Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Highveld XV vs British and Irish Lions Royal Bafokeng 2pm 30th May 2009 match thread.

• 28-05-2009 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

British and Irish Lions: 15 Lee Byrne, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Keith Earls, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Shane Williams, 10 Ronan O'Gara, 9 Mike Blair; 1 Andrew Sheridan, 2 Matthew Rees, 3 Adam Jones, 4 Simon Shaw, 5 Paul O'Connell, Joe Worsley, 7 Martyn Williams, 8 Andy Powell.

Replacements: 16 Lee Mears, 17 Phil Vickery, 18 Alun-Wyn Jones, 19 Stephen Ferris, 20 Mike Phillips, 21 Stephen Jones, 22 Riki Flutey.

Royal XV: Russell Jeacocks; Egon Seconds, Deon van Rensburg, Hanno Coetzee, Bjorn Basson; Naas Olivier, Sarel Pretorius; Jonathan Mokuena, Devon Raubenheimer, Wilhelm Koch, Jacques Lombaard, Rudi Mathee, Bees Roux, Rayno Barnes, Albertus Buckle.

Replacements: Pellow van der Westhuizen, Stef Roberts, Rynard Landman, RW Kember, Jacques Coetzee, Riaan Viljoen, Jovan Bowles.

Well lads the greatest stage of rugby begins. The Lions begin their tour of South Africa in Rustenburg, where they face a Highveld XV invitational side.

Anyone who expects this to be a training session, you're dead wrong. For these South Africans, this will be their only ever chance to play the Lions. They will play till they are lying flat on the ground.

Looking at the side, it is dominated by Wales, with 10 Welsh players in the 22, along with 5 Irish (minus Leinstermen remember), 6 English and one Scotsman, Mike Blair.

With so many lions debutantes, it will be fascinating to see how they cope in totally different playing conditions. Let's hope that Earls, Bowe, ROG and Ferris take their chance and show McGeechan what they can do.

Good luck to Paul O' Connell who I believe will show the SH over the next 2 months that he is the best 2nd row in the world.

COME ON THE LIONS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Where is juvenal when you need him? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

SH?. Apologies.

Can't wait for the tour to start. I really like the look of the backs this saturday. Will b interesting to see how Rees does at lineout time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

chupacabra wrote: »
    Where is juvenal when you need him? :pac:

Jaysus, thanks chupacabra.

I'm only trying my best.

Jaysus, thanks chupacabra.

I'm only trying my best.

Nah man im only kidding, relax. Its a good thread. :D

Lions by 40.

Lions -33 on PP.

Bit dodgy considering that this is the 1st game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Stealdo

Lions -33 on PP.

Don't forget that this is an invitational side also. The 'excuse' (reason) that is always used for the Lions being underdogs is that they haven't had any time together, not a regular team etc, man for man the Lions should be 40 - 50 points better than that side, and they may well have had more preparation time.

Lions -33 on PP.

They are playing the equivalent of Shannon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Is this on TV? Lions by 44

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

hope earls does it should be interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Big physical game, smashing hits going on, but Lions skill levels should be light years ahead. It's a soft enough opener, if you're going to call any of these games soft, I'd say Lions by a country mile, and the real result will be a good performance especially from the Irish lads and of course (touching wood) no injuries.

Looking forward to seeing it al the same :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭jam_on_toast

Lions to win easily enough.

got the feeling it may get over-physical at times, ie, dirty play or punches. Hope not tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Lions 55 - 7 Royal XV

Earls to get a hat trick. ;)

3 yellow cards for the Royal XV!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Noopti wrote: »
    Lions 55 - 7 Royal XV

Earls to get a hat trick. ;)

3 yellow cards for the Royal XV!

what level are the Royal XV at? Any Currie cup players? Any super 14 players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Leslie91 wrote: »
    SH?. Apologies.

Can't wait for the tour to start. I really like the look of the backs this saturday. Will b interesting to see how Rees does at lineout time.

Southern Hemisphere

Articles here and there say that Earls has been very impressive in training. Lets hope he shines.

Is number 16 related to Joost van der Westhuizen I wonder? :pac:

what level are the Royal XV at? Any Currie cup players? Any super 14 players?

Yeah, there are a few mainly from The Leopards (Currie Cup) - but they are nothing special really. If the Lions don't beat them convincingly it will be seen as a bad day at the office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Noopti wrote: »
    Yeah, there are a few mainly from The Leopards (Currie Cup) - but they are nothing special really. If the Lions don't beat them convincingly it will be seen as a bad day at the office.

From what Ive read, it will be made up mostly of the Griquas who play in the Currie Cup, hardly Shannon as was suggested!

