Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Corrib gas, the truth is out

• 02-06-2009 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭

Anyone see the paul williams programme on TV3. Being local myself, I can say that it covered the issues and got it pretty damn spot on. Those three huggers have no support locally and hopefully now the rest of the country can see whats really going on there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

No I didn't see it. Does TV3 archive it's programs online like RTE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

That's Gas.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Dumb

dlofnep wrote: »
    No I didn't see it. Does TV3 archive it's programs online like RTE?

Some. It may appear in a few days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Assume I haven't seen the program ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

haha @ galwayrush- good one.:-) ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Well I didnt see it but the fact that Paul McWilliams was presenting it makes any claims made on it seem less credible tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Are the tree huggers local?

I ask as I've read about many protesters being bussed in though they have no connection to the area.

And they certainly aren't locals looking for jobs like many of the good people of Co. Mayo

brundle wrote: »
    Anyone see the paul williams programme on TV3. Being local myself, I can say that it covered the issues and got it pretty damn spot on. Those three huggers have no support locally and hopefully now the rest of the country can see whats really going on there.

Yea. Seen it. The garda just ignored the woman who was shouting and roaring in his face. He was like "Sorry. I missed that bit. Could you say it again." :p

Those protesters are a heap of bollix. Nothing could be backed up and if they were alleged to have attacked Gardaí that bollix would say "No. That never happened".

Yea. Sure...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Those three huggers have no support locally
    Only three of them?

Also, TV documentaries can be framed to suit a particular agenda. I'd prefer to be objective and consider both sides.

Dudess wrote: »
    Only three of them?

Also, TV documentaries can be framed to suit a particular agenda. I'd prefer to be objective and consider both sides.

True. Paul Williams is a bollix too. And he's from Leitrim which doesn't help his cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭irishbran77

It's so depressing to see people are so stupid as to be given opinions by Paul Williams of all people! This 'documentary' cherry picked every comment and every clip to portray the protesters in a poor light. A most basic understanding of media or propaganda would enlighten a person to this sort of bollix.

I have legitimate concerns regarding protests against this pipe line but this sort of ****e from Williams and the fools who think he's a master of investigative journalism would turn me into a tree hugger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭dubsgirl

Certainly having watched the programme, it confirmed my suspicions that a

lot of the people opposing shell are against everything and for nothing really.

It's human nature really to oppose multi-national corporations however one

has to realise that we would have little or no progress without a lot of them.

This project has a whole area in North Mayo employed and keeping their area

alive with young people and community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Only in Ireland can your county be considerd important, most of the locals are grand with Corrib project, its the loons bussed in and professional protesters that cause the trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭F-Stop

I expected it to be a pile of crapp seeing as it was Paul Williams and TV3. But, it did give both locals, and the professional protesters plenty of air time. The overall sense I got from it was that the majority of locals want it to go ahead and that it will boost the local economy and provide jobs, there are a few local protesters but the majority of them are professional protesters who aren't even from the area, they have a fascistic outlook, deny democracy and won't listen to any other argument but their own.

It's so depressing to see people are so stupid as to be given opinions by Paul Williams of all people! This 'documentary' cherry picked every comment and every clip to portray the protesters in a poor light. A most basic understanding of media or propaganda would enlighten a person to this sort of bollix.

I have legitimate concerns regarding protests against this pipe line but this sort of ****e from Williams and the fools who think he's a master of investigative journalism would turn me into a tree hugger!

Yes. Paul is a pool of sheep's urine. The fact that the program is on TV3 makes it worse.

What did you think of Kevin Hegarty's arguments?

dubsgirl wrote: »
    Certainly having watched the programme, it confirmed my suspicions that a

lot of the people opposing shell are against everything and for nothing really.

It's human nature really to oppose multi-national corporations however one

has to realise that we would have little or no progress without a lot of them.

This project has a whole area in North Mayo employed and keeping their area

alive with young people and community.

What!?! You actually derive your opinions on human nature and the world from Paul Williams and TV3!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭jape

I haven't watched this but does the fact that our government - (in particular fianna fail and bertie ahern), have lost the country over €400 billion by selling those oil resources to shell then buying them back at inflated prices, not annoy anyone?

I bet that wasn't mentioned in this "unbiased" news programme. Rofl.

mike65 wrote: »
    Only in Ireland can your county be considerd important, most of the locals are grand with Corrib project, its the loons bussed in and professional protesters that cause the trouble.

