Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Susan Boyle

• 08-05-2009 12:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭

When I saw her for the first time on Britians got talent, I was like wow she is really good.

But now I think with interviews with Oprah etc she is just getting annoying. To be honest I don't want her to win anymore, she is more famous now then other real celebrities.

Anyone else feel like she shouldn't win and it's annoying you or do ye still like her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I find the whole thing disgusting - the world is in shock an ugly person has a bit of talent.

Shows how shallow the masses are.

For example, people cried when they heard her sing. WHY?

OMG THAT UGLY WENCH IS ABLE TO SING. HOW EMOTIONAL.

FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Its not just cos she's not the best lookin, but can sing, it was the shock factor. Everyone expected a great laugh the way she was all awkward and stuff on stage

And "a bit of talent" is puttin it lightly, she's got an amazing voice, and it was effortless

That's not her fault that this happened

But that created a buzz, that everyone jumped on, press whores!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

I think she's a vulnerable woman and not very worldly wise. She has a lovely singing voice but I'm not sure how well she'd be able to cope with fame.
    I read today that she's going to appear on the Oprah show which is a bit much - they're turning her into some sort of a sideshow act and it's all because her voice doesn't match her appearance and demeanour.
    I hope her family have the sense to guide her and support her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭corkkaz

she'll have no preparation for fame either like with other reality shows such as x factor its such a long process and your around cameras and the media but she's just thrown into it.

I was shocked, she is very good but I think other talents such as (flawless I think) wont get the credit they deserve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

AARRRGH wrote: »
    I find the whole thing disgusting - the world is in shock an ugly person has a bit of talent.

FFS.

Totally agree. Meanwhile, Simon "I have the highest waistline in showbusiness" Cowell, is making a s**tload of money out of it.

It's gotta be one of the most embarrassing tv shows out there atm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

That show is the same as the bollox they used to show in the 80s...variety shows.

Susan Boyle is an oul one that can sing, big deal. No one's gonna buy an album of hers unless they are mentally deranged.

I love reality tv, but that show is poxy boring. Give me Kerry Katona eating a kangaroo cock any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

unreggd wrote: »
    And "a bit of talent" is puttin it lightly, she's got an amazing voice, and it was effortless
    Matter of opinion. I think she has a lovely voice, but not amazing.
    Anyway, the whole saga is repulsive: "Hee hee :D, let's jeer this silly auld bat... oh wait, she can sing well - how shocking seeing as she's not good-looking and she's overweight and middle-aged and dowdy and awkward and a bit special - we were terrible to jeer her... :("

Assholes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYbL8BwTqnk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

Fair play to her! She should make the most of it while it lasts and try to make a few quid.

At least the woman does have a talent unlike most other reality tv "celebs" from Big Bro and the like.

I just hope she steers clear of Max Clifford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

I haven't even heard her sing!

The only reason i recognise her is because everyone was talking about how she dyed her hair. Yay, she's "improving" her appearences under public pressure....

If it's just me, it seems they just put her in the spotlight to float whatever reality TV show, she's in "worlds got talent" or someting like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

She dont need to win and she shouldnt there is better talent than her coughs * Jamie Pugh * coughs

Source NOTW

SUSAN Boyle turned down the chance of a dream dinner date with President Barack Obama in Washington . . . to stay at home and wash her hair, we can reveal. Britain's Got Talent's Hairy Angel confessed to being TOO NERVOUS to meet the American president - her most famous fan - at a glittering star-studded bash.

A source told us: "She was shocked and thrilled by the invite - but it was all too much too soon for her so she said No."

"She has been told President Obama has seen clips of her on TV and loved her singing. And she is delighted.

"But instead she'll have no doubt stayed in with her cat Pebbles, washed her hair and watched Britain's Got Talent on telly."

American TV networks all fell over themselves to give her a special invitation to the prestigious annual Correspondents Dinner which took place in Washington DC last night. President Obama was guest of honour and invitations are like gold dust.

