Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[XBOX360] Fifa 2009 League-General Discussion

• 08-05-2009 11:47pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hi all, this thread will replace the existing thread and will be used for all discussions and banter pertaining to the XBOX360 leagues. The old threads have served their purpose well but there are too many of them and it is difficult to keep everyone up to date.

With that in mind, I would like to formally congratulate our Winners from Season 3!

The Premiership Mister Robinson
    The Championship sparky360

Final tables are being compiled for Serie A/B as a few players were slow to finish games. I will formally announce the winners shortly.

Season 4 will begin in approximately 2 weeks, but in the meantime, lets get the ball rolling with a bit of chat.

Just wondering who would be happy to stick with their teams fromlast year? I know Richie celebrated the day he realised he would never have to play as Shalke again...for me, as much as I enjoyed playing as Lyon, they were a one-trick pony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

When do we find out what leagues we're in!? Both for exisiting players (like myself) and joining ones!?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

SRFC90 wrote: »
    When do we find out what leagues we're in!? Both for exisiting players (like myself) and joining ones!?

I'm currenty sorting everything out. I think we will have aboyt 45-50 players and I need to see if 4 leagues is now worth it, and whether 2 big leagues is the better option. I will know more as we get closer to the deadline.

I felt that it was just too hard to provide the same amount of time to each league and unfortunately I felt that more could have been done for the Serie A/B players last season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭sparky360

I initially hated playing with Real Madrid. Got used to them after a while. Cant wait for the next season!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

It always helps if you like the team you are playing as. I still can't really warm to Schalke that much.... even though I've played 100+ games as them now. They are much better than 2 other 4.5 star sides though.

Theres much worse teams though. I don't like Real Madrid as a club, but I like their players, Van Nistelrooy, Van Der Vaart, Sergio Ramos, etc.

Finding a team you like to play as is half the battle! I'd love to give Ath. Madrid a try (love Diego Forlan, Aguero, Simao, Maniche, Perea, etc), they are good without being great, but I think the chances of me getting a side like them are slim to none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Lucious Sweet

I would NOT like to play as Milan anymore. Two seasons of humiliations is more than enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭joe123

I love picking Liverpool (play with them all the time online) but I know I wont get them. In the pre season league Im west ham and I have to admit I actually like playing with them there not bad at all and Ashton and Bellamy up front are a decent partnership but I havent tested them against sides above 4 stars so...

Was playing a fella online last night ranked 500th in the world. He demolished me as barca but it was his formation. He used 7 backs no midfield and 4 strikers. For some reason ive been really struggling with Liverpool lately (think its that player form thing) so i made up a tactic like his and so far its not to bad, it definitely stops those fast teams walking through defences.

Dont think ill use it in the league though! But its interesting all the same. That guys formation was the hardest ive ever come up against online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Garball

Im gonna stay well clear of Celtic next season,probably the worst team in the game.I reckon i'l bounce back to the Premiership in no time:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I liked playing as Udinese alot but I'll see what's on offer now.

Just a quick question, it there is going to be no Serie A or B does that mean that both leagues will have unique teams or will there be a crossover because we could be seeing some epic WBA vs. Chievo battles next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭bennyc

I was liverpool and even though I like playing as them I think a change is for the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Moiph

I thoroughly enjoyed playing as Fiorentina, but I think a change of teams for everyone is the best option. It will test out everyones skills at adapting to a new team with tactics and formations etc, makes things more interesting :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Moiph wrote: »
    I think a change of teams for everyone is the best option. It will test out everyones skills at adapting to a new team with tactics and formations etc, makes things more interesting :)

I don't plan on playing as Inter again anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭Lucious Sweet

Jesus, it's very quiet here lads.
    No abusive comments. No questions about new league start date. No Can I join and No Flaming posts..
    Are ye all still out there?

moz wrote: »
    No abusive comments. No questions about new league start date. No Can I join and No Flaming posts..

SHUT UP!!!!!

When is the league starting, it's been ages starting up again!!!! Can I join this season??????? I think last man tackles are acceptable and are part of the game and and quitting during a match even when you are behind should be an automatic replay cos people have disconnection issues you know!!!

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,611 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

im up for the next one, when is it starting? gamertag:corcaigh09

moz wrote: »

Think its getting set up at the moment isnt it??

The sooner we get to at least pick teams the better so we can get a bit of practice in. Any word??

EDIT: Just seen the deadline is 15th may nevermind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ryman 3000

hey, i really want to be part of the leagues but have no idea what the format is etc. can someone explain it please smile.gif and it'll need to be fast since the deadline is in 2 days.

ryman 3000 wrote: »
    hey, i really want to be part of the leagues but have no idea what the format is etc. can someone explain it please smile.gif and it'll need to be fast since the deadline is in 2 days.

There is a sticky at the top of the Forum explaining all.

ok...i'm a very experienced gamer/ computing person but i'm a total noob when it comes to forums frown.gif is that "sticky" just the post from future guy at the very start of the thread? if so then are teams just drawn at random cos i'm cool with that. cheers!

Ya, Read this:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055523888

All is explained in great detail.

i've read through piles of stuff. so basically is it too late or can i get the name and password for the qualifying league and prove myself worthy in the next couple of days?

