Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Damn right! - Man hits one banker with one or more eggs but misses another

• 13-05-2009 11:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭boardinwork

One of Ireland’s top bankers was pelted with eggs today as hundreds of angry shareholders attended a meeting.

Dermot Gleeson, chairman of Allied Irish Bank, ducked to avoid the missiles just moments after addressing an emergency general meeting at its banking centre in Dublin.

Pensioner Gary Keogh, who was removed from the building, said he was extremely angry after losing his pension in the economic downturn.

“The whole board should be replaced by Mickey Mouse and Donald Duck,” he said.

“We should go to Disneyland and Paris.”

Mr Keogh, 66, from Blackrock in south Dublin, said he felt compelled to throw the eggs after Mr Gleeson tried to speak over another shareholder.

Mr Keogh said: “For the last number of years we have been told to put our money into the banks – now we have no pensions.

“I have no pension. My pension now is wiped out because of AIB. I cannot sell the shares because they are useless.

“I will be here next year if I can’t sell my shares at a reasonable price.”

Mr Keogh, an investor in AIB for 20 years, said that, although he enjoyed some good times as a shareholder, he had not enjoyed it as much as this morning.

He admitted he came to the EGM armed with the eggs and would have done the same at the Bank of Ireland shareholders’ meeting had he been invited.

Hundreds of angry shareholders packed Allied's banking centre for the EGM, where they will later vote to ratify the Government's €3.5bn recapitalisation plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If the shareholders had held the bankers to higher standards over the years, these kind of childish theatrics wouldn't be necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Can I throw eggs at Paddypower because I lost a tenner on the 3.30 at Punchestown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

The old bastard has enough money to throw good eggs away. He needs a few slaps himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

What a cracking story.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

To be fair, the top dog in AIB is stepping down, admits they got it wrong about property and will get a cushy pay off.

It didnt take a genius to work out where property was going.

As a result of their incompetence, many pensions are at risk and/or worth feck all. Many jobs have been lost and are at risk too.

And all they hit him with was an egg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

The wa***rs are left with egg on their face!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

The old bastard has enough money to throw good eggs away. He needs a few slaps himself.

Exactly. :pac: Tough **** old man - no sympathy for shareholders whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Should have thrown bricks and set the place on fire. Down with banks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Kinda sounds like he just wants to throw eggs at somebody. Disneyland, indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Was it even a rotten egg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

What a cracking story.

fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

Was that the best he could do?

Surely a cinder-block would have been more effective?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

faceman wrote: »
    It didnt take a genius to work out where property was going.
    Yep, putting all their eggs in the one basket was a bad idea. It's the 'poor' shareholders who have been fried on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

mcauley wrote: »
    Was that the best he could do?

Surely a cinder-block would have been more effective?

Or a Granade?:)
    I'll tell you this much..........they were lucky he was just a weeee bit of an olde CRAZY man, and not a Gun Wielding old Nutcase............could have been world news if he had to take out a semi and wipe out the board.:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

The guy who threw the eggs in question is talking to that Joe Duffy guy on RTÉ 1 this second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

They've no pension yet they can afford to be throwing expensive eggs around? I call decadence on them!

I guess Mr.Keogh didn't read the small print about share price can go down as well as up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

Rebelheart wrote: »
    The guy who threw the eggs in question is talking to that Joe Duffy guy on RTÉ 1 this second.

He's a local hero now. . .next he'll be driving through the doors of Montrose a lá Paul Stokes. . .:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

where were all the people offering to cook eggs benedict breakfasts for the CEO at the AGMs when the share price was at an all-time high?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭mercuroman

Excuse me for being pedantic but the banker was not 'pelted' with eggs as they, in fact, did not hit him.

mercuroman wrote: »
    Excuse me for being pedantic but the banker was not 'pelted' with eggs as they, in fact, did not hit him.

I guess the yolk's on them then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Eggactly. :pac: Tough **** old man - no sympathy for shareholders whatsoever.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,033 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

could have been world news if he had to take out a semi and wipe out the board.:eek:

Good advert for Viagra if the oul fella had managed to get out his semi :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭hblock21

Exactly. :pac: Tough **** old man - no
    sympathy for shareholders whatsoever.

He's most concerned that his pension was totally wiped out! Not about his few shares. You know that could be anyone, your father, mother, grandparents, all because of the greedy banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

That Gleeson is some yolk.
    By all accounts, he scrambled for cover.
    Are BOI still trying to poach him.

This thread reminds me of the Histor's eye sketch on TMWRNJ.
    The puns can only get worse. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Yes the banks were greedy but so were the shareholders.

Shares are high risk, all shareholders knew this.

How many of them were giving out when the share values were rising?
    None.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

mercuroman wrote: »

The egg thrower, young Keogh, said with pride that he had in fact hit Gleeson but lamented that he missed Sheehy with the other egg. Check that Joe Duffy show on the RTÉ website. He was quite the showman, until some working class guy came on and told him, basically, that this is what you get for gambling. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

They seem to have forgotten: the value of your investment may fall as well as rise :rolleyes:

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭mercuroman

Rebelheart wrote: »
    The egg thrower, young Keogh, said with pride that he had in fact hit Gleeson but lamented that he missed Sheehy with the other egg. Check that Joe Duffy show on the RTÉ website. He was quite the showman, until some working class guy came on and told him, basically, that this is what you get for gambling. :)

Yet again, apologies, but "pelted" would denote a succession of hits rather than one hit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

whats wrong with these people they should of thrown there shoes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

They seem to have forgotten: the value of your investment may fall as well as rise

True.....but the banks seem to have forgotten about prudent diversification of portfolios. So investors have expect banks to be more prudent with their hard-earned.

Lending recklesly to builders to build houses and commercial buildings and then lumping pensions into property portfolio's is hardly diversification and yeah, people have a right to be angry.

The Irish psychosis for property is going to cost the whole economy dearly for at least a generation.....

And the banks are a major player in this....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

javaboy wrote: »
    If the shareholders had held the bankers to higher standards over the years, these kind of childish theatrics wouldn't be necessary.

People who complain about the general economy and also voted for FF are told that it's their own fault for voting FF into government. Is it not the same argument for the shareholders in the banks? They voted for the boards that run the company, so they shoulder some of the responsibility.

Having said that, I feel sorry for the older people who have lost their pensions. Especially since the board members won't be short of a few quid when they are voted off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

If those eggs had actually hit him, they could have caused serious damage, leading to him being carted off to hospital in the back of an albumince.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

TheZohan wrote: »
    Yes the banks were greedy but so were the shareholders.

Shares are high risk, all shareholders knew this.

How many of them were giving out when the share values were rising?
    None.
    It's not about the shares, it's about people putting 10s of thousands of Euros into their pensions their hole lives only to be told now at retirement that all that money is gone and they're left with less than 10,000 to live on for the rest of their lives.

Banks have taken all our money and thrown it down the toilet and we're rewarding them for it. Instead of them putting their tails between their legs and taking their medicine they're increasing their charges to cover their own arses and making out like bandits with bonuses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

whats wrong with these people they should of thrown there shoes :D

Just as he was being escorted out by security an RTE camera and interviewer pulled up in front of him and he said something along the lines of:

"I would've thrown my shoes but because of those bankers I can't afford to lose my shoes!"

A shareholder with an address in affluent Blackrock won't be getting much sympathy IMO. But if he lost all of his pension because it was all invested in AIB shares then the old adage rings true:
    Never put all your eggs in one basket :pac:

ejmaztec wrote: »
    If those eggs had actually hit him, they could have caused serious damage, leading to him being carted off to hospital in the back of an albumince.:p
    I like a good pun as much as the next person but even I can't advocaat that usage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

I'm delighted that anger at bankers is being vented in this way, because public humiliation is the ONLY cure for arrogance ;)
    Caoimhín wrote: »
    Can I throw eggs at Paddypower because I lost a tenner on the 3.30 at Punchestown?

very true Caoimhín, and a great analogy, but it's a pity it wasn't some anonymous customer that did it instead of shareholders. I'd have thought that people investing in shares would know what a first year secondary school economics student would know, that these things come in cycles, and by definition makes investing in shares, no more than a glorified crap game.

Great the banker was pelted:), but sour grapes on the part of the shareholders,imo.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

epic FAIL!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Great.

Now we all have cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Now that was rotten.

Seriously though, there's not a good egg among them if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Because Gambling and Depositing your money into a bank are the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    I like a good pun as much as the next person but even I can't advocaat that usage.

:P
    swingking wrote: »
    epic FAIL!!

Great.

Now we all have cancer.

tech77 wrote: »
    Now that was rotten.

Seriously though, there's not a good egg among them if you ask me.

:cool: I didn't think it was a turkey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Anybody that has their whole life savings / pension in one publically quoted company deserves to loose it all for being so dumb.

Why on earth would a pensioner have all his pension invested in shares, and not only that but just one company's? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

congrats on Gary the egg man throwing his eggs, its a pity he didnt throw his shooes as well !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Overheal wrote: »
    Because Gambling and Depositing your money into a bank are the same thing.

Depositing your money into a regular savings account? No. Anything involving shares? Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Moral of the story:

You lose your pension because greedy bankers punted stupid money to developers and lenders: egg the banker, vent fury on government.

Your house is skyrocketing in value because greedy bankers are punting stupid money to developers and lenders: play golf with banker, vote in government majority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭Joe Cool

ScumLord wrote: »
    It's not about the shares, it's about people putting 10s of thousands of Euros into their pensions their hole lives only to be told now at retirement that all that money is gone and they're left with less than 10,000 to live on for the rest of their lives.

The pensions are not paid out in shares. Pensioners will still receive their pension their pension from their employer and the state.

Pensioners using their retirement income to buy shares are taking a calculated risk but whether they make money or lose money on these shares it won't effect their pension annuity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Joe Cool wrote: »
    The pensions are not paid out in shares. Pensioners will still receive their pension their pension from their employer and the state.

Pensioners using their retirement income to buy shares are taking a calculated risk but whether they make money or lose money on these shares it won't effect their pension annuity.

don't you DARE bring reality into this, people are trying to bitch and moan about things they don't understand in here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭dollybird09

Most are commending this guy for throwing eggs at Gleeson...I'm surprised..

Those pensioners who say they were dependent upon dividends to fund their everyday expenses were naive and irresponsible in investing their entire retirement fund into one publicly listed company. Dividends are not a guaranteed source of income so nobody should depend on them to pay day to day expenses. If you aren't willing to accept the risks associated in investments, you should either diversify or invest in bonds or equivalent risk free option.

I do feel sorry for those who were ill advised, though I think throwing eggs is juvenile and will achieve nothing. Dermot Gleeson and Eugene Sheehy did not personally cause the crisis. Yes AIB made poor decisions..... (AIB... not just Gleeson/Sheehy)

....eggs in one basket n all that... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭dollybird09

don't you DARE bring reality into this, people are trying to bitch and moan about things they don't understand in here!