Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Did you start playing poker?

• 20-05-2009 5:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭

Last night it hit me that I offer very little to this forum. Other than slatting a few idiots or causing a bit of controversy I have very little productive value.

Thats why I decided to start this thread and give you all something to do while you are 4 tabling!

No seriously I thought it would be interesting to hear how and why people on here got into poker.

I know I started in my 1st year in college playing the €5er rebuy in UCD. I believe TommyGunne was in that game. I know thats where Conbro started too. Then I made my way into the fitz €50 dc and never looked back really. Since then 2 years of full on degenercy and debauchery have occured.

I have made alot of great friends from poker and had a lot of great times.

So how did the rest of you get into poker and more importantly do any of you regret it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

started off with mates in the house at the wkds, few pubs tourns, joined boards learned how to play the game from wonderworld of the interweb. Never play in pubs anymore, rarely casinos. No regrets really.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭stevire

Started 5-Draw when I was about 13, always had a massive penny jar!! :D
    Only started playing Holdem around 18 mainly online... then started to go to regular games in the local casino.. Downhill from there!! No regrets...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Watched Late Night Poker, thought it looked easy, but also wanted a cool nickname like 'DevilFish' or 'Aces'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭FeetMagic

Started off with friends playing 5euro games not knowing most of the rules but having a laugh. Then started playing occasionally in the cheapest game in town and then just started going to the casino starting off with the small tourneys and within months was playing nearly every cash game/tourney available.
    Got way too into it over the course of a year, playing nearly everyday for many hours. Had a pretty negative impact on my life so put an end to poker a few weeks back with the exception of small dabbles online and very rare casino appearances. I gradually grew out of it and cant imagine how I ever played so much, as these days I can barely concentrate on a SnG!
    I dont think Id say I regret finding poker as Im up a decent amount from it still but I know its something Im glad I got away from.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,705 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

I know I started in my 1st year in college playing the €5er rebuy in UCD. I believe TommyGunne was in that game. I know thats where Conbro started too. Then I made my way into the fitz €50 dc and never looked back really. Since then 2 years of full on degenercy and debauchery have occured.

Ha yea i started in UCD as well - back then smoothcall and conbro were cleaning up against that guy who owned the shop, think he lost a fortune, won a ticket in dcu, for a €100 tournament for the Merrion - and thats where it all started:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

Started playing 5 card draw when young alright....first for monopoly money! Then pennies, then learnt holdem when around 16

First played at all seriously when in 1st year in UCD in the 5rebuy, remember Smoothcall was the shark in those days alright. Then first trip to Fitz for UCD tournament, then online....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Watched Late Night Poker, thought it looked easy, but also wanted a cool nickname like 'DevilFish' or 'Aces'

Richie "Fish with Chips" Lawlor rivals any of them mate ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

I also played in that fiver UCD game, so did a good few others on this forum.

I played a bit of draw and stuff with my dad, but then one day in a mates house someone suggested playing holdem as he'd been to a few home games with his mates, and we ended up playing every week for ages, usual fiver rebuy structure. I'd no clue what I was doing but went on a huge heater winning nearly every week and have remained running way above EV ever since...Basically started playing bigger games in town and stuff, then started playing online seriously after a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

I heard it was a good way to meet women.

Still waiting on that big score.

I heard it was a good way to meet women.

Still waiting on that big score.

fat-chick.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭bantee

Similar story to others here. I started playin with mates in house games with 5-card draw about 9 years ago and moved to holdem I'd say 6/7 years ago. We didn't have a clue what we were doing at first and used loads of change to play mini cash games and moved onto SNGs then.
    Then I started playing the odd pub tourney and a trips to the casino became more frequent, with the addition of playing online and also the odd bigger buyin events around the country. Good times :)

Last night it hit me that I offer very little to this forum. Other than slatting a few idiots or causing a bit of controversy I have very little productive value.

I believe, in your own words, your contribution to this forum is to "Lay down the law":rolleyes:

Seriously though;

I started playing 7-stud with my family at Christmas time and, same as just about everyone my age, picked it up in college and then moved to casinos.

I still suck though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 657 ✭✭✭BuChan

lol, fish with chips! that's ****ing good. started in the monday night freeroll in the merrion. moved up to the big 20 freezeout on thursdays and then the nosebleed 1/1 cash game where most of the table played about 25bb deep. good times.

Flushdraw wrote: »
    Richie "Fish with Chips" Lawlor rivals any of them mate ;)

BuChan wrote: »
    lol, fish with chips! that's ****ing good. started in the monday night freeroll in the merrion. moved up to the big 20 freezeout on thursdays and then the nosebleed 1/1 cash game where most of the table played about 25bb deep. good times.

No its not, also not my nickname, Its raptor, look it up

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Richie "lol" Lawlor?

who are you people gtfo

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭KarlNedCarew

Funnily enough my substitute maths teacher taught me and my mates in fourth year, being fourth year there was always a pack of cards or 2 floating around the group and playing cards was a good way to keep busy and "quiet" without y'know doing schoolwork.

Nowadays we have a game atleast every 3 weeks, if not more often

• Registered Users Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭digiman

Was working as in intern while in 3rd year college and when I was leaving they bought me a 500 poker piece set which was very rare at the time, was a bit before the poker chips boom started I would say. Brought it home and all the lads thought it was the best thing ever, €2 sngs started with none of us even knowing the rules properly, 23AKQ was even a straight!!!

Then in 4th year I went to the DCU poker soc and won it on my 2nd time there, put some money online and played $5 sngs and if I won that I played a $20 one. If I won that I cashed out and went on the beer for the night, rinsed and repeated.

