Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indie-pendence 2009 line up Announced

• 19-05-2009 2:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

Us locals better be getting concessions to this. Don't fancy having to pay €60 just to go to what is traditionally the only good weekend of the year in Mitchelstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭Bren Jacob

If its the only good weekend of the year then I would have thought you wouldnt mind forking out a few bob for it! :D

I was at it a couple of years ago when Hybrasil played it and had a great time.
    From the looks of this years line up and the ramping up of the organisational aspects it looks like this festival will soon be on the "must go to" list of summer festival in Ireland.
    samsemtex wrote: »
    Us locals better be getting concessions to this. Don't fancy having to pay €60 just to go to what is traditionally the only good weekend of the year in Mitchelstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭dereko1969

If you bothered reading to the end of the flyer you would see
    There will however be a limited number of special offer weekend passes available locally for just €39. These will be on sale from a number of locations around Mitchelstown including a number of the bars, Coral Dry Cleaners and T3D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 indiechoc

INDIEPENDENCE Festival Line Up with just a couple of announcements left!

August 1st & 2nd
    Mitchelstown
    Co. Cork

202's
    Travega
    Vesta Varro
    Stone Roses Experience
    Ham Sandwich
    The Chapters
    Fight Like Apes
    Ocean Colour Scene
    The Jades
    Panama Kings
    Pocket Promise
    Heathers
    Rarely Seen Above Ground
    Messiah J & The Expert
    Mundy
    Snowman
    The Hot Sprockets
    Gavin Glass
    Ian Whitty & The Exchange
    The Vital Spark
    Carosel
    Ollie Cole
    Fish Go Deep (DJ Set)
    The Minutes
    The Aftermath
    Fred
    Delorentos
    The Blizzards
    The Super Furry Animals
    Sickboy
    Cowboy X
    Setmaker
    Dark Room Notes
    Villagers
    Director
    The Frank & Walters
    Killer Chloe
    Remy
    Reemo
    Myp Et Jeep
    Joe Echo
    Grand Pocket Orchestra
    Le Galaxie
    Nicole Maguire
    Gillian Verrechia
    The Kinetiks
    Mo Kelly (DJ Set)

3 Stages / 2 Days / 2 Bars / Gourmet Food Stalls

€39 Special Offer Tickets Available in Mitchelstown (Nearly gone!)
    €59 Weekend Full Price Tickets available from Ticketmaster

www.indiependencefestival.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 mushypeas30

Any mention of when they will announce the daily breakdown?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Hacks

Anyone else hear of a 2 day festival in Mitchelstown in August ??? Cant find the details anywhere, Super Furry Animals and Ocean Colour Scene were the headliners i think.......????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Knifey_Spoony

http://www.mitchelstownfest.com/

Really decent line-up..and only €59!

I can't wait for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭glanman

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=60992197#post60992197

Just posted in there about the new camping. Line-up isn't bad at all. Good weather and we will be laughing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭tanora78

Its hard to say as it is a new festival but I wouldn't say you should have any problems! If 16/17 year olds are getting into oxegen I can't see what should stop you here.

If you are stopped just attach yourself to some over 20 people and say you are with them. If that doesn't work just be honest and say you are there for the music and don't care about drinking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Fight Like Apes are on Saturday, Fred Sunday as of this:

http://www.mitchelstownfest.com/Indiependence_lineup.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭monthehoops

INDIEPENDENCE Music & Arts Festival Gets Camping Green Light
    Its been a while coming to fruition but the INDIEPENDENCE Music & Arts Festival has finally been given the green light for an official festival campsite at O'Connell Park, Mitchelstown. This means that festival goers heading along to see headliners Ocean Colour Scene and The Super Furry Animals along with top Irish acts, The Blizzards, Mundy, Fight Like Apes, The Frank & Walters, Director, Delorentos, Fish Go Deep, Wallis Bird, The Chapters and over 50 more top acts and DJ's will now be able to stay on site for the weekend and enjoy the full festival experience!

But here's the best bit, festival organisers in these recessionary times have decided not to charge any extra for the campsite! Anybody with a €59 weekend ticket purchased from ticketmaster even where these tickets state "weekend non-camping" will be given access to the campsite. The site is adjacent to the festival arena and car parking facilities are less than 5 minutes walk away.

The Festival which is sponsored by Bavaria, offers three stages with 10 hours of music on site each day. On top of that, the entire town of Mitchelstown is turned into a festival centre with 2am extensions in all bars and live music and DJ's on offer into the early hours.

All €59 weekend tickets purchased from Ticketmaster will allow access to the campsite. Any festival goers who bought €39 day or special offer early bird tickets will be able to access the campsite by paying a supplement on arrival at the site.

