Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Req] Graham Norton's Questionable "Pro British" Statements

• 16-05-2009 8:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

I have briefly watched the Eurovision on BBC with Graham Norton’s commentary. I was shocked to hear him say:

“Denmark’s entry was written by our very own Ronan Keating”.

Putting aside opinions for one moment, can I ask people if they happen to recall any other similar statements Norton has said that questions his Irish nationality. If yes, can you please take the time to write it down on this thread.

I’m sure some will feel the urge to get into a debate on Norton himself. If so, maybe take the time to start a new thread on it. For the moment on this thread, maybe just write down the statement itself.

Thanks in Advance for all responses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

FrCrilly wrote: »
    Hi All,

I have briefly watched the Eurovision on BBC with Graham Norton’s commentary. I was shocked to hear him say:

Putting aside opinions for one moment, can I ask people if they happen to recall any other similar statements Norton has said that questions his Irish nationality. If yes, can you please take the time to write it down on this thread.

I’m sure some will feel the urge to get into a debate on Norton himself. If so, maybe take the time to start a new thread on it. For the moment on this thread, maybe just write down the statement itself.

If he's saying "our very own" Ronan Keating then surely he's referring to himself as irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Hi there Ted ya big bollix:D

Ah I think he got mixed up between himself being Irish and his audience being British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 JohnW2008

Noticed that aswell. Rather gave the impression that he thought he was as British as anyone else there. Fair enough if he feels that way! Remember ages back, him complaining about how out of place he felt as a Prod growing up in Cork. Puh-lease.

And then again if the British want to claim our very Ronan as their own. Fire away...wouldn't be the first time! The 100 greatest Britons and all that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Dont think Ronan Keating will complain who uses his name on the airwaves ,specialy if his song does well . And Boyzone are all lovies on the British chat shows anyway .Outside ireland and in Britain they become ' one of our own ' to .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

He referred to the "British entry Jade" rather than "our entry Jade" etc.

I would take it he was referring to "our" Ronan Keating as in "his"

No pro-British bias as far as I can see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

They've been stealing our pop acts for 800 years! rabble rabble rabble

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

LOL another idiotic facepalm of a thread on this topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

A west-Brit AND gay??? Let's get him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Ha ha you watch the eurovision:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Eurovision-Song-Contest-2-001.jpg

You could argue where his loyalties lie all night but which country made him a millionaire, tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

when working for the BBC he is entitled to say "we". It would be odd if he said "Ye are doing pretty good" all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Graham Norton is Irish and so is Ronan Keating. What is the point OP?

If you watch the Champions League and Bill O Herlhehurleheeeeeey refers to John O'Shea as "our own" is that an admission that RTE is British because he plays for an English team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭markopantelic

he definetly meant 'one of our own' as in British, but like isn't his real surname 'Walker'? Not very 'irish'

He's obviously more than others of British descent so I guess he can claim to be British, a plastic brit you could say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

He's obviously more than others of British descent so I guess he can claim to be British, a plastic brit you could say.

:rolleyes:That and the fact that he's lived there for quite a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Leaderbored

he definetly meant 'one of our own' as in British

Wow, I wish I could read television presenters minds....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

amdublin wrote: »
    He referred to the "British entry Jade" rather than "our entry Jade" etc.

I would take it he was referring to "our" Ronan Keating as in "his"

No pro-British bias as far as I can see

As shoud be done.
    mike65 wrote: »
    LOL another idiotic facepalm of a thread on this topic.

Why is it that any thread that deals with Irish posters looking for distinction from a foreign entity is "idiotic" in your eyes?

Would you like to have your nationality blended in with all things French, or German perhaps?

I've noticed this with you before. It's not an anti-British issue. We'd just like to have some independence, and not in a political way. Just a self-respecting way.

Have some awareness please.
    Eurovision-Song-Contest-2-001.jpg

You could argue where his loyalties lie all night but which country made him a millionaire, tbh

So we should all be mercenaries? Let's get a Green Card and pledge allegiance to the stars and stripes and forget about home.
    asdasd wrote: »
    when working for the BBC he is entitled to say "we". It would be odd if he said "Ye are doing pretty good" all night.

