Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been barred from a supermarket?

• 29-05-2009 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭

Evening all.

tonight signals a new benchmark for me. I've been barred from a supermarket.

At 9.40 I entered the supermarket with the intention of buying a few cans to go with my friday night chinese, as I usually do on friday evenings.

i was greeted with the sight of the Assistant manager pulling the shutters down to the off licence section.

I asked him why was he closing early, he said it was because the queue was too long. there were 5 people waiting to be served.

Now, in this Super Valu, they put up signs at the front tills saying alcohol could be paid for there. I reminded the manager of this. he said there were no such signs. I offered to escort him to the front of the shop were said signs existed.

then he said the queues were as long there. I told him I just pased them and they weren't as long there.

"no, there are no such signs" was what he replied to me with.

I disagreed with his assessment. he called security. I got barred.

there goes the 150 euro I give to SuperValu each week for groceries. Off to Lidl I go.

so, where have you ever been barred from, AH denziens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Loads,I'm a kleptomaniac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Who does shopping, just get your mom to do it like i do pfft:pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Yeah, I put small pornographic pictures in the envelopes in the card section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Once, when travelling I robbed a few bananas from a supermarket in Oz [I was starving ok.] and the security guy caught me and chased me up the road screaming at me, 'Dont come back mother fcuker'.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Yeah, I put small pornographic pictures in the envelopes in the card section.
    Vain wrote: »

It would be funny if artanevilla was your mother, Van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Loopy wrote: »
    Once, when travelling I robbed a few bananas from a supermarket in Oz [I was starving ok.] and the security guy caught me and chased me up the road screaming at me, 'Dont come back mother fcuker'.........

Im sorry but that was funny.:D Howd ya survive with no money after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Never.

That's very unusual tbh. You need to find out when the real manager is on duty and give him a ring. Assistant Manager might not give a toss but his boss will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

No, I've never been caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I've never trusted them, they can't even spell value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

They must be American

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭PurplePrincess

We were ejected from tesco one lunchtime for sniffing the fabric conditioners to see which one was the nicest. I wouldn't mind but I'm 31 and it was a genuine quest to find one that would leave the clothes smelling nice!!!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Evening all.

At 9.40 I entered the supermarket with the intention of buying a few cans to go with my friday night chinese, as I usually do on friday evenings.

i was greeted with the sight of the Assistant manager pulling the shutters down to the off licence section.

I asked him why was he closing early, he said it was because the queue was too long. there were 5 people waiting to be served.

Now, in this Super Valu, they put up signs at the front tills saying alcohol could be paid for there. I reminded the manager of this. he said there were no such signs. I offered to escort him to the front of the shop were said signs existed.

then he said the queues were as long there. I told him I just pased them and they weren't as long there.

there goes the 150 euro I give to SuperValu each week for groceries. Off to Lidl I go.

Why would you go to teh worst supermarket anyway? They even tell their employees taht they can't match the other supermarkets on price so we had 'better beat them on customer service', fail.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Never.

That's very unusual tbh. You need to find out when the real manager is on duty and give him a ring. Assistant Manager might not give a toss but his boss will.

Oh, I plan on it on Tuesday.

Why would you go to teh worst supermarket anyway? They even tell their employees taht they can't match the other supermarkets on price so we had 'better beat them on customer service', fail.

Because I had ther impression that customer service and being Irish owned was important to me. The latter has now been removed. Lidl from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Barred from my local Euro spa for asking where they got their Carp(its a fish) from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

once for having a music session in the middle of tesco.

but on the plus side it was in the sweets aisle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Aw now, if the like of eFlow had better CS then I'm sure people would be prepared to pay a little more. As for supermarkets, well, I don't think they can get away with that arguement TBH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I worked in retail for a long time and the whole thing sounds really unusual. Sounds like the Assistant Manager was having a bad hair day and wanted to take it out on someone.

I'd go back and let the real manager / store owner know what happened. I'd say they'll be offering you a nice voucher to buy a few cans with for your troubles - and to keep your €150 a week in their till.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

once i ran into supervalu in ballinrobe in co.mayo, caused a bit of trouble went around scaring staff, eventually though i just ran out again. doubt i'll be let back in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

bleg wrote: »
    once i ran into supervalu in ballinrobe in co.mayo, caused a bit of trouble went around scaring staff, eventually though i just ran out again. doubt i'll be let back in

Well, that's a load of bull!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

got barred and fúcked out of tesco in greystones a few years ago for lighting a smoke on the veg aisle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭CoachBoone

Yup. A Tesco down the country no less.

Mate of mine went in wearing only a towel after we were swimming. We told him we needed fertiliser for one of the lads dad, asked him to hold it for a second, whipped off his towel and left him with only a bag of fertiliser to spare his blushes.

Funniest thing about the whole situation was, we went back in there the next day and the security guard remembered us and brought us into the back office.... to SHOW us the cctv recording of everything that happened before barring us. We even got a cd of the images, Im gonna try find them now.