Check out www.indiependencefestival.com for details!

andyrew120 wrote: »

If you promise me you won't drink, and I mean PINKY SWEAR it, ye can all get in...

Any mention of when they will announce the daily breakdown?

INDIE-PENDENCE Stage Times:

Saturday
    Bavaria Stage
    2200 Ocean Colour Scene
    2045 Mundy
    1915 The Chapters
    1800 Ham Sandwich
    1700 The Stone Roses Experience
    1615 Vesta Varro
    1530 Nicole Maguire
    1445 202'2
    1400 The Minutes

Cyprus Avenue Stage
    2100 Fight Like Apes
    1930 Messiah J & The Expert
    1815 Rarely Seen Above Ground
    1730 Heathers
    1645 Panama Kings
    1600 Pocket Promise
    1515 The Jades
    1430 Agbonlahor

Red Bull Village
    2200 Mo Kelly (DJ Set)
    2100 The Brilliant Things
    1945 Sickboy
    1830 The Vital Spark
    1730 Ollie Cole
    1645 Carosel
    1600 The Hot Sprockets
    1530 Snowman
    1500 TBC
    1430 TBC

Sunday
    Bavaria Stage
    2200 Super Furry Animals
    2030 The Blizzards
    1915 Delorentos
    1800 Fred
    1700 Wallis Bird
    1615 The Aftermath
    1530 16 Layers
    1445 Elspeth
    1400 Travega

Cyprus Avenue Stage
    2100 The Frank & Walters
    1930 Director
    1615 Villagers
    1730 Dark Room Notes
    1645 Ian Whitty & The Exchange
    1600 Setmaker
    1515 Cowboy X
    1430 Gillian Verrechia

Red Bull Village
    2200 Fish Go Deep
    2100 Wiggle
    1945 The Kinetiks
    1830 Le Galaxie
    1730 Grand Pocket Orchestra
    1645 Joe Echo
    1600 Sara Lou
    1530 Myp Et Jeep
    1500 Reemo
    1430 Remy
    1400 Killer Chloe

Weekend Camping Tickets €59
    Day Tickets €39

Special Offer Weekend Non-Camping Tickets available from The Old Oak €39

Check out www.indiependencefestival.com for further details!

www.ticketmaster.ie

3 Stages / 2 Bars / Gourmet Food & a town turned into a venue!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 NumptyB

i'm from the town, actually gutted that this is the first year i will ever miss the festival - esp as it's the first year it's gonna be in this proper festival form. bit sad it's been moved out of the square, a lot of the family feel has gone from it, which is what the heart of it was, but sure it could be a step in the right direction!

NumptyB wrote: »
    i'm from the town, actually gutted that this is the first year i will ever miss the festival - esp as it's the first year it's gonna be in this proper festival form. bit sad it's been moved out of the square, a lot of the family feel has gone from it, which is what the heart of it was, but sure it could be a step in the right direction!

It just wasn't feasible to hold it in the square again to be honest and the idea was always to make it bigger & better. Mitchelstown has suffered a lot in recent times with job losses etc and the festival generates money for the town directly or indirectly. I'd love to see the 'brand' take off and turn the town into somewhere like Thurles when Féile used to be there. Fair enough there are always going to be some anti-social aspects to it but there's life breathed into the place for that weekend and I'm sure the people of Thurles would welcome Féile with open arms again because of the business generated by it. I think having it out of the square also takes some of that anti social behaviour away from the town centre and at least if it's going to happen it happens in a controlled environment rather than in an unmanned alleyway.

Anyways, I'm rabbiting on. The idea is to make it bigger and better. None of us take a wage out of it and none of us make money from it. Everything that's made is pumped into making the following year bigger & better. Long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Have got tickets for this and was just wondering about the drinking situation.

Will the bars only serve Bavaria or will there be other beers on offer? Also is it possible to bring in your own drinks or is that only for those who are staying on the campsite?

D-Generate wrote: »
    Have got tickets for this and was just wondering about the drinking situation.

Will the bars only serve Bavaria or will there be other beers on offer? Also is it possible to bring in your own drinks or is that only for those who are staying on the campsite?

Can't bring in your own beer and there's more than Bavaria available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

cant bring own drink in??

thats ridiculous.

Not really. How can we allow people to bring in glass bottles etc?

what about cans??recession and all that.

If you can find a festival with a similar line up for €59 including two days camping let me know - I'd like to meet the organisers.

Beer onsite will also be a hell of a lot cheaper than it would be at any other festival in the country.

A big part of what we've done is to try and make the ffestival accessible for everyone, and at €59 for a weekend ticket with camping I think we've done that. One of the main sponsors is Bavaria and part of getting sponsorship from anyone is that the customer base has pretty much exclusive access to their product. There has to be some give & take. Pints won't cost more than €4.50 either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

If you can find a festival with a similar line up for €59 including two days camping let me know - I'd like to meet the organisers.