Dowdy spinster Susan - who captured hearts around the world when she sang I Dreamed a Dream from Les Miserables - would have rubbed shoulders with the rich and famous including Hollywood A-listers at the five-star Hilton Hotel . . . and the President. But the 48-year-old favourite to win the TV show - who lives in a council house in the tiny Scots village of Blackburn, West Lothian - turned them all down.

Susan's invitation shows what a huge star she has become in the States. And her refusal shows that worldwide fame has certainly not changed her.

"She knows she would have been incredibly nervous if she'd gone," said the source. "But her dream is to sing for President Obama one day.

"She loves him and thinks he is already a terrific president."

WTF would Obama want to meet her :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

JP Liz wrote: »
    Source NOTW

WTF would Obama want to meet her :confused:

Because the world is utterly ridiculous?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

She appeared on Oprah Via Skype from her home in Scotland and the TV Bosses decided to put subtitles up

Link

Just my 2 cents - i think she will in all probability win but i wish she would just go away for now its complete overkill. I won't be in the country for BGT final thank goodness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

AARRRGH wrote: »

FFS.

Saw a thread about Susan Boyle and was about to post my opinion but you have said exactyl how i feel on the whole situation. This whole modern day culture of "people" judging a book by its cover. scary :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Sweet Cheeks

I think she's a vulnerable woman and not very worldly wise. She has a lovely singing voice but I'm not sure how well she'd be able to cope with fame.
    I read today that she's going to appear on the Oprah show which is a bit much - they're turning her into some sort of a sideshow act and it's all because her voice doesn't match her appearance and demeanour.
    I hope her family have the sense to guide her and support her.

I agree, but when she does sing you can see her wonderful spirit shine through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭gwhiz

corkkaz wrote: »
    When I saw her for the first time on Britians got talent, I was like wow she is really good.

But now I think with interviews with Oprah etc she is just getting annoying. To be honest I don't want her to win anymore, she is more famous now then other real celebrities.

Anyone else feel like she shouldn't win and it's annoying you or do ye still like her?

HERE HERE !! I totally agree. When I seen her first I thought she was brilliant..... Usually when the judges put them through you dont hear anything from them again until the live show where the public vote. This was the case with Paul Potts who won a couple of years back. A plain overweight geeky kind of guy with crooked teeth who had an amazing voice and worked in carphone warehouse blah blah blah. He was put through and after that I seen a couple of articles in the paper about him and that was that. When he went on to win, he did make an appearance on Oprah and released his CD etc etc. With Susan Boyle, its totally different. One appearance on Britains got Talent and they have made her into some kind of icon. Really pisses me off.

And another thing, that little girl, Holly I think here name is.... that was totally rigged. She told Ant and Dec she was gonna Dance. Fair enough... she comes out and proceeds to do a ballet dance.... camera goes on simon..... simon has hand just over buzzer just about to press it..... Holly starts singing in this amazing voice.... simons mouth drops open... like give me a break please..... TOTAL SET-UP

And same kinda thing happened with the cute little fella (cant remember his name)..... he comes out starts to sing.... not a bad voice but a bit out of tune.... Simon shouts stop stop ..... he stops.... asks does he not have another song.... and guess what he just so happens to have another song lined up.... starts to sing second song... fantastic voice... judges mouths drop open..... ANOTHER TOTAL SET-UP

Anyways, in saying all that I still watch the fooking thing every week !!!
    BUT I STILL SAY THE WHOLE THING IS RIGGED.....
    Anyone else think the same????

gwhiz wrote: »
    HERE HERE !! I totally agree. When I seen her first I thought she was brilliant..... Usually when the judges put them through you dont hear anything from them again until the live show where the public vote. This was the case with Paul Potts who won a couple of years back. A plain overweight geeky kind of guy with crooked teeth who had an amazing voice and worked in carphone warehouse blah blah blah. He was put through and after that I seen a couple of articles in the paper about him and that was that. When he went on to win, he did make an appearance on Oprah and released his CD etc etc. With Susan Boyle, its totally different. One appearance on Britains got Talent and they have made her into some kind of icon. Really pisses me off.

