Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Possible Starting XV RWC 2011

• 30-05-2009 8:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Bodisgod

Well, I presume it's been done already but with all the talk of the only rugby trophy that isn't in the country at the moment, I couldn't help myself! I've selected my starting XV with their ages at the time of the world cup in brackets. I'll admit it could be seen a bit through leinster eyes with them having eight players(please don't turn this into yet another leinster/munster thread:D) but I haven't been watching as much of munster, ulster or connacht this season so I wouldn't be as familiar with the players coming through.

Obviously Earls will be a major talking point but I couldn't take anyone else out of that back line. I suppose the world cup will be BOD's swansong:(

15. Rob Kearney (25)
    14. Tommy Bowe (27)
    13. Brian O'Driscoll (32)
    12. Gordon D'arcy (31)
    11. Luke Fitzgerald (24)
    10. Jonathan Sexton (26)
    9. Tomas O'Leary (27)

8. Jamie Heaslip (27)
    7. Sean O'Brien (24)
    6. Stephen Ferris (26)
    5. Paul O'Connell (31)
    4. Donncha O'Callaghan (32)
    3. Tony Buckley (31)
    2. Rory Best (29)
    1. Cian Healy (23)

Others in contention:
    Keith Earls (24), Ronan O'Gara (34), Eoin Reddan (30), Darren Cave (24), Ian Keatley (24), Paddy Wallace (32), Ian Whitten (24) Ian Dowling (28),
    Andrew Conway (21)
    Tom Court (31), Jerry Flannery (33), John Hayes (37!!), Tim Ryan (27), Mike Ross (31), Donncha Ryan (27), Denis Leamy (29), Mick O'Driscoll (32), Shane Jennings (30)

Presume I'm forgetting about somebody, suggestions welcome!

By 2011, doctors will have performed the worlds first back transplant on The Bull, so at 37, he'll have another good 5 seasons in him:D:D

Andrew Conway was as Tony Ward said, the most impressive ever player he has seen in the leinster senior cup (ahead of Luke Fitz and Rob Kearney) so I said I'd stick my neck out with that one!

We're currently 33/1 with ladbrokes which is well worth a tenner e/w imo.
    Could anyone tell me why england are so far ahead of us in the betting? Generally 8/1 but can get them at 12's. Something to do with the road to the final I presume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Bodisgod wrote: »
    Could anyone tell me why england are so far ahead of us in the betting?

Hmm, let's see...

RWC2007:
    England - Runners up
    Ireland - Group stage

RWC2003:
    England - Champions
    Irealnd - Quarter finalists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

karmabass wrote: »
    Hmm, let's see...

RWC2007:
    England - Runners up
    Ireland - Group stage

RWC2003:
    England - Champions

Don;t forget 1991 Runners Up too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Bodisgod

Hmm, let's see...

RWC2007:
    England - Runners up
    Ireland - Group stage

RWC2003:
    England - Champions

Yeah I'll admit it was a bit of a stupid question!!:P Although we are 5/2 joint favourites for the six nations while they're joint third favourites at 11/4 and there is a massive difference in our odds for the rwc. They have proven it at the world cup stage though while we've failed to impress...

15. Rob Kearney
    14. Tommy Bowe
    13. Brian O'Driscoll
    12. Keith Earls
    11. Luke Fitzgerald
    10. Jonathan Sexton
    9. Tomas O'Leary

8. Jamie Heaslip
    7. Shane Jennings
    6. Stephen Ferris
    5. Paul O'Connell
    4. Ryan Caldwell
    3. Mike Ross
    2. Rory Best
    1. Cian Healy

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

I would say o malley mcfadden cave earls will have a bearing on the op's 22 anyway. Also paul o donoghue will hopefully be at on the bench. Heaslip, O Brien and Ferris is a serios back row, with possibly Leamy or Ronan in reserve. And holy **** I thought Rory Best was older than that! :eek:

wixfjord wrote: »
    I would say o malley mcfadden cave earls will have a bearing on the op's 22 anyway. Also paul o donoghue will hopefully be at on the bench. Heaslip, O Brien and Ferris is a serios back row, with possibly Leamy or Ronan in reserve. And holy **** I thought Rory Best was older than that! :eek:

Hes gona be a serious player.

There was a Blackrock player this year who is unbelieavable,I think he plays fullback cant remember his name.Neil Francis reckons hes the best schools player hes ever seen,he could be up there also.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Bodisgod wrote: »
    15. Rob Kearney (25)
    14. Tommy Bowe (27)
    13. Brian O'Driscoll (32)
    12. Gordon D'arcy (31)
    11. Luke Fitzgerald (24)
    10. Jonathan Sexton (26)
    9. Tomas O'Leary (27)

8. Jamie Heaslip (27)
    7. Sean O'Brien (24)
    6. Stephen Ferris (26)
    5. Paul O'Connell (31)
    4. Donncha O'Callaghan (32)
    3. Tony Buckley (31)
    2. Rory Best (29)
    1. Cian Healy (23)

Wouldn't be happy with that backrow unless SOB seriously improves his handling. He has time on his side in that regard though. Also dont think Buckley will be up to it. These things are a always a bit of a crapshoot. Players will drop out of form, other will turn up etc. That wouldn't be a bad stab at the side though i'd say. You'd want to think the likes of Earls/McFadden/Cave would break through, but its hard to see where.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Hes gona be a serious player.

There was a Blackrock player this year who is unbelieavable,I think he plays fullback cant remember his name.Neil Francis reckons hes the best schools player hes ever seen,he could be up there also.

Conway. There's another centre on that team with serious potential too, Macken I think is his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Cant really see Sexton starting ahead of O'Gara in the WC tbh.

Max Power1 wrote: »

Its about 50/50 I'd say. Sexton will start getting a run in the team next season so if he takes it then it could definitely happen. As things stand they'll both be involved in some way anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

ROG will retire after that world cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Bodisgod

Max Power1 wrote: »

Yeah, I was just thinkin at 34 ROG might be past his best but may be age wouldn't effect his game too much. Plus we could be getting a bit carried away with a couple of good performances from Sexton, hopefully not though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

15. Luke Fitzgerald
    14. Tommy Bowe
    13. Keith Earls
    12. Brian O'Driscoll
    11. Fionn Carr
    10. Ronan O'Gara/Jonny Sexton
    9. Tomas O'Leary/Paul O'Donohoe

8. Jamie Heaslip
    7. Sean O'Brien/David Pollock
    6. Stephen Ferris
    5. POC
    4. DOC
    3. Mike Ross
    2. Rory Best
    1. Cian Healy

Stickin my neck out here abit, but i honestly think Luke is and will develop into a better FB than Kearney, would obviously have Rob in my 22. Carr is class, simple as. I assume he will eventually move back to Leinster or to another province or even abroad, but he is a very impressive player and deserves his spot. O'Brien is a serious serious player for the future alright, but Pollock will be breathing down his neck i think, you dont captain an U20 side to a grand slam and not be a good player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

chupacabra wrote: »
    15. Luke Fitzgerald
    14. Tommy Bowe
    13. Keith Earls
    12. Brian O'Driscoll
    11. Fionn Carr
    10. Ronan O'Gara/Jonny Sexton
    9. Tomas O'Leary/Paul O'Donohoe

8. Jamie Heaslip
    7. Sean O'Brien/David Pollock
    6. Stephen Ferris
    5. POC
    4. DOC
    3. Mike Ross
    2. Rory Best
    1. Cian Healy

Stickin my neck out here abit, but i honestly think Luke is and will develop into a better FB than Kearney, would obviously have Rob in my 22. Carr is class, simple as. I assume he will eventually move back to Leinster or to another province or even abroad, but he is a very impressive player and deserves his spot. O'Brien is a serious serious player for the future alright, but Pollock will be breathing down his neck i think, you dont captain an U20 side to a grand slam and not be a good player.

I know one of the lads who was on that under-20s Grand Slam team.

Given that they'll all be around 24 for the next World Cup I'd imagine most of them will be beginning to impact at provincial level, and some may well be pushing for international recognition even more than atm.

I think O'Gara and O'Callaghan are the two most vulnerable lads in the aforementioned team.

Disagree about DOC, based on the fact that the Irish management rate him very highly. Smal called him "the glue that holds the pack together", no less!

