Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you drive off

• 17-05-2009 10:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

Ok I was walking out of my house today with my Dog. He ran out ahead of me and got hit by a car flying by. Now this is a built up housing estate with loads of kids around your man must have been doing atlest 40mph on a cul da sac. I ran over to my dog and noticed he was in pain in the corner of my eye i seen the driver flying off into the wind. This made me so f.cking mad. I got one of my family members to take care of the dog as i went looking for the driving. I found him a few minutes later. I was so angry that i broke a couple of windows in his car and the only reason i didnt hit him a box was he ran off again on foot. Anyway the garda where called by the driver. The garda told me i would have to pay for the damage or be arrested, as my dog wasnt on a lead. Im so angry right now, as the chap who knocked the dog down got away with it even tho, due too his speeding he could have killed my dog or just as likly some kid on the street. Too cut a long story short, i was just wondering what people thought of this would you have done the same thing as me or did i over react?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Ok I was walking out of my house today with my Dog. He ran out ahead of me and got hit by a car flying by. Now this is a built up housing estate with loads of kids around your man must have been doing atlest 40mph on a cul da sac. I ran over to my dog and noticed he was in pain in the corner of my eye i seen the driver flying off into the wind. This made me so f.cking mad. I got one of my family members to take care of the dog as i went looking for the driving. I found him a few minutes later. I was so angry that i broke a couple of windows in his car and the only reason i didnt hit him a box was he ran off again on foot. Anyway the garda where called by the driver. The garda told me i would have to pay for the damage or be arrested, as my dog wasnt on a lead. Im so angry right now, as the chap who knocked the dog down got away with it even tho, due too his speeding he could have killed my dog or just as likly some kid on the street. Too cut a long story short, i was just wondering what people thought of this would you have done the same thing as me or did i over react?

Uh yeah I'd think so, he just got hit by a speeding car.

And yeah I think breaking his windows was a slight over reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭magenta73

No, I would have probably punched him as well, then my husband would of had a go! get the dog checked out by a vet and pay for the damage and then give the guards the vet bill and tell him to pay up:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

I understand how you felt:( your poor dog he is after all apart of the family.The guy should have stopped and said sorry and checked if the dog was ok.It is however against the law not to stop or report you hit a dog.
    I do think you over reacted even though most people would like to do that or kick his ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Vet cost me 123 euro so far. The garda told me it was all my fault. Imso fu.cking mad as dont think it is. I was told i would have to pay his damage as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

id not drive off cause id never drive that fast ( i do 10 mph at best in estates... ) and if i do something wrong - put my hands up and take the blame...

if someone hurt my dog, even by accident, they'd be in hell with jade goodie.

Vet cost me 123 euro so far. The garda told me it was all my fault. Imso fu.cking mad as dont think it is. I was told i would have to pay his damage as well

get yer man to pay for the vet bill,:mad: and if the dog needs any follow up treatments, get him to pay for that too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

But you didn't have the dog on a lead. Take some responcibility FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Tbh both of you were to blame. Yeah the driver should of stopped but then again your dog should of been on a lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Dog not on lead - your fault

Breaking Windows and failing to control your anger - Your Fault

In summary - You are at fault - Shut Up and Pay up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

muletide wrote: »

thats a bit roof :D...........I agree though, but the driver was a d*ck for driving off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I would say that you should of had your dog on a leash.Fair enough if he knows to stay off the road but he obviously doesnt.
    Still what a pri.k to just drive off like that!it annoys me to think that people can be so insensetive!that guy sounds like a right di.k!... so does the garda actualy

no animal lovers here I see

but driving at 40mph in a built up area is against the law and it could have been a child! and as far as I know you dont have to keep them on a lead

muletide wrote: »

LOL heartless... Think about it, what if it happened to you lad??? I wonder how you would feel FFS, it was only a puppy (4 months) Sure i was only putting his lead on and he seen another dog and got excited. your man was belting it along the road there is no need for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

magenta73 wrote: »
    it could have been a child! and as far as I know you dont have to keep them on a lead

thats why i'll never be allowed children :(

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

stepbar wrote: »
    But you didn't have the dog on a lead. Take some responcibility FFS.

Agree with this. I know it's really sh*tty, and if someone hit my dog and tried to drive off, I'd be feeling the same way you are, but the reality of it is dogs are meant to be kept on a leash. Granted that's mainly for people's safety, but personally, I keep my own dog on the lead for precisely this reason.

There's a big park behind where I live, and I've had a few near misses (while driving very slowly I might add) where an unleashed dog has run out in front of my car cos they caught sight of a rabbit or squirrell or whatever. If the worst happened and I did hit a dog, I'd definitely stop and see was it ok.

However, the reality of your situation is that while not stopping if you hit a dog is wrong, so is smashing up someone's car. In fact, smashing up someone's car is criminal damage (unless you work in a scrapyard), and if all you have to do is pay the guy's costs, then you're getting off lightly. I know that the red mist must have descended big time to cause you to do something like this, but all you have accomplished by this action is to make a bad situation worse.

edit: just seen this bit -
    I wonder how you would feel FFS, it was only a puppy (4 months) Sure i was only putting his lead on and he seen another dog and got excited. your man was belting it along the road there is no need for that.
    That is heartbreaking, but again, the dog should have been leashed before you left the house. As you're no doubt well aware, puppies and young dogs are very excitable and are liable to 'bolt' without warning, which is all the more reason to make sure they're well restrained before setting out on a walk.

That said, it doesn't make your situation any easier, and I do understand that you were upset having seen that. I hope the dog is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

the poor dog. Hope he isnt to bad. Ya should of having him on a lead but retrospect is brilliant.
    I would have baiting the snot off me man for driving off. Just pay up and thank feck the dogs grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I would have followed him, found out where he lived and waited a day or so, then drive up there around 3am and done some damage to his car.

Not that I condone violence :pac:

But to be fair, any dog let alone a puppy will run when he gets excited/sees another dog. I always put the lead on mine before I leave the house. Hope he'll be okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

All this talk of leads is correct, I guess. But I don't really get how it's worse than some bell-end speeding around a built-up area and then not even bothering to stop when they knock down somebody's pet. Guy is lucky he only got his windows broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

It doesn't matter if yer man was doing 100MPH, the dogs not supposed to be on the road, end of story

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

So basically, you smashed up his car and you don't think there's anything wrong with that.

Nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I've never hit
    A dog before, but I like to think i'd have the guts to stop, and take the rap for it.
    But unlike some drivers, I didn't get my license out of a packet of cornflakes!

Everyone also forgetting its an offense for him to have drove off after hitting the dog as he is meant to stop and report it also if he cant find the owner?

I hope ur puppy is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

LOL heartless... Think about it, what if it happened to you lad??? I wonder how you would feel FFS, it was only a puppy (4 months) Sure i was only putting his lead on and he seen another dog and got excited. your man was belting it along the road there is no need for that.
    Heartless, but very true. My parents have a dog (considered it my dog too until I moved out) and if anyone did anything like that, I would be pretty damn angry. Would I smash up someone's windows over it? Hell no. At least I can control my anger, and you should try to do the same

A few years ago I was driving along and saw a dog get caught under the wheel of a 4x4. Needless to say, the 4x4 drove off, but I was the only driver there who stopped for the dog. The dog was alive but whimpering in pain and stumbled into the ditch at the side of the road. I was gonna put it into the car but realised I was in the middle of the Childers Rd in Limerick (not a rough area, but thought it was at the time) and didn't want to leave my car unattended, so I got back in, rushed back to my house and got a housemate and some towels to go looking for the dog. When we went back, we couldn't find anything, so we just left it. It did shock me how someone could be so heartless to ignore a hurt animal

Toots* wrote: »
    However, the reality of your situation is that while not stopping if you hit a dog is wrong, so is smashing up someone's car. In fact, smashing up someone's car is criminal damage (unless you work in a scrapyard), and if all you have to do is pay the guy's costs, then you're getting off lightly. I know that the red mist must have descended big time to cause you to do something like this, but all you have accomplished by this action is to make a bad situation worse.

Seriously, I have never done that before but seeing my 4 month old dog on the ground in pain and hopping around trying to gather himself up was enough to make me want to kill anyone. Funny thing tho, the vet told me she had 3 other people in with the same thing this sunday alone. hit and run of dogs she told me my dog got off lightly. How can people do that kind of thing.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Seriously, I have never done that before but seeing my 4 month old dog on the ground in pain and hopping around trying to gather himself up was enough to make me want to kill anyone. Funny thing tho, the vet told me she had 3 other people in with the same thing this sunday alone. hit and run of dogs she told me my dog got off lightly. How can people do that kind of thing.

I don't know, and it makes me sick to think of it. I prefer to let Karma take care of aresholes like that though, generally I find if I take matters into my own hands things get messy. Besides, in the past, Karma seems to have done a much better job of it than I could ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭54kroc

Hope your dog's ok but i'd say your lucky not to be in more trouble over the windows.

The kind of person that smashes up a car would probably drive off if they hit a dog........some might say :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

There are no speed ramps on my road. It's in housing estate but it's actually quite a long stretch of road and the number of cars that boot down it is disgraceful really, especially when you consider there is also a large green across that is used by kids.

....A couple of weeks ago I was in the front garden kicking a ball around with my younger cousin. My gaff is about halfway down. I saw a car come round the corner and proceed to absolutely tear down the road. Sort of instinctively I put my foot through the ball and smacked it off the cars side door...stupid thing to do I know. The driver screeched to a halt and reversed back (ridiculously fast also I might ad). He rolled down the passenger window and I think he was expecting to see a kid because he just sat there looking all confused....all I could muster to say was 'slow the **** down'! ...and off he went.

Anyway, that's my slightly related story:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

I love cars and I own a dog.
    If I hit a dog I'd be out making sure he/she is ok, and doing what I can to help.

If I was you I would have stayed with the dog.
    But if I did chase him, (and on principle I would never damage a persons car) I would have done so much damage as to write off the car.
    To the charge that its illegal etc. I answer this: Its worth it.

Not because he hit the dog. But because he hit the dog and kept driving away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What's stupid about the people who speed in my estate is that everybody knows the two or three cars that boot around. If any of them actually did hit a child, they would probably just be better off just getting out of the estate as quickly as possible.

The kind of person that smashes up a car would probably drive off if they hit a dog........some might say :o

yeah the kind of person that might hit a farmers sheep then put it in the booth of his car and bring it down too said farmers house and offer to pay for the damage. Hmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭yourmano

To be honest I think this just shows how important it is to have your dog on its' lead. I think him driving off was wrong. Did he know? Also, two wrongs don't make a right, you could well have a lot more bills to pay. Poor dog though, pity he was not on a lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

OP did he not even slow down to make sure it wasn't a child he hit?
    I think the Police should charge him for speeding imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Hit a dog and drive off, go smash some windows. Kinda relative behavour TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

When your dog gets better teach the dog to sh!t in the garden of the lad who knocked him down. That will teach him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

We had a dog that was hit by car - the driver didn't stop.

tbh, never thought of the driver after who they were, only thought was for our dog how he was.

Hope your dog is ok.

Yeah he slowed down afterwards, skid marks on the road anyway, when he seen it was a dog he flow off.

yeah the kind of person that might hit a farmers sheep then put it in the booth of his car and bring it down too said farmers house and offer to pay for the damage. Hmmm

You did that? Fair play to ya...I would too. I'd also stop if I hit a dog but I wouldn't do what you done. Hope the dog is alright. My dog was knocked down before but the driver had was good enough to stop.