Theres a qualifying league every season for those like yourself wanting to join up. Youll have to wait untill the next one is set up( probably a few weeks or so im not to sure). You play games in that and once the main leagues are finished the players who qualified from the qualifying league will then be entered into the main leagues.

Basically you have to keep an eye out for the next qualifying league.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

I would suggest you pm Future Guy and talk to him, he runs the thing and has the final say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

Excellent can't wait for this. Finals are finished so will be able to play again and hopefully revenge the 2 humiliations I suffered in the qualifying (might have been 3..)

Brimmy wrote: »
    Excellent can't wait for this. Finals are finished so will be able to play again and hopefully revenge the 2 humiliations I suffered in the qualifying (might have been 3..)

I dont see your name on the signup sheet for season 4 (maybe just didnt see it) but assuming you havent signed up would you do so please to make sure you are included.

To anyone else reading this can you make sure you have filled in the signup sheet before Friday so we can get this started.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055555754&page=4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Mister Robinson

I wouldn't mind playing as Spur's again.They are a very slow team without the jan update but it's good to use tactics to get the goals....I might go for a Portuguese team this season. Porto,Sporting or Benfica would be my choice..

yea i messaged him explaining everything but haven't had a reply frown.gif is the qualifying league finished then?

I wouldn't mind playing as Spur's again.They are a very slow team without the jan update

Bentley, acceleration 89
    Dos Santos, acceleration 91
    Bent, acceleration 93
    Lennon, acceleration 95
    Campbell, acceleration 90

Jaysus, slow? Thats four players who have acceleration in the 90's and Lennon is nearly the fastest player in the game!!!!!!!

And one just a shade off 90, the rest of the players are average speed. Plus, with King and Woodgate, they eat any small players that try to run past them! Some step down playing with any Portugese team compared with Spurs!

yea i messaged him explaining everything but haven't had a reply frown.gif is the qualifying league finished then?

A new qualifying league will be beginning soon, but it will be for next season (season 5). One the main league has commenced, we will start the new qualifying season.

Y2J_MUFC wrote: »
    Bentley, acceleration 89
    Dos Santos, acceleration 91
    Bent, acceleration 93
    Lennon, acceleration 95
    Campbell, acceleration 90

Jaysus, slow? Thats four players who have acceleration in the 90's and Lennon is nearly the fastest player in the game!!!!!!!

And one just a shade off 90, the rest of the players are average speed. Plus, with King and Woodgate, they eat any small players that try to run past them! Some step down playing with any Portugese team compared with Spurs!
    Did I say that??:p Nooooo I said i'll stick with Supr's because they are super fast....:D:D

Good luck with that being last pick and all :D

Axwell wrote: »
    Good luck with that being last pick and all :D

I know :(

Sucks being Number 1 :D:D:D

we will see this year!!! Transitional Champ! It's my year to shine!!!:D:D:D:D

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Guys can we keep all comments to the general discussion thread? It makes it easier to choose teams. Joe123 you went 10-0 in qualifying with wbremen. Youll be fine. :-)

It was with Liverpool I did that! A bit better than Werder Bremen!

In fairness if you were in the premiership yu would have an even worse selection so you should be happy enough, you will still get a decent enough team and you are a good enough player so you shouldnt have many problems once you get used to your team. Thinks are moving along and teams are getting selected at last so lets keep it going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Garball

joe did you expect to be put straight into the prem?

Garball wrote: »
    joe did you expect to be put straight into the prem?

No but a few lads who finished below me are in the premiership so was just wondering...

Can you name them Joe? Have I made a mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

No mistake made. SeanMeisterSa, Cashelman, Nedved, myself, drath brimmy, SDTimeout and playathree are all in the championship. Think you must have mis-read Joe.

Aw jese sorry im getting names mixed up now from the pre season league and the qualifying one! Sorry! :o

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Can you name them Joe? Have I made a mistake?

I think you've made a mistake with the Prem ordering though. How is the winner of Serie A in 8th? Thats like putting me or Robinson down there :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SRFC90

I'm second last to pick a team due to a combo of finishing runners up in Seria A and leading the qualifying league with Watford!

I'll probably end up having to use them! :o

You will easily win the league with the awesome power of Watford's Tommy Smith. All quiver in fear! :D

Y2J_MUFC wrote: »
    I think you've made a mistake with the Prem ordering though. How is the winner of Serie A in 8th? Thats like putting me or Robinson down there :eek:

Raleigh Burner won Serie B not Serie A.

Ohhh, my bad! :D
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

can we get like a pre-league league? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭bennyc

sweet jesus I picked Real Madrid :eek: I really should have not done team selection when drunkish. I played a load of games last night I dont think I scored a good goal in 5 games.

bennyc wrote: »
    sweet jesus I picked Real Madrid :eek: I really should have not done team selection when drunkish. I played a load of games last night I dont think I scored a good goal in 5 games.

Excellent news on this Monday morning:D

bennyc wrote: »

Its all in your head mate. The most important parts of Fifa are custom tactics, formation, having one quick forward and one quick centre half.

Everything after that is gravy.

I won the championship with them last year and scored the most goals in the two leagues. I never changed the formation at all. I will gladly swop ya with whoever I get!!!!!!!!!!:D

sparky360 wrote: »
    I won the championship with them last year and scored the most goals in the two leagues. I never changed the formation at all. I will gladly swop ya with whoever I get!!!!!!!!!!:D

Preston.