It's a "national resource" - so naturally it will attract protesters from across Ireland.

I don't have a problem with nationally controlled natural resources. Infact, I think it should be standard.

"Professional protesters". They get paid now to protest, do they?

What!?! You actually derive your opinions on human nature and the world from Paul Williams and TV3!

I derive my opinions from wherever I damn well please :D

As I'm sure you and every other poster here does...

Would you care to let me know what in my opinion that you

disagree with and maybe then a sensible conversation could happen?

Or you simply have a problem with Paul Williams & TV3?

If thats the case start another thread...

I derive my opinions from wherever I damn well please :D

As I'm sure you and every other poster here does...

Would you care to let me know what in my opinion that you

disagree with and maybe then a sensible conversation could happen?

Or you simply have a problem with Paul Williams & TV3?

If thats the case start another thread...

I have started another thread called 'Paul Williams TV3 'documentary' on Rossport...'‏

But you are right that to have a debate I need to focus on one of your points but...

"It's human nature really to oppose multi-national corporations however one

has to realise that we would have little or no progress without a lot of them."

What does this mean exactly? How is it human nature to hate multinationals? Besides this Williams tv3 documentary, what evidence makes you think this? And China has few multinationals and their economy works well enough... although that's not an endorsement for Chinese authoritarian communism (!!) I would like to know what your point is about these protesters and why you think it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

We got the mandatory epic shots of Paul looking sagacious as he viewed the pristine landscape. The self-regard of the guy is laughable.

But you are right that to have a debate I need to focus on one of your points but...

"It's human nature really to oppose multi-national corporations however one

has to realise that we would have little or no progress without a lot of them."

What does this mean exactly? How is it human nature to hate multinationals? Besides this Williams tv3 documentary, what evidence makes you think this? And China has few multinationals and their economy works well enough... although that's not an endorsement for Chinese authoritarian communism (!!) I would like to know what your point is about these protesters and why you think it?

Human nature might have been the wrong phrase in retrospect maybe I should re-phrase that to it's popular to have a problem with multi-national corporations these days. A couple of examples Microsoft, Mcdonalds along with Shell.

I feel a lot of these protestors would turn up at the sight of any progress within an area of nature. If these protestors were sure that the entire area is opposed to the Shell project why is there no call for a kind of local referendum? I'll tell you why it's because even they know that locals in the area are all for this project now.

There are occasions within this country that I do agree with protestors but I would judge each on an individual basis. I do not think that the majority of protestors in this case are doing this.

I feel a lot of these protestors would turn up at the sight of any progress within an area of nature. If these protestors were sure that the entire area is opposed to the Shell project why is there no call for a kind of local referendum? I'll tell you why it's because even they know that locals in the area are all for this project now.

It's a national resource, not a local one. Jobs being created does not dismiss the greater good that would come from a nationalised field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

It's a national resource, not a local one. Jobs being created does not dismiss the greater good that would come from a nationalised field.

So you believe that the government have the expertise to tap into this natural resource on their own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Those tree huggers

But there are no trees in Erris :confused:

Jobs being created does not dismiss the greater good that would come from a nationalised field.

But that is not what is being protested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭starn

jape wrote: »
    I haven't watched this but does the fact that our government - (in particular fianna fail and bertie ahern), have lost the country over €400 billion by selling those oil resources to shell then buying them back at inflated prices, not annoy anyone?

Wow €400 Billion where exactly did you get that figure from. Why not €700 Billion or €1000 billion. If your going to make something up a figure why npot make it as big as you can.

Paul Williams has a very definate bias. But Maura Harrington, Willie Corduff and that other innocent from South Dublin (Who claimed he was willing to die over the pipeline, but woldnt do jail time fro it). They hung themselfs with there ranting and raving

"There are occasions within this country that I do agree with protestors but I would judge each on an individual basis. I do not think that the majority of protestors in this case are doing this."

I agree with you here. I tend to avoid annoying trendy political causes like Tibet when I know those involved are just rich kids rebelling from their parents. But the protests against McDonalds and other corporations don't happen b/c people just hate anything that's big and powerful. These corporations are polluting the world, killing trade unionists in Latin America and are doing any number of misdeeds that wouldf require protests by themselves. I can't understand how you could dismiss every protest against them.

The anti-globalisation movement is big; it's encompasses more local people fighting on local issues than the high profile protestors from richer countries. So let's keep the context in view when condemning or supporting whole bunches of people. And as the last poster said, these resources are for the whole people of Ireland and need to be treated on a national basis.

