Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fbd ras

• 15-05-2009 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭

any one on here doing it this year,i will be spending the week following the race their is an impressive line up this year with a real chance of an Irish winner ,hope the weather improves http://www.fbdinsuranceras.com/event/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

any one on here doing it this year,i will be spending the week following the race their is an impressive line up this year with a real chance of an Irish winner ,hope the weather improves http://www.fbdinsuranceras.com/event/
    Shane Stokes will be twittering live from the Rás.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,192 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

And I am hoping to be updating live from the RAS also on my clubs website, but the updates will be related to mostly related to my own team in their bid to survive the week. Looking forward to it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

what is your team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,192 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Waterford (Comeragh) - and I feel sick on their behalf looking at that lineup ! No-one is talking too much about that Danish team, but I reckon they will do damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

possible stupid question : is that guy's name really Urban Monks ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

parasite wrote: »
    possible stupid question : is that guy's name really Urban Monks ??
    It is indeed and he's quite a a decent bike-rider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

His fathers name is also Urban and his uncle is Herbie Monks.

Cool name..but not for me thanks.

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    Waterford (Comeragh) - and I feel sick on their behalf looking at that lineup ! No-one is talking too much about that Danish team, but I reckon they will do damage.

will keep a eye out for them,its going to tough on the county teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

Shane Stokes will be twittering live from the Rás.

Here's another twitter feed - from the Orwell team car

http://twitter.com/Orwell_Wheelers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

good luck to everyone doing it - esp the 'men of the Ràs'.

hope you guys get good weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

smithslist wrote: »
    good luck to everyone doing it - esp the 'men of the Ràs'.

Thats just the amateur clubmen correct?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭paddy's hill

Best of luck to all the county riders. I believe a "man of the Rás" is any one who has finished the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Fatloss08

Zipp101 wrote: »
    His fathers name is also Urban and his uncle is Herbie Monks.

Cool name..but not for me thanks.

has loads of cousins called budhist monks :)

Former Belgian road race champion Niko Eeckhout won the opening stage in testing conditions heavy winds and rain battered the the field which finished in a bunch sprint in wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

Former Belgian road race champion Niko Eeckhout won the opening stage in testing conditions heavy winds and rain battered the the field which finished in a bunch sprint in wexford

The form comes true for the Ex Belgian Champion

I'd say it's very difficult to become national champion of a cycling rich country like Belgium.

Good pic but you are right on the (middle of the road) line there - bi curamach (irish for careful) - remember poor Nelison and Jalabert crashing with the police man !!! - warning - may upset some people - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pya6ZVW-oKg

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    And I am hoping to be updating live from the RAS also on my clubs website, but the updates will be related to mostly related to my own team in their bid to survive the week. Looking forward to it though.

Really enjoying these updates quigs, keep em coming!

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

A few pics from the RAS as it passes throught Waterford today

http://pix.ie/sportifwatcc/album/342944

Ian Wilkinson(BRITAIN Halfords Bike Hut) took the stage win and the yellow jersey after a punishing day which saw the race going from wexford to cobh,the race split into 4 groups the englishman pulled away from a group of 5 to win on his own at the top of the hill in cobh ,with the rest of the race strung out behind with the bunch coming in over 5 mins back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

Really enjoying these updates quigs, keep em coming!

+1. Great updates from Quigs in the team car on the comeragh site: http://www.comeraghcc.com/

showry wrote: »
    +1. Great updates from Quigs in the team car on the comeragh site: http://www.comeraghcc.com/

Daily videos from the Comeragh team:

Stage 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hm7dT1SlQ8w

Stage 2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4edvN73E3Vo

Those updates and vids are class :)
    Good work Comeragh!

Question: would the club/county riders be using their own machines or would they get sponsored?

Raam wrote: »
    Good work Comeragh!

Question: would the club/county riders be using their own machines or would they get sponsored?

Most on their own bikes AFAIK. Orwell are, anyway.

Winning solutions recently got new team bikes - KTMs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭biker_joe

I know the Cycleways ( dunboyne CC ) lads get new machines for the RAS and sometimes get the their new Team Kit a couple of weeks before the RAS.. nice new Red kit this year !! Stephen O'Sullivan is doing a savage Ride yet again this year !!

Good luck to all the County Men today ... today is a BIG Day !!

http://www.irishcycling.com/publish/news/art_3920.shtml

Biker Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭Junior

Good work Comeragh!

Some of the clubs say the like of Eurocycles, KTM Winning Solutions, would have sponsored bikes, but that would be the exception to the rule, the rest of the club/county teams are the same A Riders you'd line out against in any race round the country on their own machines..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

Good work Comeragh!

Quigs is like a younger and slightly more coherent David Duffield.

showry wrote: »
    Quigs is like a younger and slightly more coherent David Duffield.

Duffield is so annoyi...
    I wish he stop constantly cutting the last word off in his sentenc...
    It's really starting to get on my ner...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Hi folks, would the guys who race/knowledgeable about racin be kind enough to explain something to me.

