEN me!!.....I'm on sedatives!!.....My mother rang the Taoiseach"
    Ah yeah, I've never heard so many whining bitches in my life. FFS, I'm doing the exams myself and although I was a bit miffed about the whole thing, I got over it almost immediately as did most other people I know. These little pricks looking for an apology from the fella would want a 1969 style punishment and quick. The LC is an importan exam but it should also be a test of maturity, one which those gimps ringing Joe Duffy are failing miserably.
    And of course the suggestion of quarntining all the Jewish students :pac:
    That was hilarious, even if you don't do hisotry ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

Following on from my opening post I was talking to a fellow-class mate from 1969 today and he remimded me that the chemo teacher was married to the french teacher who was on the same lark so when the paper said Parlez vous, we were lost:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

The poor little suckers now have to do there exam on Saturday now haha at least their not missing soccer AM anymore since the seasons over !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Saturday ffs... And all thee Jews get to hang out with a rabbi and take it the next day! I don't know how they'll concentrate on a Sunday, personally I find concentration on a Sunday impossible.

If the Jews all do well there won't even be an investigation because afaik there is no "Religious orientation" box on the exam paper. It's the perfect crime!

Also the only thing I know happened in 1969 was the moon landing, and if my history book is anything to go by it was pretty boring.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

phasers wrote: »
    Also the only thing I know happened in 1969 was the moon landing, and if my history book is anything to go by it was pretty boring.
    :eek: Take that back. Right now. :D It was pretty amazing. A bit of the future stuck in the past. Only 12 people have stood on another planet and looked back at earth. The first and only time another human could take a picture of our world.
    http://nssdc.gsfc.nasa.gov/planetary/lunar/images/a11earthrise.jpg
    We can't do it today and it only took them 8 years to do it then and they started from scratch. That's pretty unboring in fairness. I remember the last one the most. Cried my eyes out when they took off(well I was a kid in fairness). I must have known we wouldn't be back for a while.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

that's IF it really happened ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Cringe. I'm the same age as your mam.
    Cringe? Wise heads are few and far between around these parts...

I would imagine there are a few here who might not be if the situation was different!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

1969??? Try 1990! Happened in my school in 1990. Handed out Maths paper 2 instead of paper 1. Someone told the teacher, papers handed back.....except one......Thanks JW wherever you are. By the next day Maths 2 had made it way around most of the schools in South Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

hobochris wrote: »
    That's the year my mother was born, so no, can't say it effected me...

Perhaps not you personally, but your spelling seems to have been affected;)

Wibbs wrote: »
    Only 12 people have stood on another planet...

12? Name them!

Nobody ever stood on another planet. Da Moo-in is not a planeh
    :P

Ok then it's a planetary body. OR Titan is more of a planet than mercury but it's a moon OR Ok then feck off:p:D

I think that says more about your history book than anything else, tbh

big b wrote: »
    I think that says more about your history book than anything else, tbh

That it simply reports the facts?

Fair enough. I was trying to be nice.
    Maybe it says more about your interpretation of your book. Or your concept of boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

[Best winey American accent] "Hey maaan...you werent there....I was there, maaan"

Pherekydes wrote: »
    12? Name them!

http://www.tsgc.utexas.edu/everything/moon/people.html

Neil Armstrong 7/20/69 2 hr. 31 min. 40 sec.
    Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin 7/20/69 2 hr. 31 min. 40 sec.
    Charles (Pete) Conrad 11/19/69 7 hr. 45 min. 18 sec.
    Alan Bean 11/19/69 7 hr. 45 min. 18 sec.
    Alan Shepard 2/5/71 9 hr. 22 min. 31 sec.
    Edgar Mitchell 2/5/71 9 hr. 22 min. 31 sec.
    James Irwin 7/30/71 18 hr. 34 min. 46 sec.
    David Scott 7/30/71 18 hr. 34 min. 46 sec.
    Charles Duke 4/21/72 to 4/23/72 20 hr. 14 min. 16 sec.
    John Young 4/21/72 to 4/23/72 20 hr. 14 min. 16 sec.
    Harrison Schmitt 12/11/72 to 12/13/72 22 hr. 3 min. 57 sec.
    Eugene Cernan 12/11/72 to 12/13/72 22 hr. 3 min. 57 sec.

Good site:
    http://www.tsgc.utexas.edu/everything/moon/factoids.html
    http://www.tsgc.utexas.edu/everything/moon/

Poor Michael Collins...