Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rogan - the postmortem

• 15-05-2009 11:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭

Let it beging!

I am gutted. Horrible way to lose yer title.

Dave Parris was up his hole the whole fight and had him confused imo.

If Rogie had a bit more nastiness he would have finished him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Dave Parris was absolutely disgraceful and was on Rogan's back the whole night never seen as much biased refereeing in the UK before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭adamburke83

Total joke,

And britishboxing.net have sexton up as boxer of the week already.
    That Ref should lose his licence and never be allowed near a boxing ring again,

the warnings he gave rogan were terrible, i was expecting him to give sexton a warning for blocking the shots with his face :D

Rogan showed him Mercy and paid the price for it, i think thats why the ref pulled him straight to the corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mick_ser

Totally agree Parris was total disgrace like Rogan said in interview after fight.
    Pity Rogan didnt finish him when he had his hands down. His eye looked bad though didnt see how that happened was it a headbutt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

“He caught me and I was rocked but I held my composure well,” Sexton said of the dramatic eighth round.

was he in the same fight we saw :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭adamburke83

TechnoPool wrote: »
    “He caught me and I was rocked but I held my composure well,” Sexton said of the dramatic eighth round.

was he in the same fight we saw :rolleyes:

Honestly i think he took too many blows to the head and cant remember what happened to him in there and how lucky he is for 2 reasons

#1, to be commenwealth champion
    &
    #2, not to be still lying out on the canvas (other than Rogan stupidly showed him mercy and asked the ref to stop it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

I was appalled by that reffing tonight lads. Firstly Parris stepped in to split them loads of times when Marty was building momentum and there was no need to separate them.

Just prior to the finish, Sexton turned his back and stopped defending himself when he was hurt, and the ref warned Rogie for hitting him in the back. If you turn away and lie against the ropes to avoid punishment, that is ground for a stoppage in my opinion.

I do believe the swelling came from a headbutt because of how quickly it swelled up, and i just dont sexton has the one punch power to do that.

I am very disappointed with the whole thing. Rogie is a truly class act for how he conducted himself post fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Wow...

Rogan was too good for his own good but Sexton was as out on his feet as any fighter gets. If he hit him one big shot it could have done serious damage. Im sure thats why he didnt finish the job.

The ref didnt help things either, he was totally biased to Sexton, even though that wasnt enough to win him the fight. Rogan would have likely caught him byt the end of the round. Its a real pity about the eye.

I hope there is a rematch as I am sure Rogan would win. Not too sure Sexton wants it though.

What next? he should probably look at fighting again in September. Heal up etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

"But just moments earlier, Sexton was fighting for his boxing career after Rogan had him in all sorts of trouble at the start of the round.

It looked as if the taxi driver from Belfast was going to finish Sexton off but he bravely clung on and got his just rewards with the stoppage.

And after the dramatic fight, Sexton said he was now looking forward to bigger things after the biggest victory of his career. "

no bias there at all:pac:

He only clung on because Rogan expecting the ref to stop the fight didn't finish him off when one more shot would have taken him out. Granted some will blame Rogan for not being ruthless but the ref should have waved it off right there. Not only Sexton got even more time to recover after his gumshield fell out. So that's another reason Sexton bravely clung on!

No wonder Sexton wants to move on to other things, still if he looks at the video and is honest about it he'll give Rogan a rematch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Photojoe

I just caught the 8th round in a pub. Looked a right tearup and Rogan looked to be doing the damage.

That man is one of the toughest looking men in the ring as well, the nose on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Missed the fight just watched the last round now :confused::confused: WTF.

Get the Rematch and fast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Just watched the last round there, cannot believe it! why th ehell didn't you hit him rogie! reminds me of that movie 'The Boxer' with Daniel Day Lewis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

feel really bad for rogen.ref was poor and then rogen just showed to much respect for sexton ,should have finished him off.sexton could parely lift his gloves at the end

Rogan complained about Sexton using dirty tacics throughout the fight.
    You can see from the you tube video the ref' warned Sexton about leading in with his head. So we now know the likely cause of the huge swelling to Rogan's eyes. It's convenient how the ref decided to check Rogan's eyes again as soon as he had his best round of the fight. The ref has questions to answer. I suspect if that happened to a fighter of Warren's on the continent, with a foreign referee involved, he and others would be more vocal in questioning the performance of the referee.

