Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster vs Ospreys Fri 15th May 7.45pm Thomond Park pre/during/post thread.

• 13-05-2009 7:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Squads announced:

Ospreys:
    Gareth Owen, David Bishop, David Evans, Sonny Parker, Jonathan Spratt, James Hook, Ashley Beck, Dan Biggar, Jamie Nutbrown, Rhodri Wells,

Paul James, Duncan Jones, Cai Griffiths, Craig Mitchell, Richard Hibbard, Scott Baldwin, Ian Gough, Andy Lloyd, Richard Kelly, Steve Tandy, Marty Holah, Filo Tiatia, Ryan Jones.

Munster:
    D Howlett; B Murphy; K Earls; I Dowling; L Mafi; K Lewis; A Horgan; P Warwick; R O'Gara; P Stringer; M Prendergast;

F Pucciariello; Dave Ryan; D Fogarty; M Essex; F Sheahan; T Buckley; M O'Driscoll; J O'Sullivan; D O'Callaghan; P O'Connell; Donnacha Ryan; D Wallace; N Ronan; D Leamy.

Well, it's Munster's last game of the season where they are crowned Magners League Champions at Thomond Park. Very disappointed that there will no trip to Edinburgh (good luck to Leinster btw) but we still have an excellent achievement to celebrate. :)

With the exception of the first choice front row, it's the strongest squad possible as Tony McGahan's men are set to finish a wonderful Magners League season on the best possible note.

Let's hope we see a good performance as we say goodbye to Munster's longest serving players, Anthony Horgan and Frank Sheahan as a well as a last showing for Mike Prendergast, Kieran Lewis, Federico Pucciariello, John O'Sullivan and Michael Essex. Let's not forget Brian Carney and Tim Ryan also.

Ospreys come with a weakened squad, with Lee Byrne, Shane Williams, Mike Phillips, Alun Wyn Jones and Tommy Bowe all absent from the trip to Thomond Park.

Shame about Bowe, there will be no second rendition of the "Black Velvet Band". :D:D

With those players missing for the Welsh region, I expect Munster will win comfortably and allow the party to begin!! :):)

At time of posting tickets are still available.

G'WAN MUNSTER!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

should be interesting to see the players approach to this game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

ajeffares wrote: »
    should be interesting to see the players approach to this game

Hmm, I think they will be very fired up. 3 losses in a row at the end of a seaon would be terrible.

As we have seen when we denied England the Grand Slam a few years back while they still won the Championship, nobody wants to receive a trophy after losing a match. It just doesn't feel right at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Let's hope we see a good performance as we say goodbye to Munster's longest serving players, Anthony Horgan and Frank Sheahan as a well as a last showing for Mike Prendergast, Kieran Lewis, Federico Pucciariello, John O'Sullivan and Michael Essex. Let's not forget Brian Carney and Tim Ryan also.[/SIZE]

Wow.. I didn't realise there were so many players leaving at the end of the season!

Good luck Munster, as long as they win and play to the best of their abilities they'll enjoy the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Gambler

That's just the players in the squad for Friday that are leaving, there's a good few others finishing up in Munster on Friday (Tipoki etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Last home game, should be a good night, looks like a final curtain call for Sheehan and co. who are leaving. I'll be there to give them a standing ovation!

Also i really doubt this will sell out, one day left and still plenty of seats there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

http://www.magnersleague.com/news/3874.php

15 Gareth Owen
    14 Ashley Beck
    13 Sonny Parker
    12 Jonathan Spratt
    11 David Evans
    10 James Hook
    9 Jamie Nutbrown
    1 Paul James
    2 Richard Hibbard
    3 Cai Griffiths
    4 Ian Gough
    5 Andy Lloyd
    6 Ryan Jones (Capt)
    7 Marty Holah
    8 Filo Tiatia

16 Scott Baldwin
    17 Duncan Jones
    18 Craig Mitchell
    19 Richard Kelly
    20 Steve Tandy
    21 Rhodri Wells
    22 Dan Biggar

Holley says he wants to rest his Lions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

chupacabra wrote: »
    Last home game, should be a good night, looks like a final curtain call for Sheehan and co. who are leaving. I'll be there to give them a standing ovation!

