Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland Crap?

• 29-05-2009 5:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭

well is it crap?

I personally dont think its that bad.

Is Ireland Crap? 287 votes

Yes. Its crap.
    0% 0 votes
    No. Its not crap.
    34% 100 votes
    Ateire Jaguar option 7?
    60% 173 votes
    Where's ireland?
    4% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

No. People who think Ireland is crap are just unimaginative and whiny bitches who think everything should be handed to them on a plate.

Next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭chrism2007

its all relative really...

look at Iran or the Netherlands for example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Aye its not like ye olde day's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's as crap as the people in it, poll-makers included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭mega man

yes it is especially when there is people like terry living in it and are in denial about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

More overrated than crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

stovelid wrote: »
    It's as crap as the people in it, poll-makers included.

attack the post...not the poster...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Mask wrote: »

We'll be there soon, don't worry... once this whole recession madness has settled down and we all go back to farming potatoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

No.

But I think that's the good weather talking :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

DrumSteve wrote: »
    attack the post...not the poster...

So much attack was warranted, there was always the regrettable possibility of collateral damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

de ja vu land, we're living in...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It's a great country, people are just to lazy to go out an enjoy it for what it is.

Get off yer bleedin' computers and go for a walk/cycle around a forrest, or a drive through the mountains.
    The weather s fúcking amazing the past while, go to one of our great beachs.

Bleedin' pessimists... :mad:

/mini rant

CianRyan wrote: »
    It's a great country, people are just to lazy to go out an enjoy it for what it is.

Get off yer bleedin' computers and go for a walk/cycle around a forrest, or a drive through the mountains.

/mini rant

its not going to last. why get your hopes up. :mad:

/mini rant

right...I'm gonna drive my nice car through a mountain...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

mega man wrote: »

Chances are it will be around for a few more days at least. Enjoy it while it's here. It will be back too, this year is predicted to be much better than the past two years, do to changes in currents ect... Go to the weather forum for more examples.

right...I'm gonna drive my nice car through a mountain...

Haha, feck off, you know what i mean.
    I'm going for a cycle in this lovely weather, so i'll leave the rest of yiz here to sob. :p:pac:

Also, :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

right...I'm gonna drive my nice car through a mountain...:D

Bring mega man with you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

I just dont like the way certin things are dearer to buy here than out side the republic.:mad: also the weather too but this summer is looking to be a good one:cool:

better bring an umbrella just in case.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No, its is not crap.
    It has its problems - what country hasn't!

- but at least we can still shout about any problems we have, we can write about them, we can protest, we can complain in person or by other means, we can communicate to each other our complaints, we can organise and create meetings of any possible numbers to tackle a problem (in public or private), etc.

Try doing that alone in China, Burma, North Korea for example and still say Ireland is as crap!

I'm going for a cycle in this lovely weather, so i'll leave the rest of yiz here to sob. :p:pac:

Careful....it can be very painfull if you pass a pedestrian...:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I think its a great place, i wouldnt be bothered if i never left the island again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

No crapper than anywhere else with a crap climate really. And when the sun shines it's grand :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Terry wrote: »
    No. People who think Ireland is crap are just unimaginative and whiny bitches who think everything should be handed to them on a plate.

Next.

People who think an unimaginative* country is crap are just unimaginative...?

*prove me wrong.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

your poll is crap never mind Ireland

For the adults that say its crap,just wondering is it because of the way Ireland is run by the goverment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

In case this thread was aimed at the state of the economy, Ireland was crap long before it. Crap weather, crap small-minded attitudes.

Abigayle wrote: »
    ......crap small-minded attitudes.

I think that has all changed in the past 20 years.

Abigayle wrote: »
    In case this thread was aimed at the state of the economy, Ireland was crap long before it. Crap weather, crap small-minded attitudes.

Well leave out the s**t weather for a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

yes it is especially when there is people like terry living in it and are in denial about it.

Banned.

As for Ireland, if you don't like it then you can git out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

For me yes, because I hate nature

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Well, can you elaborate on that a little? What is 'all that'? If you are fortunate enough to live in a broad-minded community, you are lucky. I don't live in a town per sé, but the nearest town is riddled with the most small-minded gossips and racists I've ever come across. But the town in question is not exclusive to this kind of behaviour either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

@Terry, good Sabbath track:cool:, it's crap that they or Heaven And Hell don't play here.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

mle1324 wrote: »
    For the adults that say its crap,just wondering is it because of the way Ireland is run by the goverment?

It's more of a social thing. I hated that fact that most of my friends, when I lived there, lived for the pub, football and nothing else. Now, while I'm all for this once in a while, there IS more to life. This is what I mean by unimaginative.

Don't get me wrong - I'm NOT saying it's "crap" - just unimaginative.
    Terry wrote: »

Banned.

As for Ireland, if you don't like it then you can git out.

Did, and am better for it. Who got banned, by the way, or was that tongue-in-cheek?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I believe measured to scale it weighs 37 courics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Looking forward to leaving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Well leave out the s**t weather for a minute.

Hate to shock you but some people actually like the weather here.

Why? We don't get much dry air, its usually moist and above all, we dont get the searing heat.

Some foreigners from hot countries i've met have stated they prefer the weather here than back at home because its tolerable than living every sweaty day at a constant 35C.

gurramok wrote: »
    Hate to shock you but some people actually like the weather here.

Why? We don't get much dry air, its usually moist and above all, we dont get the searing heat.

Some foreigners from hot countries i've met have stated they prefer the weather here than back at home because its tolerable than living every sweaty day at a constant 35C.

Come again:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭mikkael

Hmm ... from a very low base as they say. The sunday business post happened to ask a few mobile service providers why they don't offer porn services, and couldn't get a straight answer. There are still a few reminders around of the dark old days, and in some ways we're headed back that direction imho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Come again:confused:

What do you not understand?

Is the heat you experienced today in Ireland affecting you? ;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

The sunday business post happened to ask a few mobile service providers why they don't offer porn services, and couldn't get a straight answer.

The lack of porn on mobiles is problematic? Dude, seriously. Get a hobby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

Ugh...people who think Ireland is crap are just jumping on the whole negative nancy bandwagon because they think it's cool to hate Ireland.

What is there to hate about it? The accent has all the American girls drooling, we have a day that is celebrated internationally just for us etc...

Everyone is pretty nice and it's laid-back here...Sure I'm only 17 but I love it here! And that's after living a few months in the US... Just yesterday I was in a field with friends...there was alcohol being consumed :P And the Gardaí came and all they did was go "It's ok lads, we were young once too. We won't take your drink but be sensible and keep it down" and they just walked off! It was legendary! Don't know where else that would happen! And an American guy who came to my school for a year was with us yesterday (he's going back to the US on Monday) and he says his time in Ireland was the best of his life and he's coming back for College...

To summarise: I <3 Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yes, yes it is.

I had money I'd be gone.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

No it's not crap! Parts of it are a little backwards perhaps, but on the whole we are in what we must remember is a 1st world country. We could do a lot worse then Ireland (which I love :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭mikkael

asdasd wrote: »
    The lack of porn on mobiles is problematic? Dude, seriously. Get a hobby.

No, not problematic, but shows that the residue of the Catholic Church remains. I couldn't care less one way or the other, though your comment about me needing to get a hobby just for pointing it out further illustrates my point ... "hang up", namely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Ireland is not crap its a great place just gotta find things to do think outside the concrete box.
    However Ireland is in the crapper but thats another thread:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Ireland ......ahhhh

It'd be a great country ......if it weren't for the natives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

A priest-ridden God forsaken race.