Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much study is enough study?

• 11-05-2009 6:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 30

I've been doing about 2 hours for the last week, I did fine in the mocks (mostly B1s and a few As)....is 2 hours enough? Some people in my school do late study from 4 - 9 every day. Should i be doing more? Is 2 hours + an hour of homework enough?

How much is everyone else doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

2 hours and 1 hour homework is a bit extreme (Atleast imo)

I got 6 As, 1 C(In maths, unbelievably hard mock paper usually get an A) and the rest were Bs.

Im not saying you should follow my example but I for example and planning to start studying from tomorrow about 1 1/2 hours a day along with whatever for homework.

Up till now I haven't done any study whatsoever(I only studided the week before the mocks) nor have I done most of my homework(I do it in the mornings before class etc :rolleyes:).

If you can/need to study 2 hours a day to get to that level of grades I think you should continue at that level of study, You get an average of 15% higher marks in your real Junior Cert compared to the mocks so with 2 hours of study a day and 1 hour homework along with those 6 hours of school you should definitley be covered for the exams.

If you want to do more, more power to you, Just dont come crying back if/when you have a psychotic breakdown from studying too hard :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭elaine93

I did about an 1.30 hours excluding homework up to the mocks. I didn't do excellent by my standards, but I was 2% off an A in about 6 of my subjects. Now I'm doing about the same as you but less time on my homework. I think its enough, I think 5 hours of late study is a waste of time, you'll only get tired and burnt out. It really depends on who you are, I can get the french study done in an hour that would take my friends three, but its the other way round for history.
    Make a list of all the topics in all of your subjects you still have to cover. Then make a study timetable with the weeks on top and days on the side. Do lots of study in the beginning on subjects you have loads to cover, and use the last few days to quickly flick over your other subjects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 smileeey

I have been doing, since the mocks, two hours of after school study and then another hour and a half, sometimes 2 hrs, when i come home..
    i plan to do a bit more now in these last few weeks..
    hopefully it will pay off..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

come on people, i did my junior cert last year, and it honestly doesnt matter, go out and have fun, i got 6bs 2as and 2 cs. Once ur in 4th or 5th year no one cares how u did. And aslong as u got enough results to get into higher level in your subjects thats all that matters. Once u leave school people only care about Lc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

yeah OP you seem to be doing enough, dont do too much tho, you dont want to be sick of studying by the time 5th yr comes around!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

just taught I'd pop in to say you don't need to study, you'll be amazed at how easy it is. I got 2 As and 7 Bs and I never studied once and I rarely did my homework. 2hrs a night is definitely enough, you should do really well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I'm doing at least 2 hours in the last week, and I think I'll be alright. I'm focussing heavily on maths. I'm worrying about Irish, it's a subject I absolutely hate studying it. It doesn't sink into my mind. I got a C in my mock, which I thought was an easy mock, I thought I'd get higher. If there's a hard Junior Cert then I'd be worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 omgz

Homework usually takes me 2 hours.

But after that I do be worn out, and cant motivate myself to do extra study!
    I try do some study, if I do it doen't be for long.

Now two weeks to go, I need a PUSH!

May I ask what helps get you motivated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭RHunce

when you feel you can get all a's is enough study

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

RHunce wrote: »
    when you feel you can get all a's is enough study

you took the words straigt out of my mouth!..

omgz wrote: »
    Homework usually takes me 2 hours.

But after that I do be worn out, and cant motivate myself to do extra study!
    I try do some study, if I do it doen't be for long.

Now two weeks to go, I need a PUSH!

May I ask what helps get you motivated?
    2 hours?

Homework takes me at best 50 mins, nothing more than that and we get alot of homework

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Echo72

....who's is not going to bother studying any subjects except for the ones which I am taking next year?
    So long geography! See ya in the next life science!:D
    I can't wait for the feeling of walking out of those exams, knowing that I will never have to lift up another book from those subjects!!

Echo72 wrote: »
    ....who's is not going to bother studying any subjects except for the ones which I am taking next year?
    So long geography! See ya in the next life science!:D
    I can't wait for the feeling of walking out of those exams, knowing that I will never have to lift up another book from those subjects!!
    Your not doing ANY science subjects?????

Thats gonna make getting into some colleges difficult.

