Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans

• 27-05-2009 11:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭

I don't know if this is supposed to be a sequel to Bad Lieutenant (1998), but based on the trailer, I'm getting the impression that Nicolas Cage is a bit tired of the "sissy" roles he's had recently. Talk about "chewing the scenery". :eek:

The director is Werner Herzog, who isn't exactly a "sensitive" director either - the type of guy who doesn't let being shot stop an interview.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

a sequel to Bad Lieutenant

Please,please do not have any connection apart from the name,to Kietels finest hour.

Please.

:(

Herzog has stated that it's not a remake though all the original writers are credited. Could be that Herzog is going the way of Burton's Planet of the Apes and refusing to call it a remake but a reimagining. Which is like saying it's not a film it's a movie.

In Herzog's own words when asked if it was a remake: No, it's not, although I cannot fully verify it because I have never seen Bad Lieutenant made by Abel Ferrara. I do not know who the man is, although he has made a lot of noise about this. Only the producer, Ed Pressman, who owns the rights to the title and was apparently planning to do some sort of franchise out of it, named it Bad Lieutenant. I added the subtitle, Port of Call New Orleans, because it takes place in New Orleans. And the leading actor in this is Nicolas Cage, with whom I had a wonderful working relationship. I took him where he has not been before.

Edit: I was kinda excited for this when it was announced but this was quickly quashed by the casting of Eva Mendes, quite posibly one of the worst actresses in history.

bnt wrote: »
    ... Talk about "chewing the scenery". :eek:

The director is Werner Herzog, who isn't exactly a "sensitive" director either - the type of guy who doesn't let being shot stop an interview.

Speaking of "chewing" ... Herzog is also a guy who won't welsh on a bet!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Werner_Herzog_Eats_His_Shoe

And I can't see your link but if it's the trailer, it's led to speculation that the film is a black comedy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Joycey

Just saw the original Bad Leuitenant a couple of weeks ago. Odd film, I find it hard to figure WTF Ferrara is at...

Ive completely lost faith in Herzog, loved Woyzceck(sp?) and Aguirre, and some of his documentaries are good, but he has to be the most egotistical, self important waste of talent around. He is just as bad as Kinsky IMO (hes actually worse because at least Kinsky only made good films).

Why in gods name did he feel the need to remake that Dieter Dietrich documentary with Christian Bale as the main actor? Why???

Edit: that trailer looks like complete dump too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

This is now available on the internets. Looking forward to seeing it finally. I love Nicholas Cage when he gets to play crazy.

Watched most of this the other night..and dare I say it,its easily one of the funniest films of the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Watched most of this the other night..and dare I say it,its easily one of the funniest films of the last few years

Funny intentionally, or remake of The Wicker Man funny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Saw it the other day.

Talk about a nutty film. It's so deliberately bad, it almost feels like a giant film-making-prank, and whether you enjoy the film just depends on whether you're 'in on' the prank or not. Not sure what to make of it tbh :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Bad Lieutenant was made in 1992. Not being pedantic or anything.

Creature wrote: »
    Funny intentionally, or remake of The Wicker Man funny?

This is the Wickerman 2.5 as far as i'm concerned,just finished it....It's hilarious :)

Ive heard very good things about this from a different forum I use.It goes that the only connection with Keitels movie is the name and that it was the studio that insisted Herzog use the title.Cage is apparantly brilliant in it and his performance has been likened to his watchability in Leaving Las Vegas.

