Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheating

• 30-05-2009 9:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭

I find it hard to put into words my utter contempt for people who cheat.I have worked fairly hard for 3 years and seeing people who didnt do better than me would be a kickwhere it hurts.What I want to know is can/how can you tell an examiner..Will they tell the accused or your school you told..What are sanctions imposed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I think it's extraordinarily difficult to cheat in the exam, unless your pretty much showing your paper to the person next to you. The desk must be a minimum distance away from other tables, I can't recall the exact distance but it's substantial. As for the coursework, cheating (copying, plagarism) would be fairly obvious to any examiners.

Unless you mean reporting other people cheating from other people ie completely unrelated to you. I think you should just leave it. I hate it too, but it's their problem. Just hope the system works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

It depends on the superintendent. When I did my JC two years ago, the lad across me took out a sheet of paper with an Irish essay and wrote it down. The superintendent never battered an eyelid.

As a 6th year student, I wouldn't bother even complaining about as the JC means nothing realistic. If we were talking about leaving cert, I'd be saying something completely different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

I find it hard to put into words my utter contempt for people who cheat.I have worked fairly hard for 3 years and seeing people who didnt do better than me would be a kickwhere it hurts.What I want to know is can/how can you tell an examiner..Will they tell the accused or your school you told..What are sanctions imposed..
    Don't bother telling the examiner, they will more than likely know, they record any strange happenings in a notebook with a time and approx area of the exam they are on, if they notice the exam is extremely good in one area and poor in the rest they will investigate it further.

Don't be a rat, why the f*ck do you care what everyone else gets in the JC? If it was a competitive points system a la the Leaving cert ok then you have a point but not for the JC especially considering the fact if they get caught they're lives are essentially ruined as they won't be able to sit a state examination again.

Let the cheaters cheat and see how far it gets them.

As for cheating itself, its easy enough to cheat using a few crafty methods to slip away undetected.

1. Splicing the sole off your shoe and slipping a few notes inside and then going to the bathroom or even in your socks
    2. Girls that wear skirts can write it on the inside of your skirts, no (Male atleast) examiner would dare ask a girl to show the inside of her skirt now (Usually :p)
    3. Planting notes in odd areas in toilet stalls all around your school and then going on a toilet break.
    4. Putting notes in your underwear (A bit desperate?)
    5. Reprinting coke bottle covers with notes instead of ingredients ( I doubt bottles are allowed into exam rooms anyway but maybe)
    6. Special pens which can fold out complete a5 sheets of paper.

The possibilities are endless if you want to cheat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭annie19

unless u can bring an essay in with u or a fornula 4 math wat is d pt in cheating! u either no it r u dont!!! trying 2 cheat eith silly notes is just stupaid distraction when u sud b focusing on d exam:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

i wouldn't risk cheating for my life!:o
    although the mocks are really easy to cheat in (in my case anyways), the real thing would be completly different!..

i wouldn't risk cheating for my life!:o
    although the mocks are really easy to cheat in (in my case anyways), the real thing would be completly different!..
    Not really tbh, some supervisors are inept and unexperienced, they aren't teachers or anything just random people who apply for a job, same way you apply for a job to be a cleaner. No requirements. I've heard of a few even sleeping on the job(Tbh sitting for 2 1/2 hours watching everyone else doing an exam would put anyone to sleep).

Some though are like hawks that somehow see and hear anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

I once knew a guy;) who got a marker and wrapped a history essay (in short points) around the marker in the mocks:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

Don't worry about cheaters. The penalties are pretty severe anyways. You are banned from state exams for a period of time. State exams also include the driving test!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭RHRN

alan4cult wrote: »
    Don't worry about cheaters. The penalties are pretty severe anyways. You are banned from state exams for a period of time. State exams also include the driving test!

Something like five years so I hear!
    I'll be in a room by myself anyways so I don't have to worry bout people cheating off me (absolutely rampant in my school, three teachers walking round during the mocks and loads of people still cheating, none caught)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

It is exceptionally easy to cheat in a state exam if you want to, I wont get into specifics as I do NOT condone cheating in any capacity, but if you wanted to, its not exactly hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

in the one or exam i cheated in, just summer exams (not the jc or lc)
    theres writing all over my pencil case (peoples names etc,.....) i just wrote down a few key words.....

ohh i remember it was the 5 species.... reptiles amphibians birds mammals insects

Mousey- wrote: »
    in the one or exam i cheated in, just summer exams (not the jc or lc)
    theres writing all over my pencil case (peoples names etc,.....) i just wrote down a few key words.....

ohh i remember it was the 5 species.... reptiles amphibians birds mammals insects
    Thats not even asked in JC science exams afaik, why did you bother lol?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭g-whizz

the superintendents can never do it again if they do anything about cheating or if they get involved. thats handy money they'd be missing out on!
    its incredibly easy to cheat in exams. i was nearly more afraid in summer and xmas exams.
    cheating was rampant in every exam that i've ever done and i participated no point in lying.
    drawings were stuck in, phones used.
    in our LC we were all in a gym and there was four exam centres... we all waited for the smart lad to go to the jacks was savage..

OP, it is better to keep quiet!
    OP do you go to mels?

g-whizz wrote: »
    the superintendents can never do it again if they do anything about cheating or if they get involved. thats handy money they'd be missing out on!
    its incredibly easy to cheat in exams. i was nearly more afraid in summer and xmas exams.
    cheating was rampant in every exam that i've ever done and i participated no point in lying.
    drawings were stuck in, phones used.
    in our LC we were all in a gym and there was four exam centres... we all waited for the smart lad to go to the jacks was savage..

OP, it is better to keep quiet!
    OP do you go to mels?

Same in my school, heard stories of massive sophisticated cheating going on for the JC, heard nothing about the LC though probably because superintendents would be stricter.

Amazing all the bother some people go to to cheat instead of just learning and studying, the mind boggles.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Mr.S wrote: »
    Its not at all.

Our guy just sat at his desk at the top of the room, didn't walk around or look up really. Only got up when people asked for stuff then he was back down to his desk. Loads of people brought in notes with maths formulas or facts for essays. Took them out of their pocket once the exam has started. I mean you could even wisper to the person next to you if you wheren't at the front :rolleyes:
    Damn, that's just making it pointless. Our school relatively small though, it's not in a gym, it'll be in different large classes. It'd be pretty easy to hear a whisper in silence unless our superintendent has terrible hearing. I'd imagine in a large gym though it'd be pretty easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

It's the junior cert. If you're that much of a spa to cheat in an exam that's actually meaningless....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

That makes no sense to me - why would the superintendents be barred for reporting cheating? Isn't that part of their job description?

Thoie wrote: »
    That makes no sense to me - why would the superintendents be barred for reporting cheating? Isn't that part of their job description?
    I can't see that being enforced but I doubt many superintendents for the JC are too bothered to report a cheater, unless they are uptight and stringent its way too much hassle.

Reporting many cheaters in your exam hall would probably mean your not doing your job right, if too many people are cheating your just inept at your job then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭g-whizz

Thoie wrote: »

me neither but thats the rules i was told at my JC and LC.
    the superintendents don't just report cheating they have to right up a whole load of reports. it has to go down on your record and i think the guards might get involved.
    what would you rather do anyway? sit on your arse and get handy money or write up reports and go to hearings and crap and miss out on the money.

handy money!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Hiccuper

In my school, we were doing our CSPE mocks at the same time as the Leaving Cert Irish mocks, we all finished early and sat there waiting, my friend was watching this LC girl who was doing absolutely nothing, she did that for about two hours, before looking to check no teachers were watching, and hastily swapping the answer book in front of her for one she had hidden under her jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

im in fifth year and i did my summer chemistry exam with literally my book out on the table, also for my jc i made up a poet/poems and i still got a B

Hiccuper wrote: »
    In my school, we were doing our CSPE mocks at the same time as the Leaving Cert Irish mocks, we all finished early and sat there waiting, my friend was watching this LC girl who was doing absolutely nothing, she did that for about two hours, before looking to check no teachers were watching, and hastily swapping the answer book in front of her for one she had hidden under her jumper.

Legendary idea also did that for my irish summer exam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Depp wrote: »
    im in fifth year and i did my summer chemistry exam with literally my book out on the table, also for my jc i made up a poet/poems and i still got a B

Can you actually make up poems / poets? So the correctors actually check if the poem is real?

oh yeah just list of jargan about poetry, an examiner is not gonna check every poem if he has 20/30 to correct in a day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭T3h Windeh

Thats not even asked in JC science exams afaik, why did you bother lol?

I do believe he said 'just summer exams' and I'd say it's come up on those before. lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Don't bother telling the examiner, they will more than likely know, they record any strange happenings in a notebook with a time and approx area of the exam they are on, if they notice the exam is extremely good in one area and poor in the rest they will investigate it further.

Don't be a rat, why the f*ck do you care what everyone else gets in the JC? If it was a competitive points system a la the Leaving cert ok then you have a point but not for the JC especially considering the fact if they get caught they're lives are essentially ruined as they won't be able to sit a state examination again.

As for cheating itself, its easy enough to cheat using a few crafty methods to slip away undetected.