From what Ive read, it will be made up mostly of the Griquas who wont he Currie Cup this year, hardly Shannon as the other eejit suggested!

Sorry, my mistake. 11 Griquas, 4 Leopards.
    3 have S14 experience (2 with Cheetahs, 1 with Lions)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

Is number 16 related to Joost van der Westhuizen I wonder? :pac:

There's loads of afrikaaners with that name. I remember discovering a legal academic from South Africa with the exact same name, ie. Joost van der Westhuizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

From what Ive read, it will be made up mostly of the Griquas who wont he Currie Cup this year, hardly Shannon as the other eejit suggested!

You sure? Aren't Sharks the Currie Cup champions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

You sure? Aren't Sharks the Currie Cup champions?
    Read that on Lions website - see its wrong now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm expecting a 30 point winning margin at least. Each guy on the team is going to be out to impress early. There was a nice piece about Earls on The Rugby Club last night, hope the guy has a big game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Aidric wrote: »
    I'm expecting a 30 point winning margin at least. Each guy on the team is going to be out to impress early. There was a nice piece about Earls on The Rugby Club last night, hope the guy has a big game.

Alot of that piece seemed to be about Warick to me, now that would be a suprise call up for the Lions, oh Sky Sports you've got to love em :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Alot of that piece seemed to be about Warick to me, now that would be a suprise call up for the Lions, oh Sky Sports you've got to love em :rolleyes:

In fairness they look alike at times

http://murfo498.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/keith_earls.jpg

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44584000/jpg/_44584916_1904walker416.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Read that on Lions website - see its wrong now though.

They won the Vodacom cup , basically a comp for the weaker teams.

Stev_o wrote: »
    In fairness they look alike at times

Agreed but in fairness a Rugby oientated programme like that should'nt be making that mistake, if RTE did it we would all be slaggin them off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

On the way to the final last weekend, I bought a Lions magazine with O'Connell on the front of it. Very good read.

In the player profiles section, they had Fitz with a picture of Heaslip beside him! Checked Heaslip'c pic and it was correct.

Otacon wrote: »
    On the way to the final last weekend, I bought a Lions magazine with O'Connell on the front of it. Very good read.

In the player profiles section, they had Fitz with a picture of Heaslip beside him! Checked Heaslip'c pic and it was correct.

I got the telegraph in the airport on the Friday they were talking about Flannery's injury and they had a picture of Simon Easterby :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Is that 2PM Irish time?

eoin wrote: »
    Is that 2PM Irish time?

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Got me sky sports hooked up this evenin..42" screen and a few bob on the lions to win -33pts on paddypower.

Should be good

funkyflea wrote: »
    Got me sky sports hooked up this evenin..42" screen and a few bob on the lions to win -33pts on paddypower.

Should be good

Good man, just in time. Got mine 2 weeks ago. Lions, Barbarians, Churchill cup, Super 14.... RTE? Whats that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

Tenner on Earls to score 2 tries in 80 minutes. :D

2040 wrote: »
    Tenner on Earls to score 2 tries in 80 minutes. :D

Tenner on Powell to turn into a vicious mutant insect due to that bite he recieved yesterday and to devour the Royal XV AND the Lions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭7mountpleasant

Should hockey them allright Gricuas are are poor enough currie cup team (in the connaught mode of the little team that could) 33 points seems fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Both Powell and Ferris are out, Wallace starts at 8 and Heaslip is on the bench.

danthefan wrote: »
    Both Powell and Ferris are out, Wallace starts at 8 and Heaslip is on the bench.

Confirmed on SSN.

Doesn't really weaken the side.

Better change my fantasy team. :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Is RTE or BBC doing any Lions highlights programmes?

Pity about Ferris, hope he's ok for the Golden Lions game next week. Cant wait to see Wallace tear up the Highveld now tho.

Nice piece form Gerry Thornley on Keith Earls in today's Times.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0530/1224247745726.html

one hour from kick off.

The stadium has a 40,000 capacity. I wonder will they fill it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Bet on Bowe to score twice @ 3/1 and Wallace to score @ 6/4!

Come on Lions!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Cool intro on sky, Telford's voice over it.

Jackz wrote: »
    Cool intro on sky.

That was pure awesome, don't see roundball do anything as cool as that.

Come on the Lions! Byrne to score the first try imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

:eek: haha green peace might not be too impressed with that add with drico in it.

Maybe it's been on for weeks?

I dont envy the players having to play in that heat. It looks excruciating. Lets hope they can keep the intensity up for the full 80mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

There really can't be more than 2,000 people at this!

zAbbo wrote: »
    There really can't be more than 2,000 people at this!
    Was just thinking the same. Strange that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

is this stadium really out of the way that could make the crowd small too, come on the lions earls to shine and more importantly no injuries