On y'days stage the An Post rider O'Loughlin got into an disaggrement with a Danish rider, who was upset the O'Loughlin wasn't pulling his fair share in the 4 man breakaway group.
    Now I think that I understand that O'Louglin doesnt have to work - his team mate was in yellow from the previous day. Hwever what I dont understand is the term used in some media that (to paraphrase) OChristiansen led O'Loughlin out the back. How does this happen. I mean I can understand how a rider can be dropped, but can a rider 'get to' another rider that he can actually lead him out the back of a group.

BTW, I am not trying to criticise any of the riders, just trying to understand. Is leading someone out the back just a polite way of say that one rider just couldnt keep pace?
    Any help in understanding appreciated.

ROK ON wrote: »
    Hi folks, would the guys who race/knowledgeable about racin be kind enough to explain something to me.

On y'days stage the An Post rider O'Loughlin got into an disaggrement with a Danish rider, who was upset the O'Loughlin wasn't pulling his fair share in the 4 man breakaway group.
    Now I think that I understand that O'Louglin doesnt have to work - his team mate was in yellow from the previous day. Hwever what I dont understand is the term used in some media that (to paraphrase) OChristiansen led O'Loughlin out the back. How does this happen. I mean I can understand how a rider can be dropped, but can a rider 'get to' another rider that he can actually lead him out the back of a group.

BTW, I am not trying to criticise any of the riders, just trying to understand. Is leading someone out the back just a polite way of say that one rider just couldnt keep pace?
    Any help in understanding appreciated.

Strange thing was O'Loughlin was doing a heap of work until the two english boys went away...

Leading someone out the back is the equivalent of letting a wheel go, then attacking the guy that's hanging onto you..

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Junior wrote: »
    Leading someone out the back is the equivalent of letting a wheel go, then attacking the guy that's hanging onto you..

Yep, that's how it works.

yea, indeed it is what the Dane did ! , but tatically it did not work him !! he should left O'Loughlin the group ! He could well have need a hand after the got dropped from the leading 2, while he was left riding into the finish way behind the two English Lads .......

biker_joe wrote: »
    yea, indeed it is what the Dane did ! , but tatically it did not work him !! he should left O'Loughlin the group ! He could well have need a hand after the got dropped from the leading 2, while he was left riding into the finish way behind the two English Lads .......

I've read that two or three times and still can't make head nor tail of it ?

Ok so, the leading group yesterday had 4 riders or there abouts ... and so had gained enough time, to contest for yellow leaders jersey ! .... So the Dane, Mads Christensen, while they were still 4+ riders together dropped our man David O'Loughlin purposely ( they were words but we'll never know what really happened ! )
    Anyways the English then dropped him ! both went on the contest the stage and the overall ... the Dane then finished 3'03 down 3rd on the stage and 3'08 on GC and 3rd also on GC... I think what most were saying if that he had stayed with Dave, he would n't have lost so much time, on GC he should have seen the bigger picture that's all really ! he probably won't get 3mins back now ! but if it were a 1min or so maybe !

to days stage went 189km kilometres between Cobh and Cahirciveen ,the riders were greeted with heavy showers again to day and with the route taking in 3 of the toughest climes of the race ,it was action all the way with a the brake going away at around 80k with the jersey back the in the chasing group haveing to work hard to defend the yellow,
    in the finish a 4 man group contested the sprint which was won by Jaan Kirsipuu Giant Veolia Norway with chris Newton 2nd and McCann third

Ian Wilkinson(BRITAIN Halfords Bike Hut) stays in yellow after working hard to keep the leaders at about 1,30

were in this car give us a wave

Ok so, the leading group yesterday had 4 riders or there abouts ... and so had gained enough time, to contest for yellow leaders jersey ! .... So the Dane, Mads Christensen, while they were still 4+ riders together dropped our man David O'Loughlin purposely ( they were words but we'll never know what really happened ! )
    Anyways the English then dropped him ! both went on the contest the stage and the overall ... the Dane then finished 3'03 down 3rd on the stage and 3'08 on GC and 3rd also on GC... I think what most were saying if that he had stayed with Dave, he would n't have lost so much time, on GC he should have seen the bigger picture that's all really ! he probably won't get 3mins back now ! but if it were a 1min or so maybe !

Think you've got it arseways but how as ever.

!
    ok Junor, tell me how you think i have arse ways .... insead of your smart comments ......

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Photos from the past 3 days

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

More ! including a very nice looking KTM
    Apologise for the quality taken on the go when not busy

And some from todays stage after on the descent after the last Cat 1 climb. Anyone who rides and finishes this race deserves nothing but complete respect !!
    In context the first four stages cover a distance longer than the entire Swords club league at an average of in excess 40kph over some of the hardest roads/conditions and climbs in Ireland. And this year competing against 10 pro teams including Olympic medalsits, world champions and TDF stage winners.

There were four up the road in a break. DOL was shagged and stopped going through or else did far less turns, the dane thought he was acting so when in a line of four with the Dane 3rd and DOL 4th the Dane let the wheel go expecting DOL to come around. DOL told the Dane he was shagged and couldn't go through so the dane jumped him and DOL followed and they got back on. The Dane then did this a second time. Shenanigans followed with a virtual trackstand. The Dane eventually jumped again and DOL sat up. Unfortunately for the Dane the Brits Ian Wilkinson and Simon Richardson had copped on and riden hard. Despite riding as hard as he could the Dane could only close to 15 seconds then started to lose time, 3 + mins eventually. Savage ride by the two especially Ian Wilkinson who despite riding for a pro team also works fulltime with his own building business!
    Clear as mud??

!
    ok Junor, tell me how you think i have arse ways .... insead of your smart comments ......

I'm not being smart, your comments are hard to read, aren't constructed properly and don't make sense. I know your capable of forming complete paragraphs, I've seen your replies previously.

There was 8 away, O'Loughlin rode hard at the front all day, and towards the end 4 went away and O'Loughlin either didn't ride or couldn't ride, the danish boy shelled him a couple of times and couldn't make it back onto the english lads. However from what you are saying the Danish boy should have stayed with O'Loughlin - which doesn't make sense as he eventually finished 7 minutes down, as he blew trying to get back on. If the pressure went on he would have ended up towing O'Loughlin to the finish, and considering the ride he had put in, O'Loughlin look he would be in with a shout for the stage. Sure the danish boy dropped more time to the yellow jersey than he'd have liked, but I don't think we've seen the end of him, he was away again today and I have no doubt he'll be away again tomorrow.

I think O'Loughlin got it arseways yesterday, he rode a group into yellow, taking it from a team mate, and when he should have attacked the group he hadn't the legs to do it, considering todays ride by Eeckhout who was fifth overall, he would have been a survived the climbs probably keeping the jersey intact. If he had a team mate who rode for him yesterday in the break instead of riding for himself the An Post team would still be in Yellow.

But hey your a vet, so I'm going to expect a chewing out here as you no doubt have seen it all before...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭durrus

As mentioned previously, addictive minute by minute Ras coveragh courtesy of Quigs Snr in the Comeragh Team car at www.comeraghcc.com

A sincere congrats to Quigs - first you win the table quiz and now you're exceeding all expectations with this new website - there'll be no putting up with you now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭bunnygreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

There was 8 away, O'Loughlin rode hard at the front all day, and towards the end 4 went away and O'Loughlin either didn't ride or couldn't ride, the danish boy shelled him a couple of times and couldn't make it back onto the english lads. However from what you are saying the Danish boy should have stayed with O'Loughlin - which doesn't make sense as he eventually finished 7 minutes down, as he blew trying to get back on. If the pressure went on he would have ended up towing O'Loughlin to the finish, and considering the ride he had put in, O'Loughlin look he would be in with a shout for the stage. Sure the danish boy dropped more time to the yellow jersey than he'd have liked, but I don't think we've seen the end of him, he was away again today and I have no doubt he'll be away again tomorrow.

im pretty sure DOL and the Dane have a history of "words" he competed on the last ras a dane team came over to, i remember just outside sligo on the way to donegal, they had words and the dane flicked DOL and put him on the tarmac. He rides the track also. Ahh sure alls fair in love and war.

I'm not being smart, your comments are hard to read, aren't constructed properly and don't make sense. I know your capable of forming complete paragraphs, I've seen your replies previously.

I think O'Loughlin got it arseways yesterday, he rode a group into yellow, taking it from a team mate, and when he should have attacked the group he hadn't the legs to do it, considering todays ride by Eeckhout who was fifth overall, he would have been a survived the climbs probably keeping the jersey intact. If he had a team mate who rode for him yesterday in the break instead of riding for himself the An Post team would still be in Yellow.

But hey your a vet, so I'm going to expect a chewing out here as you no doubt have seen it all before...

Hey Junior, Not a Vet !! an old Senior !! ha ha well done on writing more than a sentence !! :D
    As quiet said, no love lost here between Mads and Dave, i did n't know the history there !

Biker Joe

Loads more election posters including one beauty not wearing a tie, presumably to suggest that he’s hip and that if you are in the 18-35 demographic you might vote for him. It doesn’t quite work though and he just looks like 5 pounds of potatoes stuffed in a 3 pound sack

lol!

lol!

a haha! I was just gonna post that one here! :)

at long last the weather has brightened up for to days stage which took the riders on a loop of kerry whice took in the Conner pass and finished in Killorglin the the conner pass seen the bunch spilt and some big gaps open between the groups

after missing the brake the yellow jersey worked hard to stay in touch but could not do any thing about the front group and lost his lead

the stage was won by Nicholas Walker (Australia Cinelli-Down Under)and Simon Richardson (Britain Rapha Condor)is now in yellow
    David McCann rode very well to day but in spite of this still finds him self 8th @ 6.09, with a little over 6min covering the first 8 their is still a lot of racing to be done,

STAGE 5, THURSDAY 21st MAY, KILLORGLIN – SCARIFF, 155 KMS.didnt get to see much of the stage today it was very fast ,it was won by Nicholas Walker (Australia Cinelli-Down Under) with no change in the yellow

their were some scary posters to day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

i saw the finish it was in my town. i thought it was strange the way they finished on a steep hill no?