Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maggots in the kitchen!

• 10-05-2009 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭

So I was there going to empty the bin, picked up the bag and it was absolutely crawling with maggots. I jumped about 10 feet into the air. The smell is putrid. And of course, as luck would have it we have a spot check tomorrow and I'm the only one in the house at the moment.

So what I want to know is does anyone have any knowledge in the field of maggots!:pac: How long do they take to turn into flies? Will said flies be able to fly out from under the bag? Could I chuck a load of salt or anything else that would be lying around the house down into them and take the whole lot of them down?

And most importantly should I be a man and do something about it myself or wait for someone else to come up tonight and spot it and let it become their problem?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

OP, nuke the bag from orbit. Its the only way to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Are the maggots in the bin or on the bag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

OP, nuke the bag from orbit. Its the only way to be sure.
    Ya, can't see the whole of Cork being obliterated helping my chances of getting the deposit back though:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Maggots normally have 10 nests in your home, if you've found one they you need to look for the other nine.

Your best bet is to move out for a month and it's going to get messy.

Salt won't kill them, maggots rely on a sodium rich diet to reproduce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

'Interaction between humans and maggots usually occurs near garbage cans, dead animals, rotten food and other breeding grounds for maggots. It may take 8–20 hours for maggots to grow.

A major problem also arises when maggots turn into flies and start the life cycle over again. Within a few generations the number of maggots grows exponentially and becomes a serious problem. Professionals can remove maggots or many over-the-counter bug sprays can be used to deter flies and maggots. Keeping rubbish in a sealed container and using a garbage disposal or freezing rotting leftovers until waste collection day helps prevent infestation. Sometimes introducing an environmental control, such as Histeridae, also help reduce maggot populations'

Take out the trash? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Why don't you put the bag inside another bag and chuck in some jeyes fluid.
    Then put the bag out in the bin.

Schism wrote: »
    Are the maggots in the bin or on the bag?
    They're on the bag which I suppose means they're after eating through the bag.

Feck sake like, who'd have thunk it, there's a downside to laziness. This is what you get when instead of emptying the bin you just throw another black bag on the ground...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

yerayeah wrote: »
    So I was there going to empty the bin, picked up the bag and it was absolutely crawling with maggots. I jumped about 10 feet into the air. The smell is putrid. And of course, as luck would have it we have a spot check tomorrow and I'm the only one in the house at the moment.

So what I want to know is does anyone have any knowledge in the field of maggots!:pac: How long do they take to turn into flies? Will said flies be able to fly out from under the bag? Could I chuck a load of salt or anything else that would be lying around the house down into them and take the whole lot of them down?

And most importantly should I be a man and do something about it myself or wait for someone else to come up tonight and spot it and let it become their problem?!
    Their maggots, not slugs. Dont know if salt will kill them.

Grow up and take the whole can outside, put the bag inside of a fresh bag feck it into the bin and clean the can already. Hose and soap ought to do it.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Maggots normally have 10 nests in your home, if you've found one they you need to look for the other nine.

Soon you'll be over run. Your only hope is to try and integrate yourself into their society and learn their customs, maybe you'll even fall for one of their women. In time your differences will be forgotten and you and your maggot brethren will look back on the whole 'bin incident' and chuckle fondly while sipping a fine brandy.

KCl?? I'm moving out in a couple of weeks so I'd say I'll forego the maggot hunt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

KCl?? I'm moving out in a couple of weeks so I'd say I'll forego the maggot hunt!

If you think you're going to make it alive to the front door in a couple of weeks, think again.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

Ya, can't see the whole of Cork being obliterated helping my chances of getting the deposit back though:p

you are in cork OP.....maggots are the least of yore problems.

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    'Interaction between humans and maggots usually occurs near garbage cans, dead animals, rotten food and other breeding grounds for maggots. It may take 8–20 hours for maggots to grow.

A major problem also arises when maggots turn into flies and start the life cycle over again. Within a few generations the number of maggots grows exponentially and becomes a serious problem. Professionals can remove maggots or many over-the-counter bug sprays can be used to deter flies and maggots. Keeping rubbish in a sealed container and using a garbage disposal or freezing rotting leftovers until waste collection day helps prevent infestation. Sometimes introducing an environmental control, such as Histeridae, also help reduce maggot populations'

Take out the trash? :confused:
    Wikipedia was my first port of call too:D I dunno bout just taking it out, best case you get maggots all over the carpet and kitchen, worst case you get maggots and old, gone off food in a big heap on the kitchen floor. The other thing is I've a bitch of an exam tomorrow so I wouldn't have time to clean up a mess like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Feed them any decaying flesh you can find and raise them as your own personal army.

If you have to kill your room mates to get a fresh supply of decaying flesh, well, do you want your own personal army or not?

Kirnsy wrote: »
    you are in cork OP.....maggots are the least of yore problems.
    Let the record show that I am not from Cork though:)

Your're not seriously going to leave it there?
    I know time flies but not so quick that you can't clean it up by tomorrow.

Your're not seriously going to leave it there?
    I know time flies but not so quick that you can't clean it up by tomorrow.
    Spose not. I'll wait for someone else to come up tonight I'd say and play rock scissors paper or something or else just take it out together so it's over with faster...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

when in doubt, cleanse by fire.

I suggest covering said bin in petrol, igniting it and throwing it over the back wall into the neighbours garden. Nothing could possibly go wrong with this plan.

I'm sure they'd see the funny side of it eventually:)

when in doubt, cleanse by fire.

I suggest covering said bin in petrol, igniting it and throwing it over the back wall into the neighbours garden. Nothing could possibly go wrong with this plan.

Au contraire Gummy Panda, the OP might not use enough petrol.

Make sure you use at least 5 litres of petrol, if you don't use enough you'll just piss off the maggots and they'll come after you.

Also make sure that you don't touch any of the maggots eggs (they're practically invisible).

If you think any of your clothes/belongings have touched their eggs you need to burn these too.

Actually might be better off getting 10 litres of petrol to be on the safe side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Fry them in oil on a pan. Dip each one in vinegar or lemon juice and then eat. Delicious.

You could go out of your way to get bitten by the one that glows in the dark, and devote the rest of your life fighting evil as Maggotman. All this depends on whether you're any good at photography, or you won't be able to get a job as a newspaper photographer, which is essential to maintain cover.

Au contraire Gummy Panda, the OP might not use enough petrol.

Make sure you use at least 5 litres of petrol, if you don't use enough you'll just piss off the maggots and they'll come after you.

Also make sure that you don't touch any of the maggots eggs (they're practically invisible).

If you think any of your clothes/belongings have touched their eggs you need to burn these too.

Actually might be better off getting 10 litres of petrol to be on the safe side.
    And to be sure to be sure, I'd say I'll fire in a few cans of lynx to get rid of the smell as well before I light it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

ejmaztec wrote: »
    You could go out of your way to get bitten by the one that glows in the dark, and devote the rest of your life fighting evil as Maggotman. All this depends on whether you're any good at photography, or you won't be able to get a job as a newspaper photographer, which is essential to maintain cover.

Someone was watching the Spider-Man movie

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Ah now, that would be acting the maggot:)

And to be sure to be sure, I'd say I'll fire in a few cans of lynx to get rid of the smell as well before I light it up.

Don't use Lynx.

Maggots are clever bàstards, they know all about the Lynx effect. They'll jut use it to attract more female maggots, turn them against you and attack.

You can use Old Spice though, they hate Old Spice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Ah maggots, reminds me of when I made chicken and rice soup one day and then realised that I didn't actually put rice in the pot, I left the chicken out a bit too long.. Suffice it to say - boiling water kills them. Can you not just take the bag to the skip? Or go to a fishing tackle shop and sell them, could make a bit of money!

Saibh wrote: »
    Someone was watching the Spider-Man movie

I'm Plagiarism Man - copying and pasting, and sometimes cutting, wherever I go.:cool:

Put a spice girls pic in the bag and watch them do a speedy gonzales out the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

OP is obviously in college, lives in a filithy house, uses lynx and has had never to look after himself.

OP,ring yore Ma :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

you could eat them?

jackncoke wrote: »
    OP is obviously in college, lives in a filithy house, uses lynx and has had never to look after himself.

OP,ring yore Ma :D
    Actually, mr. know it all, you're wrong.

I use rightguard:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Actually, mr. know it all, you're wrong.

ah,touche

You're supposed to press the button.:eek:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

What you have to do is kill one, bury it outside and wait for all the others to go to the funeral.

Problem solved!

Good idea,watch 'em squirm!

Right, progress report. Got bin bags from the girls next door and covered the top and bottom of the bin then fucked the whole bin into the skip down the road.

Problem solved:cool:

Right, progress report. Got bin bags from the girls next door and covered the top and bottom of the bin then fucked the whole bin into the skip down the road.

Atta boy, I hope you shed a tear for the little guys.

Aren't you forgetting something?

They know where you live!

I like to think they're in heaven on heart now with all manner of decomposing niceties in their new environs. I also like to think that as they grow up so fast, that whoever is next to go throw something into that skip could be getting a face full of flies!!

Aren't you forgetting something?

They know where you live!
    Next time, *dramatic pause* I'll be ready. *turns and walks into sunset*

This evenings events have been pure blockbuster gold.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

ewww.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Were you playing Slipknot music when this happened OP? I believe this may be the crux of your problem if true.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Slipknot music
    Does not compute. Does not compute.
    Whats the word? Cognitive dissonance?
    Double think?

Were you playing Slipknot music when this happened OP? I believe this may be the crux of your problem if true.
    Nope. Why??:confused:

The bassist is a maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Anyone get it? Slipknot fans are genrally referred to as Maggots.

Yeah.
    Or "The defendant."

Well, I'm not a maggot in that case...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Maggot sandwiches, nyom