I wouldn't be as confident of Rogan winning a rematch now because Sexton will probably have better stamina next time and we saw for a lot of that fight he was beating Rogan to the punch. Still Rogan has tremendous determination and is as hard as nails so it would be foolish to write off his chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,371 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Fairly dire reffing, i wouldnt mind but Dave parris is usually a decent ref. Fair play to sexton, he boxed well at times and i had him winning 2 rounds and sharing2 but Martin was in the process of getting the job done. Rematch would see Rogie destroy sexton so i'm sure he'll try and avoid it. Somethin tells me warren is quietly smiling this morning

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Fairly dire reffing, i wouldnt mind but Dave parris is usually a decent ref. Fair play to sexton, he boxed well at times and i had him winning 2 rounds and sharing2 but Martin was in the process of getting the job done. Rematch would see Rogie destroy sexton so i'm sure he'll try and avoid it. Somethin tells me warren is quietly smiling this morning

I had it 4-3 to Sexton going into the 8th - I'd have then given Rogan the 8th 10-8.

Rogan complained about Sexton using dirty tacics throughout the fight.
    You can see from the you tube video the ref' warned Sexton about leading in with his head. So we now know the likely cause of the huge swelling to Rogan's eyes. It's convenient how the ref decided to check Rogan's eyes again as soon as he had his best round of the fight. The ref has questions to answer. I suspect if that happened to a fighter of Warren's on the continent, with a foreign referee involved, he and others would be more vocal in questioning the performance of the referee.

I wouldn't be as confident of Rogan winning a rematch now because Sexton will probably have better stamina next time and we saw for a lot of that fight he was beating Rogan to the punch. Still Rogan has tremendous determination and is as hard as nails so it would be foolish to write off his chances.

Id back Rogan 100% in a rematch. He showed tremendous sportsmanship towards Sexton and great respect. He would have definitly KOd him and possibly hurt him bad as he was totall out.

The least Sexton can do is give him a rematch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,457 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I didn't see the fight last night and probably just as well, I'd probably have broken something after seeing that.

That referee has to lose his license, he never gave him a count, he gave him time to recover and the fight should have been stopped.

Martin Rogan stands off a guy who is falling around the place and the referee does nothing. Rogan is to be commended for his efforts to get the fight stopped. I understand that people will say he should have finished him but the man knew he could do serious damage and like probably everyone else in the arena expected the referee to stop it and save the other man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Rob113

Sick as a dog watching that last night. Have followed every one of Rogies fights since watching him win the prizefighter that time.
    Absolutely horrendous refereeing. Never gave rogie a chance and how he didnt stop it was unbelievable. Martin a true gent even though hes as tough as nails. The eye hadnt got any worse in the 8th round. Why he chose to call the doctor in then ill never know. It wasnt as if he was getting hit or was missing the target. He seemed to be throwing his best punches of the fight in that round.
    I just think the whole thing smells a bit fishy. A staunch republican holding the Commonwealth title???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭c1979

rematch big time. Was a bit sad(but slightly funny) all of warren's english boxers being booed by the belfast crowd

dave parris is a "Fr**K Wa**en" ref all you have to do is look at all the FW promotions he has ref'ed on. obviously fw didnt want rogie to win?

c1979 wrote: »
    dave parris is a "Fr**K Wa**en" ref all you have to do is look at all the FW promotions he has ref'ed on. obviously fw didnt want rogie to win?

i've heard that before - butwhy wouldnt FW want Rogie to win?

because rogie is older and irish and estimated maximum fan base = no greater 590,000 and lets face sextan is english (population 51m) estimated fan base could = 5 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I'm absolutely speechless. I'm also half-sickened Martin didn't drop him but at the same time he has to be commended for putting the welfare of his opponent first.
    because rogie is older and irish and estimated maximum fan base = no greater 590,000 and lets face sextan is english (population 51m) estimated fan base could = 5 million.

But to follow on with that logic surely it would profile Sexton even more to have a rematch?

c1979 wrote: »

I wouldnt go along with that - a 38 year old Irish slugging heavyweight would cover the Irish and US market whereas English heavyweights are ten a penny.

I cant see Sexton ever selling out an arena like the Odessey.

From the sunday world today by stephen looney, couldn't find it on the website so i'll type

Martin Rogan is set for a rematch with Sam Sexton following his controversial defeat in Belfasts odyssey arena on friday night. The 38 year old lost his commonwealth heavyweight crown to the norwich fighter when he was deemed unable to continue due to an eye injury.

Just prior to the doctors decision in the eigth round Rogan had the challenger at his mercy but hesitated to finish the 24 year old off. Instead he looked to referee Dave Parris to stop the contest as Sexton looked unable to defend himself in front of thousands of Ulster fight fans.

