Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Went to the Debs on your own?

• 19-05-2009 6:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭

Question in the title. Is anyone here a victim? If so please tell us about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

A victim? Honestly who gives a dam? It's an over-hyped mess of a night is all it is.

Would have been better to get a few trays of beer down the gym hall if you ask me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Nope i went with a bf at the time. Two of my girl friends went together tho.

/Q the kids with the "fap fap fap" comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

Yep, me and three of my mates went to a debs on our own with no date if you will.

Best Debs i ever went to. And met a nice lady friend i'm still very good friends with at it.

Went accompanied by lovely ladies to three others but they just didn't top the first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

All my stupid friends are going in couples, so when they all go off to shag each other I'd be all alone. Also the debs is shite so I'm just going to town with other friends on the night..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I took my mate who went to a different school. We caused mayhem and both pulled other fellas dates =o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Two guys i know went on their own.
    The first did it because he was too stingy to pay for a second ticket and ended up copping off with my mates date.
    The second went on his own because he had/has no social skills whatsoever and never asked a girl, or maybe they just declined his invitation. Who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Kiera wrote: »

/Q the kids with the "fap fap fap" comments.

SCISSORS!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

A lad i was in school with went by himself. The girl he was meant to bring rang him on the day and said she wasnt going with him. He went and had a great time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

I didn't even have a debs :( Sob!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

bronte wrote: »
    I didn't even have a debs :( Sob!

Your better off, waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Everybody fooks off with their mates after they get their photo done. Sure, I went with my BF at the time, and we spent half the night separately, with our friends anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I was going to go by myself and have a laugh with my mates. Then i met a girl at a party and i bought her. then she got off with my best mate. Lousy night and really regret bringing someone.

Went to a predebs as well. That night started great and i was having a great time. Then my girlfriend dumped me.

I ****ing hate debs.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

No I brought someone. Doesn't really matter though as I only went to get hammered. Would have preferred to go minker drinkin' in a field though.

Wagon wrote: »
    I was going to go by myself and have a laugh with my mates. Then i met a girl at a party and i bought her. then she got off with my best mate. Lousy night and really regret bringing someone.

Went to a predebs as well. That night started great and i was having a great time. Then my girlfriend dumped me.

I ****ing hate debs.

Soliciting is illegal, y'know! ;):pac:

Sorry to hear about your bad Debs experience though.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Oh the Debs. Cant even remember that far back. Which is scary, Im only 25. All I remember is me and some mates trying to stack shot glasses from the table to the ceiling. We got very drunk and some twat knocked them over.

All that drinking for nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I wasn't really bothered about going to mine. I didn't have a date, but I didn't really try that hard to get one because I hated a lot of people in my year so I didn't see the point in going out of my way to attend an event with all of them there. The only reason why I wanted to go was in case something epic happened at it that my friends would talk about forever, and also the "oh what was your debs like in 6th year?" questions in the future... but then one of my friends (female) said she'd go with me so I went.

Shit night was had by all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pighead will always associate his debs with this stuff.

The spanners in charge of organising the evening had decided to ban beer and all other alcohol except for the cute innocent looking bottles of 20/20. Bad bad mistake. The stuff was rocket fuel and everybody in attendance went bananas. The teachers ended up covered in puke and apparently the DJ was kidnapped and tied to the football posts out back. They reintroduced beer for the following years event.

Pighead wrote: »

Pretty sure I've seen that on bumwine.com --->

http://www.bumwine.com/md2020.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MonicaBing

Yep i gatecrashed mine! I was 7 and half months pregnant and the school didnt want me to attend as i dunno i suppose it was embarrassing for them or something, so i got a lovely guna made for me and my 2 best friends who were also graduating both me a ticket and off we went! Oh the look on the nuns puss that night! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I remember the torrential rain after it. That was a bummer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

Pighead wrote: »

The spanners in charge of organising the evening had decided to ban beer and all other alcohol except for the cute innocent looking bottles of 20/20. Bad bad mistake. The stuff was rocket fuel and everybody in attendance went bananas. The teachers ended up covered in puke and apparently the DJ was kidnapped and tied to the football posts out back. They reintroduced beer for the following years event.

*goes to buy loads of 20/20*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

A victim? Nope.

At the time I was heartily sick of the wimmins and their machinations, the Debs fell in the middle of a voluntary seven-month celibate phase. :D

Decided to go alone, wasn't going to bring a date just for appearance's sake. Without the hassle of attending to an over-done harridan in a modified tarpaulin, I had a brilliant night.

