Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New soc next year. Yes Yes!

• 20-05-2009 7:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 40

Hey guys, just running this by you. Leme know what u think. ne ideas?

Next year me an some friends wer going to start a clubbing soc. Clubbing or Entertainment... still thinking about it. Anyway.

Basicly the goal of the society would be to organise cheap night out in variuous clubs every 2 weeks or so. Just get lets say 100 half price tickets to Button Factory / 21s / Bondi / Wax & Spy. Different tipes of music in a different club. The reason behind it is bcause all my m8s and i knwo im not the only one in this position, are going to the very same F***in place every week. I'd like to change that, make it cheaper aswell. Maby run a night in the Venue and towards the end of the year mabey a new Moxigen @ The Helix :D

Anyway if anyone has any ideas i would need some help. Basicly any dcu society by DCU Law has to have a primary activity on campus. We are basicly off campus. And if the main goal is to go drinkin don think we'r gona get permission.

SO we basicly need a cover, something that we could do on campus somehow related to "entertainment". Something constructive that people could achely enjoy.. ANY IDEAS?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Basically a rep on campus for the various nightclubs in the form of a society?

Its certainly a good idea but you have to remember that all these clubs have massive customer bases as it is and don't really need a presence on campus. They will also unlikely give your members cheaper entry/drinks as it will have a knock on effect in other colleges and eat into their profits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Jasirl

Not gonna happen im afraid. We already have a Society on campus for that sort of thing, Entrepaneurial and Social, (The Social part is meant to constitute nights out, trips etc).

Also, the SPC does not support societies that revolve singularly around being social, more the support of an activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

you'll never get approved!

also if you're gonna do something against SPC rules and have some kinda cover up, you might not wanna post about it on boards. It's hardly covert!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

You're posting on a forum read by the SPC.
    Looking for a cover to get your society funded to drink.
    By the SPC.

Hmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭irlande

Jasirl wrote: »
    We already have a Society on campus for that sort of thing, Entrepaneurial and Social, (The Social part is meant to constitute nights out, trips etc).

SNAP

also if you're gonna do something against SPC rules and have some kinda cover up, you might not wanna post about it on boards. It's hardly covert!

Bit late eh?

-John, SPC 2009/2010.

Owned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 alex020291

Basically a rep on campus for the various nightclubs in the form of a society?

Yes. The main goal being raising enaugh funds to run a night in the Helix. Then the sky's the limit :)
    They will also unlikely give your members cheaper entry/drinks as it will have a knock on effect in other colleges and eat into their profits.

Ive been promoting nightclubs for the past year now. The clubs are only interested in the money they make as the bar. The entry fee is not that relevant to them. At the mo i'm running Andrews Lane and they usualy do arround 10.000 a night at the bar, the door only 2.000 or so out of witch i take half... So its basicly nothing compared to the bar...Concessions wónt be a problem. If we do this they even let you buy 10 litters of vodka an give a free shot to every1 at the bar...
    Not gonna happen im afraid. We already have a Society on campus for that sort of thing, Entrepaneurial and Social, (The Social part is meant to constitute nights out, trips etc).

And about the E&S society they promote business activityes and i quote from theys constitution :
    Our goal is to promote entrepreneurship on campus and to provide members with memories of a life time. Social : involved in may social activityes, seeking to connect with, or suited to polite or fasionable society

Only events they run is Mistery trip, Iron stomack, and few other small things like bringing that red bull truck every now and then.
    Also, the SPC does not support societies that revolve singularly around being social, more the support of an activity.

This is the reason i started the thread. Anyone has any ideas on activities that might be able to relate to this? I was thinking of mabey run a weekly thing in teh venue. Tha'd be cool :D

The SPC will not approve it.

I'm not saying this from opinion, im saying this from fact. If you want to be involved in a society such as this, i'd advise running for a position on the E+S committee next semester at their EGM.

Bit late eh?

Im not trying to cover. I expressed myself wrong there. I am basicly looking for activityes that people might like to do on a regular bases. I'm not sure if probably doing a thing in the venue or old bar counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Bit late eh?

-John, SPC 2009/2010.

Owned

God help us all.

Is there any regulation there that would be in conflict with my constitution?

Well given the recent info of the SPC using this forum it looks like you are up **** creek.

Why dont you start a promotions company for yourself? You have the foothold you need with Andrews Lane.

alex020291 wrote: »
    If we do this they even let you buy 10 litters of vodka an give a free shot to every1 at the bar...

Who would pay for that, exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭MonaghanPenguin

The Office of Student Life Alcohol Policy will be your first stumbling block.

Lads, in fairness, societies do what this guy is asking to do every year. He is just emphasizing the social element of it.

