Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Job You Ever Had

• 28-05-2009 5:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭

Next week for I have to make sure nobody cheats in the Leaving or Junior Cert tests by following the poor souls to the toilets and make tea for the supervisers. I could get between 200-350 euro for this for just 4 days work 9 hours a day.

What is the easiest job you ever got paid for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

Next week for I have to make sure nobody cheats in the Leaving or Junior Cert tests by following the poor souls to the toilets and make tea for the supervisers. I could get between 200-350 euro for this for just 4 days work 9 hours a day.

Is a supervisor's day really that long? Tot it wud be a bit shorter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭JoeyDoh

I also have managed to get this job.I also had it last year and supervised the leaving cert till the 2nd last day,got a nifty 415 squids out of it,didnt cash the check till november though,nice christmas surprise for the poor man.

Ps:Bring a book,newspaper or anything because,my god you will be bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

150 euro for 30 minutes taking photographs. and a further 15 minutes emailing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

and who says the public service is not value for money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

Working in the old Xbox Live Gaming Centre on South William Street in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

Working as a surf intructor in a surf school.

it was brilliant, 10 until 6 Monday to Friday. Few beers on the beach afterwards.

Having fun with groups of kids in the morning, playing games and teaching them how to surf. Then in the afternoon, we'd have groups of adults in, which was always a laugh!

The pay was terrible but I didnt care. On the days when there was no surf we'd just bring the kids down to the beach and play rounders or soccer!

Who wouldnt love that job? Did it for two summers, still think it was the best job I ever had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Same As

DrumSteve wrote: »
    and who says the public service is not value for money?

Last year for the Referenda, workers who operated the polling stations for the day & were involved in the count the following day yielded E750 after tax!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Outdoor activities instructor in Carlingford.

Best job ever tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

I once got paid €150 to spit in some kids mouth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Giving jockey backs to midgets :eek:.........actually no I just had a dream last night that I was giving a midget a jockey back around town....think I need help....

Anyway...carry on...nothing to see here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

I once got paid €150 to spit in some kids mouth

i thought you swallowed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Surprised Flutter hasn't been on yet to tell us about his best "job":)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭magenta73

my sister-in-law is a dental nurse and was working for the dental hospital, when I was about 15, 20 odd dentists where taking exams and I was asked could they just look in my mouth (like a regular check up) anyways I got 15pounds per dentist! :D - that is actually a picture of my teeth now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Used to hand out lucozade alert to people on the street when it had just been released so they could try it, was paid like 10e+ an hour, with travelling expenses if we were far away, I used to just get a free lift with the van driver and pocket the travelling expenses too. And you take about a fun job that was easy. We were paid for a 3/4 hour shift to go through our allocation of 3 drinks for the day and we used to be finished after an hour and a half max.

Working in toymaster was pretty fun too, never went too far being bored cos you could always occupy yourself, play a game, build up a dolls house, assemble a bike or something to pass the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Working in the old Xbox Live Gaming Centre on South William Street in Dublin.

Is that still going?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

When I was 18 I worked in a pub.
    Sh!t hours, sh!t pay but it was mighty craic with a few of the regulars.
    Good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Tech support in eircom net.

****e money, but piss easy work, good canteen and good social aspect to it. Was never hard to get people to go to Barcode on a Friday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

efla wrote: »
    Is that still going?

It's not there anymore. They moved eventually when they couldn't afford the rent. They moved out near The Square in Tallaght, but eventually their tits went vertically inclined there too because they weren't getting enough business.

Oh well! Working there during the Halo 3 Beta was absolute heaven. I'd finish up my shift, rob some Skittles out of the stock room and sit there for hours with the rest of the people in the centre playing away until around 10 at night, provided everyone wasn't playing Guitar Hero II on the 4 giant plasma screens in the front of the shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

used to play piano in a restaurant. I would get 150 euro for 3 hours work; 3 nights a week. It was the best job ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

€150 to taste a few sauces last year, took all of 10 minutes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭CoachBoone

Coaching kids at soccer during the summer.

Unreal job, literally got to play ball for the whole day. Pay was meh but I dont think thats particularly important for a 22yr old enjoying his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

blowjob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

jigglywoo wrote: »
    blowjob

Easy money for you for something you enjoyed doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 dianababyddori

Best job was working on a sundays for 2hours doing show houses for a real estate company.

100euro:D aint bad but it was sooooooooo boring:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

Election staff for the NUIG SU.
    Tenner an hour for handing out forms and counting them once they were filled in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Why did this topic have a title in the past tence?

The Recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I had a job in the great north woods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I spent 3 years training to do my job, and a few years doing on-the-job training. It was sh1t for a few years as there are so many legalities and I ended up in the soup a few times. But I now know it like the back of my hand and enjoy it immensely. Though I had to take a pay cut recently (yes, I'm one of those horrible public service workers!), i find the money ok - enough for the essentials in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

You didn't say what your job is though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

kelle wrote: »
    I spent 3 years training to do my job, and a few years doing on-the-job training. It was sh1t for a few years as there are so many legalities and I ended up in the soup a few times. But I now know it like the back of my hand and enjoy it immensely. Though I had to take a pay cut recently (yes, I'm one of those horrible public service workers!), i find the money ok - enough for the essentials in life.