It could be put another way. He doesn't need to use the term "we".
    Graham Norton is Irish and so is Ronan Keating. What is the point OP?

If you watch the Champions League and Bill O Herlhehurleheeeeeey refers to John O'Shea as "our own" is that an admission that RTE is British because he plays for an English team?

You're not comparing like with like. At all. Think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

How does everyone feel about Sir Terry Wogan or Des Lynham OBE. They often say we when referring to the British public.

kraggy

I could try to formulate a detailed reply but it would encourage the people who don't even understand the role Norton was performing last night on the British Broadcasting Corporation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

A west-Brit AND gay??? Let's get him.

Yeah he's a real keeper...

WTF's going on here? I fail to see how Norton was channeling Wogan in this regard...Keating is Irish and so is Norton, and that's what he said; "Our very own". Did you fail reading comp at school?

Besides even if Norton did come out with that in the way that the OP means it's hardly the first time the brits have laid claim to something from Ireland that suddenly became popular/successful/moneymaking/newsworthy...that's just the way it is...when they win/succeed/sell they're British, but when things go a little pear shaped, they're Irish once more. Same as it ever was. That said I don't think that's the case here...
    liam7831 wrote:
    Ha ha you watch the eurovision
    QFE
    Being stabbed in both eyes is a preferrable saturday night's entertainment when you compare it to that sh*tefest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Is this really a big deal? What's the problem? Norton works in Britain and is paid to comment for a British audience. It makes sense that he would use words like 'we' and 'ourselves' because he is speaking primarily to the viewers of Britain. He also has lived in Britain for a while now so why shouldn't he feel part of the culture if he wants to?

If you ever watch Brent Pope comment on rugby on RTE he also uses words like 'we' and 'ourselves' when referring to the Irish team. I'm guessing it's not in fact designed to be a slap in the face to his home country of New Zealand but rather because he is commenting to an Irish audience and because after so many years here, he feels part of the place. Fair play to him I say.

Honestly some people need to take the big chip off their shoulder on things like this. It's like small nation syndrome.

I'm comfortable enough in my own identity and nationality that I don't need to see every Irish-born person working abroad constantly bombard people with the 'Oh by the way did I mention I'm Irish, begorrah, bejaysus' nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

If you ever watch Brent Pope comment on rugby on RTE he also uses words like 'we' and 'ourselves' when referring to the Irish team. I'm guessing it's not in fact designed to be a slap in the face to his home country of New Zealand but rather because he is commenting to an Irish audience and because after so many years here, he feels part of the place. Fair play to him I say.

Brent is very pro Irish, he has even suggested that one of New Zealand's pop stars write a song for Ireland so that Marty Whelan can refer to them as his "own".

As for Norton he seems happy to be Irish, I would suggest he was talking about being Irish rather then his audience.

Stupid post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Reading this thread is like hitting yourself repeatedly over the head with an ice pick. It feels so good when you stop.

Seriously, certain people getting their p1ss in a froth, over something so utterly inanely, trivial.
    Do you think everything the men of 1916 fought for is going to come crashing down, just because Graham Norton may or may not have referred to Ronan Keating as British (something I doubt btw).
    Honestly, get a grip!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Surely when he said 'our own' he was referring to the gay community?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

FrCrilly wrote: »
    Hi All,

i knew there'd be a thread on this, he used 'our' in different contexts that night, what he said was right, whether he meant our as in irish, or our as in the guy we're all familiar with, the bbc have had a irish commentators for the last so many years.

its hardly pro-british even at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭NormanNicetouch

Norton has lived and worked in Britain for years and earns a living from the BBC. He can now be fairly considered to be part of the 'New English' like Sir Bob Geldof, Sir Terry Wogan, Roy Keane etc. After all we call all the Poles, Nigerians etc who live here 'the New Irish' even if they've only been in the country 5 minutes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

There a handy living to be made in Britain if you are a foreigner that speaks passable English and can convince them that you really really like them.

Because despite all that tough guy image(you know wars and all that stuff) they just want to be loved like everyone else.
    So if you are half decent on the box and willing to give them a kiss and a cuddle sure Bobs your uncle and Sallys your aunt your on to a winner.