Beer onsite will also be a hell of a lot cheaper than it would be at any other festival in the country.

A big part of what we've done is to try and make the ffestival accessible for everyone, and at €59 for a weekend ticket with camping I think we've done that. One of the main sponsors is Bavaria and part of getting sponsorship from anyone is that the customer base has pretty much exclusive access to their product. There has to be some give & take. Pints won't cost more than €4.50 either.

yeah, fair play for the line-up for that price - IMHO much better line-up than another festival which I have been a big supporter of but which costs the ridiculous sum of €240 - now I know that festival is about more than just the music line-up but seriously - this is proper value for money

thats fair enough but to be honest the bands playing are nowhere near as high peofile as the killers kings of leon etc,and oxygen is a 4 day festival so when you look at it like that its not a great package if you cant bring in your own drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

thats fair enough but to be honest the bands playing are nowhere near as high peofile as the killers kings of leon etc,and oxygen is a 4 day festival so when you look at it like that its not a great package if you cant bring in your own drink.

I was talking about the Electric Picnic really

re: bringing drink in: well you can bring it in to the campsite I presume - just not into the gigs - which is same as Oxegen/EP . Or am I wrong?

what i dont get is it says no glass objects allowed in on the webpage,now no cans or anything??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 EllaD

Im heading down to Indiependence this weekend. Have hostel booked in Cork City, does anyone know how it would be possible to get back to Cork from Mitchelstown after on the sat or would i be better off driving? found out that the last bus is half nine which is no good.

what i dont get is it says no glass objects allowed in on the webpage,now no cans or anything??

It's not there to hoodwink you, it's standard fare at most festivals that you simply cannot bring alcohol onto the site. As for the camping, I'm not 100% sure on that to be honest; I only volunteer to help out on the weekend itself so I'm only passing on what I know about it.

If you think it's too expensive, if you think that it's unfair that you can't bring any drink onto the festival site and if you're generally unhappy with that I don't think there's much you can do unless you hawk your ticket.

Ella, I can't really advise you on that. The campsite is secure and ample parking out there if you fancy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I asked this question (about bringing drink into the camp site) on the Facebook Indie-pendance fan page last week, and was told that drink,in cans and plastic bottles, IS allowed into the camp site. We just can't bring it into the festival arena. This is fair enough, and I hope it still stands, as I bought my slab of drink today! YaY!
    I think that €59 for 3 nights of camping and 50+ bands is great value, and I hope it is a great success. Hope ye all have a blast!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Honestly not being able to bring your own drink into arenas is standard terms and conditions for practically everything in this country. A few places are more lax in enforcing it on the day than others is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭PB1982

No alcohol on-site is fair enough once you can drink your own beer out in the campsite.

Does anyone know if BBQ's are allowed in campsite?

It's not there to hoodwink you, it's standard fare at most festivals that you simply cannot bring alcohol onto the site. As for the camping, I'm not 100% sure on that to be honest; I only volunteer to help out on the weekend itself so I'm only passing on what I know about it.

If you think it's too expensive, if you think that it's unfair that you can't bring any drink onto the festival site and if you're generally unhappy with that I don't think there's much you can do unless you hawk your ticket.

Ella, I can't really advise you on that. The campsite is secure and ample parking out there if you fancy it.

fair enogh suppose ill just have to stop bitching and enjoy it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

folks, does anyone know if there are any bus services going back to Cork city after each night? Well, Sunday night in particular? Myself and a friend are looking for a way to get back Sunday night.

Folks, as I mentioned already, I'm only one of the crew on the weekend, I don't call a lot of shots other that what sh*t get's dragged where and when to drag it. It may well be the case that you can bring drink on site though since there's a drinks sponsor I doubt it.

I'm pretty sure there's no BBQs allowed on the camping site, safety officer won't allow it.

My advice to anyone camping is to get ther early and if you have your tickets already got head for Mitchelstown GAA pitch out the Limerick road. In the last two days tickets have absolutely flown out the door and if getting a good spot to camp is your thing then get there early and make a proper weekend of it.

P.S. The festival is in a field, and the sites looking well at the moment. The Cyprus Avenue tent looks class and there's a real country feel to the whole place. So bring wellies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭this_time

Oh god, would really love to be going to this now. Decided on fatboy slim for some, now unknown, reason:eek: The festival of dreams in many ways. A feile stlye festival has been missed greatly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Hope this festival turns out to be a great success, and that it keeps getting bigger and better every year, like Feile did, and Electric Picnic has.

At least we can say were there at the beginning , for the very first Indiependance festival. I'm not including all the years I stood in the square in Mitchelstown watching bands perform on the back of a lorry, cos its not quite the same thing,even though I have many happy drunken memories of those times.

Forget Fatboy Slim, Mitchelstown's where it's at this weekend. Woop!!

Ps- Weather report from my gaff (I live about 20mins drive away from the festival site)....It's like November, Lads + Ladies, grey skies, chilly with rain showers. Hopefully it's going to clear up by this evening, but bring your wellies and waterproofs, we're going to need them. x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭LittleKitty

ou, im so excited!
    truely the best value for your money anyway.
    headin down in the morning, should be down at bout 12 noon. too late for a good spot?
    any good tips for the campsite? how many are expected to be there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭Jane Doe

Can anyone tell me if i can get a ticket at the gate tomorrow?? Left it too late to buy tickets for tomorrow and ticketmaster isn't selling them anymore. Really don't want to miss the bands!!

Campsite is mobbed, but chance your arm anyways. We geuninely didn't expect the volume of people we got today but they're all more than welcome. The atmosphere was amazing tonight - Fight Like Apes KILLED the Cyprus Avenue tent.
    You can buy tickets on the gate, there was about 5-6000 poeple there tonight and we have a site that could hold 40,000 if we need it so you should be ok for tickets.

Ps- Weather report from my gaff (I live about 20mins drive away from the festival site)....It's like November, Lads + Ladies, grey skies, chilly with rain showers. Hopefully it's going to clear up by this evening, but bring your wellies and waterproofs, we're going to need them. x
    I got sunburnt today:D

Enjoy the weekend folks! I will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Gill_Breakbeat

Woah...Better Advertising next year dudes!

Its the 2nd aug and i just found out cos of this ad!! Would have loved to have gone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭LittleKitty

that was possibly the best craic i have had in ages!!!
    campsite was full so i slept in the car in the small carpark, the craic was mighty.
    have to say, SFA were amazing, but the chapters and the dark room notes blew me away!

def be back next year!!!

Good:

I thought Fight Like Apes were amazing, great show!! SFA were good too, what was the story with the sign with franz ferdinand lead singer on it about tho!!! pity they did no encore but they haven't done any this summer from what I have heard! Due to other commitments I only saw Mundy (crap, but what do you expect??) and RSAG, got a poor crowd as he was delayed, not bad tho.

Beer was good, good price too. 4.50, cant complain.

Bad:
    There were a few bottle necks on the site that were a bit annoying (on the way to main tent) Maybe the main stage could have been put back furhter, was loads of space!

A few of the artists that I spoke to said they were a bit dissapointed with their treatment, like having to carry their own gear to the tent, limited drinks tokens etc...

One of the security staff was a twat, she was complete power freak but thats probably only one person!

Bar closing at 10/10.30 but I appreciate the whole side of getting people to the town!

Overall:

Really enjoyed it, wish I could have been for whole thing. Best of luck next year and I really hope ye get it going and it goes from strength to strength!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Went both days, great atmosphere!

Highlights for me were the Franks, Messiah J and the Expert, Blizzards, Delorentos, Director, and watching mud splattered people dance like they hadn't a care in the world.

I'm looking forward to next years already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

blizzards were awwwesome, most definitely going back next year :pac:

edit: whomever handed my passport + wallet(still with money inside!) to the security I ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOU

Samurai wrote: »
    blizzards were awwwesome, most definitely going back next year :pac:

edit: whomever handed my passport + wallet(still with money inside!) to the security I ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOU

:D:D:D

We found them cleaning up the site on Sunday morning and they were in two different places. You are haunted you got your wallet back, it was plastered in ****. I hope we looked after all the punters. We got great feedback from the campsite with regards facilities for people out there etc.

If I remember right there was €90 in it. Should buy you your ticket for next year. And bring some friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

oh my god dude i love you!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Another local here. Couldn't give a crap about indie music, but I went along for the craic anyway.

All I can say is that I'm definitely there next year again, and gonna piss off as many of my mates into going too. Can't believe something like this was pulled off in mitchelstown. 10/10 to the organisers.

I went on Saturday afternoon and saw most of Messiah J & The Expert (really entertaining), Mundy (better than I expected) and Fight Like Apes (great show). Left for the pub during OCS. Weather was crap on sunday so went to the pub instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 HaydensMom

Festival on the whole was mighty, had the best laugh Saturday jumping around in the muck to OCS, after about 20 cans of Kopperbergs. However, speaking for all the ladies who spent the weekend camping on a slope in a wet GAA pitch, I have to point out that the toilet facilities were DISGUSTING by Saturday morning and got progressively worse as the weekend went on. Please sort this out for next year! They really were grim. Plus there was nowhere to put rubbish and it was absolutely everywhere. Oh yeah, to the boys who climbed up and wrote "cuntypiss" on the match scoreboard at about 5am Sat night, that was inspired!