Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster supporters: Did you cheer for Leinster or Leicester today?

• 23-05-2009 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I always maintained that if Munster didn't win the semi, I would support Leinster. As an Irishman I naturally felt that the right thing to do was to support my country's team in the final even if I had supported Munster previously. Was this an ethical decision?
    (I ask because my Leinster friends are calling me a dirty langer for celebrating Leinster's victory today ;) )

Well judging by the amount of support Leinster got today,our Munster brothers did a good thing that will never be forgetten.

They will always now have Leinster support at finals,although the already did tbh.

Fair play lads,thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Of course I shouted for them. I'm a proud Munster supporter and always will be, but its fantastic to see another Irish province coming through and winning at the top level. Fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

of course there was a bit of conflicting emotions at the beginning because of the manor of Munsters complitition to Leinster on the 2nd of May but once I saw they fantastic forward display of Leinster this evening I was up roaring shouting them on to victory today, it was indeed a joy to behold.

A fantastic performance and well deserved victory (well the last three games) by Lenister today, well done :D

*dunno if I made sense I am rather pissed at the mo ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

I quietly supported them:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

yep was celebrating with every drop goal, try or final whistle Leinster got although it was aa bit odd im so happy for Leinster, they deserved to bring the trophy back to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Seems there was massive support for Leinster from Munster today. Saw a few Munster jerseys in the crowd giving it loads, was great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭jick the rapper

a lot of munster supporters in edinburgh today who where only there to deny leinster supporters their tickets, and for the piss up and to wear munster jerseys!

scumbags!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

a lot of munster supporters in edinburgh today who where only there to deny leisnter supporters their tickets, and for the piss up and to wear munster jerseys!

scumbags!

Err, not sure if that's a serious post or not but there were plenty of tickets available in the week before the game, any Leinster fan could have gotten his/her hands on one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

As a Munster fan, It was nice to see a new irish team winning and creating a bit of history which is hard to do. Fair play Leinster

a lot of munster supporters in edinburgh today who where only there to deny leinster supporters their tickets, and for the piss up and to wear munster jerseys!

scumbags!

Sorry but their were loads of tickets available.Any supporter can go to the final,Munster fans were more than entitled to.They gave Leinster their support.What more do you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I want the truth God damn it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

scumbags!

Man, that's just stupid.

Saw fans from all over Europe there.

The vast vast majority of Munster fans I saw got behind Leinster, and for that they've got my gratitude. Decent thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Yes I was cheering for Leinster today.I'm delighted they won.It's a true reward for a lot of good Irish players who have served their province and country well through the years.

Especially delighted for BOD.It would have been a shame if the best Irish player didn't get his hands on that cup.

Shan75 wrote: »
    Yes I was cheering for Leinster today.I'm delighted they won.It's a true reward for a lot of good Irish players who have served their province and country well through the years.

Especially delighted for BOD.It would have been a shame if the best Irish player didn't get his hands on that cup.

Yep! Screaming for Leinster out here in east asia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

I was screaming my head off for Leinster. A hearty congratulations from me. I was genuinely delighted. well done Leinster, you sealed the deal: Triple crown, championship, grand slam, Magners league and Heineken cup. Ireland rocks!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Thread title better be a rhetorical question. Any munster fan NOT shouting for Leinster today needs to be taken out, shot and turned into glue. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Watched the game in a pub in Limerick and everyone was supporting Leinster, you could tell by the oohhs and aahhs that were being shouted out. I was delighted for Sexton, he really seemed to enjoy the big day, hopefully a star of the future.

Any True Irish rugby supporter would have been proud of the Irish players performances yesterday. It does look good for the future of the sport in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

I was happy to cheer on Leinster yesterday and I was delighted that they won. Leinster's win is good for Irish rugby and it's completes the holy trinity of all three major trophies (6N, ML and HC) for Ireland this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

Was watching the game in O'Neills with all my Munster buddies and a Connacht lad and we were all screaming and roaring for Leinster. Found that match as tense as the Grand Slam winning match against Wales. Well done Leinster!!

BOD seems to be on a personal mission to win every medal possible in professional rugby this year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

theKramer wrote: »

BOD seems to be on a personal mission to win every medal possible in professional rugby this year :D

Watch out SA, he's coming to get ye :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

I am sick of these threads. We've already had a pre-match thread of "Munsterfans, who will you be supporting in the final?". So if Munster fans were not supporting Leinster today. Its their choice. Let it be! Did every Irish Rugby Supporter support England against South Africa in the last World Cup final? Probably not, but that's their choice. Lets get rid of these stupid threads once and for all and let the Leinster fans celebrate and let the Munster fans be in awe of another Irish team's Heineken Cup victory!