Sure don't we fall for the same old rubbish ourself when some old celeb rolls into town and tells us he/she loves us and Ireland.
    Thats Show Business.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 883 ✭✭✭moe_sizlak

Elmo wrote: »
    Brent is very pro Irish, he has even suggested that one of New Zealand's pop stars write a song for Ireland so that Marty Whelan can refer to them as his "own".

As for Norton he seems happy to be Irish, I would suggest he was talking about being Irish rather then his audience.

Stupid post.

i think it was a very good analogy and post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

kraggy wrote: »
    So we should all be mercenaries? Let's get a Green Card and pledge allegiance to the stars and stripes and forget about home.

Although your whole post is nonsense, this line was the most nonsensical.

First off the countries in question are Ireland and the U.K. and you are spouting on about stars and stripes.

Secondly, would you class the millions of Irish emigrants as mercenaries?...and would you say that they left Ireland in search of a better life. If I was to lose my job I'd be gone out of Ireland tomorrow...what should Graham have done, tried getting a job in RTE so as not to viewed as a turncoat...I'm actually laughing to myself as I type this thinking about how ludicrous your ideas are.

Although your whole post is nonsense, this line was the most nonsensical.

First off the countries in question are Ireland and the U.K. and you are spouting on about stars and stripes.

Secondly, would you class the millions of Irish emigrants as mercenaries?...and would you say that they left Ireland in search of a better life. If I was to lose my job I'd be gone out of Ireland tomorrow...what should Graham have done, tried getting a job in RTE so as not to viewed as a turncoat...I'm actually laughing to myself as I type this thinking about how ludicrous your ideas are.

The stars and stripes reference was just another example. The countries are irrelevant. The point still stands.

And regarding the mercenary reference, there is absolutely nothing wrong with emigrating to find a better life. I'm consdiering doing it myself.

But what has the fact that the BBC/Britian has made a millionaire got to do with his nationality? What, he should accept British ownership because they pay him? He can make his millions and still remain Irish.

Maybe if you read my post properly you would have seen the point I was making.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Kate Thorton: What's it like working with Colin Farrell, cause he is just so hot in the UK right now

Samuel L. Jackson: He’s pretty hot in the US too

Kate Thorton: Yea, but he’s one of our own!

Samuel L. Jackson:
    Isn’t he from Ireland?

Kate Thorton: Yea but we claim him because Ireland is beside us

Samuel L. Jackson:
    Ya see that’s your problem right there. You British keep claiming people that don’t belong to you. We had that problem in America too – it was called slavery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Guys, Norton is a self proclaimed Brit, why should we be bothered either way? I'd be much more worried if an Irish person who was actually proud of their native land was spouting out British stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

So an Irish presenter referred to an Irish "musician" as 'our very own' and this somehow makes him a traitor because he was on British tv?:confused: Norton and Keating are from the same country. Saying 'our very own' is perfectly correct.

Now, personally I wouldn't want to highlight any type of connection between myself and Ronan Keating but if Norton wants to that's his business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I couldn't be bothered with him either way but i'm suprised nobody has brought up the ad for the eurovision with him donning the sparkly Union Jack blazer. I would have thought that would have been a clearer indication to where his alleiggances lie these days, each to his own though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

He makes his living in the UK, he presented the show which produced the UK's entry, if he's comfortable with where his allegiances lie then fair play to him I say. Nationality is really just an accident of birth anyway.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I couldn't be bothered with him either way but i'm suprised nobody has brought up the ad for the eurovision with him donning the sparkly Union Jack blazer. I would have thought that would have been a clearer indication to where his alleiggances lie these days, each to his own though.

I think this thread is wonderful. We got the same thing almost ever year when it was Wogan and now that Norton has taken over we have the exact same thread!

Classic :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭redtom

Ronan Keating can write songs???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

A big fuss over nothing but I did find this strange and amusing:

100 Greatest Britons

75 Bob Geldof
    86 Bono

What does that say? That the british love to claim anyone successful as their own or....... they don't know who they are voting for. :pac:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

3 Pages of people arguing over the semantics and deeper meaning of a presenter's use of the word "our" in throw away comment on a cheesy song contest.

kraggy

I could try to formulate a detailed reply but it would encourage the people who don't even understand the role Norton was performing last night on the British Broadcasting Corporation

But neither Graham Norton nor Ronan Keating are British..:confused:

Graham was talking to the British public in his commentary. The word "Our" is a collective, possesive form of adjective.

Therefore, GM saying that Ronan Keating was "one of our own", includes the British public in the grouping, thus, claiming that he, Ronan and the public to whom Graham Norton was speaking, are all the one i.e. British.

Why can't you see that?

Maybe he got confused? I should say I didn't see the outrageous slur but when of you are in a country not your by birth and you are there a while sometimes you start using we/us/they/them is slightly messy ways which can cause confusion/doubt in the minds of other.

As a Brit in Ireland for many years I've done it myself. I do it here now and again. When I say "we", someone could pull me up on that word and challange me to define "we".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭MsMolly

i think people are over analysing his intent. the eurovisions is always seen as a piss take of the 'rest of europe'.........wogan did it and now norton. in any other field there would be complaints about insulting all of europe but in the eurovision its what is expected, it's half the fun making a laugh of the ott presenters or dress sense. in part i thought GN was hilarious with his quips, his whole commentary was a running skit of the presenters, the songs and then the judging panel. probably the only one he didn't slag off was derek mooney. he referred to keating as 'our' simply to acknowledge the fact that he is familiar to us , (the viewers) in the same way he may have said 'our' very own louis walsh. very few people watching the bbc would have known that the greek fella was famous in his country but everyone would know who ronan keating was, like him or loathe him. he was just using 'our very own' to acknowledge that fact. it has nothing to do with allegiance to the irish or english.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

As a Brit in Ireland for many years I've done it myself. I do it here now and again. When I say "we", someone could pull me up on that word and challange me to define "we".

I've been living out of Ireland for 12 years now and almost always refer to the Irish as "those" or "ye lot".
    I think some people here need to get out a little more often :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

Everybody on these islands is the same kind of monkey speaking the same language, watching the same TV, following the same soccer clubs reading the same newspapers etc. Maybe that's what he meant by 'our own'. Who knows?

Keatings are only Norman blow ins at any rate :D:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭markopantelic

yeah its a bit like when i was talking to this swedish girl, and she said she has never been in a foreign country, well except for denmark but she doesn't consider it foreign.

because of history thats just the way it is for ireland, we're anglophone european culturally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

O'Coonassa wrote: »
    Everybody on these islands is the same kind of monkey speaking the same language, watching the same TV, following the same soccer clubs reading the same newspapers etc. Maybe that's what he meant by 'our own'. Who knows?:

No, you will find we listen to different radio, many of our newspapers are Irish with a few Irish editions of English newspapers, haven't see an Irish edition of a Scottish or Welsh paper.

We watch more American TV then "they" do over there, but this is changing significantly in more recent years, the English seem to have fallen in love with US TV.

We also have different sports that they don't have in Britain.

Over all this whole conversation is a bit moot.

If Ireland had been represented at the Eurovision I am sure Graham Norton would have mentioned that he was Irish, indeed Mr. Wogan was for many years presenting a show for an English audience. What did he say when we gave "them"/"that lot" 10 points lol.

Anyway at the end of the day aren't we all european, I am off to watch TV5 LE MONDE and France24 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Had the semi-finals on the TV on Thursday while I was working, didn't watch the finals but has anyone mentioned that on the show the writers of the song were listed and it was Ronan Keeting that wrote it

Someone somewhere made a mistake, not sure who as I don't care enough to look and see of Ronan Keating actually wrote it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Had the semi-finals on the TV on Thursday while I was working, didn't watch the finals but has anyone mentioned that on the show the writers of the song were listed and it was Ronan Keeting that wrote it

Someone somewhere made a mistake, not sure who as I don't care enough to look and see of Ronan Keating actually wrote it

what now?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

keeting

yeah its a bit like when i was talking to this swedish girl, and she said she has never been in a foreign country, well except for denmark but she doesn't consider it foreign.

In Lars Von Triers The Kingdom the head doctor is Swedish but works in Copenhagen and never missed an opportunity to vent his negative feelings about the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

He wrote (co-wrote?) the Danish entry and the singer sang it in Keating's style