It happened to me when i was 10 :( tiny was her name :(poodle black cute little thing she was :(still get upset to this day thinking about her.She got hit by a car and they drove off.A car behind stopped and offered me a lift home with her.I carried her home in my arms dead :(
    Yeah thinking about it he got what he deserved.Even if it was against the law he is lucky he didn't get his ass kicked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭trish23

Yes, I'd have kicked his ass & then some. Why wasn't he done for speeding? Built up area is maximum 30 but depends on conditions - due care & attention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

you sound a bit of a tit smashing up his car... id take you to court for that.. you should control your anger...

your dog shouldent of been on the road... even if the driver was doing 20mph it sounds to me like he still would of hit your dog....

a few months ago while over taking a car a dog came out in front of me.. i couldent steer out of its way due to a car beside me and a car coming towards me... i dident slow down or stop... the basterd thing cost me a fog light...

moral of the story? keep your dog under control and you wouldent have to pay all this money to the guy for smashing his car..

P.S when i was younger my dog was killer by a car driver.. the driver did stop and told my neighbor... first thing that i was worried about was there any damage the dog caused as we would of had to pay it but the driver said it was ok...
    the dog shouldent of been on the road!! just showing i dident blame the driver i blamed myself!!

shqipshume wrote: »
    Everyone also forgetting its an offense for him to have drove off after hitting the dog as he is meant to stop and report it also if he cant find the owner?

ya do in your arse have to find the owner...

prove it!!!
    trish23 wrote: »
    Yes, I'd have kicked his ass & then some. Why wasn't he done for speeding? Built up area is maximum 30 but depends on conditions - due care & attention?

again prove it!!! why not charge the dog owner for not having him on a lead and this would of never happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

i dident slow down or stop..
    Sounds like I'd be kicking the f8ck out of afatbollix if he hit my dog anyway.
    id take you to court for that..
    It'd be worth it.

afatbollix wrote: »
    a few months ago while over taking a car a dog came out in front of me.. i couldent steer out of its way due to a car beside me and a car coming towards me... i dident slow down or stop... the basterd thing cost me a fog light...

I agree dogs shouldnt be roaming,i keep my dog on lead before i walk out the door.
    But did you report it or stop and move the dog off the road or check it was alive or not?

P.S when i was younger my dog was killer by a car driver.. the driver did stop and told my neighbor... first thing that i was worried about was there any damage the dog caused as we would of had to pay it but the driver said it was ok...
    the dog shouldent of been on the road!! just showing i dident blame the driver i blamed myself!!

Not a dog person then.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Why wasn't he done for speeding?

You can't get done for speeding just because some guy says you were.
    Even if that guy happens to be Danger Mouse.

Not a dog person then.:rolleyes:

of coarse i am... i have two.. also got a cat a horse and a gold fish..

its just when i go for a walk with my dog i have it on a lead so it wont get hurt!! ive put in a good fence / gate so it cant get out onto a busy country road so it can roam around the house.. i look out for my dogs so they hopefully cant get hurt..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭trish23

You can't get done for speeding just because some guy says you were.
    Even if that guy happens to be Danger Mouse.

Yes, you can certainly ask the guards to have a 'chat' with dangermouse & I do know that this has happened. OK, they weren't arrested & charged but they were warned & visits recorded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Yes, you can certainly ask the guards to have a 'chat' with dangermouse & I do know that this has happened. OK, they weren't arrested & charged but they were warned & visits recorded

If I told a Garda to go and have a chat with Danger Mouse the only person who'd be getting warned would be me.

of coarse i am... i have two.. also got a cat a horse and a gold fish..

its just when i go for a walk with my dog i have it on a lead so it wont get hurt!! ive put in a good fence / gate so it cant get out onto a busy country road so it can roam around the house.. i look out for my dogs so they hopefully cant get hurt..

And the gate will never be left open accidentally of course.