Peter B wrote: »
    I am sick of these threads. We've already had a pre-match thread of "Munsterfans, who will you be supporting in the final?". So if Munster fans were not supporting Leinster today. Its their choice. Let it be! Did every Irish Rugby Supporter support England against South Africa in the last World Cup final? Probably not, but that's their choice. Lets get rid of these stupid threads once and for all and let the Leinster fans celebrate and let the Munster fans be in awe of another Irish team's Heineken Cup victory!

I wouldnt call it "being in awe" mate. I'm delighted they won, fantastic for Irish rugby and Leinster genuinely deserve it, but whats to be in awe about? Ulster's victory and Munster in '06 and '08 ring any bells? As rugby fans we expect our national team and our provinces to compete well at the highest level. I'm delighted its Leinster's turn, they're a fantastic squad, but awe? Eh...No.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Lets get rid of these stupid threads once and for all

I couldn't agree more. I appreciate that not everybody on this forum has been watching rugby a long time but these threads are real Rugby 101 stuff and it's a little embarassing. Any Munster supporter that didn't cheer for Leinster today... isn't a Munster supporter (or properly versed in rugby culture). That's the end of the story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

England are not an Irish Province,and Im sure some did support them.
    If you are sick of these threads,why do you read them:confused:
    Roll on The Lions tour,and World Cup:D.!!!!!!!

I wouldnt call it "being in awe" mate. I'm delighted they won, fantastic for Irish rugby and Leinster genuinely deserve it, but whats to be in awe about? Ulster's victory and Munster in '06 and '08 ring any bells? As rugby fans we expect our national team and our provinces to compete well at the highest level. I'm delighted its Leinster's turn, they're a fantastic squad, but awe? Eh...No.... :D

After the 2006 and 2008 matches I was over the moon. Maybe jealous is a better word than "in awe". I am so jealous of the way Leinster fans must be feeling now. It is just such an amazing feeling for your team to have just won the Heineken Cup.

holly1 wrote: »
    England are not an Irish Province,and Im sure some did support them.
    If you are sick of these threads,why do you read them:confused:
    Roll on The Lions tour,and World Cup:D.!!!!!!!

England are a northern hemisphere team. Should we support our neighbours and fellow Europeans ahead of supporting a southern hemisphere team? That is completely up to you. In no way should we feel compelled to support anybody.

This thread is just a repeat of what has already been said before. And as for people saying any Munster fans not supporting Leinster are not true rugby fans, that is total crap. A lot of Munster fans have built up relationships with other clubs over the past 10 or so years of European rugby. They have every right to support who they want, when they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

I was in scotts bar cheering them on. Good crowd of Munster supporters there roaring at the TV.

I found myself biting my nails for the last 15 mins. Great game and delighted they won, As a Munster supporter and and Irishman, its great to see the huge collection of trophies and medals we are amassing. I'm seriously looking forward to Next years 6 nations and the world cup. Ireland really are doing well.

Only thing i wont be able to stand now for the next while in the media is BOD this and BOD that. one man doesn't make a team and i hate the media's fasination with him. Hes a brilliant player, just let him get on with what he does best, destroying those opposite him in the centre.

Have to say Sexton is a serious player. Defo shows he deserves to be ROG successor. what a natural talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

i cheered on leicester being a gutted munster fan

a poll might suffice here op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

I wasn't shouting out loud for anyone but was hoping that Leinster would win it.

Well done Leinster

theKramer wrote: »

magners is ours though :pac:

as for people saying any Munster fans not supporting Leinster are not true rugby fans, that is total crap

Sorry, they're not true Ireland rugby fans.

NickNolte wrote: »
    Sorry, they're not true Ireland rugby fans.

Rubbish!

Rubbish!

It's just my opinion. I wouldn't take any Munster 'fan' seriously as an Ireland supporter if they supported an English team over Leinster. Unless there was a discernable reason for doing so.

England are a northern hemisphere team. Should we support our neighbours and fellow Europeans ahead of supporting a southern hemisphere team? That is completely up to you. In no way should we feel compelled to support anybody.

This thread is just a repeat of what has already been said before. And as for people saying any Munster fans not supporting Leinster are not true rugby fans, that is total crap. A lot of Munster fans have built up relationships with other clubs over the past 10 or so years of European rugby. They have every right to support who they want, when they want.

I agree with this point. If you travel to away games you do build relationships with other sets of fans. Travelled to Biarritz in 2005 when Munster were beaten in HC quarter finals, have to say the fans there are just amazing, and they threw such a party for the weekend, was a great celebration of rugby overall, and i'm sure there's plenty of other clubs that are the same.

Absolutely. I'm not saying that you can't support who you want. Just don't be expected to be taken seriously as an Ireland rugby supporter if you're partying away and supporting your buddys in the South of France instead of your compatriots and Irish rugby colleagues when they're playing each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

I was supporting leicester, after all the s**** leinster talked about after the sf i jus cudnt bring myself to support leinster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

my reasons for supporting leinster.
    1) Go Ireland!
    2) Leicester are the cnuts who stole a heineken cup final from us, and took our thomond park record, we have much more reason to have a rivalry with them than the neighbours.
    3) The whole Munster v Leinster thing was a bad attempt at drumming up rivalry by the IRFU to sell jerseys and match tickets. Theres nothing really in it.

