Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do?

• 13-05-2009 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭

There has been quite a few threads lately and a lot of discussion on drink driving and attitudes towards it. Just a little scenario to see what you would do in this situation:

You and your mate go to a nice bbq on a warm summers day. Both of you drive in separate cars. You are having a great time and drinking soft drinks since youre driving and have work tomorrow. You notice your friend is drinking wine and has had about 4 or 5 generous glasses over the course of the night. Anyway you are chatting away to someone and notice your friend leaving in his car. Its too late to stop him from driving as he has already left and is heading home, obviously over the limit.

You have 2 real choices in this situation: Call the guards or 'chance it' and hope he gets home safely. What would you do?

What would you do? 16 votes

Call the Gardai
    0% 0 votes
    Dont call, risk it.
    100% 16 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I'd make sure he hasn't taken my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

chance it, probably ring him after a few minutes to find out what the partys like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Let him crash the car and learn his lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭dioltas

I would have offered him a spin earlier. Don't have any mates that would really do that anyway.
    I wouldn't call the gaurds on one of my friends though ffs. I'd drive after him myself before I'd do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    some little prick done that a few days ago and killed a cop aswell. The little flucker. Couldnt give a toss about him dying but the poor cop getting killed was sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Chance it and hope he wraps his car around a tree with only minor injuries to himself, no insurance payout and a driving ban?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Drive after him and get him to stop. Drop him home and give him a ass kicking the next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

your mate What would you do?
    Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Stee wrote: »
    hope he wraps his car around a tree with only minor injuries to himself, no insurance payout and a driving ban?

and your good mates because?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

There has been quite a few threads lately and a lot of discussion on drink driving and attitudes towards it. Just a little scenario to see what you would do in this situation:

You and your mate go to a nice bbq on a warm summers day. Both of you drive in separate cars. You are having a great time and drinking soft drinks since youre driving and have work tomorrow. You notice your friend is drinking wine and has had about 4 or 5 generous glasses over the course of the night. Anyway you are chatting away to someone and notice your friend leaving in his car. Its too late to stop him from driving as he has already left and is heading home, obviously over the limit.

You have 2 real choices in this situation: Call the guards or 'chance it' and hope he gets home safely. What would you do?

The answer is obvious;

I car chase him. I've had nothing but 'soft drinks'... (not in a fcuking million years at a bbq.. but its your story).. so anyway.. I catch up with him in my car... over take him and let him ram me. he was drunk, I wasn't. I win.

No?

What would you do DB? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

and your good mates because?:rolleyes:

Cruel to be kind and all that sh*te...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

I would call the gardai. If he had killed someone and I knew he was intoxicated I would probably bear some of the responsibility, morally anyway maybe even legally. But it is a tough issue, perhaps even worse with family.

Abigayle wrote: »
    The answer is obvious;

I car chase him. I've had nothing but 'soft drinks'... (not in a fcuking million years at a bbq.. but its your story).. so anyway.. I catch up with him in my car... over take him and let him ram me. he was drunk, I wasn't. I win.

No?

What would you do DB? :pac:
    Best answer ever. May aswell close the thread now. Good man yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Honestly I wouldn't call the Gardai, I'd try and make sure they didn't actually drive home, if there was no reasoning I'd take the keys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Take his car keys when you see him starting to drink, he will have to look for a lift home then.

Saibh wrote: »
    Take his car keys when you see him starting to drink, he will have to look for a lift home then.

You would have no problem embarassing a friend or family member by taking their keys off them in a public environment? Fair play to you if so but i would say you are in the absolute minority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

You would have no problem embarassing a friend or family member by taking their keys off them in a public environment? Fair play to you if so but i would say you are in the absolute minority

How would I be embarrassing him?

If I saw a friend starting to drink, I would offer to mind their car keys for them in case they decided to drive home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Take keys. If he has managed to drive away with drink in him I'd follow him & kick the sh!t out of him once, & if, he got home. Then I'd go back the next day & kick the sh!t out of him again.

Rinse & repeat as needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

It wouldn't be embarrassing if I round house kicked the motherfcuker and then took his keys......that would just be badass....

Then I'd do his hot girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

Delta bravo, rather embarress a family member then see them killed.

My dads best friend wrapped himself round a tree and died when he was drink driving, im sure his family and friends wished he's been 'embarressed' that night and had his keys taken off him

I am so against drink driving, i would offer my friend a lift, if they were insistant on driving, i would be insistant on a lift, and tell them i would also drop them back to their car the next day. Id also tell them there retarded to for even considering drink driving.

And sorry but havnt a bananas what THROTR or whatever it was means;)

Saibh wrote: »
    How would I be embarrassing him?

If I saw a friend starting to drink, I would offer to mind their car keys for them in case they decided to drive home.
    Delta bravo, rather embarress a family member then see them killed.

My dads best friend wrapped himself round a tree and died when he was drink driving, im sure his family and friends wished he's been 'embarressed' that night and had his keys taken off him

I am so against drink driving, i would offer my friend a lift, if they were insistant on driving, i would be insistant on a lift, and tell them i would also drop them back to their car the next day. Id also tell them there retarded to for even considering drink driving.

And sorry but havnt a bananas what THROTR or whatever it was means;)

I agree with both of ye entirely but this scenario i would say is quite common and the poll seems to reflect a lax attitude towards the whole thing which is terrible

seanybiker wrote: »
    Best answer ever. May aswell close the thread now. Good man yourself

It seems you may have missed a blip on the sarcasm raydar Seany :pac:

I coudn't be a bigger stickler about TROTR. Read some other threads. Goes for you too PIP ;)

On another note... I don't post regularly in TLL, Fashion, or PI more than here.. but I post the odd time in Soccer. Not a lesbian.

= I must have a dick right?

Well you have me pegged.

so you deleted your previous post then, what is THROTR again...

The rules of the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭david

T... H... Rules of the Road?

Edit: Seany beat me to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Starman07

You're not gonna call the guards, you're just not!

But you need to make him realise what an idiot he has been and make sure he remembers it!

So next day,go round his house,bring him out to the garden, lead him into the shed.Lock him in said shed.Shout through the door (or small window depending on model of shed), explaining to him that you will not be letting him out of there until he smokes every last one of the 60 cigarettes that you placed in there earlier.

Believe me,after that he won't think smoking is all that cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Noelleieos

I'd call the guards, if anything happened one of my friends because they made a stupid decision and I didn't try help or stop them I would feel so guilty. They might not like me for it but it would be their own fault. If they don't care about their own safety thats fine, but they shouldn't be putting other peoples lives at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

**** him man what if you just so hapen to be the dude he crashes into

Yours and Seanys posts came in around the same time. I had to edit my own post to cross t's and the likes.. so I thought scrap it, and go again before answering both posts.

And yes, I can confirm TROTR is The Rules Of The Road.

It seems you may have missed a blip on the sarcasm raydar Seany :pac:
    I got it alright. Thats what was so funny bout it. :)

Yours and Seanys posts came in around the same time. I had to edit my own post to cross t's and the likes.. so I thought scrap it, and go again before answering both posts :)

And yes, I can confirm TROTR is The Rules Of The Road.

What?
    Rules of the road? What foreign language are you speaking in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭somethingwitty

I would dig out my little flashing blue light and illuminous jacket from my hot press and try to catch up with him... just for the laugh, ya know?!:pac:

easyeason3 wrote: »
    What?
    Rules of the road? What foreign language are you speaking in?

I don't know. Must have been the near-miss I was just in :)

bless my cotton socks.

I don't know. Must have been the near-miss I was just in :)

bless my cotton socks.

Oh people & the funny things they say :D
    Rules of the road indeed :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Less embarassing than calling the Gardaí on him, yes. I would do either that or if I had time, catch up with him as has been suggested.

sdonn wrote: »
    Less embarassing than calling the Gardaí on him, yes.

Wrong answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

id say " more pusseh for me then "

if the lightweight leaves early, his loss not mine :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Wrong answer.

Not saying I wouldn't. But I'd prefer to chase him or take the keys given the choice. He'd be embarassed and so would you tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

offer him a lift... if that doesnt work, tell him that you will go ahead of him by 2 minutes. Tell him to drive slowly... if there is a check-point, text him (have your phone ready with text an all)... thats the best you can do, I know the type of bollox :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

I'd probably ask him for a lift.
    It would be interesting to see if there is a town/ country difference here? I'm sure a lot of people who live in a large urban area cannot understand drink driving. I freely admit that there have been times when I drove home after a few pints, albeit through quiet country lanes and by-roads where speed wasn't going to be an issue, but drink driving none the less. Even today, things happen a little differently in the countryside. Yes it's wrong, but no I certainly wouldn't call the police on a mate like some people suggest they might.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

In Ireland maybe. In the US its nothing to bat an eyelid about.

In Ireland I guess you might think if someone takes your keys its like saying youre a teetotaler...look, fcuk that notion already. Be a grown up and hand over your keys.

Maybe its because in Ireland you're a drinker first and a Driver second. Try to think of yourself as a driver first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

I spent a summer in the states recently, in my experience drink driving did not have the stigma attached to it that there exists here in Ireland. I would go so far as to say it was commonplace where I was staying(living in a university environment in California) and anybody having a problem with getting into a car with a driver who had been drinking would certainly have been the minority and seen as causing unnecessary strife. Maybe that is not the experience of others in relation to drink driving in the US?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I spent a summer in the states recently, in my experience drink driving did not have the stigma attached to it that there exists here in Ireland. I would go so far as to say it was commonplace where I was staying(living in a university environment in California) and anybody having a problem with getting into a car with a driver who had been drinking would certainly have been the minority and seen as causing unnecessary strife. Maybe that is not the experience of others in relation to drink driving in the US?
    I think I see the problem here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

i kinda presume my friends are old enough to take responsability for their own actions.
    but IF he gets home and wakes up hungover, ill be the last person to give him a lift into work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Take his keys. Call him a taxi.

Take the car, tell him the next day he drove home.

IvySlayer wrote: »
    Take his keys. Call him a taxi.

Take the car, tell him the next day he drove home.

Did you even read the first post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Did you even read the first post?

Did I forget to mention the cool manevure you use you overtake him, stop him, drag him out of the car :p

But seriously, I would've called the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

Wine at a BBQ???? Pfffft.

I'd probably ask him for a lift.
    It would be interesting to see if there is a town/ country difference here? .

I have to agree with this. I'm from a rural area and I know a lot of people drive home after a few pints, especially from situations like BBQ's at neighbors almost everybody there would be driving home with drink on them, also in the county a lot of people curse the drink driving laws where as city people appear to have almost blanket support for them. I would also have to say bagging in the morning has very very little support in the country and people still just drive in the morning as they have no choice, myself included at times I have to admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

A ex-friend of mine used to drink drive all the time, despite being caught for it once before and losing his license for a year. Sometimes just driving stupid distances like going to the shops or coming home from a friends house who didn't really live all that far away. Nothing we or his girlfriend could say would ever stop him. Hope he gets caught and learns his lesson without someone getting hurt.

Overheal wrote: »
    In Ireland maybe. In the US its nothing to bat an eyelid about.

In Ireland I guess you might think if someone takes your keys its like saying youre a teetotaler...look, fcuk that notion already. Be a grown up and hand over your keys.

Maybe its because in Ireland you're a drinker first and a Driver second. Try to think of yourself as a driver first.

That is joke, ive lived in San diego for 3 months and my brother lived in Huntington beach for 4 months, and both of us were shocked at how drink driving is the norm over there. Half my friends had DUI's, weird cause none of my friends here in Ireland drink drive..