Lets not get up on our high horses now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭tomar-re

/
    What constitution? I think that you outlined it as going on the lash on the college penny, the general thing with DCU societies is that have a core activity that people can "socialise" hence being a society. What core activity do you propose, I don't see anything other then partying?
    Lads, in fairness, societies do what this guy is asking to do every year. He is just emphasizing the social element of it.

Lets not get up on our high horses now.
    In the cases of these other societies they do something first and use the money they raise through sponsorship or from membership to pay for these sorts of events.

Who would pay for that, exactly?

whoever runs the night. In this case the society. The money will be recovered from the door fee. Free shot ball Andrews lane will be arround 27th-29th. Will be running it with Ents in trinity. Should be something like this.
    Why dont you start a promotions company for yourself? You have the foothold you need with Andrews Lane.

To start a company u need members and over 30 grand. Small Busines taxes are skyrocketing. Probably worst time to start anything like this in teh next few years. When as an Events promoter you dont pay tax only VAT witch is 21% no matter your income.

Doing this through a society, the society itself could grow financialy speaking very fast. In a year or so probably being able to achly rent venues and pay sub promoters to do the work.. Its a bennefit for the soc itself, great fun and in teh same time atracting more people into coming in DCU. Afterall college is not only studying, its all about the fun an the friends you get. At least that's what i think.

DCU may create businesses but they are usually real companies. The SPC does not fund start up businesses, the entire premise sounds like a back door into you creating a company for yourself.

alex020291

The SPC will not fund this.

tomar-re wrote: »
    DCU may create businesses but they are usually real companies. The SPC does not fund start up businesses, the entire premise sounds like a back door into you creating a company for yourself.

For f**k sake. All i'm trying to do is make a soc with my m8s and do a cople of cheap nights out every mont, in town, in the bar, it dosent rally matter.

You all missed the whole point and the subject from there we started is wayyy behind.
    Thought this might help me with some advice all you do is F**kin atack.

alex020291

The SPC will not fund this.

i can see, noo need for the red fonts. Who said i need funds? duh...

To start a company u need members and over 30 grand. Small Busines taxes are skyrocketing. Probably worst time to start anything like this in teh next few years. When as an Events promoter you dont pay tax only VAT witch is 21% no matter your income.

Doing this through a society, the society itself could grow financialy speaking very fast. In a year or so probably being able to achly rent venues and pay sub promoters to do the work.. Its a bennefit for the soc itself, great fun and in teh same time atracting more people into coming in DCU. Afterall college is not only studying, its all about the fun an the friends you get. At least that's what i think.

Taxes only really matter if you are making profits. :D

I can see how it would work. Id have some experience with it, Emmet02 here on boards would too if you'd like to PM him.

Fact is though, if you get your funding off the SPC and they won't fund it. You're going to need another way to fund it.

Who said i need funds? duh...

Ok lemme rephrase, we wont approve it.

I don't want to sound beligerent but this doesn't sound like a dcu society, you need a core activity. The policey is that there needs to be a core event that the society members take part in that does not focus on any events releating to alcohol.

Taxes only really matter if you are making profits. :D

I can see how it would work. Id have some experience with it, Emmet02 here on boards would too if you'd like to PM him.

Fact is though, if you get your funding off the SPC and they won't fund it. You're going to need another way to fund it.

Its not the funds im worried. First of all the membership fees that every person pays to get in the society ads up to enaugh to start it. Allready have a sponsor, trying to get a few more. Thanks for the advice. The thing is i dont want a company. College + work = no time left :)

Ok lemme rephrase, we wont approve it.

is that because u h8 me and just decided it or do you have something to back you up?

Plenty of core activitys on campus that can be done.

What is the core activity?

uh no i dont know you. i have have a vote on the SPC, as does the guy behind me. 2 members of the SU exec are in the room as well.

no is the answer. sorry :P

1. Why not just informally organise the events and drop the flyers without being an official society? It would be just the same and you would get the same amount of people/

2. Can the SPC post in an official way on boards.ie?
    jasirl wrote:
    Bit late eh?

-John, SPC 2009/2010.

Owned
    Anyone else smell a slight abuse of power to turn down a society on an internet forum? What position have you on the SPC? Chair?

I don't want to sound beligerent but this doesn't sound like a dcu society, you need a core activity. The policey is that there needs to be a core event that the society members take part in that does not focus on any events releating to alcohol.

i guess we'r left with free tea and chocolate milk :D

is that because u h8 me and just decided it or do you have something to back you up?

Plenty of core activitys on campus that can be done.

Paranoid, much?