Yes, but there is also some talent coming through at second row at the moment in Caldwell and Toner, not to mention Donnacha Ryan who can hold his own in that position also. DOC might indeed find his position in jeopardy come the world cup. But the combination of DOC and POC is one that will withstand the test of time i feel.

chupacabra wrote: »
    Yes, but there is also some talent coming through at second row at the moment in Caldwell and Toner, not to mention Donnacha Ryan who can hold his own in that position also. DOC might indeed find his position in jeopardy come the world cup. But the combination of DOC and POC is one that will withstand the test of time i feel.

Think Toner would be a pretty poor replacement for DOC to be honest, not sure he'd really complement POC well. There are a fair number of second rows coming through, but none of them seem outstandinly good.

Yeah DOC is a real grafter as they say, think Ryan is the only one of the above that's in that mold, and has to be said he isn't in great form. Didn't even stand out for Shannon in the AIL, so forecast isn't spectacular for RWC2011.

I really like DOC, and think he's hugely unlucky to have been put in the shadow of O'Connell. But whereas O'Connell has that whole 'grrr, I be leader' vibe that was so important for the likes of Martin Johnson, Donncha doesn't have that. Means he'd be shipped out first.
    Podge_irl wrote: »
    Think Toner would be a pretty poor replacement for DOC to be honest, not sure he'd really complement POC well. There are a fair number of second rows coming through, but none of them seem outstandinly good.
    Toner's got a lot of talent. As far as I know so does Caldwell. And there's that lad who the Ospreys signed from Leinster, McInerny. Can't imagine playing with Ian Gough and Alun Wyn Jones will hamper his development at all.

Oh and isn't that lad Ulster signed from teh Reds O'Donoghue Irish? He's seemed decent this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Some of the younger guys, 19, 20, 21,22 not mentioned-

Props; Jack McGrath(Marys, Leinster), Jack O'Connell(Clongowes/Lansdowne)
    Both have serious potential imo.
    Props in Leinster are very exciting.

Tom Sexton(Belvedere, Leinster) a leader and great line out thrower
    Rees Ruddock and Ciaran Ruddock, both sons of Mike Ruddock Welsh GS Coach, both back 5 players.
    Peter O'Mahoney(Pres/Cork Con, Munster) Pretty sure he is the going to make the Munster set up next year, Irish 20s captain.
    Dominic Ryan(Gonzaga/Lansdowne, Leinster), great size will find it tough at the next level.
    Michael Noone(CBC Monkstown/Seapoint, Lansdowne) Incredible pace for a back rower, pretty sure he is moving from Leinster next year though.
    Paul Ryan(Blackrock, Leinster);Already picked for Leinster senior squad- has captained rep teams all the way.
    Pollock(Ulster), animal

Backs
    Scrum half is a concern aside from O'Donoghue imo.

Out halfs-another great area of talent which is encouraging
    Four guys behind Sexton as the understudy for O'Gara with real talent
    Keatley(Connacht)
    Ian McKinley(St Columbas/UCD, Leinster)-only 19 and has started for Leinster, huge boot and already has the size.
    Andrew Burke(Garryowen,Munster), Irish 20s 10, started for Munster. Haven't seen much but must be good for keeping (imo) one of Leinster's greatest ever talents in McKinley out in the centres.
    Ian Madigan(ROck, Leinster); Huge skill set,talent to burn.

Outside backs
    Keating(Belvo/Clontarf, Leinster) Ripping it up in the AIL at 19. Bags of pace, if he grows he will make it with Leinster and then who knows.
    Brendan Macken(Blackrock College);Still in school but i was hugely impressed. 2011 may be too soon for him at centre.
    Niall Morris(Blackrock, Leinster) Another serious talent in the production line, in Luke Fitzs year in school-always underrated, may make it at the next level.

2 things, a lot of the talent is in Leinster, but Munster have 2 guys in Burke and O'Mahoney who almost certaintly will be in the Munster squad by 2011 so not all gloomy down south.
    Great talent at prop and OH which is great for Irish rugby.

It isn't beyond the realms of possibility that a couple of these will make it.

Toner's got a lot of talent. As far as I know so does Caldwell. And there's that lad who the Ospreys signed from Leinster, McInerny. Can't imagine playing with Ian Gough and Alun Wyn Jones will hamper his development at all.

Oh and isn't that lad Ulster signed from teh Reds O'Donoghue Irish? He's seemed decent this season.