I talked it through with my teachers before I made my final decision... it'll be fine since I don't want to do ANYTHING science related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Ruanej90

I hardly do any homework and study is a bitch but it's the j.c! i'm not goin to school atall this week so i can put in the time i should have been putting in weeks ago!! :P but i think that apart from history,maths,bus.st and german the j.c is gonna be a breeze!!!!!!! (it'd better be or i'mgonna be a dead man!!!!! i'm finished on the 12th and i cannot wait !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Hastina Fleegin

just taught I'd pop in to say you don't need to study, you'll be amazed at how easy it is. I got 2 As and 7 Bs and I never studied once and I rarely did my homework. 2hrs a night is definitely enough, you should do really well!

QFT.

You heard her, do no study and you'll do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,068 ✭✭✭LoonyLovegood

I did no study until the mocks, and I did my homework in the mornings. I did ok, mostly bs and cs, and I only failed maths (BY 2 MARKS!!). Now I'm doing a bit more study, I'm in the library on a Saturday morning and stuff. But honestly, if you don't know it at all by now, I doubt you'll get it.

I'm not doing much for anything I'm not taking for my leaving. I think I've done maybe one geography paper, and I'm ignoring religion and CSPE (Doesn't everyone?). Having it that little bit freer (sp?) is a help, definitely.

If you're not doing a subject for your leaving, then you should look at it, but don't stress about it too much. The main thing to focus on is what you're doing for your leaving, it makes life so much easier then.

Some of us don't need to study more than 1 hour for a subject as we unlike the majority of people actually bother to listen and learn in class instead of taking all the info in one year and out the other therefore we don't always have to spend 6 hours a day studying.

If you were doing that for your LC that would be ok, but the JC really should not need that much time!

galway.gaa wrote: »
    but it sets the pace on what you want to achieve. i dont care what other people say im ambitious and i want to go the best i can do if other people are jealous cause people cant keep up its not my problem. unfortunatly its yours!!!
    Honestly, I'm worried. But I'm not going to study five hours a day. I need to sleep. When I started studying hard core after my mocks, I was also doing five hours a day. I collapsed before my home ec practical, and had to have it re-scheduled for the next day from sheer exhaustion. The stress is too much. I'm doing an hour or so a day, plus homework. I'm not going to stress myself out, that's for my leaving.

ive been studying since september. i was doin 3hrs after school but now im doin 5hre. so its not cramming. but that was a good witty comment. you got me good. your just obviously just another jealous person. its actually fairly sad
    I hope you've studied the chapter about capital letters in english!

:p

Also, Tbh man studying from september either means you had done f*ck all for the last 1st and 2nd year or you just cannot learn.

How would you manage studying 3 hours daily since september let alone 5 hours, you would of probably revised everything 500 times by now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

TBH the junior cert was a bit of a cake walk for me. Truth be told I never did much more than 2hrs a nite in total (inc homework) and even at that it was closer to the event in question. Got a few A's and the rest B's resulting in the best results in the school. I never did more than a hours homework per nite during my secondary school days. In fact, for my LC, I really started to study hard 2 weeks beforehand! Again 2hrs per nite. Didn't get a real great LC - 370 points. Often think if I had done a bit more I might have got a better one. Anyhow such is such. Was never a great studier.

Oh I believe someone may be slithering away ever so slowly....

Oh, we aren't jealous, well atleast I am not. I wouldn't be too jealous of studying 5 hours a day to "Onli no half me stuff" at the end of the year. In fairness though doesn't everyone have that bit of humility in them to not boast of their knowledge?

Yeah, just face it, you've just been OWNED simultaneously :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Frank3142

its only boards

ONLY BOARDS!!!! shock horror!! Have mercy on this peasant o' boards Gods:pac:

wow yet another jealous person and does it matter about punctuation. its only boards and its all good as long as ye can understand what im sayin. i got 8 As and 3 Bs in the mocks so i musnt be that stupid:)
    It's important to have proper punctuation no matter what. If you don't have proper punctuation here, you're less likely to use proper punctuation when you're doing your English essays. Do you understand?

ya i want to get all As and if i dont get it in mocks then its hard to get it in the real thing but lucky for me i like a challenge. why is everyone trying to put digs in at me i wonder?? emmm i think jelousy. dont take yere inabilities out on me. honestly am i the only one who finds ye all rediculous:)
    Maybe because your a little sad guy who is actually doing their leaving cert and wants to hang around with us 14/15 year olds?

alot of people ars saying a question on banquo will come up but i dont what kind of question they can ask about him. really he plays a very small part in the play, like what kind of question can be asked and how would you write a 4 or 5 page essay on him?
    posted in LC Students-How many Hrs ya puttin in in the LC forum

Yes, you CAN go home now Mr.Troll.