"Drink Soc" is stupid, you have no core activity. It appears the idea behind this is to use the society status as a cover for a business opportunity.

There is no core activity for this apart from 'going to clubs with my mates'.

Seriously: E&S

E.....
    and
    .....S

Anyone else smell a slight abuse of power to turn down a society on an internet forum? What position have you on the SPC? Chair?
    Is it not a service to tell him in advance that his plan won't be approved and now he can change it and tell us what the core activity of the society is.

What is the core activity?

I can see. not fkin blind. Core with no alcohol would probably be music sessions in the venue in parthnership with the DJ and electronic music society that a m8 runs.

Yo SCP heads,

Are there regulations on DCU campus relating to the advertisement of non-college affiliated activities?

Anyone else smell a ridiculous allegation?
    All that was said (by everyone) was that SPC wouldn't fund drink, and neither would the office of student life as a whole. As was said by everyone, there's no core activity.

Get off the high horse buddy.

Sorry but I would like to know what it was going to be about. So your proposing the currently set up electronic music society......

Not sure they can turn down anything until it has been officially proposed.

Also, yeah surely having an official SPC account that can be verified and held responsible for all posts would make sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

uh no i dont know you. i have have a vote on the SPC, as does the guy behind me. 2 members of the SU exec are in the room as well.

no is the answer. sorry :P

You sound like the power has gone to your head already.

Its a committee so that usually means not just one person decides.

irlande wrote: »
    Anyone else smell a ridiculous allegation?
    All that was said (by everyone) was that SPC wouldn't fund drink, and neither would the office of student life as a whole. As was said by everyone, there's no core activity.

Get off the high horse buddy.
    Said by everyone but everyone isn't the SPC. I don't get why someone from the SPC had to give that piece of information to back up his/her point. It seemed to me like that person was letting alex know that he/she was in charge and that he/she wouldn't allow it. This is boards.ie not life.dcu, it is external of DCU and personally I don't think it was a wise post.

Btw, i'm not your buddy guy

By all means, send in a proposal.

Could you answer my question re: advertising on campus?

will deffenely do !

It seemed to me like that person was letting alex know that he/she was in charge and that he/she wouldn't allow it.

Which doesn't change the fact its silly.

Two wrongs don't make a right :) leave 'em be!

irlande wrote: »
    Which doesn't change the fact its silly.

Two wrongs don't make a right :) leave 'em be!
    Where are the two wrongs? Obviously you have some connection to this Jasirl and thats fine but please dont making mountains out of nothing...I still say that no one should in "authority"(yes even the SPC can be categorized as having authority) should make a comment like that and give their identity.

Obviously you have some connection to this Jasirl

Yes, we're lovers. o.O

Anyway....

even if they are the SPC they are stupid enaugh to reveil theyr identity. And they cant proprely reject an aplication that hasnt event been submited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭DemocAnarchis

even if they are the SPC they are stupid enaugh to reveil theyr identity. And they cant proprely reject an aplication that hasnt event been submited.

Why would the SPC hide their identity? There is an element of persecution complex about your posts. They aren't saying that you won't be approved because they dont like you/dont like the idea. There is a set of guidelines that a society has to conform to before it can be approved. In their opinion, you have not demonstrated this. In addition, the Office of Student Life's alcohol policy would come down fairly hard on these kind of activities. Its hard enough for a society to provide alcohol at a standard event, let alone form a society whos core activity is consumption of alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fiftysix

o.O wtf?
    The SPC arn' this big secret group that hide their identities... but being on an internet forum, with user names isn't exactly "revealing their identity".

The SPC folk on this are jsut saying that it wount be granted. to save you time.....

Why would the SPC hide their identity? There is an element of persecution complex about your posts. They aren't saying that you won't be approved because they dont like you/dont like the idea. There is a set of guidelines that a society has to conform to before it can be approved. In their opinion, you have not demonstrated this. In addition, the Office of Student Life's alcohol policy would come down fairly hard on these kind of activities. Its hard enough for a society to provide alcohol at a standard event, let alone form a society whos core activity is consumption of alcohol.

1st of all i havent event composed a propper constitution.
    2nd teh thing with alcohol has its ways of avoiding. The rugby club did a fundrising event for their club ( Jelly fighting in the hub). E&S ran the summer ball 2 years ago. teh alcohol regulation has it's ways arround.

Fiftysix wrote: »
    o.O wtf?
    The SPC arn' this big secret group that hide their identities... but being on an internet forum, with user names isn't exactly "revealing their identity".

The SPC folk on this are jsut saying that it wount be granted. to save you time.....

i dont mind throwing an application in there. Dosent hurt anyone.:rolleyes: