Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbag using disabled parking with fake Wheelchair badge on car

• 09-05-2009 12:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭

is there any law against it ?

is there any place to report it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

How do you know it was fake?

Pics or GTFO

And don't presume that the person wasn't perfectly entitled to have a disabled badge on their car, just because they were able to walk out of their car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Whoever owns the car park, for one. I'd say they'll know what to do from there.

How do you know it was fake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Probably is illegal. Try the guards or a traffic warden or something. Theyll know what to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 aleoga

Yes I would agree with poting above - how do you know the person isn't entitled to the parking permit. I have disabled parking permits for my children and I know people look at me and think the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

What a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cichlid child

aleoga wrote: »
    Yes I would agree with poting above - how do you know the person isn't entitled to the parking permit. I have disabled parking permits for my children and I know people look at me and think the same.
    Me as well for my wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I dont care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

How ironic would it be if he crashed the same car and got his wish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

DarkJager wrote: »
    How ironic would it be if he crashed the same car and got his wish?

Not much, it would've just been a weird coincidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

Rob his car, that will teach him to put stickers on his car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Presuming the disabled badge is genuine, is it not incredibly wrong for someone to use the disabled parking space if there is no one with them in the car who is disabled?

Take for instance a parent who happens to have a child that uses a wheelchair. Parent needs to go shopping but the child is at home. Why is it ok for the parent to use the parking space when it is only a convenience rather than a neccesity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

In Dublin city?

If so give DSPS a call on 01-6022500 and a clamping request will be issued. If the badge is fake it will be confiscated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Presuming the disabled badge is genuine, is it not incredibly wrong for someone to use the disabled parking space if there is no one with them in the car who is disabled?

Take for instance a parent who happens to have a child that uses a wheelchair. Parent needs to go shopping but the child is at home. Why is it ok for the parent to use the parking space when it is only a convenience rather than a neccesity?

whats to say they dont have the kid in the boot or something? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Eerie

aleoga wrote: »

You shouldn't be parking in disabled spaces unless the disabled person who's picture is on the permit is with you! If they were, why would anyone be looking at you and thinking that!???

I find this as annoying as people who park without a permit! You should know better! :mad: I have one for my sister and would never dream of parking in a disabled space unless she's with me. At christmas time especially, when parking is scarce, I always see people who are clearly not disabled using permits and me and sis are left sitting in the car until one of these inconsiderates moves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,867 ✭✭✭Demonique

Eerie wrote: »
    At christmas time especially, when parking is scarce, I always see people who are clearly not disabled using permits and me and sis are left sitting in the car until one of these inconsiderates moves!

If I were you I'd have no qualms about parking in the expectant mother or parent and child spaces if the disabled spaces are full. It's not like they're legally enforceable and being pregnant/having children IS NOT a disability depsite what some parents think and I've seen parents parking in the disabled spaces without a permit when the prego/parent and child spaces are full, so its not like you're doing anything that they wouldn't hesitate to do to you

Demonique wrote: »
    If I were you I'd have no qualms about parking in the expectant mother or parent and child spaces if the disabled spaces are full. It's not like they're legally enforceable and being pregnant/having children IS NOT a disability depsite what some parents think and I've seen parents parking in the disabled spaces without a permit when the prego/parent and child spaces are full, so its not like you're doing anything that they wouldn't hesitate to do to you

I would, but these spaces are few and far between too!

Once I was getting angsty, so we double parked behind a car in a disabled spot with no permit, blocking them in (it was at the end of a row so not blocking anyone else). I couldn't find a parking attendant to move them so I left them a note with my mobile number on it... unfortuntely for me, we left before they did so I didn't get that call... Luckily for them, as I was fit to kill someone! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

At christmas time especially, when parking is scarce, I always see people who are clearly not disabled using permits and me

How can you tell? Just because somebody can walk perfectly well does not not mean they are not entitled to a pass.
    There are many conditions out there, such as people getting exhausted after a few minutes walking.

But then most of the people you see are lazy feckers who just don't care. But not all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

If someone pulls me up on it I just go "DURRRRRRRRRR WHAT???" then laugh. That's also how I entered the special olympics (And lost horribly)

Phasers - I do not have the words right now to tell you how horrible your post is. :eek: I didn't think people like you existed...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Phasers - I do not have the words right now to tell you how horrible your post is. :eek: I didn't think people like you existed...

It's a joke from an episode of south park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

mikemac wrote: »
    How can you tell? Just because somebody can walk perfectly well does not not mean they are not entitled to a pass.
    There are many conditions out there, such as people getting exhausted after a few minutes walking.

But then most of the people you see are lazy feckers who just don't care. But not all

This is especially true for people who have recovered from bad heart attacks, strokes etc.

It could seem as though they have no difficulty in walking/ moving etc. but over long distances, they could have difficulty.
    phasers wrote: »
    If someone pulls me up on it I just go "DURRRRRRRRRR WHAT???" then laugh. That's also how I entered the special olympics (And lost horribly)

I'm pretty sure Phasers was joking Eerie. I wouldn't dwell on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

It could have been a scumbag with a pace maker??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Exactly, not all disabled people entitled to a sticker are physically disabled or obviously disabled. A friend of mine has MS and she has a disabled sticker. She does not drive so her husband drives her. In fairness he does not use the disabled sticker as she is usually perfectly able to walk but on days where her motor skills do not work as normal I am sure he would have no problem using it.

The 6 inch heels and guilty look tend to give it away!;)

I would never pull anyone up on it just in case though - as you said, you never know. The only time I have ever said it to someone is if they do not have a permit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 deise girlie

My dad has MS and really needs these spaces or he is literally stuck in the car till the inconsiderate b*****d strools back to their car. A neighbour of mine has a badge cause he got his hip done a few years back. He always uses the disabled parking spaces around town but I also see him taking his dog on a 1 mile walk twice a day. These badges mean the difference between being house bound for some people and it bugs me to see them given to people who really don't need them :mad:

I'm pretty sure Phasers was joking Eerie. I wouldn't dwell on it.

I know they were joking, but a thread like this is not the time or the place for that!

Also, since when does having a pacemaker make you disabled!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Any time I'm looking for parking in a near-full car park, there are always a lot more disabled spaces than there needs to be.

TBH, it is a fight for territory. We gotta take the power back from the disabled. Viva la resistánce!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Saw it another thread and thought it was clever

You can have my parking space if you manage with my disability.

Eh, that's probably not it exactly but a good idea for a car sticker.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Have parked in disabled places before without a badge. In fairness though I did have a leg in a cast at the time and the spaces were right next door to the wheelchair place I was hopping my way over to before getting pushed into the shopping centre in one of their chairs and the people in there said we were grand parking there as we clearly needed it.

Would never do it otherwise though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

Hang on, those badges are for parking spaces? I thought it was so we could see them coming and get out of the way. Disabled is very contageous you know, that's why we've had to break some of their legs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...Also, since when does having a pacemaker make you disabled!?

Personally, if I came across someone with a pacemaker I'd consider them disabled.
    Seeing as their heart is not the best, their ability to park closer to their possible destinations would mean less strain on their body getting there and subsequently see less chance of them collapsing and causing more harm to themselves (and adding to the healthcare bills of the country?).
    ...just a thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

My dad has MS and really needs these spaces or he is literally stuck in the car till the inconsiderate b*****d strools back to their car. A neighbour of mine has a badge cause he got his hip done a few years back. He always uses the disabled parking spaces around town but I also see him taking his dog on a 1 mile walk twice a day. These badges mean the difference between being house bound for some people and it bugs me to see them given to people who really don't need them :mad:

A hip replacement doesnt stop you walking. But it does make it bloody hard to stand up. You might want to consider that when judging your neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

A word of caution here, you cant always judge!

I have a child that is mentally disabled. I was granted a pass because when he kicks off you will not get him in a car door( He also has other problems related to the pass) so the powers that be got us a wheelchair pass cause they though the wider space would help

One day we parked in a disabled space and set about on our way, a women chased us down the road and told us she had taken our reg and was going to report us..... I am not getting into in

Needless to say, just because something apears to be does not mean it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I suppose it depends on where this guy was parked I suppose, if it was outside a supermarket or something I suppose I would tell the security guard or manager in the shop. As previously mentioned in the thread, that guy could well have had a disabled family member.

I was a Tesco yesterday, and began hunting for a parking space as close to the entrance as you could get (naturally), when it is pissing the heavens every two minutes. I don't normally go to this particular branch, but I was astounded at the stupidy of the marked spaces. Directly facing the shops entrance (we'll say 20 spaces per row) were 4 consecutive rows..

Tesco, exactly how fucking many disabled people are you expecting to visit the store in one go? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

So you were in ClareHall

God no. I left my suit of armour at home :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

delllat wrote: »
    is there any law against it ?

is there any place to report it ?

You have to remember that having a disabled permit and being a scumbag aren't mutually exclusive.

For example, in this fine country of ours, heroin addicts can
    get full disability allowance, free travel and disabled parking permits.

Makes it handy for them to get into Tesco when they have to buy new tin foil and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Hey! Those are fake hands.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Aidric wrote: »
    Hey! Those are fake hands.