While your at it, improve your punctuation and grammar before you begin learning off questions for your poetry question in the LC.

(For the record, We AREN'T jealous of having to do our LC this year, especially with a level of english as appalling)

Clap him off lads

Good bye, please don't come again :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭RHRN

ya i want to get all As and if i dont get it in mocks then its hard to get it in the real thing but lucky for me i like a challenge. why is everyone trying to put digs in at me i wonder?? emmm i think jelousy. dont take yere inabilities out on me. honestly am i the only one who finds ye all rediculous:)

1: Way to dodge Blay's question.
    2: No its not because we're jealous, its because you're being annoyingly arrogant and irritating.

Take your poorly typed posts elsewhere. It would fit in at Allhonours I'm sure.

watever cya around
    Have a tissue for them tears, Being booted off a JC forum after studying when your meant to be doing your 5 hour long study marathons never ends well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭RHRN

jesus ye guys need to calm down. and stop gettin mad at me for your own shortcomings

Shortcomings?
    Elaborate, please.
    Also, we thought you were leaving. Way to get our hopes up, troll....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭GirlsAloud

To be honest I'm scared now because i've done nothing.. all i've got is some sticky labels on all the walls in my house. XD I've done NONE. I think I left it a bit late.. I'm so scared.

How about you just go now, before you lose any more of your dignity?

A good trolling makes a great break I have to say.

On a serious note good luck in your LC and go back home (To your own LC forum)

Well I post in the LC forums too and I remember reading your name there so I didn't really fall for it all that much.......

Now,

Go back home LCer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

i suppose i do annoy some people at the best of times. but sure ive had my fun and thats all that matters;)

Well if acting the idiot is fun to you, you must be having a great time.

Anyway this thread has been destroyed and I'm going to delete all my off topic posts thus far.

Have a nice night all:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭galway.gaa

its not being stupid im jus making other people look like ejits. ill delete my comments to if it makes you happy. but it has been fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Some of us don't need to study more than 1 hour for a subject as we unlike the majority of people actually bother to listen and learn in class instead of taking all the info in one year and out the other therefore we don't always have to spend 6 hours a day studying.

If you were doing that for your LC that would be ok, but the JC really should not need that much time!

I listen in class:( (History as an exception)
    i spend 6hours a day studying for my JC:(
    OMG WHATS WRONG WITH ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:eek::confused:

I listen in class:( (History as an exception)
    i spend 6hours a day studying for my JC:(
    OMG WHATS WRONG WITH ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:eek::confused:
    Nothing your just nervous, better to study more than study less but just don't overdo it.
    I did about 2 1/2 hours today in the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Doesn't it really depend on the person, how much they listened, how good they are etc.?

Can't just say 2 hours, means something different to everyone.

And it only the JC - best luck, ye'll be laughing back at this in years to come. Fair play though for taking it serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Dumb

Christ. I know a fella who studied for 6 hours. 10 A's or something he got. All for what? Nothing. Pure Waste. That will mean nothing in a few years. No one will care. Don't waste too much time studying for something like the JC which is meaningless. Save it for the LC.

IMO:

Don't start studying until January.
    1 hour a night
    1-2 hours at weekends

Wow, I'm getting really worried seeing how much some of you have done!!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

Enough to get you 41%

I think I'll at least pass everything because I pay attention in class, I (mostly) do my homework and I didn't fail anything for the mocks.......

Ah, then why do I still feel that I'm screwed?:eek:

I did about 2 1/2 hours today in the sun.

lol Whenever I try to study outside in the sun I just fall asleep!!:o:o

Echo72 wrote: »
    I think I'll at least pass everything because I pay attention in class, I (mostly) do my homework and I didn't fail anything for the mocks.......

Ah, then why do I still feel that I'm screwed?:eek:

We all feel that way. It's thanks to teachers drilling it into our heads that we've got to get all As in the junior, when, unless you're leaving school, it's a bit of a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Hiccuper

I'm doing about 2-3 hours a day, but I take breaks and spread it out a bit.