I'm a big fan of Toner actually, and he has come on a lot this year. I think he'd work well with DOC, I'm just not sure he'd be so good replacing him. You would have thought Ryan would have pushed on by now, but alas it hasn't happened. Toner and Caldwell look better placed to move up the rankings given the amount of game time they're gonna get next season.

EOD is Irish qualified, though I'm not sure how. Grandparent or something I assume.

themont85 wrote: »

Hagan as well.

I'm a big fan of Toner actually, and he has come on a lot this year. I think he'd work well with DOC, I'm just not sure he'd be so good replacing him. You would have thought Ryan would have pushed on by now, but alas it hasn't happened. Toner and Caldwell look better placed to move up the rankings given the amount of game time they're gonna get next season.

EOD is Irish qualified, though I'm not sure how. Grandparent or something I assume.

O'Connell would never get dropped for O'Callaghan. Even if that would benefit Ireland more.

O'Donoghue's an O'Donoghue, so he's inevitably Irish. :pac:

I'd assume grandparent, but sure, it's not too important.

Hagan as well.

True, sorry i did leave a few out, its very late!

Hagan is a good call, ahead of McGrath and O'Connell in the system. One problem for those guys is that with Healy, Van der Linde, Ross and maybe Wright around it will be tough to break through in Leinster, one or two will have to move. A far cry from the front row issues we've had for most of the decade!

If you'd told me 4 years ago that Leinster would soon be literally overflowing with quality props I have a sneaking suspicion I would have laughed in your face. Great to see though. Healy, Ross, VDL and Wright would actually be one of the best propping groups around. Add in Hagan et al behind them and its quite encouraging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Where's Noone headed off to?

Funkstard wrote: »
    Where's Noone headed off to?

Not sure tbh. Heard from a guy i know ''in the system'' he wouldn't be in the Leinster provincial teams next year because he is moving elsewhere, England or another province maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Tom Sexton(Belvedere, Leinster) a leader and great line out thrower
    Rees Ruddock and Ciaran Ruddock, both sons of Mike Ruddock Welsh GS Coach, both back 5 players.
    Peter O'Mahoney(Pres/Cork Con, Munster) Pretty sure he is the going to make the Munster set up next year, Irish 20s captain.
    Dominic Ryan(Gonzaga/Lansdowne, Leinster), great size will find it tough at the next level.
    Michael Noone(CBC Monkstown/Seapoint, Lansdowne) Incredible pace for a back rower, pretty sure he is moving from Leinster next year though.
    Paul Ryan(Blackrock, Leinster);Already picked for Leinster senior squad- has captained rep teams all the way.
    Pollock(Ulster), animal

Backs
    Scrum half is a concern aside from O'Donoghue imo.

Out halfs-another great area of talent which is encouraging
    Four guys behind Sexton as the understudy for O'Gara with real talent
    Keatley(Connacht)
    Ian McKinley(St Columbas/UCD, Leinster)-only 19 and has started for Leinster, huge boot and already has the size.
    Andrew Burke(Garryowen,Munster), Irish 20s 10, started for Munster. Haven't seen much but must be good for keeping (imo) one of Leinster's greatest ever talents in McKinley out in the centres.
    Ian Madigan(ROck, Leinster); Huge skill set,talent to burn.

Outside backs
    Keating(Belvo/Clontarf, Leinster) Ripping it up in the AIL at 19. Bags of pace, if he grows he will make it with Leinster and then who knows.
    Brendan Macken(Blackrock College);Still in school but i was hugely impressed. 2011 may be too soon for him at centre.
    Niall Morris(Blackrock, Leinster) Another serious talent in the production line, in Luke Fitzs year in school-always underrated, may make it at the next level.

2 things, a lot of the talent is in Leinster, but Munster have 2 guys in Burke and O'Mahoney who almost certaintly will be in the Munster squad by 2011 so not all gloomy down south.
    Great talent at prop and OH which is great for Irish rugby.

It isn't beyond the realms of possibility that a couple of these will make it.

Ian McKinley and Jack McGrath stand out for me most amongst that bunch. McKinley as mentioned started for Leinster already and McGrath at only 18 started for Leinster A at prop displacing guys 6 years his senior! Great to have two massive talents in two desperatley need positions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 recessionproof

I've heard a lot about McGrath, that he led an average marys team almost single handed to the sct final.