1. Splicing the sole off your shoe and slipping a few notes inside and then going to the bathroom or even in your socks
    2. Girls that wear skirts can write it on the inside of your skirts, no (Male atleast) examiner would dare ask a girl to show the inside of her skirt now (Usually :p)
    3. Planting notes in odd areas in toilet stalls all around your school and then going on a toilet break.
    5. Reprinting coke bottle covers with notes instead of ingredients ( I doubt bottles are allowed into exam rooms anyway but maybe)

Don't listen to him/her...... He/she is a bad influence. :)

That_Guy wrote: »
    Don't listen to him/her...... He/she is a bad influence. :)
    Well I was saying cheating is bad and that cheaters always will eventually be caught one way or another for more than half the post had you read it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

In my school days I found that people who cheated were generally the poor students who were is trouble anyway.

I also dont think it makes much difference to their results or you because the time and effort they spend trying to get away with it far exceeds any benefits and I would go so far as to say it prob worsens their results.

Let them rot. Life will find them out eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

No cheating going on round here. Superintendent really wouldn't notice if you were at the back anyway.

For the mocks I wrote Maths formulas on my pencil case but that was about it. No point fooling yourself anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

never mind cheating i remember when i did my lc the superintendent gave you the answers if you asked him to clarify something for you!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

In my school days I found that people who cheated were generally the poor students who were is trouble anyway.

I also dont think it makes much difference to their results or you because the time and effort they spend trying to get away with it far exceeds any benefits and I would go so far as to say it prob worsens their results.

Let them rot. Life will find them out eventually.
    You're just as ignorant as people who cheat for saying something like that, to be honest.

couldn.t cheat even if I wanted to..
    I'm sitting right infront of the superintendant..:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Same, rammed up against a blackboard too, but it's still got some French verbs on it so it mightn't be all bad... It'd actually be way easier to cheat than I thought though.

Same here:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

I think you should bear in mind that the JC doesnt count for anything. Dont be upset if someone does better than you because they cheated - if it works for them in the JC they might try it again at LC level and get stung!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭obliviousgrudge

In the mocks I made up an artist as I couldnt think of a non Italaian and got full marks for the question.

Also, couldnt you just write out the info you need on a sheet of paper, slip it into your pencil case and pretend to be looking for a pen when ur reading the notes.

I actually think I might do this in maths for the formulas, and it would be quite easy as Im at the very back and the superintendant only gets up from his chair if you raise your hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Mialuvzfun!

Haha luv dem!!! lol i wudnt use dem bu der pretty cool lol:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭elaine93

If you get caught cheating at junior level your whole junior cert gets cancelled and you can't do the leaving as far as I'm aware. Not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Stranjak

Rewriting ingredients on bottles is PURE genius :L
    I wouldn't try it though, too risky. Just gonna study and pray for the best me :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

Cheating in the JC doesn't really matter as it doesn't count for anything, its just a warm up really for the LC. Cheating in the LC however is a different matter, and it could mean you take a college place from someone who worked hard and studied all year and you couldn't be bothered. Unless you cheating so that you just scrape a pass, you deserve a good hiding for cheating in the LC.

Also, you can be prosecuted for cheating as the State Exams are offical government documents, and you are providing false information on an official state document

The bottle thing works really well on coke and works very well when your examiner just sits at the top of the class and does not mind bottles in class.
    Its simple really but if you get caught you have no excuse and your pretty much f*cked.
    You just get unwrap the label, scan it on your computer and photoshop in your notes, instead of replacing the ingredients just plant a few formulas etc in the design in a really light gray or something so its unoticeable.
    But then again, doing all of that takes atleast one hour, you could actually LEARN the formulas instead of cheating...

The bottle thing works really well on coke and works very well when your examiner just sits at the top of the class and does not mind bottles in class.
    Its simple really but if you get caught you have no excuse and your pretty much f*cked.
    You just get unwrap the label, scan it on your computer and photoshop in your notes, instead of replacing the ingredients just plant a few formulas etc in the design in a really light gray or something so its unoticeable.
    But then again, doing all of that takes atleast one hour, you could actually LEARN the formulas instead of cheating...
    dats rly cool bu if ur caught cheetin u cnt do a st8 exam 4 3 yrs! not even lyk a drivin tst so ders rly no point in riskin it lyk its nly d jc!! haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

dats rly cool bu if ur caught cheetin u cnt do a st8 exam 4 3 yrs! not even lyk a drivin tst so ders rly no point in riskin it lyk its nly d jc!! haha

So ... are you sitting your exams through English?? :confused:

aoibhebree wrote: »
    So ... are you sitting your exams through English?? :confused:
    Ye?? why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

Never mind ...

aoibhebree wrote: »
    Never mind ...
    is it cuz my spellin? i cn spell proprly writing if i tink bout it bu im slitly dislexic so im hrdly gna bothr on dis !!

its cuz txt ritin is fukin annoyin 2 read an u cud at least try 2 do it proprly

millington wrote: »
    its cuz txt ritin is fukin annoyin 2 read an u cud at least try 2 do it proprly
    nd y wud i cre if it annoys u? i dnt even no u so im halrdy gna bthr wastin my tiem

It annoys everyone!