Im prety interested in seeing this now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Interesting film alright. Not perfect, but not the failure I imagine a lot of people were fearing. Best work Cage has done in some time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

It's hard to know what to make of this movie alright. I'm not sure I liked it or disliked it. I wasn't bored anyway. The plot seems a bit all over the place. I found the ending a little bit out of the blue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Aedh Baclamh

One of the films of the year for me. So many hilarious scenes that keep on playing back in your mind. True, it's a little bit messy but that doesn't really bother me as there's so many classic moments in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Dragging up and old thread I know but I have to say this was one of the funniest films I have seen in a long long time. Its just made for Nick Cage. So many brilliant lines and hilarious scenes. Well done Nick Cage, even though you probably weren't acting.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I loved this film. Like the best Herzog films, it documents a descent into madness. But Herzog and Cage have never been funnier. It totally sends up thriller conventions, and his loads of quirks all if it's own. The iguana scene is deservedly referenced a lot, but the sequence in the nursing home sums up the appeal for me: profane, random, surreal madness. Confirms Herzog as the genius he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I loved this film. Like the best Herzog films, it documents a descent into madness. But Herzog and Cage have never been funnier. It totally sends up thriller conventions, and his loads of quirks all if it's own. The iguana scene is deservedly referenced a lot, but the sequence in the nursing home sums up the appeal for me: profane, random, surreal madness. Confirms Herzog as the genius he is.

Awww man i was if ****ing knots laughing at that. Loved the way nick cage just pushed everyone out of the way. And the scene where he points the gun at xzibit in the car and starts laughing maniacally, xzibit just looked freaked.

Great great movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

This is getting some great reviews especially Cage he must be back on form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I watched it lastnight and really enjoyed it. Nic Cage was absolutely hilarious, walking around like a hunchback with a 44. Magnum down the front of his pants like some sort of crazy falic symbol :D The stand out scenes for me were the nursing home scene (where he is hiding behind the door using an electric razor) and of course the scenes with the Iguanas but I also loved the way he went off the rails (especially when he was with Big Fate) and laughed every time he mentioned the gangster named 'G'.

I saw the Harvey Keitel movie Bad Lieutenant a few years ago and even though Herzog states that he has never seen the original movie, anyone that has seen both can spot the very obvious similarities between the two movies (both cops were junkies/gambling addicts that hustled dealers for dope, frequented prostitutes and got on the wrong side of the mob).

I thought this was pretty crappy and had a ridiculously,ridiculously preposterous ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Saw this a few weeks back and really enjoyed it. As another poster pointed out, you sometimes wonder if Cage is even acting in this. It seems like such a natural role for him, which in a way is slightly worrying. :D

nedtheshed wrote: »
    I thought this was pretty crappy and had a ridiculously,ridiculously preposterous ending.

The ending in this is
    the total opposite to what happens to Harvey Keitel's Bad Lieutenant, so if you seen the 1992 movie then the ending comes as a total surprise.......although I do agree that is ridiculous. Louisiana beating Texas 24-6 with 5 minutes to play then they won by 3 points! Plus the last line in the movie "Do fish have dreams?".........random! :D

Raekwon wrote: »
    The ending in this is
    the total opposite to what happens to Harvey Keitel's Bad Lieutenant, so if you seen the 1992 movie then the ending comes as a total surprise.......although I do agree that is ridiculous. Louisiana beating Texas 24-6 with 5 minutes to play then they won by 3 points! Plus the last line in the movie "Do fish have dreams?".........random! :D

Its not even the above stupidity that pissed me off.
    Cages charactor ingested obscene amounts of narcotics,was caught in a known drug dealers house with no warrant or reason to be there and yet he gets a commendation and promotion?WTF???Grand with suspension of belief and all that but dont insult the intelligence,at least make it somewhat believeble.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Cages charactor ingested obscene amounts of narcotics,was caught in a known drug dealers house with no warrant or reason to be there and yet he gets a commendation and promotion?WTF???Grand with suspension of belief and all that but dont insult the intelligence,at least make it somewhat believeble.

Silly, indeed, but I'm pretty sure it is all on purpose. The impression I got throughout the film was that Werner Herzog was just genuinely ripping the piss out of the concept of 'genre' in general. The ending
    is just another example of this. Hollywood will always try to redeem their characters. Cage in this can't possibly redeem himself, and yet despite all his crimes he winds up in a better situation than he started in. It's a tounge-in-cheek conclusion, a series of bizarre, totally incredible coincidences. Which for me fits in with the overall tone of the film.
    Herzog approaches everything with a slightly askew viewpoint, and I'm sure this is the closest he'll ever get to straight up satire. I barely consider this a cop film, or a drama - above all, it's a surreal comedy. I agree that it isn't in the slightest believable, but then nothing else in the film was.