But there are no trees in Erris :confused:

New Zealand Flax huggers???

Who's fault is that? It's not Shell anyway they see a good deal they'll take it..
    thats business..

irishbran77, did you watch the programme?

F-Stop wrote: »
    But that is not what is being protested.

Actually it is one of the issues that are being protested against.

Who's fault is that? It's not Shell anyway they see a good deal they'll take it..
    thats business..

It's the Irish Government's fault. Are you trying to make a point? Business at the expense of the Irish people, isn't a good deal for the Irish people - now is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

jape wrote: »

I bet that wasn't mentioned in this "unbiased" news programme. Rofl.
    It's about as unbiased as TV3 can get seeing as they are not actually an Irish owned company.

As for the former Taoiseach and his handling of the whole thing, well I thing every contract should be nullified and the oil kept for ourselves.
    Unfortunately that is not going to happen. All we can ask for now is that Irish people be given the majority of jobs in this project and that the jobs are not given to foreigners who will work for peanuts.

Hi. I'm an English hippy and I think everything belongs to mother earth.
    I will take my cause to the extreme limit and will throw myself in front of progress.
    I'm a hot chick, so I will have plenty of men to support me.
    They're all stoned, so they will do anything I say if they think i'll blow them.

Thus ends our lesson on professional protesters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

F-Stop wrote: »
    New Zealand Flax huggers???

Oh look theres one! Quick hug it!

http://www.castlebar.ie/artman2/uploads/1/mulranny-013.jpg

F Stop... why would you ask that? OF course I watched it as I've implied.

Terry wrote: »
    Hi. I'm an English hippy and I think everything belongs to mother earth.
    I will take my cause to the extreme limit and will throw myself in front of progress.
    I'm a hot chick, so I will have plenty of men to support me.
    They're all stoned, so they will do anything I say if they think i'll blow them.

Er, it's not about "mother earth" and hugging trees. I'll chop a feckin' tree down faster than you can close a thread.

It's about controlling national resources which can be used to build up national wealth - instead of selling it off for a quick buck. Do you not see the merit behind this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I thought the Garda came across very badly in it.

Hadn't planned on watching it because it was Paul Williams but it wasn't the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Oh yeah. I'm a racist for saying that these jobs should go to Irish people, despite the government selling out to a foreign company.
    Here's to the recession and all those on the dole.
    I wish you all well because you will have a hard time getting a job in Ireland because employers don't want to be deemed racist by hiring Irish people.

I ask because you seemed to ignore my earlier question, perhaps you missed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

I find Paul Williams to be a profoundly insightful deep thinking investigative journalist whose tenacity and determination to bring us hard news is only matched by the insightfullness of his reports. His undoubtedly balanced approach is a breath of fresh air in a media environment where sensationalism is everywhere.

Only joking. In my opinion he's a terrible journalist whose articles I wouldn't use to wipe my hole.

Terry wrote: »
    Oh yeah. I'm a racist for saying that these jobs should go to Irish people, despite the government selling out to a foreign company.
    Here's to the recession and all those on the dole.
    I wish you all well because you will have a hard time getting a job in Ireland because employers don't want to be deemed racist by hiring Irish people.

lol??? Where is this coming from?

That's not New Zealand Flax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

RATM wrote: »
    Well I didnt see it but the fact that Paul McWilliams was presenting it makes any claims made on it seem less credible tbh.
    Pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Dlofnep - You haven't outlined your proposal for a nationalised gas field? Are we going to fly across the ocean and ask our Venezuelan friend Chavez to help?

Er, it's not about "mother earth" and hugging trees. I'll chop a feckin' tree down faster than you can close a thread.

It's about controlling national resources which can be used to build up national wealth - instead of selling it off for a quick buck. Do you not see the merit behind this?

Fine in an ideal world with a government that has a clue...

However do you think these protestors would be agreeable to a pipeline running through their area if it was done by someone other than Shell.

My understanding of this particular protest is that they have a problem with the pipeline ergo they have a problem with Shell.

Stands to reason that we need to pipeline to pipe the gas so protest would be ongoing anyway...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

However do you think these protestors would be agreeable to a pipeline running through their area if it was done by someone other than Shell.

But it isn't their area. Most of the protesters are from nowhere near Bangor Erris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

I haven't paid any attention to this whole saga, but regarding this "national asset" thing, are people suggesting Brian Cowen does a Hugo Chavez and just takes the Corrib field off Shell?