Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding for an emergency

• 25-05-2009 10:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭

Ok hoping you can help me here. My mother is extremely ill at the moment. She may need to go into hospital at any stage & every minute will count, it will be life or death.
    If an amublance isn't available to get to us for twenty minutes can I put her in the car & drive the sh!t out of it in order to meet the ambulance along the road?
    Also if this was to happen & I happened to get clocked & followed for speeding what would happen?
    If the Guards knew the situation would they allow me to continue on along the road & give me the fine/ points afterwards? Or would I be told to get out of the car while my mother is on her last legs?

This is something that is bothering her an awful lot & given her condition stress is the last thing she needs so I'm hoping to put her mind at rest or at least give her an answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Ok hoping you can help me here. My mother is extremely ill at the moment. She may need to go into hospital at any stage & every minute will count, it will be life or death.
    If an amublance isn't available to get to us for twenty minutes can I put her in the car & drive the sh!t out of it in order to meet the ambulance along the road?
    Also if this was to happen & I happened to get clocked & followed for speeding what would happen?
    If the Guards knew the situation would they allow me to continue on along the road & give me the fine/ points afterwards? Or would I be told to get out of the car while my mother is on her last legs?

This is something that is bothering her an awful lot & given her condition stress is the last thing she needs so I'm hoping to put her mind at rest or at least give her an answer.

This is a situation facing Traffic members everyday. We are always on alert for these. We even have a list of persons/numbers/vehicles and addresses in the office.

Write a letter or call into the local supt and explain the situation. Make the local members aware of the situation. Although you are still not exempt from speeding but Garda assistance maybe offered as an escort etc etc.

Hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

i'd be vary cautious with this. you may get away with the fine or point etc. but speeding is still speeding and very dangerous for you and other drivers.
    i recently attended an rta in Dublin when a taxi was been escorted to a hospital by the guards with a patient in the back of the taxi heading for an operation, the taxi lost control and crashed.
    the taximan was left with a written off car and a lot of explaining to his insurance company not to mention nearly killing himself and the patient.
    sometimes speed isn't everything in emergencies, i've learned that over my career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

This is a situation facing Traffic members everyday. We are always on alert for these. We even have a list of persons/numbers/vehicles and addresses in the office.

Write a letter or call into the local supt and explain the situation. Make the local members aware of the situation. Although you are still not exempt from speeding but Garda assistance maybe offered as an escort etc etc.

Hope this helps

Sound thanks for that. I didn't think of going to my local station even though it seems very obvious now that you mention it.
    I'm not looking for an excuse to speed but if it has to be done I'd prefer to get the bollocking at the hospital.
    I've never been stopped for speeding so I don't even know what is involved.
    Do they follow me or do I get a letter in the post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

I don't like to say this as I've recently had a very ill parent,

but if the care she may need may be very instantaneous and minutes matter, is home the best place for her? In my case that was not an issue; and i know putting her into care is a great option

Sound thanks for that. I didn't think of going to my local station even though it seems very obvious now that you mention it.
    I'm not looking for an excuse to speed but if it has to be done I'd prefer to get the bollocking at the hospital.

Depends on the speed detection equipment. The new Robot vans take a photo and fine in the post.

Ordinary speed checks members will stop you, take details and after uploading it you get the FCPS in post.

Have a chat with you local lads and see what they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

This occured with an NBA player in the states a while ago. The cop car followed him into the car park of the hospital and refused him entry even with the nurses coming out and telling the officer that his mother in law was inside about to die.

Not sure that it helps but breaking the law is breaking the law, go to your local Gardai station and ask if you would be likely to recieve the penalty points giving the situation. If it's a Gard themself that pulls you over it depends on their own personality too.

Good luck either way :)

gerire wrote: »
    I don't like to say this as I've recently had a very ill parent,

but if the care she may need may be very instantaneous and minutes matter, is home the best place for her? In my case that was not an issue; and i know putting her into care is a great option

Yes it is because she is taking up a bed & time of doctors & nurses. They have brought her as far as she can go at the moment.
    She has heart disease & may or may not get another heart attack but due to complications with her medication she has been taken off her tablets for a while. During this time she is at a very high risk of having another heart attack which if not treated asap will be fatal.
    We asked her consultant if she would be better off in a hospital or at home & he told us home. I tend to agree, she is a different woman at home as opposed to being in a hospital environment.
    She is getting proper rest which she had not been getting in hospital. Hospitals can be very draining due to the constant background noise.

Depends on the speed detection equipment. The new Robot vans take a photo and fine in the post.

Ordinary speed checks members will stop you, take details and after uploading it you get the FCPS in post.

Have a chat with you local lads and see what they say.

Don't mind the fine or points to be honest. I suppose we're lucky with the Guards we have in the local station, they do their best for everyone in fairness to them so I'll have a chat with them & see what they say.
    Hopefully I won't ever have to put the boot down.
    Thanks again for everyones advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Watch the speed, it wont save you as much time as you think. and if you loose it you dont want to be left with the guilt of killing a couple of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

dont ask me to find the ruling.. but..

afaik, it is acceptable in the eyes of the law to break a law if in doing so prevents a more serious law from being broken.

by that i mean, speeding to prevent a murder etc.

(i'm not talking about infringing on human rights / bending the rules to obtain a favorable out come)

As for speeding to meet the ambulance, i'd say that things would be OK.. as long as everything goes ok.. Should there be an accident .. you would be liable.

in other words.. it's all ok till something goes wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

If it was a matter of life or death , I would just take the speeding ticket big deal getting 2 pionts compared to saving a life of someone you care about.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I would definitely go a bit faster, and slow down for red lights etc if it was an emergency. But think about it, you won't see an ambulance driving a 80mph through a city, because it's not safe. You can go a small bit faster on a clear straight road, but in any other case you may wind up taking more time to get there, if you hit a pothole and get a blow out, or even have a minor accident. Or worse.

Plan out your route and drive it. Plan alternate routes also. Drive them and get to know where you may meet traffic, where it may be safe to go quickly etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

ivabiggon wrote: »
    i'd be vary cautious with this. you may get away with the fine or point etc. but speeding is still speeding and very dangerous for you and other drivers.
    i recently attended an rta in Dublin when a taxi was been escorted to a hospital by the guards with a patient in the back of the taxi heading for an operation, the taxi lost control and crashed.
    the taximan was left with a written off car and a lot of explaining to his insurance company not to mention nearly killing himself and the patient.
    sometimes speed isn't everything in emergencies, i've learned that over my career.

driving like a bat out of hell especially in built up areas is very dangerous, you are doing the unexpected and are more likely to crash leaving you with 0 transport and injury - other road users can do the strangest things!
    i wouldn't drive any faster than i had to -

we have one 'fast' driver and one slow driver on out unit - when both blue lighting to an emergency the slow driver gets there an average of 5 mins later than the driver who mows through the traffic goin round corners on 2 wheels!! i say take your time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

the locust wrote: »
    driving like a bat out of hell especially in built up areas is very dangerous, you are doing the unexpected and are more likely to crash leaving you with 0 transport and injury - other road users can do the strangest things!
    i wouldn't drive any faster than i had to -

we have one 'fast' driver and one slow driver on out unit - when both blue lighting to an emergency the slow driver gets there an average of 5 mins later than the driver who mows through the traffic goin round corners on 2 wheels!! i say take your time!
    I get what your saying about being careful and safe but at the same time 5 minutes could be life or death for someone.. its a tough call to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭bushy...

Unless you're used to "making good time" instead of "driving the sh!t!" out of it , it won't save much at all.
    Doing it while your are upset/stressed , even worse idea.
    Gardai and ambulance drivers are at that craic every day of the week , so have picked up loads of experience ,tricks , and will see problems coming .

Better ideas are make sure your car is always above say half full .
    Have a think about alternative routes.
    Have a think about how you are actually going to get her as far as the car.
    Get the car serviced/looked over if it needs it . Tyres etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

OP

To protect life is the most important rule we have in the AGS and we do that everyday of the week. People dont realise when they see us passing them by with lights and sirens that on occasion this is what we are doing by either going to a persons aid or even bringing them to the nearest hospital.

As NGA suggested, make arrangements with your local station or district HQ for a possible escort. You will find we will be sympathetic to your needs and help in anyway we can.

As for speeding tickets, well there is an appeal process for that. I know of cases where people have been successful for the very reason and cause that you have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 buzzboy

Hi OP If your mam is as ill as your saying call an ambulance and wait its arrival rather than moving her to a/e by car. As some of the posters have said already you trying to bring your mam to a/e by driving like a nut to a/e wont do your mam any good!! Your personnally connected with your mam and your head would'nt be right to be driving. Silly mistakes can be made that may result in injury to yourself or other road users. Call an ambulance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

drive the sh!t out of it in order to meet the ambulance along the road
    If you're not professinaly trained to drive cars at high speed, you become a threat to yourself, and everyone else on the road.

In the event of hitting a pothole at great speed, the best case scenario would be you hitting a wall, killing all the people in the car you are driving. The worst case scenario is you kill someone walking along, or worse, you plough into a car full of people, killing them all.

If she is extremely ill, can you put her into hospital?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭mcguiver

Some strange replys there foks!!

All members should be aware, the days of official escorts are over thanks to Ombudsman. There should be a circular/directive regarding same since last summer. Not allowed escort civvy drivers at speed anywhere/ through red lights etc. ....not officially anyway... anything goes wrong your ass is grass!Even Garda vehicles cant tag along with organised escorts now.
    Ask any of the escort trained bikers.

There is no right answer to the what if this scenario happens...
    I'd use my discretion as always, but as a previous poster says. anything goes wrong and your in deep s###t!

Speed kills. Arrive alive!

mcguiver wrote: »

All members should be aware, the days of official escorts are over thanks to Ombudsman. There should be a circular/directive regarding same since last summer. Not allowed escort civvy drivers at speed anywhere/ through red lights etc. ....not officially anyway... anything goes wrong your ass is grass!Even Garda vehicles cant tag along with organised escorts now.

I'd use my discretion as always, but as a previous poster says. anything goes wrong and your in deep s###t!

But there would be nothing wrong with taking a person to hospital in the patrol car, right?

I assume this is unless the Garda drivers involved are escort trained?

foreign wrote: »
    I assume this is unless the Garda drivers involved are escort trained?

I can only assume thats whats being referred to as we are directed to do civie escorts at least once a week by Divisional and regional staff., being a unit with escort trained drivers.

Ok I need to clarify what I meant by drive the sh!t out of it. If I'm on a good straight road that has an 50mph speed limit I would be comfortable driving at 60-70mph on it.
    I don't speed & have never got any speeding fines or penalty points but in exceptional circumstances like I mentioned I would go a bit faster if the road allows it. Not trying to make myself sound great or anything but as drivers go I am one of the safer ones on the road, I made a few silly mistakes when I was younger that frightened the need to speed out of me & made me more aware that there are other people using the road besides me.
    Anyway all the points & suggestions ye made are very good & have been taken on board.
    We have also received goodish news on her condition & (fingers crossed) it will continue to improve so hopefully there won't be any need for me or any other family member to rush her to an ambulance or hospital.
    Thanks again for the replies.

By the way, what have GSOC got to do with how the Gardai run escorts? Unless there happens to be a serious accident involving an escort they haven't a clue when one is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭blanco

bushy... wrote: »
    Unless you're used to "making good time" instead of "driving the sh!t!" out of it , it won't save much at all.
    Doing it while your are upset/stressed , even worse idea.
    Gardai and ambulance drivers are at that craic every day of the week , so have picked up loads of experience ,tricks , and will see problems coming .

Better ideas are make sure your car is always above say half full .
    Have a think about alternative routes.
    Have a think about how you are actually going to get her as far as the car.
    Get the car serviced/looked over if it needs it . Tyres etc.

You will also increase her stress levels which wont help much.

Have you thought about doing a course with the Irish Heart Foundation, Red Cross or St, Johns Amb? so you can work on her if she has a heart attack. They will also show you how to stabilize her and make her more comfortable while the ambulance is on its way.
    Let's hope it deosn't come to that. But, at least you'd be better prepared if something does happen to her.

Hope it all works out well for you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭vanessamee

If they were checking for speed at that time they would stop you if caught on cameraa fine in the post but be careful hope u dont ave to speed god is good your mam mite get better:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭vanessamee

By the way, what have GSOC got to do with how the Gardai run escorts? Unless there happens to be a serious accident involving an escort they haven't a clue when one is done.

My child has Cf and the guards provided us with an escort from west clare to limerick as it was as it was life nd death they will provide one if its requested, by the medical team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭BeardyGit

blanco wrote: »
    You will also increase her stress levels which wont help much.

Have you thought about doing a course with the Irish Heart Foundation, Red Cross or St, Johns Amb? so you can work on her if she has a heart attack. They will also show you how to stabilize her and make her more comfortable while the ambulance is on its way.
    Let's hope it deosn't come to that. But, at least you'd be better prepared if something does happen to her.

Hope it all works out well for you all.

I don't want to detract from your suggestion that a course in CPR is useful, but it's most likely not terribly relevant to the OP's situation. If an ambulance could be on scene in a matter of minutes, I doubt the OP would be asking about speeding on the way to hospital. CPR is great but it's only one tool in what's now a pretty big bag of tricks to deal with cardiac illness.

For the OP, I'd guess they're already acutely aware of how important early defibrilation and anti-clotting medication is likely to be to their mam. For the average Joe Bloggs, especially one who resides outside a major metropolitan area, the quickest way to get that level of treatment/care is to get to hospital.

Fair play OP for planning ahead, and good on ye Gardaí for showing the compassionate side of your service. It's a good thing to see in the context of a very real situation for many.

Gil

vanessamee wrote: »
    My child has Cf and the guards provided us with an escort from west clare to limerick as it was as it was life nd death they will provide one if its requested, by the medical team

Hi vanessa, my point was just about somebody claiming that we don't do escorts because of the ombudsman.
    I see escorts every now and again bringing women in labor into hollis st, etc. I don't think that any Garda would say they would not provide an escort when it is genuine. In fact they go out of their way to make sure people get to hospitals as quickly as possible. After all our main goal is the protection of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

does anyone have a HQ Circ No. detailing about this 'no escort thing'.. it would be interesting to read it.

pa990 wrote: »
    does anyone have a HQ Circ No. detailing about this 'no escort thing'.. it would be interesting to read it.

If a Traffic man like Niceguy knows nothing about it i'd say there may not be one.

pa990 wrote: »
    If a Traffic man like Niceguy knows nothing about it i'd say there may not be one.

Dont know of it and tried to find it but couldnt.

HQ circ are confidental and really should not be discussed on an open forum me thinks.

+1 to that

No more talk of circulars please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

TheNog wrote: »
    +1 to that

No more talk of circulars please

Nobody talks about squares any more either.....