I rallied a table full of glum looking singletons who hadn't had the choice of bringing a date or not. Think Braveheart in a rental tux and you're on the right track.:p Instead of crying into their mass-produced Baked Alaska, they embraced their singleness too.

Moral of story: Think of the Debs as an overdressed disco, smeared with noxious fake tan. Bring a date, or not. Don't invest too much signifance into it, you're not Marty McFly's dad and it's not your bloody Prom nite.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Kiera wrote: »

Did they slow dance together?

BTW, i went with my gf at the time. It sucked and was boring. By 2am i wanted to go home. For the money it cost, I would have been better booking a table in a restaurant and hotel room. Then i could've had a romantic and sticky night instead of looking at idiots trying to dance and sing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

First time,the date pulled out 2 hours before.All the better,dident have to look after her so I got really drunk and ended up topless at the end of the night.

Second time went smoothly,apart from the fact I spent all my money on drink and couldent get home and I ended up in the toilet bowl all-night.

Ah to be young:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

I think I would have had a better time on my own... I brought my boyfriend at the time... He complained all the way down to Navan in the limo "the musics too loud, I don't like that guy your friend brought". I nearly didn't get in because he refused to be searched by the security guards (checking for drugs). And then he disappeared off for most of the night... ah well!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Was all set to go on my own until talking to one of my friends close to the time we realised we were both going on our own so myself and herself went on a sort of "Sure why not?" deal. It was great, when I think back to the amount of people who probably broke up on the night of or soon after their Debs and probably don't care to reflect upon it now I've the opposite, a great night that was simply about saying a final farewell to school bretheren and the few teachers that were in anyway decent at their job!

And accidently due to drunkeness and tiredness putting sugar on my chips in the LeisurePlex in Tallaght...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Would have preferred to go minker drinkin' in a field though.

For a second I thought political correctness had set foot inside AH.

Didn't go to my own but went to my OH's and the best part was the after party where the guy throwing it ended up having to call the guards to get everyone out of the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

The debs is the biggest load of ****e ever invented in my opinion. No drink at my one. I also went on my own because I saw at the time girls didn't give a damn who they went with, they only wanted to dress up and saw it as the biggest thing since sliced pan. There I was, drinking a glass of coke (Been drinking since 15) so me and a few mates f'ed off into town for a real night out. Scored that night too with an older woman! Must have been the tux :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Didn't go to the debs. Most of the people in my year were arseholes and the last thing I wanted to do was spend an entire night with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Mr. Gruff

As a new singleton, I don't have any plan on bringing a girl for the sake of it in September, especially after this thread. I might even ask my mint biology teacher for the photo if I grow a pair over the summer, who knows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mr. Gruff wrote: »
    As a new singleton, I don't have any plan on bringing a girl for the sake of it in September, especially after this thread. I might even ask my mint biology teacher for the photo if I grow a pair over the summer, who knows?

Tell her she's so hot she denatures your proteins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I went on my own becuase I didn't have to nerve to ask anyone to go with me. It was considered a good night at the time but when I think back it with these slightly older eyes of mine, I cringe.
    Mr. Gruff wrote: »
    I might even ask my mint biology teacher for the photo if I grow a pair over the summer, who knows?

Just a photo? Ask her to go with you. Go on, be the man I couldn't be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Jesus Christ theres some negative people here. I guess school must have been **** for ye.

For mine I will ask girls but I have no self-esteem so they won't be the most attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

For mine I will ask girls but I have no self-esteem so they won't be the most attractive.

That's the spirit.

Haven't exactly reached my Debs yet, but I'm not seeing the necessity in bringing a date. I mean, if I don't get a date, I'm not going to sit home and miss out on a good night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

I can't understand anybody who says the debs arn't worth going to. I thought it was one of the most memorable nights of my life. I was dead excited in the lead up to the night and it was great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Can we just clarify something here as I'm getting very confused.

When you say 'Debs', are you actually referring to your 'Grads'?

'Debs' are for girls (and take a guy* with them). 'Grads' are for guys (and take a girl* with them).

*Or they can take someone of their own gender if they are that way inclined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

dotsman wrote: »

'Debs' are for girls (and take a guy* with them). 'Grads' are for guys (and take a girl* with them).

Or in a co-ed school girls and guys go to their Debs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

dotsman wrote: »

No. The Debs dance. That every school has. Equivalent to a Prom...

..... Debutant Ball.... No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Is it that time of year again?

Ask snyper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I bought 2 but havnt asked a girl yet. Have all summer though. I'll just bring the ticket out with me every night as proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

niallon wrote: »
    Or in a co-ed school girls and guys go to their Debs...
    IRcolm wrote: »
    No. The Debs dance. That every school has. Equivalent to a Prom...

..... Debutant Ball.... No?

A Débutante's ball was originally for girls of high society who were making their debut in society.
    A Graduation ball is for graduating from secondary school (regardless of gender). However, over time, in Ireland, Girls began to refer to their graduation ball as a Debs (no doubt, influenced by a variety of american tv shows).

It's only been 10 years since my own, but in my day, I never heard a single guy refer to their 'Grads' as a 'Debs'. I went (as a date) to several 'Debs', but only had 1 'Grads' (where I invited the girl).

No idea of what happens in a co-ed school though - good point!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

In my (co-ed) school t was called a Debs.

I took my at the time girlfriend (one of the rare points in time when I wasn't single, total fluke) and had a great time. Although TBH probably no more of a great time when me and a bunch of my mates go on a wild bender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I actually enjoyed mine, but probably cause it finished so early. They had us kicked out by midnight, so me and the gang went to a friends house and stayed up till 8am getting nostalgic talking about old times. That's the way to do it imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

I remember all my "friends" in school thought they were going to get a guaranteed ride from their dates, which they of course didn't.

I brought a girl I never once talked to before the night, didn't really talk to her on the night, and haven't talked to her since. In fact she was recommended to me by her friend and I wasn't 100% sure exactly who she was until I picked her up on the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

I wasnt bothered with any of it. Plus most of the guys I went to school with were a**holes. They made a big deal about it if you were not going too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I had a great time at mine, I had asked 5 or 6 girls to go with me before it, i had been drunk each time, they all accepted but I cancelled on all of them, the last one I cancelled the day before because she told me she was Pregnant, and I was like, here love I just wanted to take ya for a ride like. So I cancelled on her and took a friend of mine, after only asking her 36 hours before, who I had one of the best nights ever with. It was brilliant. But, I was the only one besides my date and one or two more, who enjoyed it.

And to top it off my Date was absolutely Gorgeous while the girl I was bringing, just wasn't. Alas, I get nowhere with my date, but I wasn't disappointed because she is truly one of the coolest people I know!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭5318008!

I didn't really have any female friends back then and I would have been really uncomfortable asking the one or two girls I vaguely knew.

In the end I got set up with like my sisters boyfriends cousin or something. She knew like half the people there and it was obvious to everyone we didn't know each other in real life.

At least a third of the year didn't go which happened to be most of the people i got on with (and none of the ass-wipes of the year). I only went coz my sister said :"It's your debs you have to go. You'll have a great time". Worst advice ever.

If i could only change one thing about my life I'd choose not to go to my debs. I don't see why everyone can't just rent a function room in some pub and have a casual goodbye party or something.

Oh, and i puked in the bus on the way back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I went to my debs without a date. I had only asked one girl, a female friend of mine insisted on asking a girl I liked on my behalf and that failed. A good lot of my friend’s had no dates so it was nothing unusual at that. Looking back, though the lone picture of me is embarrassing to look at (not for being alone, just me in a suit that is a little bigger than me) but I’m glad I’m not standing beside someone I don’t really know and probably would have spent an awkward night making chit chat with.
    I didn’t drink on the night to make the night less fun. I had got plastered a few weeks before so I was trying to make a point to my parents that I’d stay sober. My dad was going in and out of the bar buying all my mates drinks and offering me one, looking back I should have. Twas a decent night, but could have been better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭boardinwork

I wish!!! The girl i went with looked like a man bear pig...

Had to bring her to my mates (who had a hot little slapper) on his arm and have our photos taken by our families and even his neighbours!

I had red hot cheeks in shame and a lump in my throat...

Got there - threw her €50 quid to sort herself out at the bar and disappeared on her for the night.

My actual girlfriend at the time was getting her tonsils out and asked me to bring her boot of a mate - i had no other options :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

I went to my fiancee's debs i wasnt that pushed tbh,but ended up having a decent night

NOTE: Getting engaged at 18/19 is a huge fukcin mistake:rolleyes: