Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Championship 2009 Commentary Thread

• 24-05-2009 1:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

Very disappointed to turn on the GAA coverage today and see those same three muppets Colm O'Rourke, Pat Spillane, and Joe Brolly spouting on the same old crap for yet another season. Michael Lyster is fine as a presenter, but each one of these have the personality of a stamp.

Could they not introduce some new blood, someone to liven things up ffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

Nothing wrong there, apart from the fact that I would have neutral analysts, pathetic listening to Brolly trying to defend this dreadful shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I actually think these three are the best anaylists on the Sunday game. Sure Spillane spouts on about Kerry a bit too much, but I think there is a good balance between the three. Brolly and Spillane are constantly getting on each others nerves and O'Rourke often has to act as the voice of reason. I thought it was hilarious yesterday when Brolly was defending Derrys performance and he kept harping on about systems and tactics. Spillane told him if he heard him mention the word systems again, he would ram it back down his throat. The others obviously know how easy it is to get up Spillanes nose and do so at every opportunity.

Who would you suggest as new anaylists to liven things up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I have no idea what you are talking about.

Spillane and Brolly have a huge knowledge of the game. O Rourke is getting there but his analysis is no where near as good.

Can you suggest an alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Hockney

Also strongly disagree with the OP. I thought it was highly entertaining stuff yesterday between Spillane and Brolly!

Delighted to see Spillane back as a pundit, he's way more suited to it than presenting.

Granted Brolly was stupidly defending the putrid game that it was, wheeling out the usual "it's Ulster football, physicality is expected" drivel, but it was still very entertaining stuff, and miles ahead of the boring stuff TG4 are putting out there with the likes of Coman Goggins.

Also, how can you refer to Pat Spillane as anything but an expert when it comes to football?

P.S I'm not a Kerryman....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

oh great, this must be the 3rd sunday bashing thread in a month. f*ck sake, go watch tv3, there new aint they? you wont be long switching back.

the sunday is excellent with the best there is. if these lads were no popular, they wouldnt be getting renewed contracts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Jeaasus I cant wait for a good decent scrap if this is happening after 1 Ulster match.

Brolly is awful on T.V. how he can defend the tripe that was on last Sunday is beyond me. Pat Spillane is very entertaing and while sometimes he can get up your nose a bit he is at least passionate and I think they should give him a 2 minute slot to go on a solo rant. Colm O'Rourke is a very fair pundit. But Joe Brolly and Tohill are pathetic.

I suppose to keep people happy neutral analysists shoul be used as much as possible. My choice would be from Tony Davis, Colm O'Rourke. Pat Spillane, Tommy Lyons, Luke Dempsey and Martin Carney. I am sure lads who have retired like Declan Browne, John Crofton, Ja Fallon, Keith Barr or Mick Lawlor could be given a chance at an odd game or on an odd Sunday night
    I have found the 2 Derry lads to be very boring whether it is Brolly or Tohill. There are as close to planks as you will get on T.V. I wonder are they put there to urge us to get an early night:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭uriah

LeoB wrote: »
    Jeaasus I cant wait for a good decent scrap if this is happening after 1 Ulster match.

Brolly is awful on T.V. how he can defend the tripe that was on last Sunday is beyond me. Pat Spillane is very entertaing and while sometimes he can get up your nose a bit he is at least passionate and I think they should give him a 2 minute slot to go on a solo rant. Colm O'Rourke is a very fair pundit. But Joe Brolly and Tohill are pathetic.

I suppose to keep people happy neutral analysists shoul be used as much as possible. My choice would be from Tony Davis, Colm O'Rourke. Pat Spillane, Tommy Lyons, Luke Dempsey and Martin Carney. I am sure lads who have retired like Declan Browne, John Crofton, Ja Fallon, Keith Barr or Mick Lawlor could be given a chance at an odd game or on an odd Sunday night
    I have found the 2 Derry lads to be very boring whether it is Brolly or Tohill. There are as close to planks as you will get on T.V. I wonder are they put there to urge us to get an early night:P

I agree completely about umbrella and tohill. umbrella the worst of all and the way he speaks down his nose adds to the irritation of his defence of the "football" we got on sunday.