Cages character wasn't caught in the drug dealers house, he was pretending to be an informant so he could get closer to the dealer to get free drugs off him but more importantly to get the drug dealers finger prints on a crack pipe so he could plant it in the murdered families house, so he could finally nail the dealer for their murders. Cage, Val Kilmer & a load of cops went back to the house to bust the dealer after the chief of police told Cage that they found the crack pipe with the dealers prints on it (after Cage told his partner that he planted it).

The only part that was ridiculous was when the mobsters walked in on Cage and the dealer and got blown away, I thought that was way too convenient, but then again it all fitted in with that crazy ending........which was the polar opposite of the 1992 movie where all of the Bad Lieutenants luck runs out in the worst way, so I liked it because I wasn't excepting it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

for someone who gets irate at remakes of movies / TV shows i don't even care for that don't use the year of release in the title.. -am gutted at this. i know the 20th century pretty much bled original notions dry but 'Bad Leiutenant' a 2010 film featuring yer typical array of washed up rappers turned movie stars?! .. boy racers will love it but no. though being promoted as a remake of Bad Lieutenant (1992) during its early production director Werner Herzog claims that this is not a remake?! sure Werner's responsible for Stroszek, but man what a d*ck HOW did he end up in hollywood plagiarizing a 1992 Abel Ferrara movie whilst staunchly refusing to credit the original?!

In a June 2008 interview with The Guardian, Abel Ferrara, who directed and co-wrote the original Bad Lieutenant (1992), said that finding out his movie was being remade was "a horrible feeling", "like when you get robbed", and that those involved in this remake "should all die in hell". He also wondered how Nicolas Cage "can even have the nerve to play Harvey Keitel", and called screenwriter William M. Finkelstein an idiot.

btw its not even being advertised as 'Port of Call - New Orleans' aka a spinoff. call it something else or f*ck off altogether. in the words of Abel, those involved with this should 'ALL DIE IN HELL'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Star Bingo wrote: »
    for someone who gets irate at remakes of movies / TV shows i don't even care for that don't use the year of release in the title.. -am gutted at this. i know the 20th century pretty much bled original notions dry but 'Bad Leiutenant' a 2010 film featuring yer typical array of washed up rappers turned movie stars?! .. boy racers will love it but no. though being promoted as a remake of Bad Lieutenant (1992) during its early production director Werner Herzog claims that this is not a remake?! sure Werner's responsible for Stroszek, but man what a d*ck HOW did he end up in hollywood plagiarizing a 1992 Abel Ferrara movie whilst staunchly refusing to credit the original?!

In a June 2008 interview with The Guardian, Abel Ferrara, who directed and co-wrote the original Bad Lieutenant (1992), said that finding out his movie was being remade was "a horrible feeling", "like when you get robbed", and that those involved in this remake "should all die in hell". He also wondered how Nicolas Cage "can even have the nerve to play Harvey Keitel", and called screenwriter William M. Finkelstein an idiot.

btw its not even being advertised as 'Port of Call - New Orleans' aka a spinoff. call it something else or f*ck off altogether. in the words of Abel, those involved with this should 'ALL DIE IN HELL'

Herzog didn't want it to be called Bad Lieutenant at all.

so it was the producer then? when i saw a movie that reeked of the old straight-to-video spinoff culture, yet easily getting more publicity than the original whilst using its title thats what really bugged me. i've no problem with the continuation of a Bad Lieutenant series.. i'll likely see it in a few months on Sky anyhow

Have you seen the film yet? I can't tell if you have, probably not going by that last sentence. I haven't seen the original - it's on tonight I think so may finally get around to it - but bar the name this really is a wonderful piece of work. Don't go into it expecting a remake, a sequel, a spiritual successor or anything... This is Werner Herzog's own film, a superb satire/black comedy that should definitely be seen. It is anything but straight-to-video style. Ignore the title and watch the film - you may be pleasantly surprised. You may also hate it, but at least you can say you tried :pac: As I said, ignore any preconceptions you may have based on the original, and you'll probably be able to judge it more objectively.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'm going to watch this tonight:) Haven't seen the ''original''.