your mary coughlan arnt you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I had a very handy IT number in Frankfurt. They had us sitting on the top floor of their building, there was zero accountability and a ridiculous management structure. Used to come in at 11, brekkie, lunch and head off round 4 or 5. They paid for an apt, all our bills and gave us a free flight home every 2 weeks which we could also use to fly anywhere within Europe. I miss those good old dot.com days :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

i did "security" for a trade show in cologne.
    turned up at nine in the evening,slept til 8, got paid well(about 600 marks at the time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

25 punts an hour delivering promotional newspapers for the evening herald. Easy as piss and we got a serious amount of money for it :)

Next would be labouring, great work, great money etc etc :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

ice marshel

go round skating all day, helping hotties to skate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I've been doing babysitting in a 5* hotel in Killarney since I was 16 (20 now).
    It's great. Kids are usually asleep so you can just sit in the sitting room in the suite and watch tv all night. And I get about 100 euro a night usually.

I used to work in a kiddies club in a different hotel. We got to do go-karting, treasure hunts,Wiis, talent shows and we had BOUNCING CASTLES! And we got an endless supply of free sweeties. It was fun if you like being a kid. Got boring after 3 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭like clockwork!

I got to supervise the State exams back in '06 myself! Easiest money I'll probably ever make. Just spent my time doing sudoku puzzles, playing the PSP and reading books! I have good memories of June 2006; the world cup, 2 or 3 weeks of literally non-stop sunshine and 160 quid to blow on heading out and buying clothes for the holidays! :p Actually, just thinkng about it now, 2006 and 2007 were great years for me!

I was supervising for about 7 or 8 days, but it was just an ordinairy level Junior Cert class so I didn't get as much as some of the other fellas who were supervising. One of my mates got 420 quid I think, for supervising the LC students until the last day.

Still though, 2006 was a great summer altogether!!

Can't see me earning money as easily as that ever again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

My current job. I earn no less than 50 euros an hour for five hours and sometimes its 150 an hour for 2 hours, 3-4 days a week. Just for playing music. I love it even more now because all the fcukers who looked down on me for not having a real job are now on the dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭like clockwork!

super-rush wrote: »
    My current job. I earn no less than 50 euros an hour for five hours and sometimes its 150 an hour for 2 hours, 3-4 days a week. Just for playing music. I love it even more now because all the fcukers who looked down on me for not having a real job are now on the dole.

I envy you, lucky fecker! :pac: Fair play man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I once got €300 for 9 hours work over 3 days. Plus a Hotel room, plus Free Food, Plus A rake of drink (at least €70 worth).

What did I do I hear you ask? I scanned a few tickets and told people the right place to go.

Also at a certain Festival this year I will make €700 for the same job except I will be supervising the Night staff for my company, so in essence doing feck all.

The Best part. This is all after Tax.

Just tonight as well, (finished 20 mins ago) I was doing some Paper work for the Company, Just filling out staff Sheets and whatever else needs to be done, 3 hours work. I went to dublin today to give someone Keys and then came back. I am expecting €200 for it tomorrow. Which is much needed!!!

Oh, plus I go to almost any concert I want in the country for free (or usually be paid for it, if I don't want to see the entire concert). Except some Aiken ones, but most I can!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

My current job, I spend a few weeks on a project and take a month or two off to chill out. Work for me consists of spending an hour or two a day at my laptop configuring software or writing code. Fortunately I get paid enough where this works out nicely. Oh and I work from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I had a job in the great north woods

Working as a cook for a spell?

Was a postman at christmas before. Was a great job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

My Current job...
    I work for an Irish Company on a project in Abu-Dhabi, free 5 star hotel, expences, flights home every so often, great work, brilliant activities on weekends, such as Scuba diving, dune bashing etc. Unbelievable weather and lovely people...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

Dónal wrote: »
    Was a postman at christmas before. Was a great job.
    ditto. really soft job cycled around listening to ipod for an hour and a half and got paid for 4 hours work. ten yoyos an hour and few christmas bonuses too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

Best Job I Ever Had was neither night, day or hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭USER X

I work in IT and once had a customer who wanted me to take their new Dell PC out of its boxes and set it up (Physically) on the desk. I believe in giving people value for their money, generally results in more business in the long run so I was only looking for €60. They insisted on paying me €450 and have called a few times since, e.g. Our broadband is not working.... Try not to turn and leave the modem off, that really doesnt help.

I also worked as security in 2005 at the Emmy Awards in LA and had the pleasure of meeting Halle Berry. The USC frat houses were across the road, got chatting to a few students when I was working nights and got invited to parties... basically getting paid to party :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I'm sorry, I might be mistaken, are you saying you are going to enjoy following young kids to the toilets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I did the junior cert supervising once. Easy peasy. I just finished 4th year and had no summer job, nor was I looking so it was handy pocket money. I would just read books and listen to music and talk sh1te with the girl sat beside me.

Another handy one was helping a friend photograph a wedding. All the pressure was on him so I didn't need to stress as much, got €200 for a few hours work on a Saturday. Piece of pi$$.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

had a summer job working as gate security on a building site.
    My duties where to basically sign people in and out and give them hard hats. Best Summer Job ever. Got paid IR£450 (yes that's Irish pounds) a week to sit outside of a garden shed (makeshift security box) reading books, listening to the radio and working on my drawings and art.

Had more money than I knew what to do with back then.