Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever injured yourself in your sleep?

• 29-05-2009 11:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭

Woke up this morning with a pain in my thumb, I think I may have sprained it in my sleep.
    I'm only after thinking back there to the other injuries I managed in my sleep over the years:
    I had to get four stitches on my head after falling out of bed.
    I bit my lip open. That was very sore.
    I sprained toes from leg cramping.
    Once, when drunk, I got out of bed & slept in the bath naked on a freezing winters night. Got myself a nice little cold out of that one & a trapped nerve in my neck.
    And now I have sprained my thumb.

Anyones else like this or should I just try to avoid sleep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭glanman

I dislocated my shoulder by sleeping with my hand under my pillow and then turning over on it... did it a few times and the panic when you wake up made it even worse because I didnt know what was going on or what to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I'm not the best sleeper so haven't had too many sleeping injuries. The worst is stretching in your sleep and getting a leg cramp. Other times I have accidentally not known which side of the bed I was on and would move my head quickly one way and bash it off the table beside me. ouch, not a nice wake up call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I went home after drinking one night and fell asleep as usual. I don't remember but i took a piss in the corner of our apartment bedroom in my sleep.

How was i injured? My girlfriend woke up and saw what i was doing.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

When I was younger, I fell out of bed and ripped my lip open on the sharp corner of the bedside table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭neosmaster

Had a dream one night that I was fighting the school bully.....Woke up the next morning with a black eye.I think in my sleep I was dogding a punch and threw myself out of the bed making sweet contact with my chest of drawers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Wasnt really injured but very sore.Fell out of a bunk bed face first.Although I did wake up when I felt the falling sensation but too late to do anything about it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Must have had an itchy eyeball one night because I woke up and found that I had been scratching it with my fingernail. Big red scratch mark on the white of my eye.
    Dumbass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭destroyer

Wasnt really injured but very sore.Damn that porn before bed.:(

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

I fell outta bed once and landed head first on my clock stereo....but I didn't wake up.

I eventually woke up to a bruised head, a stiff neck and sore ear, once the alarm decided to go off.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,475 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Loads of times,
    From sleeping in a funny position my back was killing me for days.
    At present my neck is killing me from sleeping with my head in uncomfortable position the other night.

destroyer wrote: »
    FYP
    Doesnt really make sense:confused:
    I watch porn before bed you can be damn sure im relieving myself before bed aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

Woke up in the middle of the night with 'vodka cramps' in my calfs after being out on the beer.

When it happened the first time, I reached for my can of Deep Heat just as it was starting, was alright after a few mins, fell back asleep and Naos is happy and content.

Woke up a few hours after this, cramps had taken full effect, rock hard I started to scream and look for my Deep heat that should have been on the bedside locker but it was no where to be found.

My mate didn't like the smell of it the first time and 'hid' it on me - he was too lazy and thought my screaming was to funny to get it for me for a few minutes.

I wanted to cry a little but didn't :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Had a dream one night
    Word missing: wet !!!!!!!!!!!!! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Word missing: wet !!!!!!!!!!!!! :p
    Id say theres been more then one night of those

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Scien wrote: »
    Fell asleep (pissed) with my leg up on a hot water bottle last year.
    Still have the scar on my leg from the blisters... :o

What age are you? 103?

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Must have had a itchy eyeball one night because I woke up and found that I had been scratching it with my fingernail. Big red scratch mark on the white of my eye.
    Dumbass.

YYYAhhhhhaarrrrrhhggGGGHhh ~gags~

Why on earth did you think it was ok to share that!
    Mine sweet inncoent mind is scarred for life now.

Thanks. Thanks very much! :mad:

Moonbaby wrote: »
    YYYAhhhhhaarrrrrhhggGGGHhh ~gags~

Why on earth did you think it was ok to share that!
    Mine sweet inncoent mind is scarred for life now.

Thanks. Thanks very much! :mad:
    Me arse :rolleyes:

:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

I really must be tired as I really thought that said:

'Have you ever injured yourself with a sheep'.

and I thought.....have I wandered into the Cavan forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

have I wandered into the Cavan forum
    "...ye can't be doin dat !"

Me arse :rolleyes:

:P

Yes, that too. Thankfully though, I used a different finger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭destroyer

I really must be tired as I really thought that said:

'Have you ever injured yourself with a sheep'.

and I thought.....have I wandered into the Cavan forum

We dont get injured at it in Cavan, only newbies and amateurs get injured:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭havana

I used to wake myself up sitting up in the bed banging my face against the wall!! Thought it best to move the bed eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Sean_Ludawg

I slept on my arm one night woke up when it was completely dead. That didn't really worry we though as it had happened before. So I lifted up my dead hand with my working one to get the blood flowing. I then I fell back to sleep at which point my dead hand fell and poked me in the eye!
    Very painful! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Scien wrote: »
    Hot Water bottles are the shit. Don't act like you dont know it baby...