Agree about 2 minute slot for spillane rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Agree that Brolly is a bore.I like Spillane as at least he displays some passion and is entertaining as well as having great knowledge of the game.

Looking forward to this weekend and seeing Ger Loughnane back in pundit action.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 The Abstract

I taught that Brolly saying he was delighted to see Monaghan out of the Ulster Championship was digraceful. He said this on the basis that they were not interested in playing football, after watching that game Sunday i taught neither side were, a total hypocrite.

well i hope the RTE bashers are watching the game now on tv3. absolutely terrible stuff. RTE sports coverage is 2nd to none, when it comes to TV3 and Setanta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

think o cinnede was/is excellent and would be more knowledgeable and entertaining than any of the 3 lads. tony davis is also excellent and honest.

personally, i'd prob get rid of Brolly, his knowledge isnt great and just isnt likeable. spillane hasnt as much knowledge as you might think and anyone who has been under his stewardship of the St.Goban's football team in bantry will agree. he is stuck in the dark ages who can't compehend more modern football thinking like retaining possession. his knowledge isn't up to scratch and will never be Kerry Manager or anywhere near. however he's entertaining and thats enough, same as dunphy for the soccer. rourke is somewhere in the middle of everything, just alright.

i didnt see any tv today as i was at killarney but i watched the tyrone v armagh game last week on both rte and BBC NI and the analysis on BBC NI was far better as they were actually watching the game in detail rather than relying on TV images whereas the rte lads seemed to overuse cliches and generic terms and ideas. Ill be watching more ulster football on BBC from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

well i hope the RTE bashers are watching the game now on tv3. absolutely terrible stuff. RTE sports coverage is 2nd to none, when it comes to TV3 and Setanta.

Dont think anyone was really bashing R.T.E its the people they have on the sports programme doing analyis. Brolly again today was pathetic. As was stated he is a hypocrite. It was a better game than the muck his own county played in. Mind you the whole of Croke Pk looked very flat. The players gave it their all from both sides but something was missing. At least there was no spite in the play. As for T.V 3 Anyone who ever listened to Martin Brehoney? on the radio could tell you he as much personality as a smelly sock. T.V 3 just should not do sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

LeoB wrote: »
    Dont think anyone was really bashing R.T.E its the people they have on the sports programme doing analyis. Brolly again today was pathetic. As was stated he is a hypocrite. It was a better game than the muck his own county played in. Mind you the whole of Croke Pk looked very flat. The players gave it their all from both sides but something was missing. At least there was no spite in the play. As for T.V 3 Anyone who ever listened to Martin Brehoney? on the radio could tell you he as much personality as a smelly sock. T.V 3 just should not do sport.

Aggression, enthuasism, skill, talent...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Anthony Tohill is the most biased analyst ever. He won't ever criticize a team no matter how **** they played.

How in this current climate does a mong like this have a job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

cant stand tohil and his awful/boring voice and his pathetic excuse for sideburns!

00017dcc096.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

mink_man wrote: »
    cant stand tohil and his awful/boring voice and his pathetic excuse for sideburns!

00017dcc096.jpg
    Grown from years of ass licking teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I just want to remind people of the forum charter, includes TV personalities as well
    NO WILD ACCUSATIONS,ABUSE OR VITRIOLIC RUMOURS OF PLAYERS,REFEREES OR GAA OFFICIALS AND/OR GAA EMPLOYEES.

Any derogatory or abusive language towards a player,official,team and/or province will not be tolerated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Did anyone see him tonight on the Sunday Game? This man is probably the antichrist of sporting pundits, watch out Simon Cowell. The man could not say one good thing about any team and ripped Kerry to shreds on it. I imagine if Pat Spillane was on it he would have lacerated him over his antics. He was so so biased against Kerry and Anthony Tohill gave a much more balanced opinion while criticising Kerry also pointed out the positives as of McStay was total negativity.

Kerry were bad today but are still the best football team in Ireland on merit and McStay ripped them to shreds, I guess he never got over 04 & 06 and still holds it in for Jack & Co.

think a few tyrone lads might argue with you there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Heard him say Noel Leary was hard done having that free brought in at the end and just left the room...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭ccosgrave

I actually quite like Joe Brolly and Pat Spillane and I find what they have to say to be quite interesting. O'Rourke is dreadful though, I simply hate listening to the man. Michael Lester can be painful to listen to at times, but he's not too bad.

My biggest gripe is with the commentating though - Ger Canning is among the worst commentators on the planet. I've been listening to him for years, so I can almost tune him out at this point, but he ruins games for me sometimes. There's this one note he hits sometimes when things are getting exciting that pisses me off, usually found when he puts emphasis on the word "superb".

There are two commentators that I do enjoy listening to on RTE, just can't remember their names at the minute. The "Andy Gray" figures are all interchangeable though, they're never really remarkable for me.

The commentators for other sports are much better than those for GAA in my opinion, much better voices and styles.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

He said that the Cavan-Fermanagh game was very enjoyable game to watch... The game was ****e!! I'm a Cavan man and even I could see that. I hate when people just talk ****e for the sake of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I used to think it was just me, but I'm glad other people actually see how much of a tool this man is. He is full of s**t. I think he is probably one of the only analyists on the Sunday Game that hasn't ever won an All-Ireland medal, well probably Martin Carney as well (who is also a pain the ass).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭corcaioch

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Did anyone see him tonight on the Sunday Game? This man is probably the antichrist of sporting pundits, watch out Simon Cowell. The man could not say one good thing about any team and ripped Kerry to shreds on it. I imagine if Pat Spillane was on it he would have lacerated him over his antics. He was so so biased against Kerry and Anthony Tohill gave a much more balanced opinion while criticising Kerry also pointed out the positives as of McStay was total negativity.

Kerry were bad today but are still the best football team in Ireland on merit and McStay ripped them to shreds, I guess he never got over 04 & 06 and still holds it in for Jack & Co.

Dublin and Meath both got the most negative coverage.

...and Tyrone would have to be the best football team in Ireland, on merit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Carney and McStay have two things in common

both from Mayo
    both talk ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

hup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

i think he's genuine. no sound bites. straight from the head. no agendas.
    i think hes good.
    think offaly man is it rigney? or duignan thats it on the hurlers panel is good too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

CyberDave wrote: »
    I used to think it was just me, but I'm glad other people actually see how much of a tool this man is. He is full of s**t. I think he is probably one of the only analyists on the Sunday Game that hasn't ever won an All-Ireland medal, well probably Martin Carney as well (who is also a pain the ass).

That means nothing as regards knowledge of the game. Plenty of people who won All-Irelands and haven't great knowledge of the game. Mickey Harte and Joe Kernan never won All-Irelands as players but had plenty of knowledge as regards football.
    netwhizkid wrote: »

Kerry were brutal yesterday. Cork should have destroyed them. Gooch had a poor game, Tommy Griffin as an experiment at CB failed, Kerry had no plan once Tommy Walsh went off.

Now Kerry have great players and a lot of players either injured or coming back and usually peak in August/September anyway so they can't be written off. Along with Jacko back at the helm I expect them to be in and around the business end of the Champ.

But yesterday they were poor, very poor.

oh look a sunday game bashing thread. dont get many of these lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Kevmy, you're being a bit harsh on Kerry there calling them brutal. They showed a lot of resolve to come back from 5 points down and Kennelly's 2nd half preformance and the full back line's all day were very encouraging. If Kerry had taken their chances they would have won pretty comfortably. But you're completely right about Griffin, he was skinned by O'Neill for the goal and struggled to beat him in the air. Gooch was frustrating again yesterday, he didn't start showing for the ball until after the penalty but the equalising point was pure class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Seamu$

kevmy wrote: »
    Gooch had a poor game, Tommy Griffin as an experiment at CB failed, Kerry had no plan once Tommy Walsh went off.

I agree on the first point and the third (although Gooch's last point was unreal) but I'm surprised to see 2 people say Griffin was poor. I thought he did quite well. He lost O'Neill for the goal because he had to cover a man coming through that had gone past Quirke & no-one then picked up O'Neill. Thought his runs up the middle were excellent and he got through a huge amount of work. I think Killian Young will struggle to get back into the side.

gooch's point was overcarrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Threads about analysts merged, no need to have loads of individual ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭sslazio11

corcaigh07 wrote: »
    gooch's point was overcarrying.

Probably, but considering Anthony Lynch was hanging off him for the duration of the incident, I'd say it about balances out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

sslazio11 wrote: »
    Probably, but considering Anthony Lynch was hanging off him for the duration of the incident, I'd say it about balances out.
    Yes it was definitly overcarrying, but he should have been given a free 3-4 times.
    In fact it worked out well for us, it was an inspirational point wasn't it. Three pulling off him, he shrugs them off and pops it over the bar.

Very disappointed to turn on the GAA coverage today and see those same three muppets Colm O'Rourke, Pat Spillane, and Joe Brolly spouting on the same old crap for yet another season. Michael Lyster is fine as a presenter, but each one of these have the personality of a stamp.

Could they not introduce some new blood, someone to liven things up ffs?

How is joe brolly still on the sunday game?
    Why do we need a barrister (speaking as a barrister) as a pundit?

Oh yes, it's because of the violence in derry football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

Spillane is some tool....he's actually outdoing his normal obnoxious self today, he is being his vitriolic and condescending best today and really trying to rise Joe Brolly. One of the two of them are going to walk soon ....they hate each other.

Culchie wrote: »
    Spillane is some tool....he's actually outdoing his normal obnoxious self today, he is being his vitriolic and condescending best today and really trying to rise Joe Brolly. One of the two of them are going to walk soon ....they hate each other.

Did you LISTEN to joe brolly? Condescending, obnoxious, defending the derry thugs as a legal adviser in his day job and defending the indefensible on RTE when derry is playing. Talking down everybody else and dominating the discussion (allowed to do so by Ml. Lyster) with his long-winded contributions. He thinks he is in a courtroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

Anybody else find him cringing to listen to? Watching the Galway v Sligo today and he really was bad. He talked an awful amount of crap.

Oh, and what's up with his attempts to say "debut"? He seems to say it as day-boo:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭davestar

Col200sx wrote: »
    Anybody else find him cringing to listen to? Watching the Galway v Sligo today and he really was bad. He talked an awful amount of crap.

Oh, and what's up with his attempts to say "debut"? He seems to say it as day-boo:D

marty morrisey about alan costello " not bad for a 34 year old " , cos hes 24 maybe

i agree :D

marty when gary sice came on "i heard he was a bit disappointed when he wasn't in the first 15" . . state the obvious marty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Did Marty ever play GAA as he has not a clue regarding the rules, also Bernard Flynn where in the name of jaysus did he get the dark hair, he even has the chest dyed, always knew he was a ponce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

A great commentator. Don't be so critical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

They are billing next week as Silverware Sunday :rolleyes: Pathetic.
    Also I think they lack replays of important moments - they have bad commentry and punditry. Also i hate mat cooper.
    First time in a while I've watched a dublin match at home. I'll defo be back in croker for the game against kildare.

Maybe I should use a different forum for this, but if im honest, i only want to see what other GAA fans\ players think of TV3's coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

I actually prefer them to RTE's doom and gloom merchants. Marty Morriesey, Ger Canning and Joe Brolly do my head in.

it's pathetic . silverware sunday lol :D

i prefer rte , despite having that ****joe brolly on it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

I think in the studio the coverage is quite good. However the commentator today seemed to repeat himself a lot. I'd much rather listen to Dara Moloney.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

He's awful. The only research he seems to do is when players have birthdays. He told us twice today that Padriag Joyce turned 33 this April...

Its clear to me that he never played the game. I've seen some amazing point being scored and he doesn't react to it because he doesn't realize how hard it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭TheSpecialOne

silverware sunday there gathering inspiration from sky i see who pride themselves with "survival sunday" and "grandslam sunday"....tv3 really are rubbish there the westmeath of coverage!