Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sat Spin - 23 May - Dublin

• 22-05-2009 10:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭

anyone?
    Don't care where or what time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Raam wrote: »
    anyone?

Oh me -- North Side --- 90 mins -- some intervals up Howth Hill * 4. iei up the hill down the hill -- down to St. Annes ( a sprint or too) and back.

9am -- home by 11am to cook your dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

was hoping for something easy. Quite tired. Maybe a patented Lumen recovery spin over Devil's Glen, Shay Elliot and Slieve Mann?

Ah yes, I have loads of energy not having raced... you can take it easy up the hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭MadHatter

I'm planning a trip into Wicklow if your interested. One-way from Castleknock to Naas, via Sally Gap, Luggala, Laragh, Wicklow Gap and Blessington. Not planning on going too fast, if you want to tag along for some/all of it.

Will be heading out early, sometime between 7am and 8am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭decrrrrrr

Looking to hit Wicklow for the 1st time tomorrow so a guide or 2 would be good.

I definately need to cover some of the Wicklow 200 course, ideally the Sally Gap section. From there, I was thinking of going to Laragh and getting onto the return route of the 200 from there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Looking to do around 100ish (slightly over ideally) but to be home in time for the match, preferably in time to get into a pub in time for the match. so home by 3 is the target.
    Dundrum luas @9?
    Could do something like the first half of the W200 including the lakes, then home via the N81?

Alternatively this
    Sally/Lakes/WicklowGap/Laragh(foodstop maybe)/Roundwood/Rejoining last section of W200.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Dont know if anybody is interested if I did a route up of say 100km-120km around the backroads and short sharp climbs of North County Dublin-Meath-Louth.There are many cracking laneways around here that can test ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

I am up for something easy and not really hilly..

kenmc wrote: »
    Looking to do around 100ish (slightly over ideally) but to be home in time for the match, preferably in time to get into a pub in time for the match. so home by 3 is the target.
    Dundrum luas @9?
    Could do something like the first half of the W200 including the lakes, then home via the N81?

If you can make it an earlier start I'd be interested. Am flexible on the route.

bcmf wrote: »
    Dont know if anybody is interested if I did a route up of say 100km-120km around the backroads and short sharp climbs of North County Dublin-Meath-Louth.There are many cracking laneways around here that can test ya.

Agree, some lovely routes up that way. I need to get into Wicklow this weekend as final prep for WW200. But planning to do a north dublin spin next weekend as part of my "taper" ;)

could try and organise a route for next sat.Plan to go down to Carlow to do the 150 km down threre.

MadHatter wrote: »
    If you can make it an earlier start I'd be interested. Am flexible on the route.
    How early? 8:30? 8? 7:30 :eek:?

OK, so far we are cycling to Naas via North County Dublin including circuits of Howth and around the Blessington Lakes over the Sally Gap. The spin will be flat at an easy pace with serious hills so that we can recover.

Have you considered a career in met eireann?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

fook me you's are fit

im only starting off on a road bike this weekend having been using a mountain bike to do 3 x 25k spins a week

id love to do that lads , but it be a long long while before im that fit id say

How early? 8:30? 8? 7:30 :eek:?

Say 8:30am? That'll give me a little time do a few laps of Dundrum before I stumble across the meeting spot. Been there once before, but my knowledge of the south side is Raam-like so I'll probably get lost somewhere on the way.

8:30 is early. But I suppose it has to be done! Right then, 8:30 it is!
    Yawn.....

nothing like an easy spin to gets the legs going

I'm planning to go home to Sally Gap to Lacken to Donard to Slievemane to Laragh to Sally Gap and then home. Need to practice that part of the WW200.

Pace wouldn't be fast since, well, I'm not fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭decrrrrrr

8:30 is early. But I suppose it has to be done! Right then, 8:30 it is!
    Yawn.....

Will go with what is decided for the Dundrum Spin, but 9/9.30 would be a better time for me. I need to get down from Louth and get the van parked up...

Dónal wrote: »
    I'm planning to go home to Sally Gap to Lacken to Donard to Slievemane to Laragh to Sally Gap and then home. Need to practice that part of the WW200.

Pace wouldn't be fast since, well, I'm not fast.
    That pretty much *IS* the wicklow 200!

Wicklow 160km hopefully :). That is, if I can find my way from Donard onwards.

I won't be going from Enniskerry, and I won't be going back towards Rathdrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Will be keeping an eye on this. A nice relaxed spin around wicklow sounds good to me. Will there be a tea and cake stop?