Is he a better loose head or a tight head?, which side of the scrum is he more likely to suceeed at?

McKinley looked quite effective against the dragons a few weeks ago, could he play 13 as well, i wouldn't see him as a 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

With only 2 seasons left between now and the World Cup, these young lads mentioned surely will need to get playing at the top level ASAP.... I have seen a few of these guys play and they are promising however theres a huge gap between "high potential" and playing in a world cup side that has ambitions to win it.

As for ROG, he'll be 34, I can't imagine he'll have the legs for 7 high intensity international rugby matches over 5 weeks. I hope Sexton gets given the nod in forthcoming series and an active roll in the 6 nations albeit of the bench. He's shown he has the ability and bottle to be a top class fly-half, the only thing left to be seen is consistency.

At 12 13, I think BOD and Earls could really complement eachother well and while BOD would wear 13 I'd like to see the actual possitions interchanged between the 2.

It is a tad premature to be naming starting XV but if i had to...!

15. Kearney
    14. Bowe
    13. BOD
    12. Earls
    11. Fitzgerald
    10. Sexton
    9. Reddan

8. Heaslip
    7. Jennings
    6. Ferris
    5. POC
    4. DOC/Toner
    3. Ross
    2. Flannery (he'll just have turned 33, so I reckon he would have it in him)
    1. Healy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Theus

1. Cian Healy
    2. Rory Best
    3. Mike Ross
    4. Donncha O'Callaghan
    5. Paul O'Connell
    6. Stephen Ferris
    7. Shane Jennings
    8. Jamie Heaslip
    9. Tomas O'Leary
    10. Johnathan Sexton
    11. Luke Fitzgerald
    12. Keith Earls
    13. Brian O'Driscoll
    14. Tommy Bowe
    15. Rob Kearney

16. Sean Cronin
    17. Tom Court
    18. Devin Toner
    19. Denis Leamy
    20. Paul O'Donohoe
    21. Darren Cave
    22. Gavin Duffy

At 12 13, I think BOD and Earls could really complement eachother well and while BOD would wear 13 I'd like to see the actual possitions interchanged between the 2.

Earls is a long, long, long way from displacing BOD from his favoured position, which is essentially what you're talking about. Not to mention that Earls' biggest weakness in the centre is BOD's biggest strength. I can't see it happening, if he's in the team anywhere it will be as a back three player I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Reckon croinin will overtake everyone for hooker, serious talent and his pace and ball skills are a class above all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Earls is a long, long, long way from displacing BOD from his favoured position, which is essentially what you're talking about. Not to mention that Earls' biggest weakness in the centre is BOD's biggest strength. I can't see it happening, if he's in the team anywhere it will be as a back three player I think.

Im not saying Earls should have the 13 slot over BOD at all! I was saying that Earls can be a real threat at 13 with his turn of pace (as seen for Munster) and why not use that to our advantage. In 2011 BOD will certainly still be a superior player but Earls will be quicker.Im not saying pair them up and Earls will play 13 for some matches and BOD other, I mean BOD would be 13 but on a few occasions during a particular match they could swap for a a few moves. It's happened in the past with D'arcy and BOD

d-gal wrote: »
    Reckon croinin will overtake everyone for hooker, serious talent and his pace and ball skills are a class above all

Agreed, hope he gets a good run out tonight.

I'm not convinced Earls will make a top class 12. Imo it's either 13 or the back 3 for him.

Im not saying Earls should have the 13 slot over BOD at all! I was saying that Earls can be a real threat at 13 with his turn of pace (as seen for Munster) and why not use that to our advantage. In 2011 BOD will certainly still be a superior player but Earls will be quicker.Im not saying pair them up and Earls will play 13 for some matches and BOD other, I mean BOD would be 13 but on a few occasions during a particular match they could swap for a a few moves. It's happened in the past with D'arcy and BOD

It did yeah, but D'Arcy was a much better inside centre then Earls imo. I'm not saying it couldn't work, but Earls is only really going to get game time in the back 3 or 13 for Munster, so you'd essentially be pairing up two 13s, only one of whom is capable of playing 12 effectively, but who is also the better 13! Earls is, somewhat unfortunately for him, perfectly suited to the 22 role. Its hard to see where he would be getting a start on the pitch until he settles into a position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Dev7

15. Fitzgerald
    14. Bowe
    13. O Driscoll
    12. Darcy
    11. Earls
    10. Sexton
    9. Reddan
    8. Heaslip
    7. Jennings
    6. Ferris
    5. O Connell
    4. Caldwell
    3. Ross
    2. Best
    1. Healy

16. Cronin
    17. Buckley
    18. O Callaghan
    19. O Brien
    20. O Leary
    21. O Gara
    22. Kearney/Cave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Caldwell
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip

9. O'Leary
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. Earls
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

16. Ryan 17. Fogarty 18. Toner 19. Ryan 20. Reddan 21. Keatley 22. Cave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

[Jackass] wrote: »
    1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Caldwell
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip

9. O'Leary
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. Earls
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

16. Ryan 17. Fogarty 18. Toner 19. Ryan 20. Reddan 21. Keatley 22. Cave

Which Fogarty? Regard less i agree with this but Cronin would be in for Fogarty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭tommy57

think sexton is overrated he,s played two good games this season. played most of his rugby in the ail this year.leinster obviously did,nt feel he was up to it ,so d,ont see how two good games make him a great player. though next season will see how good he is. he w,ont start ahead of o gara in next years six nations. hopefully he will turn out to be the player we hope and i,m proved wrong.

tommy57 wrote: »
    think sexton is overrated he,s played two good games this season. played most of his rugby in the ail this year.leinster obviously did,nt feel he was up to it ,so d,ont see how two good games make him a great player.

He was also excellent in the Wasps game at the start of the season and at the end of last season. He had a poor run of form and was dropped. Same thing happened to Kearney in his second year and he's recovered from it just fine. Sexton played almost 900 minutes of rugby with Leinster this year, I doubt he played more than that in the AIL.

This whole two game nonsense is starting to annoy me. He's played numerous excellent games, if people don't remember then then they have short memories. He has also produced on the biggest stage of club rugby. I imagine he won't start the 6N ahead of O'Gara, but if O'Gara doesn't improve his international performances I think he has a chance of ending it ahead of him. He'll definitely be involved in RWC 11.

think sexton is overrated he,s played two good games this season. played most of his rugby in the ail this year.leinster obviously did,nt feel he was up to it ,so d,ont see how two good games make him a great player. though next season will see how good he is. he w,ont start ahead of o gara in next years six nations. hopefully he will turn out to be the player we hope and i,m proved wrong.

Keith Earls played most of the past two seasons in the AIL. What's your point?

He's had plenty of fantastic performances this year, the semi and final being the most obvious, and then maybe a half-dozen or so more coming off the bench to control games.

Moreover he played well last season too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭tommy57

we,ll see if sexton is up to it next season when the pressure is on with no contepomi around. rob kearney is not playing great at the moment either,true he,s been injured, should see him tomorrow for the lions see how he does. hopefully he,ll be better than earls was saturday.

He's been phenomenal against Munster in three games he's played against them. In terms of Irish rugby that's pretty intense pressure.

He's also done very well in the Heineken Cup, in group and knockout games. What more does he need to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I think kearney will have a hard time getting the 15 jersey back of Newcea so he'll either have to leave or else enjoy a sub spot for Ireland. He might even find his way down to Munster.

we,ll see if sexton is up to it next season when the pressure is on with no contepomi around.

You mean like in the Heinekin Cup final?

People seem to be forgetting he was first choice outhalf for the latter half of last season.
    I think kearney will have a hard time getting the 15 jersey back of Newcea so he'll either have to leave or else enjoy a sub spot for Ireland. He might even find his way down to Munster.

Nacewa certainly offers something different from Kearney at 15. A lot depends on how Rob starts the season - he really needs to refind his counter attacking game, because Nacewa hits the line far better than him. Kearney has the potential to be an outatanding fullback, and has shown glimpses of it, but next year will be a real test for him havinh to compete with Nacewa.

You mean like in the Heinekin Cup final?

People seem to be forgetting he was first choice outhalf for the latter half of last season.

Sexton? No he wasn't.

danthefan wrote: »
    Sexton? No he wasn't.

He was out-half for most of the end of the season I thought? It was due to injuries admittedly

Nope, not until Contepomi got injured (making him first choice for 2 games if that's what you mean). He was being used heavily from the bench and mostly found himself on before the 50th minute but wasn't getting the starts.