And the most out of place quote of the day award goes to...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

Inaccurate too. Should be:

Aidric wrote: »
    Wait a minute... these are fake hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

I am a disabled driver/full time wheelchair user and the whole issue of parking permits is a major source of debate in the disabled community. The idea of the disabled parking spot (in my mind) is that they are wider than the average spot to allow people like myself to open the drivers door fully to enable us to assemble and get into our wheelchairs. There are way too many blue badges issued every year and some of the people I see using them could just as easily get in and out of their car in a normal width parking spot.
    Ok so some people need to be near the door of the shop as they can't walk great distances but I see what at least look like outwardly able bodied people parking in disabled spots all the time even when the rest of the car park is relatively empty. Anyway, I've stopped saying it to people in car parks as I decided that if you're the type of person who parks in a disabled spot unnecessarily you're obviously a tw@t and me telling you so isn't going to make you any less of a tw@t in the long run.

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Under Irish and UK law a child is anybody under the age of 18, so anybody with a kid under the ago of 18 can legally park in the "expectant mother or parent and child spaces "
    Demonique wrote: »

The_Coon wrote: »
    For example, in this fine country of ours, heroin addicts canget full disability allowance, free travel and disabled parking permits.

Makes it handy for them to get into Tesco when they have to buy new tin foil and the like.

Uh Coon? I'm not entirely up to scratch on the entitlements of disabled parking permits but I think you may be over looking a minor detail there. Last I heard the country weren't giving out driving licenses to heroin addicts, just bus passes :pac:

That said, fuck all would surprise me about this country anymore..

Abigayle wrote: »
    Uh Coon? I'm not entirely up to scratch on the entitlements of disabled parking permits but I think you may be over looking a minor detail there. Last I heard the country weren't giving out driving licenses to heroin addicts, just bus passes :pac:

That said, fuck all would surprise me about this country anymore..

The two things aren't controlled by the same body.
    Unbelievably some heroin addicts are unscrupulous enough to lie on their
    driving licence forms and not admit that they are drug addicts.
    That and some drivers become addicts after passing their tests.

The disabled passes can be issued to someone to be used in the car that they get transported in, like having a permit in your car because your husband needs a wheelchair.

A heroin addict who is known to our family, offered to get his disabled pass registered to my car
    - for the low, low price of €50 and a lift to Thomas St.

The two things aren't controlled by the same body.
    Unbelievably some heroin addicts are unscrupulous enough to lie on their
    driving licence forms and not admit that they are drug addicts.
    They tell lies too! :eek: :pac:

You got me thinking there tbh, because it asks on the form if you have any previous convictions etc. Am I to assume that these don't get checked up on either? :confused: Fair enough, not every heroin addict will have been convicted, but I've never heard of anyone being refused for having previous conviction of possesion, or being under influence.

Same goes for your general health and eye health. You could say no problems to either of them too..
    A heroin addict who is known to our family, offered to get his disabled pass registered to my car - for the low, low price of €50 and a lift to Thomas St.
    Some fucking twats we have running the show alright.

Abigayle wrote: »

Same goes for your general health and eye health. You could say no problems to either of them too..

AFAIK you have to pass an eye test before getting your first licence.
    I don't think any health matters are checked after than until you get into your 70s.

AFAIK you have to pass an eye test before getting your first licence.
    I don't think any health matters are checked after than until you get into your 70s.

Unless it is a new thing, I've never had to this. I got my first license about 7yrs ago. It is a total joke, the lot of it. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 deise girlie

Jumpy wrote: »
    A hip replacement doesnt stop you walking. But it does make it bloody hard to stand up. You might want to consider that when judging your neighbour.

My father in law has his hip done so I know about the condition and what it entails, also the amount of time it takes to recover. After his operation I am sure my neighbour justifiably needed the pass. My point (if you had read my post) is that if he can walk his dog for 2 miles a day, why can he not walk the lenght of a car park to go to the shops leaving disabled parking spaces free for people who genuinley need them.

I am aware that there are a vast number of conditions that passes are given for (not all of them apparant). My father could walk for a lot of years before having to use a wheelchair, it just left him so tired he had to go to bed after it hence the need to use a disabled space. My neighbour on the other hand told me exactly why he got the pass, which was fair enough at the time but I feel it is pretty damn selfish to keep using it when he is recovered enough to walk 2 miles a day but is too lazy to walk the extra few yards to the shops!

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    Under Irish and UK law a child is anybody under the age of 18, so anybody with a kid under the ago of 18 can legally park in the "expectant mother or parent and child spaces "

Is a law that says it's illegal to park in a parent and child spot if you are not a parent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I feel it is pretty damn selfish to keep using it when he is recovered enough to walk 2 miles a day but is too lazy to walk the extra few yards to the shops!

Would it perhaps have something to do with the strain of carrying shopping or even pushing a trolley back to the car might have on his hip? I do not know if that would be an issue for someone with a hip replacement but it could be.

Personally I park as far from the door as I can. Firstly to get a little extra exercise and secondly to keep my car away from ignorant people who slam their car door into other cars and think nothing of it.