Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Club Owner Dies...

• 17-05-2009 4:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭

...and the keys are passed to you.

I've been all over the country in the last few months sampling different types of nightlife. It's fair to say that a lot of them seem to be very similar. I know that it's hard to have too much variety, especially in smaller cities and towns...but you're now in control of your own late night venue opening 7 nights a week.

What do you do?

Will it be over 18s? 21s? 23s? 25s??

What will the music policy be? Will it be the same 7 nights a week? Will there be 70s, 80s, 90s nights etc?

Live music? All djs? Salsa nights?!

Now...remember, this night club is going to be your livelihood so eventhough you may love Heavy Metal, I think you know that a 7 nights a week heavy metal club is not going to be a goer.

So decisions decisions....

First off...Name your new club...and then tell me how you're going to run it.

(btw, for the cynics among you, I don't own a night club haha...actually, when I went into one in Dublin recently it was my first time in them for years...but I noticed the ones in other counties looked fairly quiet...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

A proper rock Club. like Jillies in manchester.:cool:
    Call it 2112

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,768 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

No fat chicks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

galwayrush wrote: »
    Call it 2112

Do you think you'd make money out of it in the area you're from?

Interesting name too...care to explain it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Under 18's club, with a €100 cover charge for older gentlemen, who sit behind several 2-way mirrors and watch the youngsters cavort

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Strict no skobes policy, and bouncers who recognise the difference between moshing along with music as opposed to fighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Adidas or Nike = BANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Monday - Live Music, Trad, for the old folks who like that sort of thing. No Dress Code
    Tuesday - Student Night, Cheap slightly water down shots, DJ, Alternative music, (But not too alternative) No Dress Code, but just not tracksuits.
    Wednesday - Gay night, with all the regular theme's that that entails. No Dress Code but just not tracksuits.
    Thursday - Student Night. Cheap slightly water down drinks, DJ, Top 40 type music.No Dress Code but just not tracksuits.
    Friday - Live Music from known bands, Such as The Corona's and what not. No Dress Code but just not tracksuits.
    Saturday - Dance Music, proper dance and trance, with famous guest DJ's. No Dress Code but just not tracksuits.
    Sunday - Regular nightclub but with different Drinks Promo's every week. Except the sunday before Bank Holidays when it would be live music with a particularily good band. No Dress Code but just not tracksuits.

So there it is, my fantasy night club, even though I hate most of the Music, I think this place would have the biggest chance of success.

Do you think you'd make money out of it in the area you're from?

Interesting name too...care to explain it?

Done properly , i think it would do well. 2112 is the name of a Rush Album.;)

Monday - Live Music, Trad, for the old folks who like that sort of thing.
    Tuesday - Student Night, Cheap slightly water down shots, DJ, Alternative music, (But not too alternative)
    Wednesday - Gay night, with all the regular theme's that that entails.
    Thursday - Student Night. Cheap slightly water down drinks, DJ, Top 40 type music.
    Friday - Live Music from known bands, Such as The Corona's and what not.
    Saturday - Dance Music, proper dance and trance, with famous guest DJ's.
    Sunday - Regular nightclub but with different Drinks Promo's every week. Except the sunday before Bank Holidays when it would be live music with a particularily good band.

So there it is, my fantasy night club, even though I hate most of the Music, I think this place would have the biggest chance of success.

That's your fantasy nightclub? Cheap watered down shots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Strip Joint

Fcuk the music, tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

My club would be just like fibbers only without the stench of sewage.
    Wall to wall metal,industrial and punk,waitresses wearing fcuck all and a tank full of sharks on one wall.
    Oh yeah,i'd carry a gun as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Monday - Live Music, Trad, for the old folks who like that sort of thing.
    Tuesday - Student Night, Cheap slightly water down shots, DJ, Alternative music, (But not too alternative)
    Wednesday - Gay night, with all the regular theme's that that entails.
    Thursday - Student Night. Cheap slightly water down drinks, DJ, Top 40 type music.
    Friday - Live Music from known bands, Such as The Corona's and what not.
    Saturday - Dance Music, proper dance and trance, with famous guest DJ's.
    Sunday - Regular nightclub but with different Drinks Promo's every week. Except the sunday before Bank Holidays when it would be live music with a particularily good band.

Sounds like a good plan, every angle covered. Maybe the odd "ladies night" to let the young lads believe they might score and you're off.

I'd go, except for the fact that I don't drink, and nightclubs are sh*t when you can't drink away the crapiness of it all.

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    That's your fantasy nightclub? Cheap watered down shots?

If I owned it. Cheap as in the price, because it would be a student night, they generally don't care.

Minidazzler is thinking along the right lines...Remember, this is your livelihood now so you have to think about packing the place out as much as possible.

Very important in my club would be some good quality catering, say in the bar area.

I agree, but food would have to stop being served after a certain time. Basically at whatever time people really start getting drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Room 101 - Scene and not Herd

"No Dance - No Chart - No Hip Hop"

Over 25s - No ID ? Piss Off ! Instant barring for fighting etc.

FREE Soft Drinks for Designated Drivers

Mondays - Live Music (Battle of the Bands) + Drinks promos

Tuesdays - Stand Up Comedy

Wednesdays - Free Quiz Night (1st Prize 2 rounds drinks for winning team, 1 round for 2nd place)

Thursdays - Alternative Night (Live Bands&Djs) + Drinks promos

Friday - Late Club

Sat - Late Club - Live Music Followed by DJ

Sundays - The Breakfast Club (Chilled music vibe starting at Lunchtime)

I agree, but food would have to stop being served after a certain time. Basically at whatever time people really start getting drunk.
    Yes, food during the day in the pub area,maybe up to 11pm, because not many places available to get for eg. a good steak late at night.

marcsignal wrote: »

Wednesdays - Quiz Night

Friday - Late Club

As much as I like this idea....Where are you from? Do you think that an over 25s club could be sustainable in that area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Call it 2112

2112? Can't see any anybody being in a Rush to geddy into that place. Maybe people who don't have a Life son. It's all Peart of the stigma attached to rock clubs/bars in Ireland

Onkle wrote: »
    2112? Can't see any anybody being in a Rush to geddy into that place. Maybe people who don't have a Life son. It's all Peart of the stigma attached to rock clubs/bars in Ireland

Excellent.........LMFAO:D:D:D

Btw, this weekend last year, i organised a Rush tribute weekend here, got 42 people from the UK, and 4 from Sweden who came over just from a post on an internet forum. Cracking weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Liquorice

Degsy wrote: »
    My club would be just like fibbers only without the stench of sewage.
    Wall to wall metal,industrial and punk,waitresses wearing fcuck all and a tank full of sharks on one wall.
    Oh yeah,i'd carry a gun as well.

Clean the floor once in a while and I'm there.

Wednesdays - Free Quiz Night (1st Prize 2 rounds drinks for winning team, 1 round for 2nd place)

Friday - Late Club

Over 25's for Stand Up???? Maybe over 21's, otherwise that would be kind of unsustainable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Excellent.........LMFAO:D:D:D

Btw, this weekend last year, i organised a Rush tribute weekend here, got 42 people from the UK, and 4 from Sweden who came over just from a post on an internet forum. Cracking weekend.

Something told me you'd get that one :D

Onkle wrote: »
    Something told me you'd get that one :D

LOl, not sure if many more will though.:D

As much as I like this idea....Where are you from? Do you think that an over 25s club could be sustainable in that area?

over 25s rule could be very flexible, but there in case you want to use it as a pasifier ;)

That could backfire. Just look at it this way.

You are leaving in a fair number of under 25's. But turning away a good load. The Over 25's see too many under 25's and think that ye are constantly flouting the age restriction and there are too many kids there, so alot of them stop going.

Now the rule that ye turn under 25's away has spread and you have feck all business. So you do a reopening where it's 18's+. Now you have a load of basically teenyboppers coming out with only around €30 each for the whole night and getting twisted on the smell.

In my opinion an over 25's rule can only lead to trouble. unless you are from a good enough area where it is sustainable to be constantly over 25's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

The club will be 18s and over, Chart music on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays with erotic dancers and entertainers, Then 80s/90s nights on Wednesdays and Thursdays which includes free admission on them days only.

Mondays and Tuesdays will be student nights, Its cheap enough admission price with 3 euro drinks, There will be bands, DJs, WII competitions, karaoke and Drinking Competitions.

I will search the local gyms for huge Russian body builders to hire as bouncers, The bar staff will be skilled in juggling with fire and knifes, Advertisement will be done through social websites and fliers handed out locally.

Its all about keeping the customers happy and coming back to spend more money to keep me rich.

That could backfire. Just look at it this way.

You are leaving in a fair number of under 25's. But turning away a good load. The Over 25's see too many under 25's and think that ye are constantly flouting the age restriction and there are too many kids there, so alot of them stop going.

Now the rule that ye turn under 25's away has spread and you have feck all business. So you do a reopening where it's 18's+. Now you have a load of basically teenyboppers coming out with only around €30 each for the whole night and getting twisted on the smell.

In my opinion an over 25's rule can only lead to trouble. unless you are from a good enough area where it is sustainable to be constantly over 25's.

true, i think the thing that annoys people about teenyboppers is messy drunkeness, unless you had a house policy that 'messy drunkeness isn't kosher' and will result in you not being served any more that night, or being asked to leave?

*edit* polite/calm/smiling/professional security staff are a must

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

CLUB HARNEY:)

10 euro cover charge, half of which goes to Crumlin's Children Hospital or Debra Ireland...then you can feel good about wasting the rest of your money on drink.

