Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2009

• 12-05-2009 8:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭

This kicks off tonight with the first semi-final. Out of the 18 participating countries, 10 go forward to the final. Its on RTÉ2 at 8pm.

The second semi-final is on Thursday night, where Ireland will be second to perform. Out of 19, 10 go through to the final.

More about Ireland's entry (including YouTube clip) here.

The final is on Saturday. Good luck to Sinéad and Black Daisy.... :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Haven't watched it in donkeys years...not like it used to be, years gone past RTE wanted to win and show it, now it's a huge financial burden on TV networks to make and they hate the idea of winning the contest.

It's gotten really dire, cronyism, fixed, countires voting in blocks etc., it was always seen a fun and silly now it's just a total joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Don't shoot the messenger. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Mary D

YIPPPEEEEEEEEE, Eurovision time, I can't wait, I love all the madness and weirdness of Eurovision. Hope we get through to the final, the song is certainly good enoungh anyway, apparently it's our best chance since 1996. I read in the Star yesterday that it's reached No. 15 in the charts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I just hope thier are some hot laydeeze cos the music will be sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

The song Greece has this year is fairly catchy. As in so cathcy that you'll be bopping along by the first chorus.

Might throw a fiver on them in the bookies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Eurovision is one of my guilty pleasures, I always end up watching it! :o

Greece and Norway are the favourites I think, although the UK are expected to do well this year for the first time in ages. Greek song is terrible imo - cheesy Europop at it's worst. Haven't heard Norway's. The UK song is quite boring but the girl singing has a fantastic voice.

Irish entry is very meh - might scrape through the semis but probably won't be a serious contender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Yeah our entry looks pretty sh1te. At least they've gone for a girl group though, should get an extra few votes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Norway (incl. Youtube clip)
    Greece (incl. Youtube clip)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

Something about this that i always have to watch. I love the really bad one.
    Remember the German act from a few years ago with the Cardboard cutouts of Animals on stage. That was epic!!

Wait no it was the Austrian entry.

I suppose we cant say much though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I expect Lithuatvipoltonia will win this time.:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

This tear they have 50% of the votes coming from a jury - so should make it more of a level playing ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Didn't even know it was on

Bound to be anti-climatical anyway. Nothing could ever beat this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

The Norwegian song isn't bad. It's Eurovisiony without being utter sh*te. There's kind of a Baltic country & western vibe off it, although I could be just still drunk.

The Greek one is Eurovisiony AND utter sh*te, so it's a danger, along with the utterly Rubbish Turkish entry, which sounds like every other utterly rubbish Turkish entry from the last 10 years (i.e. Shakira singing a slightly jiggled around version of "kiss kiss") . They'll be popular enough cos the Greek Bloke is some kind of Balkan hybrid of Ant and Dec & Shane Ward, and the Turkish bird is a "hot chick". Those 3 should be in and around the top 5 if all goes to plan for them.

Predictions?
      This time next week, a large percentage of Irish people will be giving out sh*te about "block voting", while paradoxically claiming that they couldn't care less about the competition.
      Dita Von Teese is expected to re-divide Germany, not on political lines, but rather on Dustin style
    "Sure it's only a laugh" / "oh Christ, Im so ashamed to be German" public embarrassment ones
      Ukraine's entry wont wear very much, and
      Ireland wont get out of the semis, as the European market for quaintly dated, family-friendly Riot Grirrrl acts performing rejected Avril Lavigne B-sides is fairly small nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

• Dita Von Teese is expected to re-divide Germany, not on political lines, but rather on Dustin style "Sure it's only a laugh" / "oh Christ, Im so ashamed to be German" public embarrassment ones

What?? :eek: Oh I definetly watching it if shes competing. I'd like to stuff her ballot box <nudge nudge etc>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

Mr E wrote: »
    Norway (incl. Youtube clip)
    Greece (incl. Youtube clip)

Thanks for those. I like the Norwegian entry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 DroghedaColeen

haha we all laugh and know how cheesy and sad it is, but how exactly do you explain to an American or Australian what the contest is about/what it is really?????
    Funny article here cleverly written very tongue in cheek to try and educate Irish-Americans
    ~snip~

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

~snip~
    Post that link again and you will be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,338 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Anyone watching it?

Here we go!!!

Jayney, Marty sounds like he had a few!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 constipatinator

The **** is this?

I know, it was all a bit....:confused:

The girls are cute though!!!

Jaysus, I thought that was Wossy for a sec!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭salad dodger

Anyone watching it?

Here we go!!!

Jayney, Marty sounds like he had a few!!

I am. On BBC3 tho. Marty annoys my sh1te.

Better than Snorton...

Jaysus, at least get someone who can speak!!!

Can he stop yelling for 5 seconds??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

The female host slightly lost it there :P

Better than Snorton...

It's not GN tonite. I dunno who they are but they're not taking it too seriously and are entertainingly funny

Sounded a bit like Gimme Gimme Gimme at the start.

:P

Sounded a bit like Gimme Gimme Gimme at the start.

:P

You got it just ahead of me :D:D

It's not GN tonite. I dunno who they are but they're not taking it too seriously and are entertainingly funny

Meh, too stuck in my ways to change from Whelan.

Kinda wish I'd watched it with Wogan though, looks like I missed out on something there :(

Aw the stage is so cool!!!:)

This will win. They may stop it now. Give them the trophy.

Sweet Jeebus at Czech's costume

He looks like a cross between Freddie Mercury, yer man in the Goodbye Mister A vid, an the main guy from Kaiser Chiefs!!

I'll bet ye a pint of Albino Rhino's piss that this will be in the top 5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

Omg it is Elvis I knew he was alive :pac:

Sweet.....Lord.....Almighty.

A shoite copycat at that!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭GeturGun

Random fact: Ronan Keating co-wrote this year's Danish Entry :D

http://www.eurovision.tv/event/artistdetail?song=24693&event=1481

All of a sudden the irish entry doesn't seem so bad!!!

"Yes but who' s he copying??!"

Ugh, shut up Marty :rolleyes:

"Yes but who' s he copying??!"

Ugh, shut up Marty :rolleyes:

I warned you! :D:D:D

Have to say, Belarus is rock....but at the same time, it's not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

GeturGun wrote: »
    Random fact: Ronan Keating co-wrote this year's Danish Entry :D

http://www.eurovision.tv/event/artistdetail?song=24693&event=1481

I heard that song and the guy singing it sounds just like Ronan :pac:

Good to know Siegfreid's still getting work.

But I swear I've heard this song a million times before...

I warned you! :D:D:D

I know, but I can't bring myself to change!!!

Kinda starting to like this one, best so far anyways.

Not saying much though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭thealltimelow

so thats slash up there:eek:

the sweden song is a abba knok of with oprea singing?

Holy crap, dead ringer for Suzanne Shaw!!!!!!

Sounds like she's yawning...

Its a feather duster!

Sweden's the first song I like....and the stage is freaking awesome :D

She started laughing in the middle of it!!

Ah! My ears!!

Flipping hell, dogs around Europe are going mental from that!!

Catchy chorus in that armenian ditty

is it just me or does all the armenias like the same? :eek: