Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai and use of second names?

• 10-05-2009 9:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭

Can anyone explain to me why most Guards tend to use their second names when they get attested?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Can anyone explain to me why most Guards tend to use their second names when they get attested?

In what context?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Garda personnel have two names? or split personalities? :eek:
    It would figure I suppose..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Are you referring to the use of second names of Gardai on charge sheets and summons?

TBH I dont know but I presume its because there may may be more than Garda John Murphy in one station etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭DCTF

Garda John Alan Murphy, I assume thats what your talking about.

If I remember correctly it's because the college gets your name from your birth cert. The was a lad in my class and his middle name was mary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

I think I know what he means.

Say a chap is called for example John Alan Murphy and he is attested as Alan Murphy. I know just a few people that use their second name as their defacto first name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Bond-007 wrote: »
    I think I know what he means.

Say a chap is called for example John Alan Murphy and he is attested as Alan Murphy. I know just a few people that use their second name as their defacto first name.

Exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

TBH, this really annoys the head of me! I dont want to be known as my full name, and i dont want every gouger in the district knowing it either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

ScubaDave wrote: »
    TBH, this really annoys the head of me! I dont want to be known as my full name, and i dont want every gouger in the district knowing it either!

Why not? Is there some security aspect to your need to keep your full name a secret?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

Hobart wrote: »
    Why not? Is there some security aspect to your need to keep your full name a secret?

More than likely he just has a strange middle name, Scuba "benedict" Dave.
    to be honest iv seen some funny middle names, there are plenty of Mary's out there.

ScubaDave wrote: »
    There will have to be a section in Templemore where they assign you a Garda name for work use.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

There will have to be a section in Templemore where they assign you a Garda name for work use.
    Name of First Pet + Street You Grew Up on = Official Garda Name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Hobart wrote: »

The less scumbags know about you the better.

cushtac wrote: »
    The less scumbags know about you the better.
    I would agree 100%. Shoulder numbers ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Haha Garda John O'Brien will become Garda Kent Ironside: 'a maverick who plays by his own rules' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭In my opinion

My late father was a member and because of his experience in the Gardai we (my brothers and I) only got one name when we were born.

His name was Frank Michael Mary (only Mary is accurate not going to make my identity obvious) officially he was Frank everyone knew him as Michael and on official documentation it was Frank M M all because of the order of the names on his birth cert.

Well at least I managed to ditch my birth names many years ago. I cherish my deed poll cert. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 junior80

Can't get over this paranoia of a gouger knowing a members full name. The work done by most members is not top secret, it's public order matters and pulling shoplifters out of various premises. Fair enough if you're attached to a specialist unit but then you'll be operating out of the public eye and it's a moot point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Well, i have a normal middle name! (for all of u that think thats the issue)

But the fact that i dont want the local car thief, druggie, general gouger knowing my middle name.... whats so hard to understand?

As mentioned, the less they know about ya the better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 junior80

Just sounds over cautious. Who gives a toss what your name is?
    Your local druggie, car thief etc hasn't the attention span to retain that info anyway!

Undoubtedly more serious heads may try research more info on members but no way to combat that really, if they want to know things they'll find them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

junior80 wrote: »
    Your local druggie, car thief etc hasn't the attention span to retain that info anyway!

Undoubtedly more serious heads may try research more info on members but no way to combat that really, if they want to know things they'll find them out.

Why make it easy for them. Nick names like ''robocop'' are much more fun anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

I'm not a Garda, but I'd disagree with the above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Can't get over this paranoia of a gouger knowing a members full name. The work done by most members is not top secret, it's public order matters and pulling shoplifters out of various premises. Fair enough if you're attached to a specialist unit but then you'll be operating out of the public eye and it's a moot point.

Tbh I don't think its paranoia, I'm not a cop but my work brings me into contact with varying degrees of criminality. Part of my responsibility revolves around writing reports for court and child protection. I have had people accuse me of being responsible for them going to jail, losing access to the kids etc.

I don't want them knowing anything about my personal life, its a fact of life; some people hold grudges and some will act on them. Most won't but it only takes one to change your life.

The scummers will make it their business to find out everything they can about you and your family. From the car you drive to where your kids go to school they will want to know. It pays to be careful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

The scummers will make it their business to find out everything they can about you and your family. From the car you drive to where your kids go to school they will want to know. It pays to be careful.

Second that! From the day you get your station your name should be your shoulder number. If the Public want to know more, they should be made write to the commissioner outlining their reasons for requesting this info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

bravestar wrote: »
    Second that! From the day you get your station your name should be your shoulder number. If the Public want to know more, they should be made write to the commissioner outlining their reasons for requesting this info.

Wouldn't that defeat the purpose of community relations though, like when Gardaí hand out their business card etc? My mam got once at the scene of an accident for example, so she knew who to contact. It'd look a bit odd a card saying "Garda H0123, Santry Garda Station" or the like...

sdonn wrote: »
    Wouldn't that defeat the purpose of community relations though, like when Gardaí hand out their business card etc? My mam got once at the scene of an ciident for example, so she knew who to contact. It'd look a bit odd a card saying "Garda H0123, Santry Garda Station" or the like...
    Not really...wouldn't the CRO member be using his/her attested name?

Haha Garda John O'Brien will become Garda Kent Ironside: 'a maverick who plays by his own rules' :)
    ...with sexy results.

(Sorry, I should really stop watching The Simpsons)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

As said before, the less these F**kers know about you the better.

You'll understand when you get back from work to realise a brick was thrown through your window or wake up to find paint stripper thrown over the bonnet of your car... It happens, all for one reason. The uniform you're wearing makes you the enemy. At least ye don't have name badges like the PSNI/Met.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

ste88m wrote: »
    At least ye don't have name badges like the PSNI/Met.

You wouldn't believe how often these are accidentally left in lockers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

ste88m wrote: »
    At least ye don't have name badges like the PSNI/Met.
    psni wrote: »

Handy one for those akward moments, psni.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

psni wrote: »

I can see how, very easy to forget. ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭daithip

Did anybody ever wear the name badges that were issued to us a few years back? Ah I can remember my fingers bloody from my poor needle work,:rolleyes: sitting up late at night in an attempt to attach the pieces of velcro to my jumper and shirts only to be disappointed and told we're not using them:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

eroo wrote: »
    I'm not a Garda, but I'd disagree with the above!

what do you disagree with:rolleyes::confused:

darren254 wrote: »
    what do you disagree with:rolleyes::confused:

Everything?? Or maybe the post directly above his?:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

i was askin the student not u

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

sdonn wrote: »
    Wouldn't that defeat the purpose of community relations though, like when Gardaí hand out their business card etc? My mam got once at the scene of an accident for example, so she knew who to contact. It'd look a bit odd a card saying "Garda H0123, Santry Garda Station" or the like...

Community relations... jesus christ, If this job gets any more touchy feely i'll hang myself. :mad:

As per your example, the Garda in question is giving out his business card voluntarily. Of his own free will. And no it's not weird for someone to ring a station/ ask for H213 etc. Happens everyday.

My personal security and that of my collegues is more important than "community relations".

darren254 wrote: »
    i was askin the student not u

Darren, I was just trying to help you by reading eroo's post and telling you what he was disagreeing with. He quotes what post he didn't agree with. He also states that he is not a member of the Gardai. If you are going to have a go at posters at least read their posts correctly.