And another thing, that little girl, Holly I think here name is.... that was totally rigged. She told Ant and Dec she was gonna Dance. Fair enough... she comes out and proceeds to do a ballet dance.... camera goes on simon..... simon has hand just over buzzer just about to press it..... Holly starts singing in this amazing voice.... simons mouth drops open... like give me a break please..... TOTAL SET-UP

And same kinda thing happened with the cute little fella (cant remember his name)..... he comes out starts to sing.... not a bad voice but a bit out of tune.... Simon shouts stop stop ..... he stops.... asks does he not have another song.... and guess what he just so happens to have another song lined up.... starts to sing second song... fantastic voice... judges mouths drop open..... ANOTHER TOTAL SET-UP

Anyways, in saying all that I still watch the fooking thing every week !!!
    BUT I STILL SAY THE WHOLE THING IS RIGGED.....
    Anyone else think the same????

How many series of this has there been now and you are only twiging onto it.

Good question..... is this the 3rd series???
    1st series winner was Paul Potts, last year George Sampson ???
    I did have my doubts before about the whole thing being rigged but thought nahhh.... it couldnt possibly be but this series has definitely confirmed my suspicions..... ITS RIGGED.... but whatever way you look at it, its CAR CRASH tv at its finest...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I wouldnt say it was rigged but it does seem that the producers are really on the look out and focussing on the underdog talents. As the world is a state of recession and depression, common folk look for common folk heroes that we can relate to I guess.

the one thing the whole thing highlights is that you really dont need to watch poor TV like that when you can watch the good clips on YouTube!

faceman wrote: »
    I wouldnt say it was rigged but it does seem that the producers are really on the look out and focussing on the underdog talents. As the world is a state of recession and depression, common folk look for common folk heroes that we can relate to I guess.

the one thing the whole thing highlights is that you really dont need to watch poor TV like that when you can watch the good clips on YouTube!

I would say stagged not rigged.All these shows Pop Idol, X factor, Britains got talent etc are stagged to one degree or another and thats why we love them! We are all suckers due to our Human nature.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I would say stagged not rigged.All these shows Pop Idol, X factor, Britains got talent etc are stagged to one degree or another and thats why we love them! We are all suckers due to our Human nature.

Speak for yourself! :p

faceman wrote: »
    Speak for yourself! :p

The ratings speak for themselves. In the style of a football chant "We can see you peaking in, we can seeee-ee you peeee-king in" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Livvie

I like her, but the publicity might go against her now - people will think she already had it made, so will give someone else a chance.

That 17 year old who closed the show on Saturday will surely end up on X Factor if he doesn't win ... great voice.

I'm glad others have my opinion, dont get me wrong I hope she has a successful career but I want someone totally different to win BGT like the fella who was tied up with the water thing on his head or a dance group or a normal singer not opera lol to sum up anyone but her!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭parkerpen

It's not Susan Boyle's fault that the public has reacted in the way it has. She entered the competition, just like thousands of others. She just happens to have alot of talent.
    There is a danger of overkill at this stage but what she needs is a sincere, shrewd, honest manager who will protect and advise her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭LittleEve

The public has gone crazy for Susan Boyle and its become a bit too much at this stage. Just after that audition there was talk of her being favourite to win, if she'd been a stunner there wouldnt have been half this fascination...our obsession with reality tv lives on :rolleyes:

found this last night, the queen wants susan boyle to perform at the royal varety. So she is basically in the royal variety win or lose. GRRRRRRRRR

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/tv/2444906/Susan-Boyle-48-is-STILL-a-virgin.html (at the bottom of the page)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I'm currently scouring the country for a window licker who can sing a bit. I'm willing to represent them on their voyage in next years Britain's Got Issues.Talent and in the process make a shedload of money. You have to strike while the iron is hot.

Well she is in the final - what a shocker (not)

After watching her last night i think she is now playing up more for the camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭SarahJ

I don't get the whole Susan Boyle thing at all, shes not even that good!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

I dont think she was great last night,I think it was the shock factor the first time around .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Susan Boyle is ok, by no means great. People would not buy an album of her songs if she wasn't some other sob story talent show contestant.

I hate that singers win BGT, shouldn't they be on X factor? Oh wait, they probably tried out for that and got rejected because they didn't look like popstars.

I want something interesting to win for once.

"Variety" show? yeah right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I think she's a hell of a lot smarter than she lets on to be. She's seen her opertunity and is playing the game very, very well.

Someone earlier on asked why Obama would want to meet Boyle? One word; bandwagon.

I wonder if she was a perfectly normal attractive girl would she have done as well?

Yes, she can sing. I'm not denying that. But is it wise to send a woman of her age who has spent most of her life in a small town in Wales in front of the Public?

It could destroy her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

corkkaz wrote: »

when i first saw her my jaw dropped- fab voice- seemd shy and sweet- but NOW shes gotten so @#$%y and i actually dont like her. She knows exactly how much she is liked and her fake "omg ive won" in the 1st semi final @#$% me off- she knew she was going to the final!

And now shes screaming and cursing because Pieres said Shaheen Jafargholi's singing performance as 'the best we have heard in the semi-finals so far' Susan boyle would want to cop the hell on for herself because opinions can change- and she keeps this up she will lose her fans as well as the final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 scubb

I still like her she is good that's why she is famous she's the bets.

She didnt win :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 FakeReal

JP Liz wrote: »
    She didnt win :eek:

glad she lost!!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

FakeReal wrote: »
    glad she lost!!:)

some head on her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

To me she looks suspiciously like the new Jade Goody. The media have made her a star because she's 'ugly' or 'old' or whatever. All thats left now is for them to stick her up on a pedestal and wait for the poor woman to spectacularly fall. By the looks of that Sun article, thats already begun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 gonein20secs

u got to admit she is a class singer and thats all that matters...and could ye all just give her a break..she has been waiting for opportunity like this all her life and now thats she got fame and support ppl are hopein she'll fail...first of all ye do realise the english media will spin anythin so sell sell sell and are vultures so remember that when your reading again...:D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

u got to admit she is a class singer and thats all that matters...and could ye all just give her a break..she has been waiting for opportunity like this all her life and now thats she got fame and support ppl are hopein she'll fail...first of all ye do realise the english media will spin anythin so sell sell sell and are vultures so remember that when your reading again...:D

You are completely missing the point. No one is attacking her. Or if they are, they're way off.

The bandwagon which again has grown out of the cult of celebrity has made her famous simply because OMG A FUGGO HAS TALENTZ SHES AN INSPIRATION TO US ALLZ!

Nothing inspiring about it at all. We all have talents. in the real world, you're not amazed because someone is skilled when they are ugly. What kind of way of looking at things. There's everyday people everywhere all the time who are just as amazing and have struggled like her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Looks like its all got to her, when I heard the initial news reports on radio it sounded like she might tried to kill herself - very ambiguous terms were used. Seems she has "merely" had a nervous breakdown.

Hmmm, I see a problem with the poor woman....

In this age of mental illness stigma, I'm loathe to consider someone as having a mental condition.

I beleive that Susan Boyle does. But not in the "Gaah shezz mentallll durrr" sense.

She will need counselling. She should have had it as soon as she stepped off the stage of the 1st performance.

There are things that she would find difficult to comprehend, for the simple reason she hasn't been as exposed to it as pretty much everyone else around her.

What I wonder is where are the siblings to support her?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 ms flywheel

You feel for the poor woman. The media attention surrounding her is huge and she may not have recieved the support she truely needs.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/8076413.stm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭markopantelic

shes a nutcase

In this age of mental illness stigma, I'm loathe to consider someone as having a mental condition.
    shes a nutcase

And Que mental illness stigma.

Seemingly she was starved of oxygen at birth.... (this is supposedly true!) The woman is obviously not the full shilling.

So that explains everything :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

defo by the album for me mrs lol ha ha ha