Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this Planet a Prison Planet.

• 27-05-2009 6:37pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if Planet Earth is a Prison for some other advanced Planet or Planets.

It could even be a prison for some time in Earths future with us being sent back in time to serve our time

Just look at the possibilities.

We are entirely in the dark as to what we are doing here and have little control over our own lives. Not unlike prisoners.

Life is pretty much a struggle for every one on earth to some degree or other.

A lot of our life experience is similiar to that of the incarcerated.

As we do not know if whatever power may be in charge is benevolent or malevolent then there is no need to feel guilty about our sentence.

We may well be freedom fighters in the place that we have been banished from.

It is just a theory but it has the possibility of being correct as the next theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Nope.
    blinding wrote: »
    It is just a theory but it has the possibility of being correct as the next theory.
    You need to look up the definition of theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Sounds like someones been smoking a little too much of the oul' wacky tabaccy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

mp3guy wrote: »

Must have been a bad batch of wacky stuff.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Indeed he has. Stop bogarting that **** and pass it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭magenta73

yo-ho yo-ho a pirates life for me,
    drink up me hearties yo-ho.......
    ............sorry wrong thread:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

If the next theory is coming from you I'd agree 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

Does the Galaxy really want bloodthirsty 'ol us rolling around in it?

Maybe the reason we can't detect Galactic civilisations, is because they don't want us to detect them. I mean, who the hell wanders into a knackers camp and says Hi?

Same thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Run to the hills eh?*

*'Hills' may be codeword for CT forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

An its all happening at a quatar past tuesday on the 44th of Octember nineteen tootty twelve.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭legs11

Just wondering if Planet Earth is a Prison for some other advanced Planet or Planets.

It could even be a prison for some time in Earths future with us being sent back in time to serve our time

We are entirely in the dark as to what we are doing here and have little control over our own lives. Not unlike prisoners.

As we do not know if whatever power may be in charge is benevolent or malevolent then there is no need to feel guilty about our sentence.

Nice Spliff ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

I think ye may be in denial and I am sure ye are all "innocent" in any case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Interesting theory. The one flaw I find in your theory however is that were it so then I'd probably be getting more sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I have yet to get my free Ps3, flatscreen plasma tv, budgie and meals prepared by a chef so no, I don't think it is prison, well not run by anyone Irish anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Oh hai Xenu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Yeah it is, the Doctor told me last night then went to town on me with his sonic screwdriver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Is there a full moon out tonight?

phasers wrote: »
    Yeah it is, the Doctor told me last night then went to town on me with his sonic screwdriver

A girl making Dr. Who references? You must get more nerd-cock than you know what to do with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

RonMexico wrote: »
    I have yet to get my free Ps3, flatscreen plasma tv, budgie and meals prepared by a chef so no, I don't think it is prison, well not run by anyone Irish anyway.
    You forgot to mention your mobile phone too Bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

In theory, communism works. In theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

He's just following the footsteps of Marx, appreciate the tabaccy!!
    Mask wrote: »
    In theory, communism works. In theory.

Actually it doesn't even work properly in theory...
    But, you can forward the discussion to this thread:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055559785

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm innocent I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Well, I for one welcome our prison overlords!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

to be fair, it pretty much is a prison planet insofar as the overwhelming majority of us will never get to leave it, even if we wanted to and of the tiny minority that have actually gotten to leave at some stage, *most* of them had to come back eventually and anyone that hasn't come back probably still has some of their atomic dust circling us in the atmosphere directly above us.

aside from the OP obviously, he seems like a bit of a space cadet, so he's probably just rubbing our noses in it, the cheeky little fecker! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

The chorus of the following song will answer all of your questions.

This post will also mis-direct people looking to complain about their telly.

It's been about 15 years since I last heard that song. I forgot how good it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I never signed up to be someone's inter-galactic bitch.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Erm , no wait

42 :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

WTF, who let the sceintologists onto boards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Ash_M

Nothing like a bit of Rush to settle a debate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭sub-x

Terry wrote: »

Ah Terry your a man after my own heart ;) Rush are legends :D

Terry wrote: »

Could you not have just linked us to the lyrics so we didn't have to listen to that shíte?

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Could you not have just linked us to the lyrics so we didn't have to listen to that shíte?

You can't just read Rush lyrics,you have to hear them,feel them,experience the brilliance of Rush ;)

sub-x wrote: »
    You can't just read Rush lyrics,you have to hear them,feel them,experience the brilliance of Rush ;)

And you must get off the weed now...

Ah man,chill out,whats with all the negative vibes,don't hate,LOVE :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Or you could just not click the play button and google the lyrics yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

phasers wrote: »
    Doctor............Sonic Screwdriver..........Girl!!!!:eek:

Marry me?

where did my post go.....

maybe the dog ate it. the little fecker has been chewing up my post for years. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭b12mearse

you should write science fiction like george mcfly in back to the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Surely it would make more sense to send people back to the likes of the bronze age or something if they wanted to punish them. Or any time other than this.
    We've never had it better now.

Recession? Yes.
    Life expectancy of 33? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    Surely it would make more sense to send people back to the likes of the bronze age or something if they wanted to punish them. Or any time other than this.
    We've never had it better now.

Recession? Yes.
    Life expectancy of 33? No.

maybe they committed more serious crimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

maybe they committed more serious crimes

That's deep man.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 fluffy.death

blinding wrote:
    We may well be freedom fighters in the place that we have been banished from

Kids, take note. Weed mixed with lots of hours indoors occupied by sci-fi movies and half-life 2 can lead to one thinking he is the saviour of the world and will lead us all to freedom from the evil overlords that aren't obvious to anyone else because they're on another planet.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have to continue mentally practicing advanced room clearing and cqc for when the war comes with the New World Order and we all suddenly find ourselves in a well organized and prolonged yet grittily enjoyable civil war in which I am the seasoned young rebel that has seen it all and has nothing left to lose.

And also we will be wearing leather sleeveless trenchcoats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ferrigan101

Kids, take note. Weed mixed with lots of hours indoors occupied by sci-fi movies and half-life 2 can lead to one thinking he is the saviour of the world and will lead us all to freedom from the evil overlords that aren't obvious to anyone else because they're on another planet.

Now if you'll excuse me, I have to continue mentally practicing advanced room clearing and cqc for when the war comes with the New World Order and we all suddenly find ourselves in a well organized and prolonged yet grittily enjoyable civil war in which I am the seasoned young rebel that has seen it all and has nothing left to lose.

I for one welcome our leather sleeveless overcoats........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

OP, are you Australian by any chance? If so, you're almost right.

On a related note, when the hell did Alex Lifeson wear leather trousers? He really shouldn't!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

You are begining to see the possibilities

This could be the beginning of the beginning of the revelation for you.

Enjoy your journey but do not neglect your rehabilitation please.

funnily enough I think Ronnie Dunbar was saying that exact same thing last week.

pretty sure he's stopped now, since he'll be *clearing* the same 15x9 room for the next 10 years. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭5318008!

Yes, there's infinite posibilities in the universe. Have you only realised this now?

Dwelling on one of those possibilities without any proof is just plain dumb.

If you abandon reason and logic you leave yourself suseptible to believe in all sorts of stuff.

Leave the irrational thinking to shizophrenics and religious nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Someone obviously got 'extra' mushrooms on their pizza today.