Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greens unveil plan for cyclists' paradise

• 25-05-2009 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/eykfcwcweyau/rss2/

I'm impressed that they are using Campag Boras in the picture.
    A multi-storey floating bike-park on the River Liffey in Dublin is one of the ideas being peddled by the Green Party to make the capital a cyclists’ paradise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

A multi-storey floating bike-park on the River Liffey in Dublin is one of the ideas being peddled by the Green Party to make the capital a cyclists’ paradise

“We’ll provide something similar on the River Liffey at Heuston Station so that commuters can bike and train with ease to and from the city centre,” he said.

On the mud and sand river beside heuston?!

They've assumed that because skobes spend their childhood robbing bikes and cars that they've not learned to swim I think - they're wrong though, I've seen them swimming in the canal in Ashtown, yuck

Jeebus!!! - just googled the one in Amsterdam, check this out! It's huuuuuge!

3193706959_2b60441d2c.jpg?v=0

If we get that I'll eat my crasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Jeebus!!! - just googled the one in Amsterdam, check this out! It's huuuuuge!

3193706959_2b60441d2c.jpg?v=0

If we get that I'll eat my crasher.

I stayed in a hotel across from this, it is truly awe inspiring. The sheer amount of cycles on it makes you re think cycling in Ireland. Just a different mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

CheGuedara wrote: »
    - they're wrong though, I've seen them swimming in the canal in Ashtown, yuck
    Weren't swimming, were in for the annual wash.

kenmc wrote: »
    Weren't swimming, were in for the annual wash.

Smart fellas, they were getting the dog done at the same time - YUCK!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

A multi-storey floating bike-park on the River Liffey in Dublin is one of the fairytales being peddled by the Green Party to pick up a few naive cyclist votes.
    Corrected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

I'm sure the Greens will get all these facilties sorted just as soon as they get their hands on key Ministry, such as Dept Environment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I can see it now - you come back to get your bike to find the bike park has slipped its moorings and is now half-way to Wales!!!

......oh and while I'm at it - the Liffey is tidal as far as Islandbridge.

If they put the bike park at Heuston it will ground and tilt over when the tide goes out and you'll come back to find your bike tipped over the side and in the mud!!

They kind of missed the point that canals have locks and are not affected by tides.

Somewhat ironic that the Greens would be foiled by nature!!

Anyway the rest of what they are proposing looks do-able and very positive (except for the Liffey Boulevard!!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Jawgap wrote: »
    If they put the bike park at Heuston it will ground and tilt over when the tide goes out and you'll come back to find your bike tipped over the side and in the mud!!

They kind of missed the point that canals have locks and are not affected by tides.
    A few ports in Ireland are tidal and boats don't just fall over when the water goes down. I'm sure the solution is very simple. A couple of ropes perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 connond

I'm sure the Greens will get all these facilties sorted just as soon as they get their hands on key Ministry, such as Dept Environment.

Nice cynicism. It's local authorities, not central government that are principally responsible for providing cycling facilities. In government the Greens have set up the cycling to work scheme and found funding for the Sutton to Sandycove cycle path, as well as funding the post for a new cycling officer in Dublin City Council.

Green Party local election candidates in Dublin will prioritise cycling. Many of them are active cyclists. They will prioritise safer streets with 30kph speed limits in the city centre, more cycling lanes and better parking and changing facilities.

They wouldn't oppose and water down the likes of the bus gate proposals like the majority of the sitting councillors who listen more to the views of the city centre car park owners than to the tens of thousands of cyclists, pedestrians and public transport users in the city, who would benefit from a full time bus gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

And there will be free beer and no taxes, mondays will be abolished and everyone will get their own little butler, Ireland will be moved south to give us a nicer climate and none of it will cost us a penny.

I love election season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

niceonetom wrote: »
    And there will be free beer and no taxes, mondays will be abolished and everyone will get their own little butler, Ireland will be moved south to give us a nicer climate and none of it will cost us a penny.

I love election season.

I like your manifesto.
    Where can I vote for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

connond wrote: »
    stuff

Oh the irony, joining boards in election season.

How's the campaign going Damian?

Lumen wrote: »
    Oh the irony, joining boards in election season.

How's the campaign going Damian?
    In fairness everything he said above is true. (I am not a member of the Green Party).

A few ports in Ireland are tidal and boats don't just fall over when the water goes down. I'm sure the solution is very simple. A couple of ropes perhaps.

eh.....actually they do - have a look at Rush next time the tide is out - water drops, boats hit bottom and tilt over - not a problem if you're a boat - something of a problem if you're a three storey bicycle park!!
    Nice cynicism. It's local authorities, not central government that are principally responsible for providing cycling facilities. In government the Greens have set up the cycling to work scheme and found funding for the Sutton to Sandycove cycle path, as well as funding the post for a new cycling officer in Dublin City Council.

Green Party local election candidates in Dublin will prioritise cycling. Many of them are active cyclists. They will prioritise safer streets with 30kph speed limits in the city centre, more cycling lanes and better parking and changing facilities.

They wouldn't oppose and water down the likes of the bus gate proposals like the majority of the sitting councillors who listen more to the views of the city centre car park owners than to the tens of thousands of cyclists, pedestrians and public transport users in the city, who would benefit from a full time bus gate.

See there's your problem, right there, after "nice cynicism" - you're excuse that "It's local authorities, not central government that are principally responsible for providing cycling facilities" is a cop out - what about joined up government, citizen centred services and all that guff - blaming the other guy is a bit of a waste of time, especially when the Greens are in with FF up to their balls!

Cycle to Work Scheme - brilliant idea, now being slowly strangled by the Dept of Finance

S2S - brilliant idea, but the first time I saw it mooted was by Dick Roche

new cycling officer in Dublin City Council - not bad but what about the other 31 local authorities in the country?

They will prioritise safer streets with 30kph speed limits in the city centre, more cycling lanes and better parking and changing facilities - which streets an when? Where will the parking and changing facilities go? Where will the funding come from and when will the tenders issue for the work?

The reason I'm ranting is that last time around I voted for the Greens - never again - long on ideas and rhetoric, short on delivery and propping up the most venial government we ever inflicted on ourselves in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

In fairness everything he said above is true. (I am not a member of the Green Party).

That's because he's said nothing essentially... we will prioritise this and wouldn't oppose and water down that, but won't make any real changes, just like all the other politicians.

The Greens had a golden opportunity to make a serious stand after the last election, and instead sold their soul to FF with barely a whimper and a token C2W scheme (it's the only meaningful thing they've done to my mind).

eh.....actually they do - have a look at Rush next time the tide is out - water drops, boats hit bottom and tilt over - not a problem if you're a boat - something of a problem if you're a three storey bicycle park!!

But that's cos boats have tilty bottoms -bike parks have flat ones, so it's just nestle on the river bed

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Personally I think it's great that a member of the Green Party should show up and contribute to a discussion of its policies.

What I do think though is that they should be upfront and identify themselves.

......and finally, here's a few things the Greens could've done (and could still do) to promote cycling in Ireland:-

1. Meet with Garda Commissioner and Head of Traffic and ask that driver behaviour that endangers cyclists is specifically targeted.

2. Introduce a modest mileage rate for civil and public servants using their bikes for work

3. Set targets for all agencies and govt department in respect of cycling and cyclists - e.g. % of miles travelled by bike, no. of bikes purchased on the cycle to work scheme

4. Reduce the VAT on bikes and bike products to 13.5%

5. Introduce provisions for cycle to school groups (along the lines of walking buses)

6. Introduce a cycling element into the Green Schools Scheme

So why haven't they done it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭WicklowRacer

That's because he's said nothing essentially... we will prioritise this and wouldn't oppose and water down that, but won't make any real changes, just like all the other politicians.

The Greens had a golden opportunity to make a serious stand after the last election, and instead sold their soul to FF with barely a whimper and a token C2W scheme (it's the only meaningful thing they've done to my mind).

At least he's our soul seller though...

I am not a member of the Greens either but I will vote for them purely because they are the only identifiable representation for cycling. Although I wish Deirdre De Burca didnt look like a member of Bon Jovi.

But that's cos boats have tilty bottoms -bike parks have flat ones, so it's just nestle on the river bed

The river bed isn't flat there - it's v-shaped. The yoke will tip over about 20 degrees.

It's a good idea, but as usual with the Greens it's the execution that will see it fail.

The river bed isn't flat there - it's v-shaped. The yoke will tip over about 20 degrees.

It's a good idea, but as usual with the Greens it's the execution that will see it fail.
    A floating bike park sounds like a little bit of fantasy that someone added on from dramatic effect. Looking at the one from Amsterdam, it's clearly on stilts and not just floating on the water. In fact, it would be a number of times more expensive to build and maintain a floating bike park than one on stilts in the water.

In fact, the liffey has been known to flood very badly at that end. What would happen if this thing came loose and managed to float over the liffey wall.

No, it's a solid structure, not a boat that they're proposing.

It was probably put in as the headline grabber - there'd be nothing to stop them going to Guinness' and buying some land there - they've loads of it they're not using and it's just across the street from Heuston.

Or there's the old Dr Steevens' Hospital to the other side, the Eircom site not to mention all CIE's land around Heuston.

What a pity none of those bodies are in State ownership, or even subject to the supervision of a Green ministerial department........

eh.....actually they do - have a look at Rush next time the tide is out - water drops, boats hit bottom and tilt over - not a problem if you're a boat - something of a problem if you're a three storey bicycle park!!.
    The small ones of course do, but not large ships. But then small boats are not designed to sit in the one place all the time. This floating yoke will be in the same place with some sort of stability device attached to the bottom. With cables holding it to the wall of the river.
    See there's your problem, right there, after "nice cynicism" - you're excuse that "It's local authorities, not central government that are principally responsible for providing cycling facilities" is a cop out.
    Its not a cop out, Dundalk has a large number of cycle lanes, because of the Dundalk Cycling Alliance working in conjuction with the councillors, planners and road engineers.

And I doubt any of the policies listed by connond would have gone through without the Greens in power. Also the Greens don't hold the balance of power do they? My view towards the Greens is that if they want to affect any environmental change (how ever small) it's better to be on the train p!ssing out the window, than standing on the platform trying to p!ss in.

(p.s. I'm not a member of any politial party, I prefer to vote on the merits of each candidate.)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

seamus wrote: »
    ....Looking at the one from Amsterdam, it's clearly on stilts and not just floating on the water....No, it's a solid structure, not a boat that they're proposing.

Ah, but if you point that out then everyone can't have a good row about how silly the new Green policy is. Emprical evidence should never come in the way of a good rant.

Also the Greens don't hold the balance of power do they? My view towards the Greens is that if they want to affect any environmental change (how ever small) it's better to be on the train p!ssing out the window, than standing on the platform trying to p!ss in.

Not far off though, without them in coalition FF could have been in trouble, which gave them an incredibly strong position to get what they wanted. The fact that so little has been done shows that either they didn't ask for enough, or it was ignored and they're too timid to make it public.

I'm not anti Green btw, I just really hate it when people claim that they're making a difference when all they're doing is perpetuating a broken system that's in serious need of reform. I wouldn't vote for any of the shower, from any party that's running in my area. Basterds (thanks Quentin) the lot of 'em!
    el tonto wrote: »
    Ah, but if you point that out then everyone can't have a good row about how silly the new Green policy is. Emprical evidence should never come in the way of a good rant.

Absolutely -this is the internet, the place for ranting!

Note how Greeny mcPress Officer is all quiet now though...

1. Meet with Garda Commissioner and Head of Traffic and ask that driver behaviour that endangers cyclists is specifically targeted.
    Everyone has an idea of what the Guards should be doing, which is usually out catching real criminals.:rolleyes:

2. Introduce a modest mileage rate for civil and public servants using their bikes for work

3. Set targets for all agencies and govt department in respect of cycling and cyclists - e.g. % of miles travelled by bike, no. of bikes purchased on the cycle to work scheme
    Good ideas. There is some sort of mileage allowance for using a bike though isn;t there? Also they could revoke the thousands of free parking spaces for civil servants around Dublin.
    4. Reduce the VAT on bikes and bike products to 13.5%
    Every other sporting item would have to get a reduction. Not saying thats a bad idea. Just I could see resistance from the Dept of Finance. Also since McCreevy, Fianna Fail have decided to collect tax when you spend rather than when you earn. So thats why our VAT is high and income tax low (I know thats an overly simple analysis).
    5. Introduce provisions for cycle to school groups (along the lines of walking buses)

6. Introduce a cycling element into the Green Schools Scheme
    There is some sort cycling campaign going on in schools at the moment. I dunno if its lead by the Dublin Cycling Campaign or the Greens. It was mentioned at the last meeting of the Dublin Cycling Campaign, but I can't remember the specifics of it.
    So why haven't they done it??
    Because it is largely a Fianna Fail government. And the greatest block of voters in this country are Fianna Fail. They don't give a hoot about cycle lanes etc... All your ideas are good but in Ireland there is great resistance to change and new ideas. A great deal of the populace can be very close minded and the politicians they vote for are a reflection of this. Look at abortion, divorce and gay rights. We were 20/30 years behind the rest of Europe. It is the same for cycling and public transport.

I've been reading boards for about six years but never had the time to properly devote to engaging properly. Hence the low post count. A gang of boards.ie mods came into see us in the Dail a few weeks back and it made me think again. I didn't create a pseudonym here because it's fairly obvious where I'm coming from, but thanks, Lumen, for feeling the need to 'out me' and thanks for making me feel so welcome. Is this how you treat all new posters?

@TinyExplosions. On the "token" schemes, there's nothing token about the €100m that's available every year to retrofit homes to make them energy efficient and cheaper to heat. Or rebalancing VRT and motor taxes. There are more examples of what we've done here. The cycle to work scheme has already got thousands of new bikes onto the streets, and hopefully hundreds of new cyclists. I've listed some of the firms below, which is excerpted from a newsletter that's going out to people signed up to bikescheme.ie.

@Jawgap. thanks for the feedback. I'll pass it on. It's not a cop out to say that local authorities are responsible for providing cycle facilties, it's the truth. Councillors are the people who can make Dublin and other cities better places to cycle. The Minister for the Environment does not draw up cycle paths or introduce speed limits. As far as I know the engineering work has been done on the 30kph limit in dublin city centre, councillors will have to vote to bring it in after the elections.

Our ideas (and a map showing where we'd like them to go) are contained in this ten point plan. (1.5Mb pdf)

On the Dept of Finance: The Cycle to Work Scheme will soon be up and running for civil servants and public sector workers. The Office of Public works are calling for bicycle shops and suppliers to notify their interest to be on a list from which Government employees can choose their bike from. This will be an open, rolling list and we encourage all bike shops interested to visit the OPW website website, download an application form and sign up. Following this, the Department of Finance will issue a memo to all Government Departments outlining how the scheme will operate.

I'm sorry that you're dissapointed with the Greens and intend to vote to punish the government. We have a very good record in local councils and want to send Irish Green MEPs to join the EGP, the hardest working group in the European Parliament.

I will say that the government we joined was not our first choice, but Enda was not prepared to deal with Sinn Fein, so that's the way the dice fell. It was this or FF-Labour. We took a chance to get policies - like the cycle to work scheme, and the home energy scheme, and new building and planning laws - implemented, to create green jobs and to meaningfully make the economy more sustainable while there's still time.

@TinyExplosion: sorry for the delay. :( Just getting the links and stuff in order.

Some of the organisations that have made use of the cycle to work scheme: Adobe, Aer Lingus, Airtricity, An Garda Siochana, An Post, Bank of Ireland, BOSI, Cadence Design Systems, Citi Group, Coke Cola, Custom House Fund Services, D.A.A., D.T.O., Daon, DCU, Deloitte and Touche, DIT, Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council, E.S.B., eBay, Eircom, Ericsson, GE Commercial Aviation Services, Gem Sugar, Gerard Labs, Google, Grant Thornton, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing, Iarnroid Éireann,, Ingersoll-Rand, Irish Dairy Board, Irish Museum of Modern Art, the Irish Independent, the Irish Times, IT Tallaght, Kuehne and Nagel, Mater Private, Maxwell Motors, NIBRT, Pioneer Investments, Royal College of Surgeons, RPS Group, RTE, Savils, Setanta Sports, St Patricks College, St Vincent de Paul, Standard Life, Synopsis International, Tesco, Travelers Insurance, Trinity College Dublin, Vodafone, Wyeth Medica.

I didn't create a pseudonym here because it's fairly obvious where I'm coming from

It wasn't fairly obvious at all. If you wanted to make it obvious, you could make it clear on a sig.
    but thanks, Lumen, for feeling the need to 'out me' and thanks for making me feel so welcome. Is this how you treat all new posters?

I'm sorry I made you feel unwelcome. I only pointed out the irony of the timing of your first post; I would have thought a press officer would have thicker skin. Perhaps excessive sensitivity is a prerequisite of your single-issue party membership.

Have a hug.

Lumen wrote: »
    Have a hug.

Ta. Sig a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

jesus - it's bad enough having the pamphlets stuffed through the letterbox and having those gawping eejits staring down at me from every lamppost, now the boards cycling forum is being used for crass electioneering...

connond - you are not a member of the general public, you are a press officer for a political party. You are PAID to promote that party's agenda (which you no doubt agree with, fair enough). With this in mind, I think grousing about being "outed" is a bit rich. It could even be called cynical. If a poster came along and promoted a shop he claimed to like, and it was subsequently noticed that he was in fact an employee of that shop being PAID to drum up business I'd be similarly unimpressed. I'd also be grateful to any poster who brought that deceit (or at least lack of disclosure) to my attention.

Post away - but if you're being paid to promote anything it behoves you to be honest about it.

For clarity I'll say that I have voted green in the past, and will probably do so again - but have been largely unimpressed by their performance in government and think that promises being made about the construction of floating bike parks during the greatest global economic downturn in 80 years are likely to be met with scepticism, and possibly derision.

I didn't create a pseudonym here because it's fairly obvious where I'm coming from, but thanks, Lumen, for feeling the need to 'out me' and thanks for making me feel so welcome. Is this how you treat all new posters?

It's how new posters with (shallowly) hidden agendas do and should get treated. You say you didn't create a pseudonym, but didn't make it clear that you're the Green Party press officer, and that changes the tone of your posts, and lends you added weight potentially. If you're posting about work, you should be clear about it imo.
    @TinyExplosions. On the "token" schemes...

Not a bad list there, so I'll partially retract my earlier comment -I'm in a bad mood today, and frankly am p!ssed off with the state of the country at the moment and hold all politicians responsible, hence my comments. We need a massive shake up in the country, yet there is no party willing to take the lead in this. It's not just the Greens fault, and I'd be similarly vitriolic if the FF press officer, or any other party member posted here
    I will say that the government we joined was not our first choice, but Enda was not prepared to deal with Sinn Fein, so that's the way the dice fell. It was this or FF-Labour. We took a chance to get policies - like the cycle to work scheme, and the home energy scheme, and new building and planning laws - implemented, to create green jobs and to meaningfully make the economy more sustainable while there's still time.

And unfortunately in my mind it's backfired -you've compromised your principles (at least to the average punter on the street), and that's inexcusable in my mind
    @TinyExplosion: sorry for the delay. :( Just getting the links and stuff in order.

Fair enough, and sorry for being so angry -not been a good day so far.

FWIW, I actually do appreciate the discussion that comes from parties engaging people on communities like boards, and you should be applauded for it -though I will say you'll need to get a bit of a thick skin too -this is the internet after all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

Good ideas. There is some sort of mileage allowance for using a bike though isn;t there? Also they could revoke the thousands of free parking spaces for civil servants around Dublin.

