Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIFA 09 Tourney

• 02-06-2009 12:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭

Hey Lads,

Anyone up for a fifa 09 tournament? 10/12 teams each playing eachother once sound good? my psn is rbajwa

COMPETITION

RULES: NO CL TEAMS, 5 STAR TEAMS, AC MILAN OR INTERNATIONAL TEAMS. ALL OTHER CLUBS ALLOWED. 5MINS PER HALF. ANYTHING I'M FORGETTING LET ME KNOW.

FIXTURES: http://rapidshare.com/files/240362981/fifa.xls

PLAYERS CAN PLAY WHENEVER THEY WANT AND MUST POST THE SCORE UP HERE WHEN DONE STRAIGHT AWAY.

Players:
    xkevin
    thewools Valencia
    StephenD08 Man City
    shazam_nz Everton
    rhys17 Toon Army
    rdoyle78
    rbajwa Aston Villa
    Quinner89 West Ham
    FlawedGenius Scahlke 04
    cartman91 Sevilla
    Maloney_o7
    Tribal_Army Spurs

PLEASE POST YOUR TEAM PICK BEFORE YOU START YOUR MATCHES. RANKED MATCHES ONLY

League or Tournament? 9 votes

League
    0% 0 votes
    Tournament
    100% 9 votes

Sounds good.. Count me in..

PSN - rhys17

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Dont play the game much but id be up for it. btw is this a knockout tournament or league?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Gangsta

a league. u in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

I'll play - the last one posted here on boards never got going though??

Add me top to the league:

PSN: thewools

Haven't a clue about the last one, it was probably during exams and stuff so maybe that's why? Right 4 people....another 6 and we're good.

Gangsta wrote: »
    a league. u in?

yeah sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭robfowler78

i'd be up for it psn-rdoyle78

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 quinnermint

Im In - niallquinn89 or quinner89. One or the other I think. Being a while since I opted for a tourney :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

Count me in PSN: cartman91

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Shzm

Yeah i'll give it a go depening on what time the games are played, shazam_nz is my psn

I'd put my name down for a KO tourney but a 10/12 team league will not finish and you can quote me on this.... FACT!!

What happens is, a lot of players who sign up, rarely come online or play that particular game, and the fellas who are down the bottom and losing a lot won't finish their games, seen it happening a few times before.

Best way is a KO, that way at least the fellas who wouldn't finish their games are no longer a problem!

If you want to finish a league you really need to know the players personally and to know they'll play through, playing randomers off message boards never works out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

I'd put my name down for a KO tourney but a 10/12 team league will not finish and you can quote me on this.... FACT!!

What happens is, a lot of players who sign up, rarely come online or play that particular game, and the fellas who are down the bottom and losing a lot won't finish their games, seen it happening a few times before.

Best way is a KO, that way at least the fellas who wouldn't finish their games are no longer a problem!

If you want to finish a league you really need to know the players personally and to know they'll play through, playing randomers off message boards never works out
    This man is right..knockout is the best way, whoever loses 2 games fcuk off and dont bother playing, it happens naturally, even people who say theyl commit to it, dont, were all selfish ba$tards..
    Anyway, Il play if theres still room PSN: FlawedGenius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭sd08

I'd be up for this as long as people will actually play. Last league I entered only a few people even played.
    PSN: StephenD08

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 quinnermint

Hi Guys sorry my Broadband was messed up, Im wondering could I join a Tourny, I have the summer free and would love for play a few leagues & Tournys will lads who wouldn't quit out.
    PSN: Quinner89

Alright no bother. I put up a poll so guys pick a league or tourney. I don't mind either way so once we've voted I'll setup the competition and pm everyone the password. Cool?
    Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    yeah sure

Is your psn kev_ps3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Luap

Is there any more room, if so count me in calls barca lol:pac:

PSN ID: Maloney_o7 (the o is not a zero its the o in the alphabet lol)

Alright no bother. I put up a poll so guys pick a league or tourney. I don't mind either way so once we've voted I'll setup the competition and pm everyone the password. Cool?

Is your psn kev_ps3?

Its xKevin-

Well 7 of us have voted for a KO tournament so we'll go with that. Gilberto_eire are you in? If he is Maloney I'll put you in too cos we'll have 12 even then.

Eh, just a quick question....How do you create a KO tournament in fifa 09?:o

You can't actually do a knock-out tournament within fifa itself, you'll have to organise the fixtures here and get people to play themseles.
    One question, if there are 12 people how are you going to decide who plays who and who gets a bye from the first round?

Ok grand I'll get out excel. 12? eh, 4groups of 3 advancing to the KO stage? or KO straight away?

See what the other members would like, but I think you're going to need some kind of seeding system so that you dont end up with a group full of great players and another with players who can't be bothered playing.

sd08 wrote: »
    See what the other members would like, but I think you're going to need some kind of seeding system so that you dont end up with a group full of great players and another with players who can't be bothered playing.
    A seeding system? that would take a bit of time and effort. I've just got excel to randomly arrange 3players into 4groups. Each play eachother once with the top two advancing to the next round (If only one got through the tournament would be over in an hr). What do you guys think?

Sounds good, two through from each group should be fair enough, i suppose you could do the last 8 based on the group tables so that you get rewarded for topping your respective group?

exactly.

Should get the file up in half an hr...excel skills are a bit rusty :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 weirdear

I'd be interested if it was an evening Tourney!

Username PS : weirdear

I'll play since it's a tourney, i play regularly Mon-Thurs + Sunday(only two weeks left of college then i'll have my PS3 7days again, it was either bring that or the P.C away and PS3 seemed better option:D)

Tribal_Army

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 RobbieC

hey lads

fifa 09 --- what a game.
    league tournament even the ultimate team... all excellent.

i must say i consider myself a bit of a player so if interested add me and we have a game (robbiec87)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Bugg

Ill be interested if theres more room. PSN: DCorkey

RobbieC wrote: »
    hey lads

fifa 09 --- what a game.
    league tournament even the ultimate team... all excellent.

i must say i consider myself a bit of a player so if interested add me and we have a game (robbiec87)

Think I played you before??

oh what the rules be regarding picking teams??

How about 2/3 star teams only to make things interesting - anyone can win with Torres, Ronaldo, Etou etc

I'll play since it's a tourney, i play regularly Mon-Thurs + Sunday(only two weeks left of college then i'll have my PS3 7days again, it was either bring that or the P.C away and PS3 seemed better option:D)

Tribal_Army
    Grand you're in, sorry Weirdear we have 12. Don't worry I'm sure we'll have more over the summer :)

Right, here's the excel file...after spending an hour on it I can't figure out how to automatically select group winners into the quarter final stage. If anyone can, feel free to edit the file and reupload it (And also if there are any mistakes:o)

http://rapidshare.com/files/240362981/fifa.xls

Edit: sorry lads we've it all organised etc. I'd be happy to arrange another once this is done? You guys up for that?

BTW RULES: NO CL TEAMS OR INTERNATIONAL TEAMS. ALL OTHER CLUBS ALLOWED. 5MINS PER HALF. ANYTHING I'M FORGETTING LET ME KNOW.

I'd be happy with a random team pick....

Say the Admin'(person who set this thread up) does a list of the top 16 teams in the game, numbers them 1-16, in the order you posted that you'd play you pick a number, the Admin' then sends on the full list of teams(in the interest of fairness so he's not trying to keep the best for himself) to show what one you picked, and this continues on through the list of players, each one receiving the list and advocating it's fairness, the Admin' takes the last remaining team..... opinions?