But the Falls road man proved such a box office smash that Frank Warrens partner immediately spoke to Rogans trainer about a rematch.

"Frank couldn't make it due to a back injury" said respected coach John Breen, "but his partner Ed Simmons was ringside and he couldnt believe the passion and size of Martins support. Martin may have lost his title but he has more credibility now than before the fight and if the promoters want a rematch in belfast it'll happen. Ed was amazed at the response of the Northern Ireland sporting public, before te fight he said 'we could do this every 10 weeks', after the fight he said 'we could do this every 8 weeks'

I'm gutted for Martin, he had the fight won but showed a bit of immaturity in the ring and didnt finish Sexton off. In boxing terms he is still a baby, despite his age, and he showed too much heart and compassion for his opponent. Its up to the referee to stop the fight. I think Martin thought he had at one stage. Boxers should show no mercy, they should keep fighting until they are told to stop. Eamonn magee or Neil Sinclair would have kept on throwing punches. One more punch-even a push-and Sexton would have been finished. His corner was ready to throw in the towel at one stage but it didnt happen."

After the fight Rogan was furious with referee Parris, saying "I wasnt happy with the ref because Sam recieved warnings and got away with it whereas i was warned early on that i could be put out of the ring by the referee. Fair play to Sam, he's a strong fighter and he caught me early on but i had recovered well and i had him well in range when the fight was stopped.

He didnt stop me though and I'll be back bigger and stronger than ever- I want to get back in the gym straight away for the next fight."

However, Breen feels Rogan deserves a well earned rest before returning to training.
    "He's had three wars, December, February and Friday night, so he'll take a break to recharge the batteries but he'll definately be bigger when he returns."

So there you have it anyway. Rogie lives on!!! I wonder whats meant by saying he's going to come back bigger? Surely messing around with his weight and physique could harm his stamina. I always thought that he had the kind of natural Bear like strength that some people tend to develop later in life. I know a bit of conditioning never did anyone any harm but i'd hate to see that wild rawness taken away from him. Unless of course he comes back with a serious knockout punch :).

One more thing, my old man absolutely loves Rogie, he says he's the closest thing he's seen to Marciano, and while he's obviously not world class he's a joy to watch for pure heart alone. I hope he does get his rematch, then wins the rubber match and that should set him up for a european shot and if that goes well a crack at Valuev. I genuinely think Rogie has the beatin of the big lump. Here's hoping.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,375 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Rogan showed inexperience big time, and compassion, that cost him the bout.
    Sexton was hurt, but almost semed to be playing possum. He reminded me of Ali in 1971 in the 11th rd against Frazier, when Ali wobbled back on his heels
    half hurt and half acting. Rogan not only let him off the hook, he drops his hands down and Sexton plants him with two good shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭MisterCadbury

Inexperience? I really dont think that was it . It was more a case of compassion I mean look at Sexton, hands by his waist , head down , wobbling. How a ref wouldnt stop that is beyond?

Regardless i think it was an awful advertisement for the sport to see Rogan who has gained a huge public following to lose like that. A pure and out disgrace.

I have to say, after seeing it more than once, it has irritated me a little.
    Rogan didn't need to do what he did at all. Sexton was hurt, but far from
    absolute gone. It wasn't Holmes-Frazier or Ike Williams-Beau Jack or
    Mercer-Morrisson. Sexton was ahead and Rogan landed some good shots and Sexton looked ready to go. Then Rogan stupidly backs off and is
    looking at the ref and drops the hands?:rolleyes:

I want to feel sorry for Rogan, I realy do, but I feel more annoyed at the
    error he made. It was a wee bit silly, and compassion doesn't explain it all!

walshb wrote: »
    Mercer-Morrisson. Sexton was ahead and Rogan landed some good shots and Sexton looked ready to go. Then Rogan stupidly backs off and is

Walshb your number is up now. You just slapped on to heavy on Rogan there. I don't believe you mean it for one second. I can just imagine you sitting behind your computer looking something like this(devils advocate).

dadvocate.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Great news for anyone who is interested - rematch proposed for the 11th of september by Warren. Probably will be in the Oddessy again. Decent enough of Sexton if it goes ahead that quick. Looking forward to it, Rogan fights never fail to entertain.

http://www.boxingscene.com/index.php?m=show&id=19956

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Sexton cons him, when Sexton points the his gumshield on the ground I think Rogan thought Sexton was indicating his corner had pulled him out(Sexton's corner that is), hence Rogie looks at the ref and Sexton lands the tamest combination you'll see next of Montgomery Burns having a go on someone.

Sexton's mental faculties were all there, physically he was absolutely gone and had pretty much nothing left but he still had enough guile about him to use his little trick and save himself.

Sexton would be advised not to try something similar if he gets hurt in the rematch however, he's likely to get blasted out if he does. He's probably likely to get blasted out anyway.......but still.

Agree completely, Sexton conned Rogie by pointing at the ground and his combo afterwards was a pure dirty sneaky stunt that should have gotten him knocked out swiftly thereafter instead of being handed someone else's title belt. Roll on the rematch, just hope Rogie doesnt rush himself trying to blow sexton away and end up gassing himself

If any fight is worthy of a rematch its this one!!! September would do nicely

eagle eye wrote: »
    Walshb your number is up now. You just slapped on to heavy on Rogan there. I don't believe you mean it for one second. I can just imagine you sitting behind your computer looking something like this(devils advocate).

dadvocate.jpg

You've lost me, care to elaborate

Big Ears wrote: »
    Sexton cons him, when Sexton points the his gumshield on the ground I think Rogan thought Sexton was indicating his corner had pulled him out(Sexton's corner that is), hence Rogie looks at the ref and Sexton lands the tamest combination you'll see next of Montgomery Burns having a go on someone.

Sexton's mental faculties were all there, physically he was absolutely gone and had pretty much nothing left but he still had enough guile about him to use his little trick and save himself.

Sexton would be advised not to try something similar if he gets hurt in the rematch however, he's likely to get blasted out if he does. He's probably likely to get blasted out anyway.......but still.

Yeah, like I said, he semed to be playing possum in there and Rogan should never ever have dropped the hands and turned away. It was a silly error and it cost him.

Simple, you keep fighting UNTIL the refreee stops the bout, plain and simple. It's basic
    stuff and this "I thought the ref stopped it," doesn't cut it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Sweet Cheeks

Yeah, like I said, he semed to be playing possum in there and Rogan should never ever have dropped the hands and turned away. It was a silly error and it cost him.

Simple, you keep fighting UNTIL the refreee stops the bout, plain and simple. It's basic
    stuff and this "I thought the ref stopped it," doesn't cut it!

this was different to playing possum. At the risk of teaching my grandmother to suck eggs, playing possum is when a boxer feigns weariness in an attempt to draw the other fighter in.</p>
    What Sexton did was to more akin to feigning an injury - he dropped his guard and looked to the corner as to indicate that the fight was over or he was in someway in distress.

If he screamed that he had twisted an ankle or broken an arm - and then if Rogie reacted the same way and the Sexton started landing in the same way what would you position then be.

What if there actually was something wrong with Sexton when he dropped his guard and then Rogan went in for the kill and Sexton was then seriously hurt - what would people say about Rogan then?.

Is was a sneaky low act and preying on the best side of human nature. It was very close to the line on cheating in my book and would certainly be more than enough motivation going into a rematch.

this was different to playing possum. At the risk of teaching my grandmother to suck eggs, playing possum is when a boxer feigns weariness in an attempt to draw the other fighter in.</p>
    What Sexton did was to more akin to feigning an injury - he dropped his guard and looked to the corner as to indicate that the fight was over or he was in someway in distress.

If he screamed that he had twisted an ankle or broken an arm - and then if Rogie reacted the same way and the Sexton started landing in the same way what would you position then be.

What if there actually was something wrong with Sexton when he dropped his guard and then Rogan went in for the kill and Sexton was then seriously hurt - what would people say about Rogan then?.

Is was a sneaky low act and preying on the best side of human nature. It was very close to the line on cheating in my book and would certainly be more than enough motivation going into a rematch.

I know exactly what playing possum means, but hey, simple fact is, that Rogan screwed up and should NOT have stopped fighting, turned his back on his opponent and dropped his hands. The first rule of boxing, protect yourself at all times. I like Rogan, but I refuse to make sily excuses for his silliness!

Oh, and for the record, if Rogan did indeed go in and finish a "distressed and hurt" Sexton, I would not ever condemn Rogan. This is bloody boxing and it is brutal at times and the name of the game is to beat your foe.

Hey, if he continued pounding on him when he was on the ground, then I would be disgusted! That's a whole different story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭polishpaddy

That sexton is a sneaky little rat.

Sexton chanced his arm, or maybe he was hurt, but how was he to know
    how Rogan was going to react? Sexton was either definitely hurt or feigning and trying to lure Rogan in. Either way, Rogan is the one who gifted this fight to Sexton and the blame is with Rogan, not Sexton or the ref.

Rogan had the chance to take his man out, as his corner wanted, and he failed. Rogan knew his time was slipping with the injury and knew it was do or die, and he died, because he failed to finish a beaten man.

He has found out the hard way that, "No good deed goes unpunished."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

Gumshield out aside,the ref was very poor, but what was worse is that he allowed Rogan to fight on with an eye injury like that. Ok the ref did call the doctor several times but I believe but all he was doing was putting Rogan in more danger. Sexton was leading in with his head and Rogan was getting the warnings.

That sexton is a sneaky little rat.

Exactly.
    Sexton cheated. He shouldn't be excused for doing so. He is to blame no matter how it's spun. His comments after the fight were laughable too given what transpired in the last round. Rogan is to be commended for his compassion. He being of good nature assumed Sexton due to his acting was in a bad way and did not want it on his conscience if the guy ended up seriously injured. what Sexton did is the ultimate form of cowardice and bad sportmanship too; he was ok with cheating his way to victory. to have sneaky regard for this and put the blame on Rogan diminishes the sport. also to young boxers, getting into the sport, watching it sends a very bad message: stoop to anything to win. if that's the way some people want it fine but don't bother calling Boxing a sport if you are not prepared to explicitly condemn Sexton's actions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

He is a disgrace the way he conducted himself.To spit out his gumshield and then point to it and then hit rogan like that, jesus christ......

Fellas, all the excuses in the world does not explain Martin's silly
    actions in the ring. Sexton spat out the shield, so bloody what. That has
    zero to do with Martin. Jimm Watt was flabbergasted, as was I.

Martin showed compassion when it was not even appropriate, he made a silly mistake and paid for it.

Sexton was far from absolute beat and Rogan looks away and drops the hands?

This is inexcusable considering that Rogan needed the KO to win.

Like I said, he learned the hard way.
    One man is to blame for losing the CHANCE
    to win this bout, that man is Rogan.

You've lost me, care to elaborate
    Being the devil's advocate means taking the side that is not popular and driving it home.

Clearly in this instance you have done that. You have failed to say one bad word about the refereeing performance. The guy should never be let in a ring again.
    You have failed to say one bad word about Sexton.

I mean its quite clear that you are just winding people up. You just keep re-itterating the point that Rogan should have finished him. We all know that now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Jason Mc

the ref was crap, sexton was head butting

rogan should have finished him off if indeed he could have

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Sweet Cheeks

Fellas, all the excuses in the world does not explain Martin's silly
    actions in the ring. Sexton spat out the shield, so bloody what. That has
    zero to do with Martin. Jimm Watt was flabbergasted, as was I.

Martin showed compassion when it was not even appropriate, he made a silly mistake and paid for it.

Sexton was far from absolute beat and Rogan looks away and drops the hands?

This is inexcusable considering that Rogan needed the KO to win.

Like I said, he learned the hard way.
    One man is to blame for losing the CHANCE
    to win this bout, that man is Rogan.

so what? well its against the rules for starts! Which other rules do you think they should also have ignored during the fight - allowing a fighter to turn away from his opponent, allow them to rub their head in each others face - oh sorry, they also happened!

eagle eye wrote: »
    Being the devil's advocate means taking the side that is not popular and driving it home.

Clearly in this instance you have done that. You have failed to say one bad word about the refereeing performance. The guy should never be let in a ring again.
    You have failed to say one bad word about Sexton.

I mean its quite clear that you are just winding people up. You just keep re-itterating the point that Rogan should have finished him. We all know that now.

Hold it a second here. I never said the ref was good or bad. I am simply discussing what Rogan did in RD 8. I never ever discussed the performance of the ref, which was poor. So, you want to discuss the ref from rds 1-7, go ahead.
    I am talking about Rogan's silly silly error which cost him the fight.

All the sh!t that occurred before Rogan's ridiculous error is irrelevant here.
    Rogan was urged to go and end the fight or he'd be stopped due to
    the injury. He knew this. He went out and hurt his man and then he backs off, drops his hands and wonders what the ref is doing?:rolleyes: In doing this, Sexton opens up and regains his composure.

I don't think I am the only one to think how I do. Watt thought tha way too.

Rogan lost due to deciding to make a stupid error. He "thought" his man was
    in grave danger and he "thought" the ref should stop the fight. Bollo% to "thought."

Rogan should have did his job and finished his opponent and not worried about the ref or the crowd or Sexton or Sexton's gums shield or Sexton's corner.

I have seen fighters in far worse conditions than Sexton and I have never seen that from the aggressor.

Now, you want to go and talk about the referee and his performance, go ahead.