I then started playing cash games on the tribeca network and bought in short for like $20 into a 100nl game and spun it up to $300 or so. Back then you couldn't cash out of PPP straight away, you had to wait for a few days after you won. I rand up PPP and told them to block my account so I wouldn't play on it. I think that day was the first day I posted my first hand history on baords also. My thought process is pretty good IMO!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Started playing back in 03 think the game was really beginning to take off then, started 5 euro home games and cleaned up, then began going to the Macau for about 4 years where I did well but never made big money, playing online two or three times a week now and doing well, did give up for a year but did miss the game alot.

Also won the pokersoc tourney in UCC with 120 runners, was huge then!

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

who are you people gtfo

Jeez,some people are so ungrateful.

• Registered Users Posts: 36,217 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭baz2007

like alot on here started playing 5 card draw as a nipper.Then 5 card draw and acey/deucey. in pub on saturdays after sweating football results.starting playin hold em with mike and brian gjp in drogheda late 05.Hit a couple of 20k plus scores that just keep u ticking over i thinkbut still really enjoy playing.met alot of sound and interesting characters over the last few years.have 2 cut down playing as much now as not sure what way things will pan out with work,and need 2 have a bit of a tank there for rainy days.Regrets not really interested in them they are fcuk all good,always hope 2 play poker in the future in some form tks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

baz2007 wrote: »
    like alot on here started playing 5 card draw as a nipper.Then 5 card draw and acey/deucey. in pub on saturdays after sweating football results.starting playin hold em with mike and brian gjp in drogheda late 05.Hit a couple of 20k plus scores that just keep u ticking over i thinkbut still really enjoy playing.met alot of sound and interesting characters over the last few years.have 2 cut down playing as much now as not sure what way things will pan out with work,and need 2 have a bit of a tank there for rainy days.Regrets not really interested in them they are fcuk all good,always hope 2 play poker in the future in some form tks.

lol yeah? Just ticking over? But how much did you lose?

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭baz2007

well thats basically what 20k touchs do is just keep u in the game i am not goin into detail here everything i have won and lost. i started keeping records after my first year because i think u have 2 keep a record 2 many players are saying they are wining when really they are big loosers over a 12 month period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

5 card draw. First game I was 6, and played with my father, uncles and grandfather at Christmas, Easter etc.

I remember my father telling me to save all my change in a jar specifically for these games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭coillcam

Back in NUIG, jaysus. It's 4 years ago now. The only thing I brought with me from college considering I dropped out. I remember seeing late night poker and thinking that'd I have to get in on this. So I bought some pocket sized tips book by Anthony Holden.

Played the €5 re-buys in college and the freeroll in the 4 aces and never won a cent :(. The ole limp re-raise with AKo,KK+ and limp or fold every other hand only got me so far. I remember getting into a cash game once Mike 4 aces slow playing cowboys and crushing me. I wanted to own him for so long since then and never had a chance. Started reading forums for a few months and scooped €7k over the next summer in The Crane Club (God that game was unbelievable). Thought I was the dogs bollox. Went up to the fitz for a few sessions and got thoroughly owned and realised how obnoxiously bad I was.

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    ditpoker and aodea got me in to it, so I blame them. I was coming towards the end of my final year in college (so four years ago) when they invited me over to a €5 homegame sit and go. I enjoyed it immensely, and we proceeded to play a lot of mini tournaments like that over that summer (they had been playing a good while before getting me in on it). In August 2005 I played a Vegas Nights pub tournament in Kiely's in Mount Merrion (a €20 rebuy) and I luckboxed third in it. My first casino game was Oscar's old €33 Sunday shorthanded game about five or so weeks later, and that was me for the following three years and a bit.

I shudder to think about how bad I was for the first year I played.

Ah memories. beer money every friday night off jeff and yourself was awsome many a night in the palace on the boys. i remember the games being so serious strong words were always had. like everyone else started these played college, vegas nights, 33 game in fitz. Tought it was the biggest game in town. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

A friend of mine thought me how to play a few years back, he had started to run the Poker Society in DIT Aungier Street, knew a few faces from that when i started to play in the likes of the SE, jbravado, Lloyd, Troy.

Played a few pub tournies then alot of the Vegas nights games in the Cuckoos Nest and The Subamarine, that was were i first heard about Eddie The Eagle :p

First night i went into the SE was a Wednesday after busting out of the pub game, went into town looking for a game stolled down to the Jackpot and then on down to the 78 Club but no game so thats how i ended up in the SE. didnt have a ****ing clue totally different than those pub games, the first two people i remember playing from that game was HalfBaked and IanMc.

There has been some absolute horrible sick times when your on the wrong side of the swing, but the better part of it has been good good times for me, im glad i dont play as much anymore (10 nights staright etc etc) and im comfortable with how much time i put into now, the people i have met and got to know through poker is excellent, some genuinely great people out there so im happy to take that side from it.

I remember the first time playing with you Rory, was a cash game, we had been chatting for a good bit and you had been telling me about winning an WPT ticket, i ended up calling you down later on with AQ and spicked the Q ball or something and you looked absolutely sick :p

No regrets...

Funnily enough my substitute maths teacher taught me and my mates in fourth year, being fourth year there was always a pack of cards or 2 floating around the group and playing cards was a good way to keep busy and "quiet" without y'know doing schoolwork.

Nowadays we have a game atleast every 3 weeks, if not more often

Kevin Spacey? :p

Started with fiver 6 man games with mates when I was like 15/16. That grew to cash games which led to someone always owing someone a few quid. Then a €25 rebuy game down in Dun Laoghaire most Fridays which I did quite well in over the years.. Then online & then casinos.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I gave SpencerJames his start in poker :)