Also i really doubt this will sell out, one day left and still plenty of seats there.

It will be a disgrace if this does not sell out. Bandwaggon jumpers may have jumped off. Getting presented the Magners League trophy is no small thing, the place should be packed.

I'll be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

murphym7 wrote: »
    It will be a disgrace if this does not sell out. Bandwaggon jumpers may have jumped off. Getting presented the Magners League trophy is no small thing, the place should be packed.

I'll be there.

It's a dead game towards the end of the season. Both sides are skeletal. Not everyone cares for those kind of games.

Are there any young lads fighting for places playing, or is it just the ones who are leaving having a final game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

It's a dead game towards the end of the season. Both sides are skeletal. Not everyone cares for those kind of games.

Are there any young lads fighting for places playing, or is it just the ones who are leaving having a final game?

The actual team lines out as follows:

From Munsterrugby.ie

Munster: P Warwick; D Howlett, K Earls, L Mafi, I Dowling; R O'Gara, P Stringer; F Pucciariello, D Fogarty, T Buckley; M O'Driscoll, P O'Connell capt; D Leamy, N Ronan, D Wallace. Replacements: F Sheahan, Dave Ryan, D O'Callaghan, J O'Sullivan, M Prendergast, A Horgan; K Lewis.

Dave Ryan is an academy player - prop.

phog wrote: »
    The actual team lines out as follows:

From Munsterrugby.ie

Munster: P Warwick; D Howlett, K Earls, L Mafi, I Dowling; R O'Gara, P Stringer; F Pucciariello, D Fogarty, T Buckley; M O'Driscoll, P O'Connell capt; D Leamy, N Ronan, D Wallace. Replacements: F Sheahan, Dave Ryan, D O'Callaghan, J O'Sullivan, M Prendergast, A Horgan; K Lewis.

Dave Ryan is an academy player - prop.

Ah fair enough.

Not too far from a full team. Would expect them to spank the Ospreys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

I'll be there.

I would be going if it wasn't on a Friday night. Not enough time to travel from work :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

Peter B wrote: »
    I would be going if it wasn't on a Friday night. Not enough time to travel from work :(

I'm the same, and still heading to Edin despite the loss so dont want to take time off. Friday night games are a bit of a disaster in that sense.

2040 wrote: »
    Holley says he wants to rest his Lions get the sh!te kicked out of his team.

Changed that for you. ;)

Jaysus, I forgot to mention Rua Tipoki in my original post.

That guy as well as Sheahan and Horgan should receive a standing ovation.

All legends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Jaysus, I forgot to mention Rua Tipoki in my original post.

That guy as well as Sheahan and Horgan should receive a standing ovation.

All legends.

Tipoki has retired from rugby dew to his injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭crisco10

I'll be there.

This certainly was great fun last year in the RDS. Any reason to celebrate and all that! Espeically since the magners has really gotten more competitive in the last 2/3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Stev_o wrote: »
    Tipoki has retired from rugby dew to his injuries.

There is a 'testimonial' for Rua in Readons in Cork on Sunday afternoon. As well as the great man I understand there will be 'celebrity' barmen (for celebrity read Munster players lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Where's Kieran Lewis playing next season, does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

It is a nothing game (a good reason to bring in the league playoff's) but wouldnt it be a great thing to show the team some thanks for a great season. I really enjoyed watching them play this year and it would be a huge let down to a hard working team to receive the Magners league trophy to a half empty stadium. Just what I think anyway.

I was really disappointed with the turnout for the Leinster - Scarlets game.

It was a beautiful evening, admittedly in the middle of people's exams (mine included) but there were some great players on display, Felipe's last appearance as a Leinster player in the RDS (*cries*) and the chance to offer congratulations to the team on getting to a final, but I'd say only 11,000 or so were there.

It's hard to have the same enthusiasm when it doesn't matter all that much...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Thats a fairly meaty looking Munster skeleton

sm.org wrote: »
    Thats a fairly meaty looking Munster skeleton

Isn't it just?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Irony is that if play-offs had been brought in this season the last weekend of league matches would have been almost meaningless (as top 4 positions already decided) with only home and away advantage for one of the semi-finals up for grabs as Munster would have already clinched a home semi-final.

If the whole season carried on with the knowledge that the top 4 got into the semis, teams like Munster, Leinster, Ospreys and Cardiff would almost be guarenteed a spot if they showed interest, but if one or two slipped up (look at Munster last season) then you'd have teams like Edinburgh, Glasgow and Ulster with a massive incentive to fight their way into fourth and maybe fúck over one of the big guns.

I know last season that if Leinster had had a semi-final or final against Edinburgh for the Magners League I'd have been bloody worried about it.

It doesn't make the top of the table more interesting, but it does make the middle more exciting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭jack90210

Ospreys to cover the +17 spread??

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Soldie

jack90210 wrote: »

Haven't seen the final lineups but they seem to be fielding a weakened team. I'm looking at Munster -16 and Glasgow -12 at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

by my reckoning 5 of those players in the 22 will be playing their last game for Munster tonight? It's a nice send off and I hope the place is packed. Looking forward to seeing Munster lift the trophy. I'm genuinley gutted we didn't manage to retain the title this season, poor away form and losing out in the crucial head to head battle clearly cost us, but Munsters league form has been phenominal this season and it's a well deserved trophy.

Also, if Leinster aren't going to win it, it's good to see teams like Munster, Ospreys and hopefully some day Cardiff win it as I think it's good for the league when the big teams land the trophy and gives other big teams more to play for to try and match it.

Well done Munster on a hard earned trophy and by the looks of the teams it'll be a walk in the park tonight and a nice exebition to finish up on. I'll be clapping for red in this one anyway.

jack90210 wrote: »

Suicide bet.

Munster got beaten by the Blues the other week and no one has seen how this mostly full team have recovered from their Heneken cup defeat.

I wouldnt touch the spread with a bargepole.
    On paper its a clear Munster win but they could be very disintrested or jaded.

Munster at -13 is better but I would still be weary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭jack90210

It could be a no bet! Munster are either going absolutely roll them, similar to what Leinster to fairly frequently at home in the Magners. Or as I suspect the Ospreys will put up a decent fight still get beaten but not by 17 points. There coach is making positive sounds and there 3-0 on the road. I dont think they've been beaten by more than 17 points all season. Also Munster are defo gonna send on the guys retiring so this could be a time when the Ospreys catch up on any deficit if they aren't completely been hammered.

IRISH BY BIRTH,
    MUNSTER BY THE GRACE OF GOD.

IRISH BY BIRTH,
    MUNSTER BY THE GRACE OF GOD.

Thats great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Just tuned in there now.. Should be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Enough with the colours and excessive font please.
    On train I would appreciate updates if anyone could be bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Munster 10 - 3 Ospreys. Ospreys defence was pretty poor for Warwick's try. Not to take anything away from him though; it was a peach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

10-3 Warwick try

EDIT: 10-10 Hook.

Try and conversion from James Hook. 10-10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

15-10 to munster. leamy try

Try Wallace, conversion missed by O'Gara. Munster 15-10 Ospreys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Are they in the second half yet?

Not yet.

Good stuff keep it coming. Now on luas. Game good?

RuggieBear wrote: »
    Good stuff keep it coming. Now on luas. Game good?

Kicked off again. Munster have come out of the blocks and are putting plenty of pressure on. Not bad bad game. Fairly entertaining with some good spurts of backline play from Munster and some nifty handling. Some errors as well but Munster look in control.

Try Leamy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

Loose, entertaining.
    More mistakes from Munster than I'd like, Ospreys pretty up for it.
    Another try. Leamy. 20-10 with conversion to come

O'Gara gets the extras. Munster 22 - 10 Ospreys.

Second try for David Wallace. Great try.

Wallace 29-10

If O'Gara didnt kick away 90% of their good ball they would have scored more,his kicking is just monotonous at this stage.

O'Gara converts again. Munster 29 - 10 Ospreys. I'm sure the Welsh lads are starting to get flashbacks of the HC quarter final.

Jaysus! Sounds like i'm missing a cracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

IMO Ospreys will start to come apart now.... Hook's kick is the start

RuggieBear wrote: »
    Jaysus! Sounds like i'm missing a cracker

Not really tbh,the Ospreys are just **** but Munster are playing well.Not a riviting game though despite what the score suggests.