Ah, I'm on my own..... have fun in wicklow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Billy Whizz

I'll be heading out few 3-4 hours around North County Dublin. Will take in a few climbs but keep the pace down.

I'm thinking NCD might be where it's at tomorrow.

Planning to leave at around 10 if you're on for it.

Sounds good. Where abouts you starting from, roughly...

decrrrrrr wrote: »
    Will go with what is decided for the Dundrum Spin, but 9/9.30 would be a better time for me. I need to get down from Louth and get the van parked up...

Okay if it suits better, I can do a 9am start. Just on to a mate (non-boardsie) there who's a "maybe" for coming along too if nobody minds!

So 9am in Dundrum it is then?
    Should we split this into 2 threads then to stop it getting messier, NCD and Wicklow? Mods?

So 9am in Dundrum it is then?
    Should we split this into 2 threads then to stop it getting messier, NCD and Wicklow? Mods?

This is my one. Wicklow spanners... get out

what time?where? see if I can do it?My young fella is playing ball at 11.

This is my one. Wicklow spanners... get out
    Initially was open to all...
    anyone?

Initially was open to all...

In that case, the thread is all yours :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭conbob

Acoustic wrote: »
    fook me you's are fit

im only starting off on a road bike this weekend having been using a mountain bike to do 3 x 25k spins a week

id love to do that lads , but it be a long long while before im that fit id say

chill. thats good goin anyways :)

So to summarise:
    Wicklow heading spin; Dundrum Luas Bridge @9am; kenmc, madhatter (+1?), decrrrr
    Anyone else who's heading along, please add a 'thanks' to this entry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I am on for a north side wheelsucking session. I may have 1 or 2 others with me. When and where?

Will be at the viewpoint at around ten tomorrow if anyone wants to tag along for a long one with me and Nietzsomething.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

So to summarise:
    Wicklow heading spin; Dundrum Luas Bridge @9am; kenmc, madhatter (+1?), decrrrr
    Anyone else who's heading along, please add a 'thanks' to this entry...

Is that across from the old tesco store carpark, maybe tesco is still open, or is it by Joe Dalys cycles bridge?

I am on for a north side wheelsucking session. I may have 1 or 2 others with me. When and where?

I've arranged to hook up with Billy Whizz. We are gonna leave Portmarnock at 10am and head into the North County if that interests you. No idea on a route or even a distance but the plan is to feck the recovery spin and put in a hard effort... well I'll do as much as I'm able for so it's every man for himself if anyone gets dropped!

I'm hoping to get about 70km in, I suppose.

eggie wrote: »
    Is that across from the old tesco store carpark, maybe tesco is still open, or is it by Joe Dalys cycles bridge?
    It's closer to Joe Dalys, diagonally opposite under the bridge (near the luas station elevator)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

It's closer to Joe Dalys, diagonally opposite under the bridge (near the luas station elevator)

I think I met up with boardsies once before there, just the other side of the junction from joe dalys.

If I get up in time I'll join ya's, having thee ol glass of wine at the mo. How long a spin yous going for, I dont mind anyway, I can cut off whenever if I need to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I will be in Dundrum for 9.

I've arranged to hook up with Billy Whizz. We are gonna leave Portmarnock at 10am and head into the North County if that interests you. No idea on a route or even a distance but the plan is to feck the recovery spin and put in a hard effort... well I'll do as much as I'm able for so it's every man for himself if anyone gets dropped!

I'm hoping to get about 70km in, I suppose.
    hmmmm eh no. I think I'll head for Naul via Balbriggan myself. Bored of Wicklow, or rather the trek there and back.

Sorry, I'm the one responsible for this - not Raam. He's far too good-natured to leave every man for himself!

Its grand, he doesn't want me embarassing you two out there, I understand ;)

eggie wrote: »
    I think I met up with boardsies once before there, just the other side of the junction from joe dalys.

If I get up in time I'll join ya's, having thee ol glass of wine at the mo. How long a spin yous going for, I dont mind anyway, I can cut off whenever if I need to.
    Will be in the region of 120km I think, if we go over sally/lakes/wicklow/laragh/roundwood/enniskerry way

Dónal wrote: »
    Will be at the viewpoint at around ten tomorrow if anyone wants to tag along for a long one with me and Nietzsomething.

whats your route from then? The dundrum gang may be there around the same time but prob a bit earlier, we may meet on the way

Probably a bit late for this but... Viewpoint to Sally Gap, then right down to Lacken and following the WW200 trail 'til near Laragh. Hopefully anyways!

might see each other so