... or if not that, just out right ban on Man Utd would be sufficient, i HATE playing them(just quit and search again online if someone picks them) and out of principle i won't pick them either

On a related note, how many of ye play on a ''club''?... would be good to get one going, you would need around 10+ players to get one going as you need a min' of 4 pplayers to have a good game, it's BAP as it should have been played, any games i had on it before were all good players(using sidecam) playing the game right(passing a lot etc...)

see the 1st post for rules and fixture list lads.

I think the no champion's league team rule sounds good but is it group stages or last 16?
    Gilberto, I play for a division 1 club and I agree with you, when played right it can be a lot of fun.:D On a side note, this may get in the way of me playing this tournament but as long as there's good notice given I should be fine to play.

any team that played in the CL this year is not allowed to be picked.

Damn, I wanted to be Anorthosis Famagusta:p. Oh well I think I'll just pick Man. City, been using them a bit recently with some sucess. What about the cheeky sod who picks A.C Milan though?

hmm yes this is true. Ban it too?

FC Schalke 04 (GER).......... SL Benfica (POR)
    Paris Saint-Germain FC (FRA)........ Olympiacos CFP (GRE)
    Manchester City FC (ENG).......... Galatasaray AŞ (TUR)
    Real Racing Club (ESP).......... Hertha BSC Berlin (GER)
    FC Twente (NED) ...........
    Sevilla FC (ESP)........... Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG)
    VfB Stuttgart (GER)....... . FC Spartak Moskva (RUS)
    UC Sampdoria (ITA) ......... Udinese Calcio (ITA)
    NK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)..........
    R. Standard de Liège (BEL) ......... NEC Nijmegen (NED)
    AC Milan (ITA) ........... Hamburger SV (GER)
    SC Heerenveen (NED) ........... AFC Ajax (NED)
    SC Braga (POR) ........ SK Slavia Praha (CZE)
    Portsmouth FC (ENG) .......... Aston Villa FC (ENG)
    VfL Wolfsburg (GER) .........
    Valencia CF (ESP) ........... PFC CSKA Moskva (RUS)
    Club Brugge KV (BEL) .......... RC Deportivo La Coruña (ESP)
    Feyenoord (NED)FC København (DEN)...... AS Nancy-Lorraine (FRA)

Thats a list of the teams in the group stages of the UEFA Cup, obviously theres a few more teams you could pick(that didnt qualify) that could be added to that, but the main bulk of pickable teams are there

hmm yes this is true. Ban it too?
    Just put a ban on 5 star teams and Champion's League teams, that should do it.

I'll try Valencia out then... norm be Man City or Villa but both taken already... grrrrrr

Just put a ban on 5 star teams and Champion's League teams, that should do it.
    Done.

Thanks gilberto for the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Shzm

I'll give Everton a whirl then

I'll add xkevin and StephenD08 when I get home and try get them played when ever it suits..

I norm home before 5 and be online til about 7 most weekdays and be online later too sometimes.

I'll take Spurs.....

I think these games should be ranked.... unranked leaves the possibility of cheating as custom teams are available

I usually play with Villa anyway so I'll have them:)

sorry man, took them myself.

Ok I will be Sevilla then! I think I am playing Tribal_Army now or something.

cool feel free to play whenever yer ready.

Sevilla v Spurs

Tribal_Army 3-1 cartman91

I lost, gg but I have never used Sevilla before. Would prefer to play with Barcelona or AC Milan as I know how to play with them. Probably would have lost anyways.

Tribal_Army 3-1 cartman91

I lost, gg but I have never used Sevilla before. Would prefer to play with Barcelona or AC Milan as I know how to play with them. Probably would have lost anyways.

Maybe, going by rank i'm just outside the Top 1000(was in it all year but boosters have taken over so got knocked down a few 100 places) have roughly 700 wins, 180 losses, so i'm no flash in the pan, I too would prefer bigger teams, but just as long as Man Utd aren't pick able I'm easy

GG, I'd expect you to win your next game, your a decent player, major bulk of players online in this have a minus account ratio, anyone over(more wins then losses) is a challenge.