Friday night - RAAAWK
    Saturday Night - 80's & Cheese

Sunday Night- Harney Burlesque

Door policy: No scrotes, hoopy ear rings, Ben sherman shirts, skinny jeans (on blokes 'cos it's just wrong), muppets, D4 sex-hair, nobody with a chip on their shoulder!

I don't think it's just messy drunkiness that annoys the over 25s...

The single most annoying thing for me about 18 year olds in clubs is that the level of maturity from 14-18 is not that different so we have to put up with girls screaming and hugging each other like they would in town on a saturday afternoon...and fellas running around getting each other in headlocks.

Also, people just like being amongst their own age....and others don't like reminders of how old they're getting.

So OP. 2 questions:cool:
    When are you opening your club?
    Do we boardses get free membership?

Honestly, I'm starting to think you'd be mad to open one in the current climate.

the level of maturity from 14-18 is not that different so we have to put up with girls screaming and hugging each other like they would in town on a saturday afternoon...

:mad: I'm 18 and I've never screamed or hugged anyone in public in my life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

phasers wrote: »
    :mad: I'm 18 and I've never screamed or hugged anyone in public in my life

Awh do you want a hug? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Strip Joint

Fcuk the music, tbh

whore house, fcuk the poles

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Awh do you want a hug? :D

I'm calling the police

Honestly, I'm starting to think you'd be mad to open one in the current climate.

If you can stay afloat in this climate, you will do very well when things get better.
    Of course high quality screened sporting events would pull in customers during the daytime and early evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

I wouldnt do age restrictions, call it nothing. Advertise for the mid to late 20's age group, just make it harder for younger ones to get in, it will build a reputation to them that its strict so dont waste your time. That will also work at keeping the right kind of age group in the club. Anyway.....

Monday - Just a dj, playing a good mix of everything + drinks promos
    (its hard to get the crowd in after a busy weekend)
    Tuesday - Student night, Dj , Chart music, Free entry before 12
    Wednesday - Live band, Some drink promos
    Thursday - Student night - 90's night, Drinks promos
    (Students these days were brought up in the 90's)
    Friday - Comedy Show 8.30 - 11.30
    - Live band 11.30 to close (free entry into disco for people at
    the comedy show. Some late night drinks promos.
    Saturday - Dj, Dance music, drink promos, Big name DJ's
    Sunday - Dj's from early, chilled out music until midnight, rock etc after.

Dress code for all nights is casual wear, no runners, no tracksuits, no hats, no dickheads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    The club will be 18s and over, Chart music on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays with erotic dancers and entertainers, Then 80s/90s nights on Wednesdays and Thursdays which includes free admission on them days only.

Mondays and Tuesdays will be student nights, Its cheap enough admission price with 3 euro drinks, There will be bands, DJs, WII competitions, karaoke and Drinking Competitions.

I will search the local gyms for huge Russian body builders to hire as bouncers, The bar staff will be skilled in juggling with fire and knifes, Advertisement will be done through social websites and fliers handed out locally.

Its all about keeping the customers happy and coming back to spend more money to keep me rich.

I like it, as long as there is a dress code - no trainers, no tracksuits, no dresses that second as belts and orange tan

zudo wrote: »

legendary. i bet that facebook group they set up is just gonna turn into a discussion about chocolate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Install a soundsystem that makes your nostrils flap.

Max cover charge = 10 euro.

No dress-codes, no classist bollocks, no bad attitudes inside the venue

Day-time, early evenings = provide a non-commercial space free of charge to community groups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

have it dark and smokey and have quality bands or djs. all genres catered for at some stage. a no scumbag policy and bouncers who aren't up their own arse. but it has to be dark and smokey and the music has to be quality. no chart shite ever. just a dark smokey place that rocks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

"The Steaming Turd"

No fcukin students/crusties/gheys/goths.

No fcukin shapers or fcukers with wispy mustaches(includes girls)

Clean warm shítters with no frikken jerks doing sprays of scents or touting for tips.

No liggers Z list "celebrities" cast of Fair City freeloaders .

Absolutely no mid atlantic cnunts from RTE moonlighting as DJs and expecting cash in hand.

Just good ABC punters who appreciate good music and have a few Eurons in their wallets and don't go ape**** after a few shots.

Bound to be a fcukin winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

"The Steaming Turd"

No fcukin students/crusties/gheys/goths.

So, just men in flat caps who are allowed bring their whippets/greyhounds in?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Thats the very club for me lads!

Also, in my Club/Pub Glasses made of glass would be used until 11pm. Then a switch to plastic. I would charge less too because the Plastic Glasses hold less than the pint. So I would charge a small bit less.

Glasses should be like boobs, real, not plastic.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Night Club my arse.

I would bulldoze it and sell the site to Aldi.

Then retire to my boat in the Caribbean.