Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AIL Final

• 09-05-2009 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

What a fantastic game. Well done Shannon. Though I have to say it was very harsh on Clontarf to lose just because they conceded the first try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Absolutley superb game, the club game is alive and well in ireland. I havent seen a game as good as that in a long time at club level. Feel sorry for Clontarf, as close as it was i felt they slightly deserved it, but only slightly. Fairplay to Shannon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Absolutely fantastic game. Horrible way to decide it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Wow, was exhausted just watching it. Cracking game, Neither of them deserved to lose. Well done to both teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

someones hijacked the loudspeaker!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

If the AIL tried to find a worse way to lose a match instead of a penalty shootout, they found it alright. How ****ed up can it get? :(

Great match and it really represented all of Irish club rugby. Christ, Paul O' Donoghue/Donohue (not sure which surname :D) looks like the next star. He ran the show.

Chieka should tell boot Chris Keane off the team and make POD first choice scrum half at Leinster.

As a Munster man, I hope Chris Keane has many prosperous years in the blue shirt. :D:D

Samurai wrote: »
    someones hijacked the loudspeaker!!

When?

What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Chieka should tell boot Chris Keane off the team and make POD first choice scrum half at Leinster.

As a Munster man, I hope Chris Keane has many prosperous years in the blue shirt. :D:D

Seeing as Eoin Reddan will be their first choice SH next season, i highly doubt that.

chupacabra wrote: »
    Seeing as Eoin Reddan will be their first choice SH next season, i highly doubt that.

Jaysus, my memory is ****ed!!! :D:D

You're right mate.

POD should be second choice then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,951 ✭✭✭✭phog

Couldnt make the game but I watched it on TV and it was awesome, one of the best games of AIL Rugby in a long time, fair paly to both teams and the ref.

Terrible way for Tarf to lose out on their 3rd? final but someone has to lose.

Well Done Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Also who was the Shannon 7? Looked very good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Dev7

Eoghan Grace. Found himself behind David Pollock and Sean O Brien for the 7 jersey at under 20s 2 yrs ago, looks a good prospect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Excellent game. It is a complete farce that a team can lose a game on such a rule. The IRFU have to address this situation immediately. The last game of the season, how could a replay not be arranged? I don't know. Was looking at the RTE website - there was a picture of Shannon (fair play to them!) behind a banner saying AIB AIL Champions, then underneath there was "Clontarf 19 - Shannon 19". It's totally wrong.

Anyway, well done to both teams on a fantastic game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭NU8

Didn't see it, what happened that everyone is giving out about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

NU8 wrote: »
    Didn't see it, what happened that everyone is giving out about?

It ended a draw, Shannon were given the win in the end because they scored first.

danthefan wrote: »
    It ended a draw, Shannon were given the win in the end because they scored first.

Ended a draw, after 20mins extra time still a draw, rule states the winner is then decided on who scored most tries, both teams had two tries each so the winner was Shannon as they were forst to score a try.

Also who was the Shannon 7? Looked very good.

Eoghan Grace, he was Shannon's MOTM, Paul O'Donohue was the MOTM and he fully deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

As a 'tarf supporter I'm absolutely gutted, what a horrible way to lose the game.

Especially considering the players reckoned the second Shannon try was held up, ref was in a good position and obviously saw a grounding somewhere.

Fair play to Shannon though they held on for the win.

Tarf will be back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

phog wrote: »
    Ended a draw, after 20mins extra time still a draw, rule states the winner is then decided on who scored most tries, both teams had two tries each so the winner was Shannon as they were forst to score a try.

People said the penalty shootout was a farce, but that's really really just awful. Surely extra time or something or anything but that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

People said the penalty shootout was a farce, but that's really really just awful. Surely extra time or something or anything but that.

Thats the problem. There was extra time.

Its better than just tossing a coin, even if its horrible..

The only way I can see around it is either

a) A Re-Match or
    b) Sharing the trophy

a) A Re-Match or
    b) Sharing the trophy

A rematch - maybe
    Sharing the trophy - no way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

a) A Re-Match or
    b) Sharing the trophy

Ah my bad.

I actually don't dislike the sharing idea for some reason.

Ah my bad.

I actually don't dislike the sharing idea for some reason.

Esp in cases where there is nothing between them, same try count etc. A re-match would probably be the only fair if unpractical way of deciding a tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Jam-Fly

I for one think the penalty shootout is an okay idea. I mean, how often will you get games ending in a draw after 100mins? (obviously we've had two in a week this week so don't bother pointing it out! :P). I definitely enjoyed the Leicester-Blues shootout so I personally think it's good for the game.

Definitely better than what happend today.

Oh, and excellent match btw

They could just do sudden death, next try winner. Even ditch two minutes of extra time and just play sudden death immediately with no break till there is a score, if after 30 minutes there is still no scores replay the game.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I can't believe I've seen two games end in draws in extra time after never seeing it before in my life.

Whatever about the penalty shoot-out, that was a horrible way to lose a game. I'd definitely strike that off the list of possible replacements for a shoot-out anyway. Its so bloody arbitrary.

I think once the 80 mins is up they should just go to sudden death where first try wins. Shannon did not win the game yesterday, and Clontarf did no lose it.

That would be even more unfair, the team kicking off would have a huge advantage and what would happen like yesterday where no-one score in the extra time, what then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I suppose a deciding system for the AIL Final could be as such:

Scores as 80 minutes, Scores after 100 minutes,

And then if still tied, just give the trophy to whichever team finished higher in the league table. Rewards play for the whole season.

If its still tied then... arm wrestles between the props! And if that can't decide it... 100 metre sprints between the wingers!

That would be even more unfair, the team kicking off would have a huge advantage

Ridiculous statement, it is not easy to score tries or even points for that matter. It would be a coinflip for kick off etc and even then all the team kicking off has to do is kick it deep so its not an advantage for either side.
    I think it could even be first scorer, generally in twenty minutes of rugby there is a score. If not it can either a) be played on until there is a score or b) go to replay.

And if that can't decide it... 100 metre sprints between the props!

Fixed your post.

That would be even more unfair, the team kicking off would have a huge advantage and what would happen like yesterday where no-one score in the extra time, what then?

What? How could a pretty arbitrary way of decided who "wins" a drawn game be more fair than giving one team the kickoff?

Simple. The kickoff will give the team kicking off an unfair field position when the first try is going to decide the winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭tughfc

A game of rock paper scissors would be an adequate way! obviously best two out of three!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

an absolutely daft decision on how to decide a game. Extra time is meant to be used as a means of deciding a winner, however extra time in this game saw Shannon enter it with an advantage as they knew they had scored the first try.

An equally daft decision was to decide to play the final in what was a home ground for 1 of the 4 teams which had reached the final. Given Shannon fans seem to have been outnumbered this wasnt a major factor on the day.

bamboozle wrote: »
    an absolutely daft decision on how to decide a game. Extra time is meant to be used as a means of deciding a winner, however extra time in this game saw Shannon enter it with an advantage as they knew they had scored the first try.

An equally daft decision was to decide to play the final in what was a home ground for 1 of the 4 teams which had reached the final. Given Shannon fans seem to have been outnumbered this wasnt a major factor on the day.

You obviously didn't hear the Fiach O'Loughlin being interviewed, he said they didn't know, Alain Rolland was herad on the TV telling the teams the sitiuation with seconds left on the clock of the extra time.

Thomond Park was going to be the venue once LR wasn't available.

You obviously didn't hear the Fiach O'Loughlin being interviewed, he said they didn't know, Alain Rolland was herad on the TV telling the teams the sitiuation with seconds left on the clock of the extra time.

i didnt see interview as i was at the game, at the end of full time it was announced over the Intercom how the game would be decided. As far as we could see both teams were fully aware as were both sets of fans.

Heard him say it alright. A bit harsh that both teams didn't know where they stood after the 80, Although I couldn't see how both teams could have tried harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭oh well

both teams should have known the rules, might be tough but thems the rules and thats the way the agreed to play. Shows how teams need to be on the ball from the first kick off. I've seen same thing happen before at underage matches

If the AIL tried to find a worse way to lose a match instead of a penalty shootout, they found it alright. How ****ed up can it get? :(

Great match and it really represented all of Irish club rugby. Christ, Paul O' Donoghue/Donohue (not sure which surname :D) looks like the next star. He ran the show.

Belvedere SCT 3 years ago had O'Donoghue and Keatley at half back and Cian Healy in the front row, serious team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭pab_lowe

For extra time in the future, start removing one player from each side each time there is a stoppage. Would open the game up, strategy required to decide which players to remove, scrums would need to be contested.

Or else just go straight ot a 7s game

pab_lowe wrote: »
    For extra time in the future, start removing one player from each side each time there is a stoppage. Would open the game up, strategy required to decide which players to remove, scrums would need to be contested.

Or else just go straight ot a 7s game

Maybe, but you are changing the game from what it is.

A fair system would have certain things pointed, yellow card= x pts, lines outs won = x pts penlities = x pts and so on. The team with the highest or lowest pts (depending on how system was implemented) would win.

This system would be a fair reflection over the course of the tie.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

even if you start removing players doesnt mean that there will be anymore scores in the game. Same for going to 7's. Of course you'd think there would be cant be 100% sure.
    I think the penalties way done in the leicseter cardiff game is the fairest. either that or a reply.
    Whoever scores the first try in a game shouldnt decide who wins.
    My opinion anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 823 ✭✭✭MG

Shannon have only played twice at TP this season (and opne of those was v Clontarf) so it was not much of a home game. If by home, you meant Limerick, then the usual way of holding it in Dublin isn't fair either.

I would have thought that deciding it by virtue of higher league place would be fair - which Shannon would also have won.

MG wrote: »
    I would have thought that deciding it by virtue of higher league place would be fair - which Shannon would also have won.

I think everyone would have liked to see a replay, obviously IRFU will say the season is over everyone needs a break etc.

MG wrote: »
    Shannon have only played twice at TP this season (and opne of those was v Clontarf) so it was not much of a home game. If by home, you meant Limerick, then the usual way of holding it in Dublin isn't fair either.

or by virtue of the result in the league fixture between the 2 teams...which Clontarf happened to win!

repay is the only fair option

i didnt see interview as i was at the game, at the end of full time it was announced over the Intercom how the game would be decided. As far as we could see both teams were fully aware as were both sets of fans.

Well the team management did very poorly if they didn't get that message onto the field as it was Tarf who was questioning the ref as to what was going to happen with seconds left on the clock at the end of extra time, poor show for the coach.

Thats nonsense TBH, do you think at the end of full time all the coachs are going to be hanging around waiting to hear what the guy on the PA system was going to say?!? They were talking with the team about how they were going to play the next twenty minutes of the match.

Have you ever played a sport? Any time the players are able to speak with the management they do, there are always things that need to be tweaked or changed therefore everyone has to give their full attention to the coach etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Cuchulain

Should play next score wins but with 7s. Each team decides which 8 players to ditch.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Cuchulain wrote: »
    Should play next score wins but with 7s. Each team decides which 8 players to ditch.

Its not a 7s tournament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

The Shannon players didn't know until the last 5 minutes or there abouts either.

I'm a die hard Shannon boy but I really feel that a replay should have been what happened, really feel for the Tarf players, staff and fans, no team should loose a final in that manner.