I cant seem to post images. I have them all here and ready too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

please, please! figure it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Im sorry but that was funny.:D Howd ya survive with no money after that.

the bananas helped her earn money. you oblivously never seen 1girl2bananas.com

please, please! figure it out

I can't. Even when I go into "advanced reply" the usual image option isnt in the toolbar. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Legend status beckons if you get it sorted.....don't miss out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

CoachBoone wrote: »
    I can't. Even when I go into "advanced reply" the usual image option isnt in the toolbar. Weird.
    Upload 'em on www.tinypic.com or if it's alot on a file sharing site (www.mediafire.com)

It seems you can't post images on After Hours for some reason. That sucks. I have about 6 or 7 of em here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

got barred from superquinn cos a can of lync "fell":rolleyes: into my pocket like what dicks:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

No, because I'm not a scumbag. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Did you address him as "Boss"?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭MrMojoRisin

would your real name be norman bates by any chance ? or seymour skinner?

super-rush wrote: »
    Barred from my local Euro spa for asking where they got their Carp(its a fish) from.

are u serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It doesn't say whether this guy got barred, but this how I'd like to do it, if someone could lend me their Rolls-Royce::pac:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/new...cle6330687.ece

Man drives Rolls-Royce through Tesco window after being refused alcohol

A man drove a Rolls-Royce through the window of a Tesco supermarket yesterday after staff at the store refused to sell him alcohol.

Six woman were injured as the glass windows shattered and shelves came crashing down. Two check-out counters were demolished.

Witnesses said that the man had come into the store in Andover, Hampshire, at around 4.30pm to buy alcohol but had been turned away because he was already drunk.

Minutes later, he drove at the store front in his luxury silver saloon. Although he failed to break through on his first attempt, he reversed, revved and came back for a second try.

One Tesco worker described yesterday how the man had reversed a long way back to get a “good, clear run”. She said that she thought a bomb had gone off. “People were running for their lives, scattering in all directions,” she said. “Everyone was screaming. Check-out girls were shocked and crying. It was terrible.”

Patrick Ford, 49, a store customer, said that it was “like a tidal wave of shelving” coming towards him. “I heard a huge crash and shattering glass and the shelving started collapsing around me,” he added.

It is believed that the man, thought to run a chauffeur company, remained sitting in his car until police and paramedics arrived.

Last night, a 50-year-old man had been arrested on suspicion of attempted murder and drink-driving.

...."no, there are no such signs" was what he replied to me with.

haven't been barred from a supermarket yet. The manager type fella u came across sounds like a smart arse bollix. Theres 1 of them n every shop or supermarket. I say go to his superiors like that other person said.Like,theres no fcukin way Tsar Supervalu above is a senior manager because wit dat attitude,he'd turn that sh1tty supermarket n2 more of a morgue than it already is. Pity da poor plebs workin alongside or 'under' him

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It doesn't say whether this guy got barred, but this how I'd like to do it, if someone could lend me their Rolls-Royce::pac:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/new...cle6330687.ece

Man drives Rolls-Royce through Tesco window after being refused alcohol

A man drove a Rolls-Royce through the window of a Tesco supermarket yesterday after staff at the store refused to sell him alcohol.

Aw that is CLASS. I love it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Loopy wrote: »

ha ha ha . Kinda defeats the purpose of chasing ya really by telling ya not to come back lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

It seems you can't post images on After Hours for some reason. That sucks. I have about 6 or 7 of em here.

Just upload them to photobucket or wherever and leave the links here or else it didnt happen :(

haven't been barred from a supermarket yet. The manager type fella u came across sounds like a smart arse bollix. Theres 1 of them n every shop or supermarket. I say go to his superiors like that other person said.Like,theres no fcukin way Tsar Supervalu above is a senior manager because wit dat attitude,he'd turn that sh1tty supermarket n2 more of a morgue than it already is. Pity da poor plebs workin alongside or 'under' him

Nah, feck superValu.

BTW my local take away has really upped the amount of MSG in their food. I'm awake like the energiser bunny this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

We were ejected from tesco one lunchtime for sniffing the fabric conditioners to see which one was the nicest. I wouldn't mind but I'm 31 and it was a genuine quest to find one that would leave the clothes smelling nice!!!

Yeah but you probably should have just sniffed them from the bottles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Haven't been barred from one since I was a kid.

Doing your weekly shop in Super Value was a bit uneconomical anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Evening all.

Have you thought of writing a letter of complaint to the shop and its head office! It might do nothing but you never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

I was barred from a Church once, but I'm good with the supermarkets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

That precisely why they're banned in AH.

Have you thought of writing a letter of complaint to the shop and its head office! It might do nothing but you never know!

it's easier for me to do nothing and never go in again than it is to start writing letters. And I'm so lazy I'm like a rug on valium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Can't say that I have been barred. However, having worked in SuperValu before and after being shunted from shop to shop (so I've had plenty of managers), I can safely say that I'm not one bit surprised at what you had to deal with. Being a jackass seems to be prerequisite for the job of manager in the organisation.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Aye, and there goes another €150 out of the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I got barred from dunnes off licence years ago because a mate of mine walked in,picked up a bottle of sherry and started to drink it on the spot.