While the emotion was nowhere near seeing Munster win it, I was still on the edge of my seat shouting Leinster home yesterday.

Also, for the Leinster fans who care whether Munster fans were shouting for them or not, why?! It doesnt matter who else cheers for ye, shout for your own team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I hate this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

RHunce wrote: »
    i cheered on leicester being a gutted munster fan who only has a short short memory

a poll might suffice here op
    fyp.

Depp wrote: »
    I was supporting leicester, after all the s**** leinster talked about after the sf i jus cudnt bring myself to support leinster

What 's****' was that exactly? Please don't show up at any Ireland games. We don't need your support.

Absolutely. I'm not saying that you can't support who you want. Just don't be expected to be taken seriously as an Ireland rugby supporter if you're partying away and supporting your buddys in the South of France instead of your compatriots and Irish rugby colleagues when they're playing each other.

Did I not state that I was supporting Leinster yesterday? What is it you want exactly? Everyone wearing Leinster jerseys? Just because someone may have particular ties to another region or club does not make them any less a supporter of Irish rugby. And quite frankly who are you to question anyone's loyalty to this nation?

Did I not state that I was supporting Leinster yesterday?

Sorry, when I say 'you' I was speaking generically... and hypothetically. My point wasn't aimed at you specifically.
    What is it you want exactly? Everyone wearing Leinster jerseys?

Of course not. I don't own a Munster jersey. But I would, and always have, support Munster when they're playing a team from outside of Ireland. I'm not asking Munster fans to hang Leinster flags out their car windows... just a little compatriot support. Especially seeing as we're all wearing green at the end of the day.
    Just because someone may have particular ties to another region or club does not make them any less a supporter of Irish rugby.

I agree. I played rugby in London for years and a lot of my mates were Wasps supporters. I went to a lot of Wasps games and supported them to a good extent. I'd still never support them over Munster or any of the home provinces though. However, if people have a good reason for supporting another team when they're playing an inter-provincial rival then fair enough.
    And quite frankly who are you to question anyone's loyalty to this nation?

It's an open forum. I can question who and what I like. As I said, it's just my opinion. Any Munster fan who would support any team that plays against Leinster just because it's Leinster - I would not consider a loyal Irish rugby supporter. The same goes for Leinster fans. You don't have to agree with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

As a dyed in the wool Munster supporter I was cheering as much as any Leinster fan in my DG local - another great day for Irish rugby - let's enjoy it while we can!!! As for putting up with slagging from Leinster fans after the semi-final I think we only got our just desserts. I for one never lost a chance for a 'gentle' jibe at my Leinster supporting friends after a bad performance such as the woeful display at Thomond Park on the 4th April ( 22-5) wasn't it!! :D

What goes around comes around and you have to just grin and bear it! I lost a packet on the final - as had I gambled that Leinster might run away with it - that they didn't did not in the least detract from my pleasure in the outcome.

It's been a great few months and it's not over yet with the Lions Tour and the 2010 Magners League, HC, Six Nations and the 2011 World Cup to look forward to!!!.........:pac::pac::pac:

C'MON MUNSTER

zuroph wrote: »
    Also, for the Leinster fans who care whether Munster fans were shouting for them or not, why?! It doesnt matter who else cheers for ye, shout for your own team.

I think this is the way fans should think. Many people care so much whether other team supporters are supporting you. All you should really care about is you supporting your own team and not be pissed off when someone else doesn't.

If I was a Leinster fan I would have been hoping Munster lost to Leicester in Thomond Park in that last pool match a few years ago. I have no gripe against Leinster fans for wanting this.

Everyone, feel free to support who you want when you want!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

This thread is epic fail.

Bunch of s**t-stirring s**t-talk tbh...

zuroph wrote: »
    fyp.

this sort of stuff always happens to me lol, maybe im punching above my weight on boards

Of course not. I don't own a Munster jersey. But I would, and always have, support Munster when they're playing a team from outside of Ireland. I'm not asking Munster fans to hang Leinster flags out their car windows... just a little compatriot support. Especially seeing as we're all wearing green at the end of the day.

So you dont think there was compatriot support from Munster yesterday?

By the looks of things this thread is heading south so i'm gonna leave it there. Like you said, we all wear green at the end of the day

So you dont think there was compatriot support from Munster yesterday?

No, of course there was. Lots of it. My point is aimed at the minority to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Care to point out when a leinster player talked shít?

no?

Yes, leinster fans went OTT- of course they would.

We had to listen to Munster fans doing the same thing before the SF too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

What you leinster people dont understand is that for us its like celtic and rangers, it just doesnt work