Have you seen the film yet?

no i've not, just some trailers - n i hear ya will ditch the preconceptions but Keitel was a more believable Bad Lieutenant i reckon.. this will inevitably get seen due to its mainstream status, but i'd urge anyone to check out the original concept. from what i did see i don't believe Cage's performance is low-key enough to ever be considered realistic, just far-fetched. but entertaining no doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Saw it tonight and loved it. Pole-vaults straight into my list of the best films released so far this year.

Nicholas Cage struck exactly the right note with his performance (who else could do that coked-out equine-faced unstable thing that he does so well?). He took what could have been frankly very weird dialogue and owned it (
    "Til the break of dawn. TIL THE BREAK OF DAWN, HUH?!"
    ). The story meandered, especially in the second half, but every single scene was damn enjoyable.

Also, the iguanas and the 'gators thing? Inspired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 708 ✭✭✭zimovain

The 'original' is on Film4 tonight at 11.30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

It's well worth seeing. It bares little resemblance to the original film at all - which is why Herzog objected to it being called Bad Lieutenant at all.

It's a crazy black comedy. Hilarious with Cage in absolute manic top form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭blackalicious

saw this yesterday and loved it. i went to it kind of blind in that i hadn't read about it or seen the original, which was good in a way as i really didin't know what to expect. Well it certainly blew me away, thought it was hillarious and it was the best cage performance i seen in years. It was a bit unrealistic but that didn't bother me too much, the only thing which annoyed me slightly was eva mendes who i thought was quite dull and lifeless..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

watched it yesterday. strange film,strange film indeed. i laugh out loud non-stop when the film ends - i am really not sure this is a great film or a very sh*tty one lol herzog surely is a director full of controversies :D

as a movie lover i will recommend this to anyone who hasnt seen herzog's work before, truly something special is in his films that can give you a different experience of watching a movie. at some point i really feel like i am on coke too when i see the iguanas bahahahaha and those silly dialogue are better than those funniest drunken people speaking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

was this movie a comedy ?

I watched it and enjoyed it - so bad it was good stuff,
    but the acting was terrible - Cage really defines a new level of suckology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Loved that movie.
    "Shoot him again!"

"What for?"

"His soul is still dancing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

watched this a few days ago.its one strange film.Cage is good as the lead character not sure if he is even acting!While I watched it ,I was thinking WTf but I would watch it again and recommend it to friends.its nuts (so bad/weird ,its good,maybe!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭BROWNE51

Some good comments here,I am going to give Nick "yet another" shot based on these.As an actor I find him very wooden,but some interesting reviews here...looks like its time to bury the hatchet from the time I paid to see him in that ambulance film.
    Nice one lads.

What I find strange is that he is being praised for acting the same way he has done in alot of movies,something he was heavily criticized for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

the_monkey wrote: »
    was this movie a comedy ?

I watched it and enjoyed it - so bad it was good stuff,

Good God yes it's a comedy! Somebody like Herzog does not make something like this unintentionally.

I don't think it was 'so bad it was good' more 'so outrageous it was good'.
    What I find strange is that he is being praised for acting the same way he has done in alot of movies,something he was heavily criticized for.

I think it's because he's doing it in a good film this time perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Watched this a while ago and quite enjoyed it. You either love or hate Nicholas Cage, and I've always had a soft spot for him.

Watched the "original" with Keitel last night, and thought it was complete ****e. It didn't really know what it was doing I thought, there didn't seem to be any real cohesion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

Complete and utter horse ****.

They made a terrible terrible film and then someone decided to sell it as some sort of quirky black comedy to hide the fact that it is an absolute shambles.