Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jerry Flannery out of Lions Tour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Stolen from PR.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2009/may/20/alan-quinlan-lio ns-tom-croft

This is terrible news really if it's true, he was in a great position to start a test. Hopefully it's not a break.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,169 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Jesus Christ. At this rate I'll be amazed if any of them make it through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Is this a winde up!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

RuggieBear wrote: »

FOR **** SAKE!!!!!!!!!!!!

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Jesus Christ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

holly1 wrote: »
    Is this a winde up!!!!

No, on SSN.

*sob*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

No just saw it there too on the Sky Sports website. Terrible news.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Jesus Christ. At this rate I'll be amazed if any of them make it through.
    Exactly what I was thinking...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2009/may/20/alan-quinlan-lio ns-tom-croft

Maybe a mod could lock the topic I made?

Anyway this is really awful news, Flannery was in a great position to start a test. Pack is really weakened now imo.

The Munster players are ****ing cursed. :mad::mad::mad:

How the **** did JF get the injury anyway? :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

Ah Jaysus. This is terrible news both for Flannery and the Lions.

Who'll be in to replace him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭DJ Hafez

A few two many tasty pints in his pub maybe? :p:p

Feel really sorry for him. He really deserved to be on the tour with his performance this season

DJ Hafez wrote: »
    A few two many tasty pints in his pub maybe? :p:p

That's just not funny. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

That's what I was wondering, there wasn't any mention of this before today!

Wonder will Best be called up now?

stephen_n wrote: »
    Wonder will Best be called up now?

Hopefully

btw Flannery got injured in training!!!!!!

FFS x 1000000000000000000000.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,169 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Tis either Best or Ford, would be happy enough with either.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Tis either Best or Ford, would be happy enough with either.

*spits on floor*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Ah crap :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

Did he pick up the injury at the Lions training camp ?

Looks like there'll be more Leinster than munster at this rate with O'Leary, Quinlan and now Flannery gone...let's just hope we don't suffer any injuries in Murrayfield !

I expect it'll be Best replacing him anyway, don't think Bernie will get the call up.

Anyone know if they've decided to replace Halfpenny yet ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Dev7

Feel so sad for Flannery. He has worked so hard on his game and rly deserved his chance. Having said that i hope Rory Best gets the call - Ross Fords throwing can be as bad as Jackmans and best wil know o connels calls etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Can't believe this, players seem to be dropping like flies at the moment. ****. Hopefully Best is called up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Rumour "he chipped his elbow during training. Feck sake!!!" verbatim from Munster fan near ground zero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Did he pick up the injury at the Lions training camp ?

Looks like there'll be more Leinster than munster at this rate with O'Leary, Quinlan and now Flannery gone...let's just hope we don't suffer any injuries in Murrayfield !

I expect it'll be Best replacing him anyway, don't think Bernie will get the call up.

Much as I'd love to see it, I think Jackman would be the first to admit that he's a long shot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

Awful news. Gutted for him. He was really in to be a test starter as well. Surely Best has to go now for his throwing and leadership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Fup sake, they're dropping like flies, and that's even before they leave for SA:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

Best will go, and I wouldn't be at all surprised to see him start first test. Should have been in squad anyway ahead of Matthew Rees. Very sad news about Flannery. Get well soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Just seen this on the Rte 2 news. Chipped it in training. Fkn disaster, gutted for the lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

This was mentioned as a rumour on another thread here earlier today. Someone has good sources !

On Newstalk, they said that Best is in Canada which might prompt them to call up Ford or, given the management team, the Welsh back-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I've that feeling I had refreshing text updates when BOD got knocked out against Bayonne in 07.

Another Irish players out :/

I think it had to be Rory Best, although Ford is equally a good option - and the Lions were weak at HK as well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

terrible news great player , whos next ?hope no one gets injured on sat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Terrible news for Flannery, injuries where bound to happen and it's not surprising to see them happen though especially for a Lions tour. It is a awful way to miss a series though and leaves the door open for Ford or Hartley to be brought in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Horrible break for Flannery. I think he would have had a big impact on this tour. That's 3 munster players down from the original selection now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

This is turning into a bit of a disaster.. 5 players already out and they didint even get on the plane yet. Munster are cursed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Jaysus the Munster lads are dropping like flies! Terrible news for the Flan man and the whole squad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Am gutted for Flannery, Munster and the Lions. The Irish contingent on this tour seem to be cursed. Has someone in Wales/England got a stash of voodoo dolls :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Poor fecker so unlucky big loss on the field and off it too he seems like the type of guy that would have had morale sky high.

lads, i've deleted a few posts here. They added nothing to this discussion.

please use the report the post button. please be civil and do not insult other users.

I reckon the replacement should be Best or Ford...I know there is a clamouring to get Hartely on tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭niceoneted

I was gutted for O' Leary followed by the loss of the next 3, but I must say hearing of Flannerys injury just tipped me over the edge. Of all of them he deserved it most followed closely by Shanklin.
    Canada is not that far from SA if they need Rory to fly in!!!

How serious an injury is this btw...could it have long term impact on him playing for ireland/ his throwing/ etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭MG

Terrible news. Shoo in for the test side IMO. Hopefully this is the end of the bad news.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I remember reading an article last year on injurys in rugby. It said at any given time a coach of a professional rugby team will have 33% of his squad injured or carrying an injury.

I do hope Rory Best gets to go, the two of them, him and flannery, were getting the best out of each other this season with Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Gutted for Fla, wish him a speedy recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

RuggieBear wrote: »
    How serious an injury is this btw...could it have long term impact on him playing for ireland/ his throwing/ etc?

If he requires surgery, its on the more serious end of the scale, but these kinds of injuries generally respond very well to rehab. So I wouldn't be overly concerned with regards to the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭purcela

this is terrible news as he would definitely have pushed for a spot on the starting 15. him and o'leary are desperately unlucky. not quinlan though, he got his just rewards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

It's desperate for him, really sorry for the bloke, he fully deserved this tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Crying shame. Gutted for him.

As I stated in the Halfpenny thread with all the injuries coming in before they get on the plane it shows up how exposed they are and once they start playing those physical mid week games its only gonna get worse. Dont think they can afford to not be replacing players (Shanklin). Would love to see Best get the nod here but it will probably be Ford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

Gutted for the Fla, he genuinely deserved his spot on the Lions. I saw him at the game last Friday night and he looked so relaxed and in great form and then this to happen him, sad, bad news for him.

I know it's the early stages of the news on his injury but anyone here know what's the duration of the recovery period, will he be available for the start of next season for Munster and Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

Two players (Flannery and O'Leary) being injured hardly delivers a "curse". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭ollieo

I'm gutted for Fla he really desreved his tour place.
    I hope Best replaces him, get another Irish player on the tour.

Read on teletext Flannery needs surgery, but it doesn't say how long hes out for.