There is an allowance for use of the bike for work related things. Mileage allowance for the car is the same. Basically it doesn't cover commuting. I think they are trying to give money to those who cycle, which is a good idea as it will get more people on the roads but there is some huge overheads involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭DrGroove

I think that there is an old saying that you forgot.

'When you sup soup with the devil - use a long ladle' - and the greens certainly forgot this when they got into bed with FF. You couldn't wait to get in there.

Big business comes first with FF -whether that is deals done with developers in tents on race courses - or in boardrooms in the IFSC or golf course's.

Also in your record in government we have the
    imposition of cuts on welfare,
    Education, health
    and pensions.

No imagination applied to transport in the city and no opposition to the agenda of privatization which is coming for Dublin Bus.
    We saw the collapse of any agreements with Unions and the breaking of
    an existing agreement with them.
    The continued harassment and virtual martial law imposed on
    a small community in Mayo because of the pipeline that Shell
    are attempting to land there.
    No look at the 'finders-keepers' rule that applies to our Natural resources - for which Shell are very grat€ful I am sure.

A reversal of your views on Lisbon treaty!

But you can write off some tax against the cost of a bike
    and get good insulation in me house - I hear you say.

ALL of the above is just one view of one voter - so I am sure that
    the electorate will judge you more fairly.

Ryaner wrote: »
    There is an allowance for use of the bike for work related things. Mileage allowance for the car is the same. Basically it doesn't cover commuting. I think they are trying to give money to those who cycle, which is a good idea as it will get more people on the roads but there is some huge overheads involved.
    Getting paid to cycle to work? hmmm something not quite right about that. I'd be owed a fortune this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

connond wrote:
    @Jawgap. thanks for the feedback. I'll pass it on. It's not a cop out to say that local authorities are responsible for providing cycle facilties, it's the truth. ... The Minister for the Environment does not draw up cycle paths or introduce speed limits.
    The reality is that county/city managers make most of the decisions. Councillors have a formal function to plan bike lanes, etc., but it's the managers who have executive power. Even if councillors had real power to take care of cyclists, they still wouldn't have the funding, which is mostly held at central level.

When are the Greens going to do what everyone knows needs to be done: transfer powers from managers to directly-elected representatives, increase the range of functions held by councillors, and introduce local taxation?

Getting paid to cycle to work? hmmm something not quite right about that. I'd be owed a fortune this year.

Nope, cycling on work time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

umm hasn't this has all kind of strayed off into something that should be in the politics forum?

+1 What started as a discussion of the Green's cycling policy has descended into rants about them not supporting those nutters in Mayo.

DadaKopf wrote: »
    The reality is that county/city managers make most of the decisions. Councillors have a formal function to plan bike lanes, etc., but it's the managers who have executive power. Even if councillors had real power to take care of cyclists, they still wouldn't have the funding, which is mostly held at central level.

Good points, but councillors did vote in the busgate and will vote on the 30kph limits after the elections. Those councillors' views on cycling will play an important role in these votes.
    When are the Greens going to do what everyone knows needs to be done: transfer powers from managers to directly-elected representatives, increase the range of functions held by councillors, and introduce local taxation?
    You mean like a directly elected mayor for Dublin with executive powers? Next summer.

Apologies if anything I've posted has dragged this into political territory. I was really keen to see reaction from cyclists about the proposals we made yesterday not get unto a slanging match on corrib, or whatever.

(P.S. I can't do an automatic sig until I've made 25 posts but will do so then.]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Good points, but councillors did vote in the busgate and will vote on the 30kph limits after the elections. Those councillors' views on cycling will play an important role in these votes.
    I hope I'm misreading between the lines, but this reads to me as "you'd better vote greens if you want 30kmh limits in city centres". I hope I'm wrong.

Dónal wrote: »
    Nope, cycling on work time.
    I thought ryaner was implying that they would introduce a scheme to reward people for cycling to work.

kenmc wrote: »
    I hope I'm misreading between the lines, but this reads to me as "you'd better vote greens if you want 30kmh limits in city centres". I hope I'm wrong.
    ah come on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Thanks for the clarification. I think I understand it now. You take credit for the few crumbs dropped off the big table (most of which seem to LA initiatives, which are outside your control), and deny responsibility for anything else - right?
    Many candidates for other parties are active cyclists too. They don't seem to feel the need to seek canonisation for it, or to seek weekly photo opportunities of them on their bikes. They just cycle.
    I've been reading boards for about six years but never had the time to properly devote to engaging properly. Hence the low post count.
    Yeah, it makes sense that a party press officer would suddenly find themselves with free time on their hands slap bang in the middle of a local/euro/by election campaign. :confused:
    The cycle to work scheme has already got thousands of new bikes onto the streets, and hopefully hundreds of new cyclists.
    Is this a metaphorical 'thousands', or has someone actually done a count/survey/census?

[/QUOTE]

Damian, I'm glad that you've come on here and are willing to speak with what is probably the largest online grouping of Irish cyclists available, and I'm liking your timing.

Have a read of this thread. The best part is up until about post 130. It gives a very good insight into what people are thinking in regards to cycling.

As far as we can tell there are 3 major factors affecting people's decision to cycle:

1. The danger. We know it's not nearly as dangerous as people make out, but it does need to be addressed. The greens are trying to address this
    2. The weather. Again, we know that the weather is fine 9 days out of 10, but there still needs to be education on this rather pertinent fact.
    3. Facilities at work. This is not being addressed at all. Either by the greens or by employers. I brought it up during a poll by our employer and they didn't comment on it or even refer to it. We're now giving people tax benefits of cycling to work. Great. Now we need to encourage employers to encourage cycling. Getting your hands on a bike does not make you want to cycle to work. The promise of a hot shower, clean changing rooms and a big locker would.
    Why aren't we giving employers tax breaks to provide cycling facilities in their offices? Plenty of workplaces don't even have somewhere to put your bike, never mind somewhere to shower. How likely am I to use my brand shiny new tax-free bike to cycle to work if I have to leave it locked in public for 8 hours where it risks being stolen or vandalised?
    This IMO, would have a far greater effect on getting people out and cycling than improving cycle lanes. Employers view cyclists as nothing more than demanding irritants, and this attitude needs to be addressed.

Oh, and if you want to send me on stuff to put in your signature, I can do it for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Jesus Christ lads you are all a bunch of jaded cynics. No point in voting for any political party as they are all the same and nothing will get done, well take that attitude and you will get exactly the government you deserve and have no right to complain about it.

Connond should have been more forthcoming as to his affiliation but I think it is positive to see such interaction taking place here; I thought the same of Andrew Montague's (the Labour councillor) posting on the JC Decaux issue.

If any of you think the government cycling-related initiatives (from the Bike to Work scheme to the recent Department of Transport agenda) would have come about as a FF initiative without the Green presence in government you are seriously deluded.

On non-cycling matters the re-engineering of motor tax is an enormous achievement.

I am not a Green Party member but voted Green in the last election and will continue with high preferences in the local and European elections. I am no fan of FF but the Green influence in the current government has been nothing but positive. For size of the party (and note one not so tightly aligned as the PDs were) the Greens have surpassed my expectations. They have focused on what they can get done and worked to make these policies a reality. It is just not realistic to take the idea that with six TDs you can get everything you want, there has to be compromises with the party that has 78 TDs.

As petethedrummer says better be on the train than outside where instead of getting part of your programme actually implemented, you get zero.

blorg wrote: »
    On non-cycling matters the re-engineering of motor tax is an enormous achievement.

...if you enjoy breathing diesel particulates.

Still, even if I die of lung cancer at least the polar bears are happy.

blorg wrote: »
    Jesus Christ lads you are all a bunch of jaded cynics. No point in voting for any political party as they are all the same and nothing will get done, well take that attitude and you will get exactly the government you deserve and have no right to complain about it.

There is no point in voting for specific parties as they are the same. No matter how you vote you get the same type of government, putting profit before people, lining their and their cronies pockets with our money while people die on hospital trolleys.

There needs to be a massive change for this country to recover, and unfortunately I don't think it's possible to happen through the polls