No they are not!!!!!
    They are used by old people who have bad circulation & more often than not will have a tartan blanket draped across their lap whilst reading Irelands Own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I slept on my arm one night woke up when it was completely dead. That didn't really worry we though as it had happened before. So I lifted up my dead hand with my working one to get the blood flowing. I then I fell back to sleep at which point my dead hand fell and poked me in the eye!

Be careful of dead legs too....I know someone who woke up in the morning with a dead leg. She hopped out of bed, and broke her ankle!! :eek:

Shoulda taken advantage of your dead arm and had a ****
    Mmmmm...the stranger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Fell down the stairs sleepwalking when I was kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Drinking and sleeping is as dangerous as drink driving sometimes.

I've woken up crippled at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

stovelid wrote: »
    Fell down the stairs sleepwalking when I was kid.

Ouch! Were you ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭paddyboy23

i was drunk and went asleep on a waterbed for the first time i woke up with a bang i slapped off the floor i must of been bouncing in my sleep or something my nose was smashed never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Kneed the radiator full force.Thats about it I think.

Funniest story but not an injury.
    2 brother's were notorious for sleepwalking when they were younger.
    the youngest had got a skateboard as a birthday present and was out on it all day.
    I came home and went to bed and about 5 mins later he suddenly got out of his bed, grabbed his pillow and made his way downstairs.
    Asks him where he's going, "out skateboarding" he says and proceeds to open the door.
    I was so tempted :pac: to watch him try to skateboard on a pillow but common sense prevailed and I yelled at him to get his ass back to bed :D

The other brother hurt his back when he came back pissed one night and went to bed.
    I woke up to hear someone climbing over my bed (the brother) to get into the corner to have a piss. There he was with his langer hanging out just ready to go..I let out a roar and he fell off the bed injuring his back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭cute_cow

my first and only time sleep-walking and walked into the corner of my wardrobe......knocked out 2 teeth, cut my forehead, nose and had a split lip.....

i mean, if ur gonna do it, do it right ;)

I've one like that.

All out on the batter and in the wee hours we went back to a mates house to crash. He told us that we had to be quiet though as his parents were asleep upstairs.

No problem, we crept around and fell sleep on various couches etc only to be woken by screams from the parents upstairs.

One of my mates was sleep-walking and went upstairs, into the parents' room, opened the wardrobe and pissed in it.
    He was as confused as everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Must have slept in an awkward position one night, because i woke up in the morning almost physically incapabale of turning my head to the right. Was still in pain 2 days later. Not fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

A friend of mine fell out of top bunk bed and broke her forearm
    She said worst pain was doctor putting bones back together inorder for it to be strapped, that she got sick.

Me burning legs off radiator. Rad in parents house used lava to heat my room

Aodan83 wrote: »
    Must have slept in an awkward position one night, because i woke up in the morning almost physically incapabale of turning my head to the right. Was still in pain 2 days later. Not fun.

hey..that's me as well..except i can't turn mine left..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

hey..that's me as well..except i can't turn mine left..

Together you have a full field of vision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

My brothers leg twitched one night, kicking a window in. All I heard was a smash and presumed someone was braking in, so i woke up my parents and we went to his room to find his leg through the window, and him still asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

Jerked awake after the falling sensation one time. Bit straight into my tongue.

Was very unpleasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Ouch! Were you ok?

Yeah, think I had a nose bleed and some bruises IIRC. I was about 7 or 8, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Rolled out of the bed one night and fell back first onto the door of the bed side locker which was open.

Another night I woke up needing to go to the bathroom, managed to get half way across the room while still mostly asleep before falling over something and slapping face first on the ground. I didn't bother to get up , just continued to sleep away nice and comfy, my dad heard the bang and came in to investigate and rudely awake me from my slumber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,769 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My last house in college was my first ever bed where the wall was to the left and not to the right of the bed. Alarm clocks goes off, so I jump out of bed and end up smacking my knees off the wall, cutting one of them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Fell asleep with my arm stretched over my head. It went dead and I woke up not realising that it was numb and only being able to move it from my shoulder. Ended up whacking myself in the face with the full weight of my arm. No bruise but super tender for ages after.

Got a new bedside locker and for a week would wake up with nosebleeds...turns out I had been banging my head against accidentally...other than that, just fell out of the bed a few times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Milky Joe

Friend of mine fell off his bed smacked himself on a bedside locker or something like that and broke his jaw! Had to have it wired shut for a good while. Twas awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

woke up with terrible friction burns on my knob,actually it was completely raw

note to self ,stop **** !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Once or twice i have managed to scratch myself while asleep. Deep scratches too, drew blood I did.